Philip Scotties take Region 4B Wrestling Tournament title

The Region 4B Wrestling Tournament held in Philip on Saturday, February, 17, went well for the Scotties. Philip put seven wrestlers in the finals and qualified nine total for the State B Wrestling Tournament.

Out of 14 team represented, the Philip team took first place at Regions with a team score of 150. The team had three individual first places, four second places, one third place and one fourth place.

Philip's head wrestling coach, Matt Donnelly, has been selected as Region 4B Coach of the Year for 2007.

Harding County took second with 135 team points, and Gettysburg took third with 105.5 points.

Dace Kelly, 103, 9th grade, 14-16 season record;

•pinned by Coller Steinmetz, Newell, 1:40

•decisioned Tyler Frost, Gettysburg, 4-0

•pinned by Sawyer Sandquist, Mobridge, 2:30

Troy Guptill, 112, 9th, 23-14, second place;

•major decisioned Ronald Fiskbohm, Newell, 17-8

•pinned Taylor Cowan, Stanley County, 5:07

•technical fall by Shawn Lyons, Harding County, 0-16, 4:47

Jordan Smith, 119, 11th, 35-7, first place;

•major decisioned Tyson Mullen, Mobridge, 14-4

•decisioned Blaine Schmidt, Gettysburg, 1-0

•decisioned Tate Brengle, Harding County, 7-1

Cecil Heeb, 125, 10th, 15-15, first place;

•pinned Taz Olson, Harding County, 4:41

•decisioned Dylan Madsen, Lyman, 18-11

•decisioned Steven Schmidt, Mobridge, 11-4

Wyatt Kammerer, 135, 8th, 17-17, third place;

•pinned by Levi McTaggart, Newell, 3:48


•pinned Grady Brodrecht, Lyman, 6:14 overtime

•pinned Colt Nehl, Lemmon/McIntosh, 5:58

Andrew Brech, 140, 10th, 16-18, fourth place;

•decision by Michael Patrick, Sully Buttes, 0-6

•pinned Terrance Clifford, Red Cloud, :43

•decisioned Brock Besler, Harding County, 6-5

•decision by Joe Sackman, Lemmon/McIntosh, 7-14

Tate Guptill, 145, 10th, 28-14, second place;

•pinned Shawn Schultz, Stanley County, 2:40

•decisioned Kris Nible, Harding County, 4-1

•pinned by Kris Anderson, Lyman, 5:29

Mick Trask, 171, 10th, 25-9, second place;

•decisioned Levi Jenson, Mobridge, 4-2

•decisioned Jason Latham, Harding County, 15-12

•decision by Jayden Hansen, Gettysburg, 0-7

Lincoln Smith, 189, 11th, 38-2, first place;

•pinned Chase Hill, Sully Buttes,1:44

•pinned Keenen Cornelison, Stanley County, :34

•pinned Skyler Eriksen, Lyman, 2:44

Clint Nelson, 215, 8th, 12-20;

•pinned by Michael Fischer, Gettysburg, :23

•pinned by Cory Fischer, Harding County, 5:51

Mark Trask, 275, 11th, 32-8, second place;

•pinned Paul Eidesness, Sully Buttes, 1:05

•pinned Michael Dobesh, St. Thomas More, :58

•decision by Tyler Bonefield, Newell, 4-5