Philip Scottie season-end football awards

The Philip High School football players, families, and fans held their end of the season potluck supper and awards night on Tuesday, November 21. The team had advanced to the 9A quarterfinals this year, after finishing in second place to Hanson last season.

Four Philip Scottie players have been selected to be on the All State 9A First Team - voted on by the coaches in the state.

Casey Cuny (senior, 6'0", 175 lbs.) was selected as running back. Cuny finished the season with 1,691 yards, averaging 12.4 yards per carry. For his career, he broke five school records; four this season: rushing yards in a game - 351, touchdowns in a game - six, touchdowns in a season - 28, and yards per carry. He rushed for a school-record of 1,978 yards in 2005.

Nathan O'Dea (senior, 5'1", 180) was selected as punter. O'Dea averaged 44.8 yards per punt this season, and last season set the Class 9A championship game record with a 62-yard punt.

Casey Elshere (senior, 6'4", 220) was selected as defensive end. He racked up 74 tackles and two sacks during this season.

Lincoln Smith (junior, 6'3", 210) was selected as defensive tackle. Smith had 97 tackles, including eight sacks and 15 tackles for a loss by the opponent.

Philip placed six players on the Western Conference All Conference Team and also placed three Honorable Mentions. The All-Conference players are: Cuny, O'Dea, Elshere, Smith, Jake Mathews and Michael Westerberg. The Honorable Mentions are Alex Moos, James Williamson and Zane Fees.

Katie Nelson and Michael Westerberg were named to the Football Academic All-State Team. A senior player or manager must have at least a 3.5 grade point average and have been on the team for at least three seasons.

Philip players were voted on by their teammates to receive the following Scottie Awards: Cuny - MVP offense and outstanding running back; O'Dea - outstanding defensive back, receiver and hitter; Elshere - outstanding offensive lineman and receiver; Smith - MVP defense, outstanding defensive, and the Scottie Award; Mathews - MVP special teams; Moos - outstanding offensive lineman; and Westerberg - outstanding defensive linebacker. Troy Guptill received the Oil Can Award, which is given each year to a younger player who really gives his all throughout the season, works hard and steps it up to a higher level of playing. The Scottie Award is given each year to a leader, a player who works at keeping the team revved up and focused, and shows real dedication to the team on and off the field. Some of the awards were tied votes so there are two recipients.