Login

Murdo Coyote, October 24, 2013

Embedded Scribd iPaper - Requires Javascript and Flash Player

What’s
inside:
Local
Legals
Notice of Summons
***
Proceedings of Draper Town Board
***
Halloween
***
Coyote Call
***
Coyote Character
***
Calenders
***
Next week:
Ambulance 3
Cross Country 5
OFFICIAL PUBLICATION OF JONES COUNTY, SOUTH DAKOTA.
“SERVING THE AREA SINCE 1904”
$1.00
Includes tax
Number 43
Volume 107
October 24, 2013
Photos by Tami Jo Newbold-Flynn
Photo by Tami Jo Newbold-Flynn
Photo by Tami Jo Newbold-Flynn
by Tami Jo Newbold-Flynn
The Murdo Area Chamber of
Commerce promotes business
and tourism around the area. The
chamber had their annual supper
and meeting on Wednesday, Octo-
ber 16, where they announced the
winners of the volunteer of the
year award. Al Gwin and Don
Hieb had an equal number of
votes.
Two officers, Kevin Moore and
Barb Hockenbary, exited the
board of directors and two new
ones, Lori Waldron and Sam Sey-
mour, were nominated and con-
firmed.
There were three members of
the Blacks Hills, Badlands, and
Lakes Association at the supper
and meeting. Association Presi-
dent and CEO, Nort Johnson,
spoke about tourism in the state
and about BHB&L’s efforts to
bring more tourism into the state.
Chamber of commerce activi-
ties and donations:
•Christmas lighting contest
•Yard of the week
•Christmas drawings for cham-
ber bucks
•Internet for the Turner center
•Arena water and electricity
•Business appreciation BBQ
•Ranch rodeo donation
•Arena donation for improve-
ments
•Black Hills Badlands & Lakes
membership and advertising
•Traveler Magazine ads
•Rack cards
•Interstate road signs
•Murdo in May car show
•4th of July fireworks donation
•Senior bus trip to Christmas
trees at Capitol
•Post prom donations
•Invitational tournament food
trays
•Cracker barrel session
•Reply to email/tourist
requesting information
•Western Junior membership
•Senior scholarship
court, put up new playground
equipment at the city park, plant-
ed trees at the North Dam, and
put money toward the fishing
dock at the city park.
Jones County Community
Foundation
Since this foundation’s start,
they have awarded between
$80,000 and $90,000 in grants to
not only people, but also to most
of the groups already mentioned.
The foundation always welcomes
donations - just contact Chair-
man Jim Butt.
variety show and help support
drug awareness week. The PTO
also gives out three, three hun-
dred dollar scholarships. Val Fed-
dersen and Teresa Hatheway are
co-chairpersons of the PTO.
Lions Club
The Lions Club has been serv-
ing Jones County for over 50
years. The Lions Club motto is:
“We Serve.”
They added at least six new
members this year. Brian O’Reilly
is the current president. O’Reilly
said, “Tim Hochhalter, the secre-
tary, is the nuts and bolts of our
organization.”
The Lions Club members take
tickets at most of Jones County
high school sporting events. Some
of the other activities they do and
sponsor are: city clean-up with
the school, honors banquet, bingo
nights, tree planting. They also
give out scholarships every year.
Book and Thimble Club
The Book and Thimble
Women’s Club is probably Jones
County’s oldest organized club.
They have been a club for over
100 years.
Jackie Fosheim is the current
president. The main project the
Book and Thimble Club does is
the yearly community birthday
calendars.
Murdo Area Chamber of Commerce awards volunteers
Chamber members after enjoying supper provided by the senior center. Black Hills, Badlands and Lakes Association’s roadtrip vehicle.
A full house during the Saturday movie at the Turner Community Center.
Barb and Jim Hockenbary visit with guest
speaker, Nort Johnson, from the Black Hills,
Badlands and Lakes Association.
Left to right: Paul Thomas of Jones County, Leroy Hodge of Tripp County
and Dr. C. K. Kinsley, DVM, of Jones County were recognized at South
Central RC&D’s annual meeting held September 28 in Murdo. They are
three of the four original South Central RC&D board members who helped
submit the RC&D application to USDA in 1992 and continue to be active
RC&D board members. The fourth member that is not pictured is Darrell
Daum of Jones County.
Organizations, foundations, councils, groups and clubs
by Tami Jo Newbold-Flynn
Jones County is full of groups
that help other people. There are
so many that listing all of them
and the good work they do and
the people they help would not be
possible. Most of the churches in
the county have groups of clergy
members that put on various
community events. We also have
wonderful emergency medical
technicians and firefighters who
all volunteer their time or get
paid very minimally; same as the
Draper City Council and the
Murdo City Council.
The 4-H club, sportman’s club,
and Modern Woodmen of America
all support our community. The
American Legion and Auxiliary
both have organizations that
have various charitable activities.
PTO
The Parent Teacher Organiza-
tion does many things that are
specifically for the youth of our
county. Their biggest projects are
running the concession stand for
most sporting activities held in
Murdo and sponsoring the post
prom party. The PTO also sup-
plies all the planners for grades
second through 12, take care of
labels and box tops for education,
teacher appreciation, student of
the month, aluminum cans, the
Turner Youth Foundation
The Turner Youth Foundation
is unique in the fact that they
have both adult and student
board members. Every year the
foundation helps with conces-
sions at the car show, antique
auction, baseball games, and the
ranch rodeo. They also award
scholarships.
Since 2007, the Turner Youth
Foundation has done many proj-
ects. A few projects are: put up
new basketball poles, put in the
benches between the swimming
pool and the outdoor basketball
RC&D council
In 1992, local citizens repre-
senting conservation districts,
extension offices, county govern-
ments and nonprofit organiza-
tions throughout the four coun-
ties of Todd, Mellette, Jones and
Tripp, began discussing the
Resource Conservation and
Development program. The first
application to become a RC&D
council in this area was submit-
ted in 1992 to the US Secretary of
Agriculture. In February 1994,
South Central Resource Conser-
vation and Development (South
Central RC&D) was authorized
by the USDA. South Central
RC&D is a nonprofit organization
that is governed by a board of 12
members – three representatives
from each county.
RC&Ds are a nationwide
organization that are designed to
make communities a more viable,
productive and better place to
live. RC&D projects may create
new jobs, focus on natural
resource issues, or may work to
improve community develop-
ment, economic growth or quality
of life. South Central RC&D’s
office is located in Murdo and can
be contacted at 605-669-2222 in
the afternoons. The national web
site is www.narcdc.org
RC&D written by Jewell Bork
Courtesy photos
Mel Kessler is the only charter member that is still active in the
Jones County Lions Club. He is also the oldest member in the
club.
Bill Eckert of Eckert Auctions kept the crowd bidding with the help of 4-H shooters
Emily Jacobs and Madelyn Host. Snapping turtle soup, rattlesnake, pheasant, elk and
deer were enjoyed with Mack's famous coleslaw and a table of sweets. Nobody went
home hungry or without meeting someone new.
