Scottie wrestlers take second at Lyman

Dace Kelly, 119 lbs., fifth place

The Philip Area Scotties wrestling team earned second place at the MidDakota Monster Wrestling Tournament in Presho, Friday and Saturday, January 8 and 9.

Hot Springs won the tourney with 255.5 points, Philip earned 219.5 points, and Lyman County took third with 166 points.

Philip had three champions, 103 pounder Lane Blasius, 145 pounder Blake Lobdell and 171 pounder Troy Guptill. There were two second placers, Clint Nelson at 189 pounds. and Karch Foley at 215. Bodhi Lytle, in the 160 pound division, placed third. Ross Julson, in the 152 pound division, earned fourth place. Two athletes took fifth place, in the 112 pound class was Chandlier Sudbeck, and in the 119 pound class was Dace Kelly. Three team members came away with sixth place standings, 125 pound Reed Johnson, 135 pound Clint Stout and 140 pound Tanner Radway. Philip also had another fourth placer, 160 pound Chance Knutson, who did not accumulate team points for the Scotties, as he wrestled unattached because Philip had two athletes in that weight division.


Lane Blasius, 103 lbs., first place

•pinned Wayde Wieczorek (Stanley County), 1:05

•pinned Cameron Voorhees (Newell), 1:18

•pinned Sam Ireland (Bennett County), 3:03

•pinned Gene Trimble (Spearfish-Lead-Deadwood), 4:41

Chandlier Sudbeck, 112 lbs., fifth place

•pinned Jared Bonn (Mobridge-Pollock), 3:35

•decisioned Dakota McTaggart (NEW), 10-4

•pinned by Tyler Frost (Gettysburg), 3:26

•pinned by Casey Heninger (SC), 4:59

•forfeit by Dalton Sandquist (SC)

Dace Kelly, 119 lbs., fifth place

•technical fall over Derek Hall (SLD), 19-4

•pinned Max Sauer (MP), 0:29

•decisioned by Matt Stoeser (SC), 5-2

•pinned by Cole Geditz (GET), 4:20

•tech fall over Justin Harkless (Hot Springs), 14-0

Reed Johnson, 125 lbs., sixth place

•pinned by Colter Steinmetz (HS), 0:31

•pinned Brady Hicks (BC), 2:48

•decisioned Eric Kaiser (GET), 8-5

•decisioned Evan Weiler (Rapid City Central), 7-5

•pinned by Sawyer Sandquist (MP), 1:58

•pinned by Andy Nelson (SLD), 2:59

Brayden Fitch, 130 lbs.

•tech fall by Waylan Macek (BC), 3-19, 4:00


•decisioned by Spencer Moody (SLD), 2-8

Clint Stout, 135 lbs., sixth place

•tech fall by Tyson Mullen (MP), 2-17, 6:00


•pinned Cole Holzer (RCC), 2:23

•decisioned Max Wilson (Custer), 13-9

•decisioned by Tyson Mullen (MP), 4-16

•tech fall by Wyatt Harrowa (SC), 6-20

Tanner Radway, 140 bs., sixth place

•decisioned Jesus Meza (Hill City), 18-9

•decisioned by Bruce Jacobs (Pine Ridge), 4-10

•pinned David Cordes (St. Thomas More), 0:56

•pinned Dan Etzkorn (SC), 2:03

•pinned by Levi McTaggert (NEW), 2:13

•decisioned by Tim Szczur (MP), 5-11

Blake Lobdell, 145 lbs., first place


•decisioned Ricky Seaman (Sunshine Bible Academy), 9-1

•decisioned Blaine Schmidt (GET), 6-0

•decisioned Brady Harkless (HS), 4-1, double overtime

Ross Julson, 152 lbs., fourth place

•pinned Joe Zwetzig (NEW), 4:27

•pinned Tate Cowan (SC), 4:17

•decisioned by Dalton McCollam (BC), 0-6

•pinned Kristian Borah (MP), 2:08

•decisioned by Jake Longville (Lyman), 7-9

Bodhi Lytle, 160 lbs., third place

•pinned Daniel Hiatle (MP), 2:39

•pinned Zach Schneider (RCC), 1:23

•decisioned by Levi Collins (HS), 2-7

•pinned Zach Wager (CUS), 4-3

•forfeit by Chance Knutson (Philip Area)

Troy Guptill, 171 lbs., first place

•pinned Casey Guliuzzo (RCC), 1:15

•pinned Jordan Bakley (BC), 3:27

•decisioned Matt Harkless (HS), 5-1

•decisioned Nate Rotert (SLD), 4-3

Clint Nelson, 189 lbs., second place

•pinned Kacie Herrig (SLD), 1:49

•pinned Josh Bourne (SLD), 1:36

•pinned Keenan Cornelieson (SC), 2:39

•pinned by Tommy Walling (L), 4:51

Karch Foley, 215 lbs., second place


•tech fall over Camerin Davis (MP), 20-4, 4:24

•pinned Nolan Johnson (STM), 2:45

•pinned by Brendan Smith (L), 0:50

Junior Varsity

Brennan Kukal, 103 lbs.


•pinned by Kyle Hyde (HS) 0:13

•pinned by Kyle Pfeifle (RCC), 0:32

Jed Brown, 103 lbs.

•pinned by Jordan Jessop (LYM), 1:49


•pinned Wes Greenough (HS), 4:54

•pinned Brody Schatz (GET), 4:03

•decisioned by Jace Everson (CUS), 2-11

Austin Pinney, 119 lbs

•pinned by Cole Geditz (GET), 1:04

•pinned Luke Vogel (GET), 2:03

•decisioned by Justin Harkless (HS), 9-10

Roger Davis, 152 lbs.


•tech fall to Dalton McCollam (BC), 0-15

•pinned by Cadon Holzer (RCC), 4:00

Gavin DeVries, 189 lbs.


•pinned by Tommy Walling (LYM), 0:50

•decisioned Kacie Herrig (SLD), 6-7

Chance Knutson, 160 lbs., fourth place


•pinned Zach Wager (CUS), 3:00

•decisioned by Logan Reuman (LYM), 5-11

•pinned Brandon Cosgrove (NEW), 0:51

•forfeit to Bohdi Lytle (PHI)

The Philip Wrestling Tournament on Friday and Saturday, January 15 and 16, will begin at 3:00 p.m. the first day and resume at 9:00 a.m. the second day.