Philip City Council canvasses election

The Philip City Council first met as a election canvassing board during a special meeting on Tuesday afternoon, April 21.

The results of the 2009 city election, held on April 14, were made official. Greg Arthur won the two-year Ward III council seat 43 to 34, with a 45 percent voter turnout. The initiated measure attempting to allow mail boxes in the city right-of-way was defeated 114 to 98 with a 36 percent voter turnout.

According to Haakon County Auditor, Patricia Freeman, the number of registered voters who could have voted during the April 14 election is a total of 169 in Ward III in the city of Philip, 584 in the entire city of Philip and 1,288 in the Haakon School District 27-1.

Mayor John Hart made a mayoral proclamation claiming April 24, 2009, as "Thomas Lesselyoung Day" in honor of the retirement of the public works director.

The second reading of ordinance #2009-02 was completed. This will allow open beer and alcoholic beverage containers in designated areas during specifically applied for special events.

Building permits included Mel Smith on behalf of Dugan Stewart for an 18'x24' addition and a 12'x24' deck. The West River Museum Society wishes to dismantle their existing buildings, as they are a safety hazard, and to prepare the lot for future construction.

The 2007 audited financial report for the city of Philip was reviewed and approved. The only negative mark was "the same comment that has always existed and always will," said Hart. The number of city office employees is too few to perform the amount of checks and balances that the state would prefer. This can only be corrected by hiring more city employees.

The city will apply for Transportation Enhancement Stimulus funds from the South Dakota Department of Transportation. The applications must be in by May 8.

The next scheduled meeting for the Philip City Council will be at 7:00 p.m. on Monday, May 4, in the commissioners room of the Haakon County Courthouse.