Above: Al Gwin with the vol-
unteer of the year plaque.
Right: Chamber President
Terry Van Dam presents Don
Hieb with the volunteer of the
year award.
Jones County News
Murdo Coyote • October 24, 2013 • 2
Murdo Coyote – Murdo, SD
P.O. Box 465
Murdo, SD 57559-0465
Phone: (605) 669-2271
FAX: (605) 669-2744
E-mail: mcoyote@gwtc.net
USPS No.: 368300
Don Ravellette, Publisher
Tami Jo Newbold-Flynn,
Reporter/Photographer/Sales
Lonna Jackson
Typesetter/Office
SUBSCRIPTION RATES:
Local … $34.00 + Tax
Local subscriptions include the towns and rural
routes of Murdo, Draper, Vivian, Presho, White
River, Okaton, Belvidere, Kadoka and Midland
In-State … $39.00 + tax
Out-of-State … $39.00
Periodicals Postage Paid at
Murdo, SD 57559
Postmaster:
Send address changes to:
Murdo Coyote
P.O. Box 465
Murdo, SD 57559-0465
Deadlines for articles and letters is
Thursdays at 5:00 p.m. (CT)
Items received after that time will be
held over until the next week’s issue.
LEGAL DEADLINE:
Fridays at 4:00 p.m. (CT)
ADVERTISING DEADLINE:
Tuesdays at 10:00 a.m. (CT)
Published
Every
Thursday
Our deepest sympathy goes
out to the family of Tamara Iver-
son Mathews. There was a great
turnout of relatives and friends
to pay their last respects at her
funeral which was held Monday
morning at the Murdo auditori-
um. A prayer service was held
the night before at the Lutheran
church. Pastors Greenseth and
Urbach both did a wonderful job.
Following the service a dinner
was served; there was a lot of
food furnished by the
Murdo/Draper communities.
This also included a time to visit
with family and friends. Later
the family and friends traveled to
the Mathews family cemetery for
her burial.
It was nice seeing Tanya
Anderson – her and our daugh-
ter, Cara, were good friends and
it’s been a long time. Janet also
got in a nice visit with Bobbi Boe-
tel from N.D., who came Sunday
for the prayer service and spent
the night with her mom, Karen
Miller.
Visitors Sunday of Margaret
Rankin were: Greg Rankin; Bob
Rankin and granddaughter Mal-
lory Venard; Andy and Jill
Rankin and family. Others call-
ing on her during the week were:
Kris Bradley; Karen Authier;
Eleanor Miller; Florence Chris-
tian. On Friday Nelva and Janet
Louder visited Margaret; Kris
was also there visiting. Later
when Nelva and Janet stopped
for a sandwich, they ran into for-
mer Draperite Larry Volmer and
wife Shirley of Brandon. They
were in Pierre to watch the Bran-
don-Pierre football game. I heard
the score later and I believe
Brandon lost. It was so nice see-
ing them. Larry is always so
friendly. He used to be our neigh-
bor a hundred years ago!
Ken and Carmen Miller and
Penny Dowling spent the week-
end of October 12 in Des Moines,
Iowa, at the home of sister Becky
and Grant Myers. Also there
were sisters Diana Glantz and
Linda McGee of Rochester, Minn.
They returned home on Monday.
The only other sibling is Doug
from Texas, but he couldn’t be
there.
Our sympathy goes out to the
family of Jim Lebeda. Ron Lebe-
da and Holly traveled to Casper,
Wyo., on October 14 and attended
the funeral on October 15.
Dorothy and Darin Louder
and Lisa Cline visited Dwight in
Kadoka last Tuesday.
Nelva and Janet Louder visit-
ed Gene and Carol Cressy last
Tuesday on Gene’s birthday.
Later they called on Ellouise Ell-
wanger.
Marine Mark Abernathy (soon
to be deployed to Japan) met
family at a restaurant in Pierre
for supper last Thursday
evening. Those there were his
dad, Bill Abernathy and Tess; sis-
ter Emily Abernathy of Lead;
Grandma Margaret Rankin;
Greg Rankin; Bob Rankin; Kris
and Dick Bradley and Karen
Authier.
Wednesday of last week Ger-
ald and Wanda Mathews went to
Pierre. They came back around
by Draper and brought a carry in
supper to Nelva and Janet Loud-
er’s. They got in a couple of
games of cards and then had
dessert and coffee.
Following church Sunday Alice
Horsley joined Eldon and Esther
Magnuson for dinner at a cafe in
Murdo.
Last Thursday Helen Louder,
Rosa Lee Styles, Lill Seamans,
Nelva and Janet Louder and
Eldon and Esther Magnuson
took in the senior center indian
taco feed. It was very well
attended and the food was good.
Later the gals met Shirley Vik
and Velma Scott and listened to
the first and second graders read
to them. The fellas went out for
coffee. After the reading session
the gals also went for coffee.
Eldon and Esther then went to
Nelva and Janet’s house for
cards, pizza, more cards, and
then dessert and coffee. Aren’t we
such busy people?
Newlyweds Casey and Monica
Miller and Gavin visited Nelva
and Janet Louder Saturday
afternoon.
The hunters are here from
Montana, Texas, Oregon and
parts of South Dakota. I under-
stand they did okay on Saturday.
That evening a hunters supper
was held at the Draper auditori-
um annex. Enjoying a very good
supper were: Jerry and Mickie
Esmay, Stevensville, Mont.; their
daughter, Jera’le and hubby Bob
were unable to be here this year
as Bob came down with shingles;
their son, Justin Esmay of
Canby, Ore.; Sal Esmay and son
John from Minnesota (that Sal is
amazing - she’s 93 but you would
never guess it; they arrived in
South Dakota a little early and
spent some time in Sal’s home-
town of Woonsocket and then
spent time in Murdo with the
Esmay relatives); Gary Freder-
icksen of Kadoka; Don Volmer
and cousin Dean Rubin of Rapid
City; Charlie Foss and son Doug,
Texas; Dean, Terri and Tana
Volmer; Rosa Lee Styles; Margie
Boyle; David and Robert Styles;
Larry Styles from Hill City; Chip
and Phyliss Peters; Margie
Esmay; Jon Esmay; Helen Loud-
er; and Nelva and Janet Louder.
Sunday the hunters were out
again in the wind and cold. Sal
and Rosa Lee rode along to
watch. I think the pheasants
were hiding that day. Many of
the group again gathered at the
annex for supper. I know some of
the men brought food; and Terri,
Mickie and Sal saw that it got
cooked and served. Not as many
there on Sunday evening. Some
young fellas, Jackson Volmer,
Gus Volmer, Connor Venard and
Scott White Buffalo, joined the
group. Jerry got the group to sing
happy birthday to Rosa Lee as
she turns over another year on
October 24. Another nice
evening. All helped clean up but
when we left it was Terri pushing
the mop – good job, Terri! And
happy birthday, Rosa Lee.
Sunday afternoon Nelva and
Janet Louder visited Dorothy,
Brad and Darin Louder. We saw
lots and lots of hunters on our
way out, but no pheasants.
