Update on local elections

There were two local elections on Tuesday, April 11.

Three candidates ran for the two three-year positions on the Haakon School District 27-1 School Board. Official results are: Matt Reedy with 162 votes, Kelly Blair with 123 votes, and Joe Carley with 89 votes. The turn-out was a little over 10 percent of the registered voters.

For the three-year trustee position for the town of Midland, Bill Manke won over Melody Songer.

There is no need for an election of Philip City Council members, because only incumbents are running to retain their current seats. There are no individuals running for county commissioner’s seats except those who are already on the Haakon County Commission.

The only Haakon County positions being contested this term are for county auditor and county sheriff. Coincidently, only Republican candidates are running for both positions. Auditor candidates are incumbent Shirley Dennis, Patricia G. Freeman, and Gretchen M. Phillips. Running for sheriff are incumbent Larry Hanes of Philip and Raymond Clements, Jr., who is currently working out of Fort Pierre.

The election for these two positions will be June 6. Voting times will be from 7:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.

Five polling places will accommodate six precincts. A federal grant, which paid for five new Automark voting machines, will be used to facilitate the current law that requires the use of such types of voting machines.

Precinct 4 Milesville Hall

Precinct 10 Deep Creek School

Precinct 20 Midland Fire Hall

Precinct 17 Philip Senior Citizen Center

Precinct 16 and Precinct 19 Community Room, County Courthouse