Philip's Jerry Rhodes Assistant Football Coach of the Year

Jerry Rhodes is the Assistant Football Coach of the Year for 2005 for District 9A.

"It is well deserved by Jerry Rhodes. He was very instrumental in the success that we had last football season," said Head Coach Keven Morehart, who nominated Rhodes last November.

Rhodes has been involved with football for approximately 34 years. His first position was as assistant football coach at the Presho High School in 1968. During his career, he has volunteered as offensive line, defensive line, or assistant coach for over 20 years. Officially, he has been a head football coach for 11 years and an assistant football coach for two years. Rhodes has also been assistant or head track coach for 35 years. He has been the cross country coach in Philip for more than 10 years.

Two years ago, Rhodes was chosen as the Region IV Head Football Coach of the Year.

"It's a nice honor," said Rhodes, "but it really boils down to having good assistant coaches, head coaches, and athletes. The credit really goes to the athletes whom I have had the pleasure to work with. Let's put the credit where the credit is due."

Several coaches will be receiving awards at halftime of the All-Star Football game in Aberdeen on Thursday, July 27, according to the South Dakota Football Coaches Association.

The Assistant Coaches of the Year winners are: Jerry Rhodes of Philip for District 9A; Mel Fathke, Avon, District 9B,; Todd Jenkins, Clark, District 9AA; Tim Beck, Aberdeen/Roncalli, District 11B; Max Hodgen, Madison, District 11A; Dan Mitchell, Yankton, District 11AA.

Thirty-year football coaching awards will go to Craig Nowotny of St. Thomas More, and to Ray Kooistra of Yankton.

SDFBCA Hall of Fame inductees will be Keith Huber of Harrisburg, and Frank Podraza of Hitchcock.