Philip runners takes first place in Kadoka

“B” division team championship ... The varsity boys’ team brought back a plaque from the cross country meet in Kadoka. Shown, back row, from left: Zane Pekron and Kelvin Ferguson. Front: Anthony Iwan and Kyle Iwan.

by Ralph Kroetch

No rest for the weary, as the Scottie cross country team would compete for the second time in three days, this time at the Kadoka meet on Saturday, September 13.

The Philip girls' varsity runners were Holly Iwan, Emily Schofield and Jennifer Stangle. Iwan again lead her team early on in a battle for fifth place with Todd County's Kylie Willison. Schofield began in 15th place and Stangle in 24th. No other runners were able to challenge Iwan up the long finish hill. She earned sixth place and a time of 18:20, cutting 40 seconds off of her Kadoka course best. Schofield overtook three other runners in the last quarter mile to earn 11th place and improving her course best by 1:15 by stopping the clock at 19:47. Stangle sprinted against Wall's Hanna Huether to finish in 21st place in a time of 22:43, bettering her personal best by 19 seconds. The girls, as a team, finished in second place, their best team finish this season.

The Philip boys' varsity ran a full team of five, hoping to capture their second team championship of the 2008 season. Early on, all five Philip boys pushed themselves into the lead pack with Kyle Iwan leading his team in fourth place, Anthony Iwan in sixth, Zane Pekron in eighth, William Coyle in 10th and Kelvin Ferguson in 15th. With a quarter of a mile to go, they found themselves in race-ending sprints. Pekron finished in fifth place in a time of 19:40. Coyle earned sixth place in a time of 19:45. A. Iwan clocked 19:52 to place eighth and better his course record by 58 seconds. K. Iwan overtook a Lower Brule runner to earn 10th place in a time of 20:08, bettering his course best by 53 seconds. Ferguson, in his first varsity run on the Kadoka course, finished strong to earn the 17th place medal in a time of 21:39.

The boys earned the "B" division team championship with nine points. The Wall and Lower Brule teams both scored 22 points.

In the junior varsity run, the start found Marcus Martinez chasing Takini's Baldeagle for the lead and Tyler Dekker running a strong third. By mid-race, Martinez and Dekker had both overtaken the Takini runner and would stretch out to a two-minute-plus lead over the rest of the field. In his fourth race ever, Martinez finished as champion, stopping the clock in 17:46. Dekker finished in second place, clocking 18:23 and bettering his course best by an amazing 2:18.

Philip's Allison Pekron, in her junior varsity race, found a great challenge in White River's Becker. They battled for fifth place. A. Pekron finished her race well, earning the fifth place medal in a time of 25:48.

Today there was a one-mile youth run. Jasmin Ferguson, in her first cross country race, competed with 29 other runners from 11 different schools. She finished in 10:01 for ninth place.