Shelley Boehmer, daughter
Lacey of Sioux Falls and Shel-
ley’s grandson, Trip Lindekugal
of Pierre, were dinner guests and
afternoon visitors of Eldon and
Esther Magnuson on Saturday.
Lori Owens of Pierre, along with
Eldon and Esther, attended the
funeral for Tamara. Later they
visited Kathie Mason.
On their way here, Jerry and
Mickie Esmay stayed in Belle
Fourche. Roger and Melva Vik of
Spearfish met them at a cafe
there for supper and lots of catch-
ing up. Roger used to be one of
the Draper hunters.
Kayla and Jeremy Hoag and
girls of Aberdeen spent the week-
end with Kim and Tony Schmidt.
Don Volmer joined the group at
noon Sunday. Jeremy bagged a
deer while here – guess he wasn’t
interested in pheasants.
The hunting group consisting
of cousins and friends – Jerry,
Mickie and Justin Esmay; Rosa
Lee, David and Robert Styles and
Margie Boyle; Dean, Terri, and
Tana Volmer; Don Volmer; Char-
lie and Doug Foss – gathered at a
local cafe for supper on Monday
evening. Margie reports that
waitress Nancy Kaessmann did a
very good job and the food was
good. There was lots of visiting
and a good time. The hunters will
be leaving very soon.
Housing assessment meeting
On November 6, the chamber is hosting a public meeting regarding
the final report of the housing assessment for Murdo. The public meet-
ing will be held at the Turner Community Center at 7 p.m.
Kids Club
Kids Club, sponsored by the Community Bible Church, will meet
Wednesday, November 6 at the mini–gym after school. All kids in
grades K–6th are welcome to attend. Come and enjoy a Bible story,
snacks, games and a craft.
Murdo City Council
The Murdo City Council will meet Monday, November 4 at 7:30 p.m.
at the city office. The public is welcome to attend.
Draper Town Board
The Draper Town Board will meet Monday, November 4 at 7:00 p.m.
at the Draper hall. The public is welcome to attend.
County Commissioners
The Jones County Board of Commissioners will hold their monthly
meeting at the courthouse on Tuesday, November 5 at 9 a.m. The pub-
lic is welcome to attend.
Coyote News Briefs
To have your NON-PROFIT meeting listed here, please submit
them by calling 669-2271 or emailing to coyoteads@gwtc.net.
We will run your event notice the two issues prior to your
event at no charge. PLEASE KEEP IN MIND, if you charge for
an event, we must charge you for an ad!
East Side News
by Janet Louder • 669-2696
A PUBLICATION OF RAVELLETTE PUBLICATIONS, INC.
Our most sincere condolences
are extended to the Bob and Mar-
ilyn Iverson family and Scott
Mathews family. The passing of
Tamara is a huge loss to her fam-
ily and the whole community.
Our prayers for God’s closeness
and comfort now and in the days
to come.
Tom and Jody Lebeda, Leone
Kreager, and Julia Broeacher
attended the funeral of their
brother, James Lebeda, in
Casper, Wyo., last week. Jim, 92
died after a long illness. Both
Jim and his wife Ione are devot-
ed Christians and really expected
to go in the rapture. So we are
confident that Jim is in heaven
rejoicing with family and friends,
who have gone before. Ronnie
Lebeda and Holly from Draper
also made the trip, as did many
other Lebeda family members
from close around came to sup-
port and encourage Jim’s imme-
diate family.
Local News
by Jody Lebeda • 669-2526 • jody1945@gmail.com
Miller Dale Colony
will be delivering
chickens to Draper on
Thursday, October 24
between
10:30-11:00 a.m.
If interested call
Lila Mae Christian 669-2708
or Beverly Andrews 669-2143
Murdo United Methodist Church
Wednesday, October 30
Bake Sale & Supper: 5 to 7 p.m. Bake Sale & Supper: 5 to 7 p.m.
Adults: $8 · Ages 6 to 12: $4
5 years and under: free
For delivery, call 669-2501
Card Shower
in honor of
Rose Daum’s Rose Daum’s
80th Birthday
October 28, 2013
1:rríaa¸ qrccr:uqs
.au rca.í 1csc ar:
Clarkson Health Care
1015 Mountain View Rd Rm #42
Rapid City SD 57702
Trick or Treat So
Others Can Eat!
UMYF youth will be coming door to door in Murdo
to collect food for our local food bank on
Wednesday, October 30
7-9 p.m.
Or drop off non-perishable food at Murdo
or Draper United Methodist churches
Suggestions: · Peanut Butter · Canned Tuna/Chicken
· Canned Vegetables · Macaroni & Cheese · Soups
· Canned Fruits · Cereal · Granola Bars · Fruit Snacks
Sponsored by United Methodist Youth Fellowship
Let us
know as
soon as
possible so
you won’t
miss a
single
issue.
605-669-2271
Change of
Address?
School board meeting
by Tami Jo Newbold-Flynn
The Jones County School
Board met for their monthly
meeting on October 14. One of the
main topics of discussion was the
possibility of going exclusively to
Coke products. Coke has been in
contact with the school and
offered to give the school $1,000 a
year for five years, in addition to
the $1.75 a case rebate they
already give. No decisions were
made and the board decided to do
some further investigation on the
matter before deciding.
Lunch Time Solutions was also
in contact with the school in
regards to serving the school
board supper before the Decem-
ber school board meeting.
Two staff members, Jennings
Newbold and Tammy Van Dam,
went to an intruder awareness
class in Pierre and learned ideas
on how to keep our schools safe.
Grant Vander Vorst gave the
athletic director report for Larry
Ball. The report was mainly
about the damage to the football
field. The police have a suspect in
custody and would like an esti-
mate, in a dollar amount, of dam-
ages.
The board also discussed the
fence to go around the football
field and how it will be challeng-
ing to find a time for board mem-
bers and/or an outside person to
install it.
Church and Community
Murdo Coyote • October 24, 2013 • 3
Catholic Church of St. Martin
502 E. Second St., Murdo, S.D. • Father Gary Oreshoski
Saturday Mass: 6 p.m.
St. Anthony’s Catholic Church
Draper, S.D. • Father Gary Oreshoski
Sunday Mass: 8:30 a.m.
Draper United Methodist Church
Pastor Rick Hazen
Sunday Worship: 11 a.m.
Murdo United Methodist Church
Pastor Rick Hazen • Corner of E. 2nd and Jefferson Ave.
Sunday Worship: 9:30 a.m. and Fellowship Time • Sunday School: 10:30 a.m.
United Methodist Women: 1st Wednesday at 2 p.m. • ALL WELCOME!
Okaton Evangelical Free Church
Okaton I–90 Exit 183 • Pastor Gary McCubbin • 605–837–2233 (Kadoka)
Sunday Worship: 9 a.m. (CT) • Sunday School: 10:30 a.m. (CT)
Messiah Lutheran Church
308 Cedar, Murdo, S.D. • Pastor Ray Greenseth
Sunday Worship: 9 a.m. • Sunday School: 10 a.m. • Bible Study: Tuesday 7 a.m.
