Three Rivers Special Services Cooperative in Philip

Three Rivers Special Services Cooperative has moved its office to Philip after being in Midland for the past 10 years.

Business Manager Kathy Arthur has taken office space at 100 East Pine Street. This is the north office section of the Philip Ambulance Service building. "The ambulance service has done a great job on remodeling the office for Three Rivers. Stop in to see the office and say hello," said Arthur.

Three Rivers' former address was 204 Main Street in Midland. The new address will be 100 East Pine Street, PO Box 615, Philip, SD 57567. The new telephone number is 605-859-2244, though the e-mail address is still trssc@gwtc.net.

The administrative office employs Randall Morris, executive director, in addition to Arthur. Three Rivers also employs around 50 full-time and part-time personnel. They have office space in Pierre for several employees; however, the majority of the employees are located at the member school districts.

Three Rivers was formed in 1983 as a legal local entity to provide special assistance to schools and to improve educational programs and services for students with disabilities in the member districts. The office moved from Murdo to Midland in July of 1998. It is made up of six public school districts of Bennett County, Jones County, Kadoka Area, Lyman, White River and Wood. The board consists of one representative from each school and meets monthly.

Three Rivers offers direct speech services to member districts and coordinates related services such as technology services, psychological services, physical and occupational therapy. Three Rivers also acts as a fiscal agent for various state and federal grants, such as Carl Perkins, Birth to Three Interagency, Education Service Agency (ESA), ENRICH, SD Counts, Rosebud Sioux Tribe Early Intervention Program and 21st Century Community Learning Center. The co-op administers one of the many Education Specialist contracts, the Response to Intervention contract and several miscellaneous contracts for Curriculum Mapping, Reading First and Coaching and Mentoring.

The ESA has seven regions across the state. Three Rivers coordinates the ESA-6 region, which consists of 12 school districts: Agar/Blunt/Onida, Bennett County, Harrold, Jones County, Kadoka Area, Lyman, Pierre, Stanley County, Todd County, White River, Winner and Wood. Three Rivers staff provides required and requested services to the ESA-6 school districts.

Three Rivers works closely with Black Hills Special Services Cooperative and Technology and Innovation in Education to provide services requested by South Dakota school districts. The collaboration between the three entities provides highly qualified and experienced personnel to area schools.