Philip Scottie wrestlers show well at State

This year's State "B" Wrestling Tournament was held on Friday and Saturday, February 22nd and 23rd, in Sioux Falls.

At the district tournament, all 14 varsity members of the Philip team earn the right to compete at regions. From there, eight athletes went on to state.

At state, five Scotties earned places within the top eight.

Travis Nelson, 103 lb, 8th place:

•pinned Mike Bobby, Ipswich, 5:10

•decision by Riley Braun, Elk Point/Jefferson, 2-5

•decision over Cody Reed, Flandreau, overtime 6-4

•decision by Miles Moody, Mt. Vernon /Plankinton /Ethan, 2-7

•decision by Patrick Waring, Miller Area/Highmore, overtime 2-4

Jordan Smith, 119 lb, 5th place:

•technical fall over Yuya Mix, Kingsbury County, 18-3

•decision over Doug Thompson, Kimball/White Lake, 7-3

•decision by Dalton Sichmeller, Webster, 3-6

•decision by Nathan Aesoph, Faulkton, 1-5

•pinned Matt Braun, Burke/Gregory, 2:16

Andrew Brech, 145 lb:

•decision by Todd Gannon, Beresford, 4-7

•decision over Nathan Asher, Chamberlain, overtime 11-9

•major decision by Kyle Nible, Harding, 4-12

Tate Guptill, 152 lb:

•decision by Zane Nightingale, Kimball/White Lake, 5-9

•decision by Aaron Gill, Elk Point/Jefferson, 8-10

Mick Trask, 171 lb, 4th place:

•pinned Eric Koller, Parker, 1:46

•decision over Pat Cowen, Miller Area/Highmore, double overtime 5-4

•technical fall by Mark Sherman, Deuel, 1-16

•decision over Steven Holzbauer, Wagner, 11-4

•decision by Zach Blindert, McCook Central, 0-2

Lincoln Smith, 189 lb, 3rd place:

•pinned Parker Yost, Redfield, 1:00

•pinned Troy Turkelson, Elk Point Jefferson, 1:08

•decision by Cole Hogg, Faulkton, 4-10 (first place)

•decision over Kip DeGroot, Andes Central /Corsica /Platte-Geddes, 6-0

•pinned Alex Merrick, Alcester-Hudson, 2:17

Clint Nelson, 215 lb:

•major decision by Paul Westhoff, McCook Central, 0-13

•pinned Garrett Dixon, Ipswich 2:49

•pinned by Maverick Hill, Wagner, 4:22

Mark Trask, 285 lb, 5th place:

•pinned Kyle Schlimgen, Parkston, 5:01

•pinned by Cody Schuiling, Parker, 5:38

•pinned Kyle Hemeyer, Burke/Gregory, 2:09

•pinned Jeremy Schoenwald, Marion/Freeman, 1:41

•decision by Tyler Bonefield, Newell, 3-9

•decision over Chad Weiczorek, Stanley County, 8-5