Thursday 9:30 a.m. • Midweek: Wednesday 3:15 p.m.
St. Paul’s Lutheran Church
Draper, S.D. • Pastor Ray Greenseth
Sunday Worship: 11 a.m. • Bible Study: Wednesday 9 a.m.
Community Bible Church
410 Washington, Murdo, S.D. • Pastor Alvin Gwin • 669–2600
Sunday Worship: 11 a.m. and 7 p.m. • Sunday School: 9:45 a.m.
Wed. Night Bible Study: 7 p.m.
Midwest
Co–op
669–2601
Graham’s
Best Western
669–2441
First National
Bank
669–2414 • Member F.D.I.C.
Murdo
Coyote
PHONE: 669–2271 FAX: 669–2744
mcoyote@gwtc.net
Super 8
Motel
669–2437
Dakota Prairie
Bank
Draper and Presho
669–2401 • Member F.D.I.C.
A Twofold Purpose
by Pastor Cornelius R. Stam
Have you ever noticed the wording of the majestic statement with which the Bible opens?
“In the beginning God created the heaven and the earth” (Gen. 1:1).
It does not say that God created “the universe,” but “the heaven” and “the earth.”
This is because God had a special purpose for the earth quite distinct from His purpose for the rest of the universe. This purpose concerning the earth
and the nations to dwell upon it is progressively revealed in the Scriptures. We look forward to its glorious consummation when “the earth shall be full of
the knowledge of the Lord, as the waters cover the sea” — when the Christ who was crucified here shall come into His right, reigning as King of kings
and Lord of lords.
But God also had a very special purpose concerning heaven which He kept hidden in His own heart of love until man’s sin and rebellion had reached
their climax. Then He stooped down, saved the “chief of sinners” and used him to make known the wondrous secret of His purpose to offer to sinners
everywhere, salvation by grace through faith alone, reconciling them to Himself in one body by the cross and giving them a present position and a future
prospect in the highest heavens.
God’s purpose concerning the earth and Christ’s reign upon it is the subject of prophecy (Luke 1:68-76), His purpose concerning heaven and our exal-
tation there with Christ is the subject of “the mystery” (Eph. 2:4-10; 3:1-4). Into these two great subjects the Scriptures are basically divided.
Two minutes with the bible
“For I was hungry and you gave
me something to eat…”
(Matthew 25:35a)
“Trick or Treat so others can
eat!!!” It’s that time of year again.
Youth in the Murdo and Draper
communities will be coming door
to door on October 30 asking for
food for the local food pantry. The
food that they will be gathering
will help feed the hungry here in
Jones County.
Two things the Bible teaches us
are that we “do not oppress the
poor,” nor do we expect ourselves
or others to pull ourselves up by
our bootstraps.” Folks, “God
helps those who help them-
selves,” cannot be found any-
where in the Bible.
When the woman called Mary
poured expensive perfume on
Jesus’ feet and dried his feet with
her hair, Judas rebuked Jesus
and asked Him why the perfume
was wasted when it could have
been sold and the money given to
the poor. Jesus told Judas and
the other disciples that “you will
always have the poor with you.”
And so, we still do today. Not
much has changed since Bible
times. We still have the poor and
needy, those who struggle to
make ends meet — the working
poor, those who are unable to
work, and the children who are
in school. Yes, the children do get
meals at school, but when the
weekend arrives, who will feed
them? It’s up to you and me.
When you buy groceries, please
remember to purchase a canned
food or non-perishable item for
someone who may be in need.
Please, no outdated bottles, cans
or jars from your home food
pantry. Check the pull dates first.
This is not a food drive so that
you can empty your food pantry
and give away your outdated
stuff. Give something you would
feed yourself or your own family.
Monetary donations will also be
welcome.
When youth come to your door
and say “Trick or Treat so others
can eat,” please give generously
and with a smile, because God
loves a cheerful giver! Thank you
and God bless you!
Remember, too, what Jesus’
brother James says in the Bible:
“Suppose a brother or sister is
without clothes and daily food. If
one of you says to him, ‘Go, I wish
you well; keep warm and well
fed,’ but does nothing about his
physical needs, what good is it?
In the same way, faith by itself, if
it is not accompanied by action, is
dead” (James 2:15-16).
“Seizing the hope set before us”
Heb. 6:18
•Pastor Rick Hazen, United Methodist Church, Murdo and Draper•
Tamara Iverson Mathews
Obituary
Tamara Iverson Mathews went
to see her Lord on Tuesday Octo-
ber 15, 2013. A visitation was
held at Messiah Lutheran
Church in Murdo, S.D., on Sun-
day, October 20, 2013, with a
prayer service following. Funeral
services were held on Monday,
October 21, 2013, at the Murdo
Auditorium. Lunch was served
immediately after the funeral.
Burial followed the meal at the
Mathews Cemetery.
Tamara Iverson was born on
July 20, 1970, to Robert and Mar-
ilyn (Odland) Iverson in Vicenza,
Italy. She grew up in Murdo, S.D.,
where she received her education
and graduated from high school.
She attended Northern State
University where she graduated
magna cum laude with two teach-
ing certificates. She taught in
Murdo for several years. Later,
she attended the University of
South Dakota where she also
graduated magna cum laude with
a nursing degree. She was a
nurse for several years in Pierre
and recently returned to teaching
in Murdo. She was a member of
the Golden Key National Honor
Society, Kappa Delta Pi, NSU
Presidential Scholarship List,
and Who’s Who Among America’s
Students.
On June 9, 1990, she was unit-
ed in marriage to Scott Mathews.
They finished college in Aberdeen
where Tamara was a youth direc-
tor at the Lutheran church. They
had two beautiful children, Philip
and Madison, who were the pur-
pose and pride of Tamara’s life,
and built their home on a ranch
north of Draper, S.D. They were
married for 20 years.
She was a member of Messiah
Lutheran Church where she sang
in the church choir and shared
her talents with the congregation
and community. Tamara had a
deep faith that she was not afraid
to share with others.
Tamara’s passion in life was to
make people’s lives brighter,
whether it was through singing,
nursing, teaching, woodworking,
artistry, make-up, or just listen-
ing. She especially loved helping
children and spending time with
her family.
Grateful for having shared her
life are her children: Philip R.
Mathews and Madison S. Math-
ews; her parents, Robert and
Marilyn Iverson; her sisters:
Tracy Crist, Tanya Anderson and
her twin sister, Tiffany Grode; her
beloved friend, Derik Wright and
his children; and many aunts,
uncles, cousins, nieces and
nephews. She loved them all.
Arrangements have been
placed in care of Isburg Funeral
Chapel. Online condolences may
be made at www.isburgfuner-
alchapels.com
ÞvHÞKt4
cÞ4F88F
Bring your pumpkin, carved or painted,
to Range Country
Sunday, October 27, 2013
between 2:30-4:00 p.m.
