School board accepts Cottonwood Roping Club donation

Haakon School Board members Kelly Blair, Matt Reedy and Scott Brech began their new terms by taking the oath of office. Reedy is the new president and Bill Slovek is the vice-president for the district.

The July board meeting had been rescheduled from the 17th to the 20th because of area wildfires which affected board member's land as well as the community.

The Cottonwood Roping Club offered its savings and property as principle for scholarships to help students in local communities. President Vern Omdahl, Vice-President Clifford Fees, and Secretary Dan Oldenberg said the club has been in existence for about 40 years, but has been inactive for the last 10. The club still has an estimated $9,000 in savings and an estimated 20 acres of land. The property has good water, and chutes and corrals used for roping.

The club does not want to sell the land because the current value would be far higher than the purchase price 40 years ago - and the income taxes would also be very high. The tax exempt school district may use or sell the land. Interest is to go into a scholarship fund to benefit students who are involved in rodeo.

"This came from rodeo - we want it to go to rodeo," said Omdahl. If large enough, the scholarship could possibly go to three students each year, one each from Philip, Wall and Kadoka. Otherwise the scholarship might rotate between the three schools. For interest-building reasons, the Haakon School District 27-1 would manage all of the funds.

"We will graciously accept your offer," said Reedy. Board Member Craig Hanrahan said, "Thank you. Your generosity will benefit the students."

Contracts have been signed making Ralph Kroetch the cross country coach and Rae Ann Snyder the head volleyball coach for the coming school year. The head boys' basketball coach has yet to be determined. Rachel Kjerstad is the Title I instructor for 2006-07.

The hearing for future budget approval during the next board meeting was optimistic. At this time, no reserves have been used for next year's budget. "Looks good," said Board Member Kelly Blair. "The administration, business manager and budget committee are to be complimented."

The Board approved continuation of many items from last year. First National Bank in Philip is the official depository for school district funds. The Pioneer Review is the official newspaper for publications of official school board meetings and advertisements. Authorization was given for the continuance and balances of the funds: General, Capital Outlay, Special Education, Food Service, Pension, and Trust and Agency. Monthly board meetings will still be on the first Monday after the second Tuesday at 7:00 p.m. from March through September and at 6:00 p.m. from November through February. The annual school board election will be held the second Tuesday in April (April 10th in 2007) and will use the current precincts. Compensation for school board members will remain the same at $50.00 per authorized meeting plus mileage.

Meal prices for the school lunch program will remain the same at $1.65 for K-6 students, $1.90 for 7-12 students, 40¢ for all reduced meals, $2.65 for adults, and 25¢ for extra servings of milk.

Bids for milk and bids for propane will be opened at the next meeting.

Admission prices to school activities will remain the same at $2.00 for students and senior citizens with season passes at $20, and at $3.00 for other adults with a season pass at $35.00.

Last year's handbooks were approved for the 2006-07 school year with only the dates changed.

Board Member Anita Peterson is the delegate to the Association of School Boards of South Dakota and to the Board of the Black Hills Special Services Cooperative.

Black Hills Chemical has been awarded the bid for the barium chloride needed next year for the school's water purification system of the hotwater well.

Open enrollment requests and public school exemption requests are being looked at on an individual basis.

The next scheduled Haakon School Board meeting will be at 7:00 p.m. on Monday, August 14, in Room A-1 of the Philip High School.