Rieckman is Region VI Principal of the Year

Fellow principals have nominated and voted in Philip Secondary Principal Jeff Rieckman as Region VI Principal of the Year.

The South Dakota Association of Secondary School Principals (SDASSP) has seven regions in the state. Philip High School is in region six. When the association holds its annual meeting in March, it will announce which of the seven regional Principals of the Year will be named as South Dakota Principal of the Year.

Rieckman and his wife, Lori, have been in Philip since the beginning of the 2002-03 school year. Before that, he was an agriculture instructor at Howard, SD. Rieckman had family support and incentive to be an administrator. His older brother, Dennis Rieckman, was already an administrator and has since become the superintendent in the Wall school system. Rieckman's older sister is also a school administrator.

The SDASSP is a sub group of the School Administrators of South Dakota. The schools that make up Region VI include Philip, Winner, Todd County, St. Francis, Bennett County, Crazy Horse, Kadoka, Stanley County, Pierre, Sully Buttes, Lyman, Jones County and White River. Brian Naasz of Winner was last year's Region VI Principal of the Year.

Scott Lepke, Beresford, SDASSP past president and current newsletter editor, said, "Jeff was nominated by another principal from Region VI. Our association selects a state Principal of the Year from the regional principals of the year. We select this person at an executive board meeting at the end of January. The Principal of the Year will be announced during our annual spring conference meeting in March in Pierre. This conference is used for professional development.

Tim Hollar, White River, is the SDASSP Region VI representative. He said, "The Region VI principals met on December 17 in Murdo. Potential principal of the year nominees were discussed and the Region VI principals voted unanimously for Jeff Rieckman. Area principals spoke of Rieckman as a highly qualified nominee. He is a past Region VI president and a quality school leader."

The executive board meeting will be held in late January. The executive board will make the decision on a timetable for a release of the outcome. All of Rieckman's paperwork will be collected by Lepke and will be opened in session at the March meeting.