8890
¶00f ¢00l0 l8k0ß
Nll0 ¶00f
¢0M¢klß 8 f000l90
8 lf08l
Pumpkins will be
judged from the
photos & winners
will be announced
by October 31
3 Age Categories:
0-5 years
6-12 years
13 &up Winners receive a free pizza from Prairie Pizza
Contest sponsored by
Range Country &Prairie Pizza
Coming to grips with tragedy
by Pastor Jeff Adel
The following was taken from a
blog posted January 3, 2013 for the
Dakota Pastor Blog and is being
printed with permission from Pas-
tor Jeff Adel.
As many of you know by now,
the town of Onida suffered a trag-
ic loss on New Year’s Day. A young
man, only twenty-years old, died of
a self-inflicted gunshot.
It’s a loss for the entire commu-
nity, of course, but especially for
the family. I cannot even begin to
understand how they might be
feeling right now. I doubt if anyone
can, unless you’ve experienced
such a thing yourself. It’s some-
thing that’s really unimaginable.
There are a lot of things about
this situation I don’t know. I am
going to tell you a few things I do
know, though.
For one thing, I know that God
does not hold the way this young
man’s life ended against him. You
may have heard that some people
believe God cannot forgive a sui-
cide. I don’t believe that for a
minute. In the first place, God can
forgive anything. It is not for us to
put limits on God’s ability to for-
give. In the second place, God
understands us better than we
understand ourselves. God knows
what this young man was going
through, and God knows what
drove him to do what he did. God
knows, and God understands, and
God is not going to condemn him
for it.
God does not approve of suicide,
of course, but I believe God’s reac-
tion is one of sadness rather than
anger. God had a plan for this
young man’s life, just as God has a
plan for all of our lives. God did
not want this young man to end
his life prematurely, before he had
done all that God had planned for
him. God is sad that it happened,
but God is not angry at him for it.
God is not angry at anyone else
for it, either. The natural thing,
especially for his family and
friends, is to blame yourself. You
think, “Why did we not see this
coming? Why did we not do some-
thing about it? Maybe if we’d done
this or done that, or said this or
said that, this would not have hap-
pened?”
The reason people did not see it
coming is that we are all imperfect
human beings. Perhaps there are
things that some people see now,
in retrospect, were clues that this
might happen, I don’t know. It’s
always easier to see things after
the fact. That does not mean that
you should have seen them coming
in advance, or even that you could
have. Most of us, no matter how
depressed or upset someone
seems, do not even think about
them taking their life. It’s not
something that comes to our
minds. The chances are, there was
no reason before the fact that any-
one would have thought this would
happen. There is no reason for
anyone to blame themselves for it.
A lot of people, in thinking
about this situation, are probably
asking, “Why?” As we said in
church last week, “why” is a ques-
tion that comes up a lot in the
Bible. Job asked it repeatedly. So
did the author of Ecclesiastes.
Even Jesus asked it: “My God, why
have you forsaken me?” The prob-
lem is that, even though lots of
people in the Bible ask “why”, they
rarely get their question
answered.
So, while we will naturally ask
why, as a community we also need
to ask “What can we do to help?”
What can we do to support this
family at such a tragic time? This
is why God put us into communi-
ties: so we can help each other. We
need to pray, of course, but we also
need to come together around this
family. We need to be there for
them. We need to give them all the
love and support we can. We need
to let them know that, as awful as
this is, they do not have to go
through it alone. They have lots of
people who care about them and
who want to help them through
this time.
And we need to give them that
love and support for a long time.
We need to be there for them for a
long time. This is not something
from which it’s possible to heal in a
few days, or a few weeks, or a few
months. This is something that
will affect them the rest of their
lives. It’s something they will
never forget. We need to let them
know we have not forgotten,
either. We need to be there for
them next week, and next month,
and this summer, and on and on
and on.
We may never understand
things like this, but we know that
God is there in them. God cries
with us, and God mourns with us.
God is still there for us, and God
still loves us. God wants us to be
there for each other and to love
each other, too. Let’s be there for
this family in the days and weeks
and months ahead.
On cooking duty behind the table left to right: Randee Henle, Brett Anderson, Shannon Sealey, Brenda Mann,
Tammy Van Dam, Greg Boyle, Travis Larson. Jerry Hatheway, Jay Drayer and Beth Sichmeller also helped. The
Jones County Ambulance third annual pheasant season pancake and omelet breakfast was held Saturday, Octo-
ber 19 and Sunday, October 20. The money raised will help support their next equipment purchases.
Photos by Tami Jo Newbold-Flynn
Jones County Ambulance breakfast a success
Ambulance member John Weber
does dishes.
Jones County Football
Murdo Coyote • October 24, 2013 • Page 4
Jones County HIgL ScLoo! 2013 Iootbu!! teum, munugevs und cLeev!eudevs (buck vow, !eIt to vIgLt) JoLn KIng, Jones County HIgL ScLoo! 2013 Iootbu!! teum, munugevs und cLeev!eudevs (buck vow, !eIt to vIgLt) JoLn KIng,
Cody Munke, Ðy!un KIns!ey, Sky!ev MI!!ev, Connov Venuvd, C!uyton £vuns, CLud JoLnson, Wyutt Webev, Heud Cody Munke, Ðy!un KIns!ey, Sky!ev MI!!ev, Connov Venuvd, C!uyton £vuns, CLud JoLnson, Wyutt Webev, Heud
CoucL Juytee Seu!ey; (mIdd!e vow, !eIt to vIgLt) AustIn Venuvd, Jucob Avendt, Reed Venuvd, Ðu!ton KIns!ey, CoucL Juytee Seu!ey; (mIdd!e vow, !eIt to vIgLt) AustIn Venuvd, Jucob Avendt, Reed Venuvd, Ðu!ton KIns!ey,
ZucL Hespe, Bvundon Puvsons, Cody HIgLt; (Ivont vow, !eIt to vIgLt) SLe!by Bovk, Cuvo! Ðvuyev, MudIson MutL ZucL Hespe, Bvundon Puvsons, Cody HIgLt; (Ivont vow, !eIt to vIgLt) SLe!by Bovk, Cuvo! Ðvuyev, MudIson MutL- -
ews, SLuy!u Movun, Ku!!I Hespe, HunnuL HIgLt, MIkuy!u Wu!dvon, Me!yssu Munecke. ews, SLuy!u Movun, Ku!!I Hespe, HunnuL HIgLt, MIkuy!u Wu!dvon, Me!yssu Munecke.
Art's Dltchlng & Plumblng · Bank West Insurance · Best Western Craham's
Buffalo Restaurant · Corky's Auto 5upply · Dakota Pralrle Bank
Drayer Estates Contractlng · Farmers Unlon Oll · Flrst Fldellty Bank & Agency
Colden West Communlcatlons · Hauptman Harvestlng
Hlldebrand 5teel & Concrete Constructlon · Iversen Inn
Moore Bulldlng Center, LLC · Murdo Coyote · Murdo Ford
Murdo 5uper 8 · Murdo Veterlnary Cllnlc · Nles Trucklng
Ploneer Country Mart · Ranchland Drug · Rankln Constructlon, LLC
Roghalr Trucklng · 5hooter's Valley · Dr. james 5zana
Venard, Inc. · West Central Electrlc
· Last regular season football game ls · Last regular season football game ls
Thursday, October 24 vs. Lyman Thursday, October 24 vs. Lyman
County at home at 7:00 p.m. County at home at 7:00 p.m.
· Flrst round of football playoffs begln · Flrst round of football playoffs begln
Tuesday, October 29. Tuesday, October 29.
C
C
o
o
o
o e
e
y
y
t
t
s
s
Community
Murdo Coyote • October 24, 2013 • 5
the fact that I am not a great con-
versationalist. I run out of things
to say before very long and just
end up saying, “Uh huh,” or
“Hmmm” a lot.
Being conversationally chal-
lenged also makes it so I’m not
eager to join a lot of organiza-
tions. My dad, on the other hand,
joined everything that came
along. He was a Mason, a Lion,
and half a dozen other things.
He also loved to play cards and
attended any card parties that
came along. He was extremely
social and loved the give and take
of anywhere that people gath-
ered. A neighbor of ours has
joined even more organizations
than Dad and is hardly ever
home in the evenings. He’s out
gadding about and sometimes
travels quite a distance if noth-
ing is happening close to home.
Then we come to son Chance.
He has very little speech due to
his autism. If he says a hundred
words a year, he is being chatty.
He used to have slightly more
speech, but he hasn’t said a lot in
the last few years. He communi-
cates in other ways, but not
much with his voice. When he
does say something, it is usually
witty and worth listening to. I
recall some years ago when we
were out driving in the car at
night, and I was trying to come
up with the name of the brightest
star in the constellation Orion.
In previous night rides but in the
golf cart, I would often tell
Chance which constellations
were which and what some of the
stars were named. Anyway, while
I was hemming and hawing try-
ing to come up with the name, I
suddenly heard it coming from
the back seat. “Rigel!” Chance
said. It was spoken with a bit of
disgust at the shortcomings of
my memory. This tickled me
quite a bit because that one word
said a lot about my son’s patience
and also reminded me he had a
quick and retentive mind. He
knew which star I was talking
about. My explanations of things
in the night sky were not lost on
him.
So to avoid rambling and
unnecessary detail, let me sum-
marize and get to the point. Con-
versation is an extremely useful
tool in sharing information, opin-
ions, and feelings. We all tend to
go at it differently, but it is how
we communicate and interact.
More importantly, it makes it
possible for people to let us know
they care about us and vice
versa. That’s worth a lot.
“Talk a little slower,” I request-
ed. At the time, I was on the
phone trying to get a confirma-
tion number and some other
information, and the gal at the
other end was talking way too
fast for me. This was complicated
somewhat by the fact that I was
holding the phone to my ear with
my shoulder while trying to write
on a wiggly piece of paper.
“Okay,” she said, and she really
did try. Pretty soon, though, she
was back up to warp speed, and I
had to remind her to slow it back
down. Eventually I got what I
needed, and read it back to check
that I had it right. Apparently it
was, but it wasn’t an easy conver-
sation.
Some people just naturally talk
really fast. I think of Alice in this
regard. She was a friend of
Mom’s and of mine too, but it was
as if she needed to get things out
as quickly as possible so she
could get on with more-useful
work. She was a sweet gal so you
just tried to listen up and not say
“what?” too often. She didn’t talk
very loudly either, so you really
had to pay attention.
Contrast Alice with neighbor
Leonard who said very little and
said it slowly. When he called you
on the phone, first you heard a
cough and then the words, “This
is Leonard.” You kind of figured
that he hadn’t talked in so long
that he had to clear his throat
before he could say anything. It
got so when I answered the
phone and heard the cough, I
knew who it was before he
announced, “This is Leonard.”
Neither was my Uncle Don in
any hurry when he visited with
anyone. He liked to tell stories,
but he did it in his own sweet
time. Since he added quite a few
details that weren’t completely
necessary, I sometimes got the
fidgets about halfway through
the tale. Again, he was a good fel-
low so I tried to be patient
although sometimes it was hard.
I often wondered why he couldn’t
just summarize or get to the
main point, but that isn’t how he
told stories.
As you know, some people have
a lot to say so you’d better be pre-
pared to spend some time when
you strike up a conversation with
them. If I’m pressed for time,
there are certain folks I do not
call on the phone because I know
I’ll have the receiver stuck to my
ear for quite a while. They tend
to go on and on and then immedi-
ately jump to another subject
when the first one is worn out.
This is made somewhat worse by
Lookin’ Around
• Syd Iwan •
Best of luck at
the State Cross
Country meet in
Rapid City on
Saturday,
October 26!
We’re very
proud of you,
Skylar and
Rachel!
Regional cross country runners (left to right) Molly Dowling, Rachel Buxcel, Skylar Green, Austin Olson, Breckin Steilen. The region meet was held in
Philip on October 16. Buxcel placed third with a time of 16:00 and Green got 19th with a time of 18:10; both qualified for state.
Courtesy photo
Call the Murdo Call the Murdo
Coyote at Coyote at
605-669-2271 605-669-2271
to place YOUR to place YOUR
ad here ad here
www.ravellettepublications.com
Rural
Murdo Coyote • October 24, 2013 • 6
As farmers wait for wet weath-
er to clear and dry conditions to
return so they can continue or in
some cases, begin harvesting,
they are also seeing some of their
crops lodge.
Grain sorghum, sunflower and
corn can all suffer from stalk
problems, and lodging. The most
common cause of lodging is
weather related; rain, wet soils,
high winds, and in some cases,
snow. Soil compaction, limited
root development and lack of
plant vigor can also be factors.
Early harvest is recommended
to avoid problems with lodging,
but there was a large amount of
fall crop and early moisture inter-
rupted harvest well before it was
completed.
One school of thought is to har-
vest standing crops first. These
may be better yielding, harvest
will go faster, standing crops will
field dry quicker, and you would
want to get them before they
begin to lodge.
Lodged crops may best be har-
vested with equipment choices
and/or modifications, and tech-
nique. If the crop is planted in
rows, a row crop head may lift
lodged stalks enough to get them
into the machine. There are reels
that can be mounted on corn
heads to help pull material into
the combine. Crop lifters can be
attached to the sickle bar of most
combine flex or straight heads
and improve harvesting efficiency
for both row planted and drilled
or solid-seeded sorghum or corn.
These will not work well for
lodged sunflower. Check with
your implement dealer to make
sure these attachments will fit on
your model of combine. Innova-
tive farmers have also developed
their own modifications, with var-
ied success, but sometimes dam-
aging their equipment (see the
Sept 1998 article in “The Sun-
flower” magazine:http://sunflow-
ernsa.com/magazine/details.asp?I
D=119&Cat=2).
Lifting the lodged crop is prefer-
able to shaving the ground. Not
only do you run less material
through the combine, but you are
likely to leave more residues
attached by the roots, and stand-
ing for snow catch. Running less
plant material through the com-
bine can save fuel and wear on
the combine, allow faster harvest-
ing, and with sunflower, less dan-
ger of fire.
Equipment choice and/or modi-
fications alone will not maximize
harvest efficiency of lodged crops.
Recommendations are to travel
slow, and choose the optimum
direction of travel. If wind was a
significant factor in the lodging of
crops, the majority of plants may
be lying in one direction. This sit-
uation may allow harvesting in
two directions by traveling per-
pendicular to the direction the
plants are leaning or lying. The
best results may be obtained by
harvesting in one direction, likely
at an angle against the direction
the plants are lying, and “dead-
heading” back for the next pass. If
the lodging is more random, as
might occur with severe stalk
weakness, the direction of travel
may not matter.
Some crops may be standing in
water or in very wet soil. These
crops will certainly be best left
until other fields or areas have
been harvested. There will cer-
tainly be opportunities to harvest
these areas when the ground is
frozen, even if part of the day.
When these are the only crops
left, producers will need to deter-
mine whether it is worth taking
the risk to harvest them, or wait
for the water to leave, the wet soil
to dry and/or the ground to freeze.
Operating equipment on very wet
soils is known to cause soil com-
paction. If doing so, minimize the
weight by limiting the amount of
grain carried by combines and
grain carts, and keep trucks on
roads and field borders. If you are
not able to harvest all of the crop,
grazing is another option, and
particularly useful for corn if the
ears fall off the plants.
Calendar
October 21-23, 2013: SDSU
Extension Annual Conference,
Brookings, SD
December 3-4, 2013: Ag Horizons
Conference, Ramkota Inn, Pierre,
SD
Extension News
• Bob Fanning (605) 842-1267 •
Harvesting
lodged crops
This past summer there has
been a continued stream of med-
ical research articles about the
treatment of diabetes. The stan-
dard expected treatment every-
one fears is insulin injections.
These are essential for the type 1
juvenile diabetics. They make no
insulin at all for themselves and
will have an early age mortality if
they don’t use insulin. But 90 per-
cent of the 30 million (ten percent
of our population) diabetics in our
country are type 2 diabetics.
Their problem is that they make
two or three or four times as
much insulin as a normal person
but the insulin just doesn’t work.
Thus, the principle of trying to
treat these individuals with more
insulin seems to be a basically
flawed idea. Rather, somehow
medical science has to come up
with a method of decreasing
insulin resistance rather than
just more and more insulin which
does not correct the basic flaw of
insulin resistance.
Every type 2 diabetic who has
ever sought medical attention has
heard the refrain that they need
to exercise more and eat less. But
does this advice really work. For
sure, it does not work with the
“skinny” type 2 diabetics, but
they are unusual and almost cer-
tainly have a diabetic condition
that is different than the over-
weight and sedentary type 2 dia-
betics. So the question of the use-
fulness of diet and exercise was
addressed in a large study of 5000
diabetics over 10 years in a proj-
ect called the AHEAD study
(Action for Health in Diabetes).
This study randomized the 5,000
patients into two groups one of
which decreased their calorie
intake and increased their exer-
cise. The other group was told
“best of luck.” The goal of the
weight-loss group was a seven
percent drop in their weight and
a measured increase in their
physical activity. The end point of
the trial was an outcome in which
the individual died from cardio-
vascular causes, or had a non-
fatal heart attack, a non-fatal
stroke, or a hospitalization for
chest pain suggesting a heart
attack about to develop. It was
planned to run the trial for 13 1/2
years but after only 10 years it
was apparent that the diet and
exercise group had no advantage
over the group that had been told
“best of luck.” The trial was there-
fore deemed futile and discontin-
ued. The study physicians did
note that the diet and exercise
group did have less kidney dis-
ease, less depression, lower hospi-
tal costs and less medication
costs. But the big question that
had been asked of this trial was
“did diet and exercise really lower
the mortality from heart attack or
stroke”. The answer was no. The
incidence of heart attack and
stroke do not seem to be measur-
ably changed in this study.
As you might imagine, this
very unexpected trial result
kicked a big hole in the medical
benefits of diet and exercise. Rea-
sons offered as to why the diet
exercise intervention didn’t work
was that perhaps more weight
loss was needed. The youngest
person in the trial was 45-years of
age and the investigators sus-
pected that perhaps interventions
at a younger age would have
made a difference. They noted
that the participants’ average
body mass index of 36 was only
lowered to about a body mass
index to 34 which was still over-
weight. The authors speculate
that perhaps their goals of the
weight-loss program were too
modest.
The results of this study reem-
phasize an observation developed
over the past 40 years. That
observation is that there appears
to be two different disease mecha-
nisms in the type 2 diabetic. One
of these has to do with so called
large vessel disease which affects
the arteries of the heart and the
brain. These are the people that
get the heart attacks and strokes.
Their disease process is signifi-
cantly reduced by the use of
statin drugs. The second diabetic
mechanism affects small vessels
in the kidneys, the eyes and the
feet resulting in the leading cause
of blindness in the United States,
the leading cause of end stage
kidney disease requiring dialysis,
and the leading cause of leg
amputations. The small vessel
disease is clearly benefited by
having an A1C maintained below
six and one-half percent. But the
level of the A1C blood test seems
to have little impact on the rate of
heart attack or stroke in the type
2 diabetic.
This result was emphasized by
2 articles that appeared in the
October 3rd issue of the New
England Journal of Medicine.
These two articles tested the ben-
efits of a family of drugs called
the “gliptins.” There are now
three competing drugs on the
market called Januvia, Onglyza,
and Trigenta. These are all very
expensive. They all came on the
market with a splash claiming
that they lowered the A1C sub-
stantially. But two back to back
articles in the New England Jour-
nal of Medicine for October 3rd
showed not a particle of differ-
ence in the rate of heart attack
when these two drugs were used
for over five years. Fortunately,
the “gliptin” family of drugs did
not cause heart attacks or other
side effects as has been claimed
for Avandia and Actos. But this is
another example that the tenden-
cy for heart attack and stroke is
not related to A1C level in the
type 2 diabetic.
I will end this column with my
own editorial comment. I believe
that the major driver for heart
attack and stroke in the general
population and in the diabetic are
the same. They are hypertension,
high blood cholesterol, and ciga-
rette smoking. I can tell you in
the general population a high
blood cholesterol and high blood
pressure accompany the diabetic
condition. I think that unless the
high blood pressure and choles-
terol are controlled, there will be
no major impact on the incidence
of heart attack or stroke. I firmly
believe that measuring the A1C
and keeping it below seven per-
cent prevents the eye, kidney and
foot disease that results in these
horrible complications. I believe
most firmly that the diabetic con-
dition has major hereditary fac-
tors. These factors will allow dia-
betes to occur if the person is
sedentary and with excess nutri-
tional calories. I believe that
starting at a young age maintain-
ing an exercise program and
weight control is going to be
required to change the stroke and
heart attack incidence in the dia-
betic population. Unfortunately,
this message is not addressed by
the general population and espe-
cially the young invincible 20-40
year old critical group that pays
vanishing little attention to their
own health.
The Clinical View
• Dr. P.E. Hoffsten •
Treatment of diabetes
payments to 350,000 farmers by
about $152 million to comply
with automatic spending cuts
that took effect at the start of
April. Agriculture Secretary Tom
Vilsack said the money would
come out of the $5 billion-a-year
direct-payment subsidy, which is
paid in the fall, to offset reduc-
tions due in three USDA pro-
grams that have already dis-
bursed money to farmers. During
a speech to trade group officials,
Vilsack said comparatively small
amounts are due for each farmer,
so it would be more efficient to
pro-rate the direct-payment sub-
sidy than to ask the farmers for a
refund on checks already cut.
Affected are the milk income loss
contract subsidy to dairy farm-
ers, the supplemental revenue
assistance program (SURE) and
the noninsured assistance pro-
gram (NAP). SURE and NAP are
insurance-like programs that
cover losses due to bad weather.
2013 NAP PRODUCTION
DUE NOVEMBER 15
Producers must annually pro-
vide the quantity of all harvested
production of the crop in which
the producer held an interest
during the crop year. We will
send out the “NAP Yields” form
which lists your acres and a spot
for you to record your production.
The deadline for reporting this
production is November 15, 2013.
Production reporting is required
for all 2013 crops on farms with
NAP coverage.
DATES TO REMEMBER/
DEADLINES
November 4: COC election begins
November 15: 2013 NAP produc-
tion reporting deadline
November 15: CRP managed
haying bale removal deadline
November 15: 2014 Acreage
reporting deadline on perennial
grasses and winter wheat
Feel free to call the office if you
ever have questions on any of our
programs 605-669-2404 Ext. 2.
UPDATE ON FARM SERVICE
AGENCY OPERATIONS
There is now an enacted Fiscal
Year (FY) 2014 continuing resolu-
tion that provides funding for the
U.S. Department of Agriculture
(USDA) Farm Service Agency
(FSA). We are in the process of an
orderly start-up of farm program
and farm loan activities for FY
2014. Thank you for your
patience and support during the
period that our services were
unavailable.
We realize that the temporary
lapse in service has created a
backlog in requests and service
delivery needs. While this back-
log was not created overnight and
will not be addressed overnight,
we are committed to a proactive
and customer-focused approach
to prioritize activities so that we
can provide the service you expect
and deserve as quickly as possi-
ble. Please contact David Kling-
berg, County Executive Director,
if you have any questions or need
additional information. Thank
you again for your patience dur-
ing this period.
USDA PARES FARM
PAYMENTS BY $152
MILLION DUE TO
BUDGET SEQUESTER
The U.S. Government will trim
JC FSA News
• David Klingberg •
CÞLw AGLNCY, L1O.
Crop Insurance Specialists Since 1984.
0lve us a calll
We'd be happy to
dlscuss .
All Your crop lnsurance Needs
5a|es U|ose 0ate for 2014 Urops Are:
Paìnfa|| Index on Pasture & Pay|and:
11/15/13
Annua| Iorage (Pay Mì||et, 5udan, etc.):
12/15/13
1hese are the dates to purchase, change or
cancel multi-peril crop insurance.
0fflce (606) 433-6411
or 1oll-Free (888) 433-8760
Pusty 0|ney ¹ Maurìce Pandcock ¹ Peìdì Porch ¹ 1ay|or Mohnen
1anner Pandcock ¹ Urady & ßernìce Urew
Crew Agency is an equal opportunity provider.
Murdo Nutrition
Program Menu
October 28
Hamburger on a Bun
Lettuce & Onions
Potato Wedges
Baked Beans
Pears
October 29
Baked Ham
Scalloped Potatoes
Green Beans w/ Onions
Dinner Roll
Apricots
October 30
Homemade Pizza
Tossed Lettuce Salad
Apple Juice
Fresh Fruit
October 31
Chicken Parmesan
Company Potatoes
Corn O’Brian
Dinner Roll
Orange Gelatin w/ Fruit
November 1
Chicken Noodle Soup w/ Veg
7 Layer Salad
Mixed Fruit
Cookie
Selected Interest Rates for
October 2013
Commodity Loans 1.125 percent
Farm Operating Loans — Direct
1.875 percent
Farm Ownership Loans — Direct
4.125 percent
Farm Ownership Loans — Direct
Down Payment, Beginning
Farmer or Rancher 1.500 percent
Farm Storage Facility Loans –
7 Yr 2.250 percent
Farm Storage Facility Loans –
10 Yr 2.875 percent
Farm Storage Facility Loans –
12 Yr 3.000 percent
coyoteads@gwtc.net
Public Notices
Murdo Coyote • October 24, 2013 • 7
Notice of Summons
State of South Dakota
County of Jones
In Circuit Court
Sixth Judicial Circuit
Civ. 13-15
State of South Dakota, Plaintiff
v.
$10,582 in AMERICAN CURRENCy,
Defendant
Summons
GREETINGS FROM THE STATE OF
SOUTH DAKOTA TO THE ABOVE-
NAMED DEFENDANT AND JOSHUA A.
MENCHACA, 2527 STARKWEATHER
ROAD, ROCKFORD, ILLINOIS 61107:
you are hereby summoned and required
to serve upon the Attorney General,
Plaintiff's attorney, whose address is the
Office of the Attorney General, 1302 East
Highway 14, Suite 1, Pierre, South Dako-
ta 57501-8501, a verified Answer to the
Complaint, which is herewith served
upon you (and will be filed with the Clerk
of the Circuit Court of the Sixth Judicial
Circuit at Murdo, County of Jones, State
of South Dakota), within thirty (30) days
after the service of this Summons and
Complaint upon you, exclusive to the
date of service. If you fail to file an
Answer within thirty days of the date of
service upon you, judgment by default
will be taken against you for the relief as
prayed for in the Complaint. The object
of the above action is forfeiture of the
above‑described property to the State of
South Dakota.
Dated this 19th day of September, 2013.
/s/ M. Bridget Mayer
M. Bridget Mayer
Assistant Attorney General
Office of the Attorney General
1302 East Highway  14, Suite 1
Pierre, South Dakota 57501-8501
Telephone: (605) 773-3215
Published October 17, 24, 31 & Novem-
ber 7, 2013, at the total approximate cost
of $69.96.
Proceedings of the
Draper Town Board
Regular Session
October 7, 2013
The Draper Town Board met in regular
session October 7, 2013 at 7:00 p.m. in
the Draper hall. Chairman Nies called
the meeting to order. Present: Nies,
Hatheway and Louder. Absent: none.
On October 16, Congress
approved – and President Obama
signed into law – legislation to
end the partial government shut-
down and increase our nation’s
borrowing limit, known as the
“debt ceiling.” I voted against this
bill and would like to take this
opportunity to explain why.
Make no mistake, getting the
government funded again and
stopping any talk of potential
default on our debt was a good
thing. I didn’t favor shutting
down the government and am
glad it is reopened. For me, this
vote was not simply about
whether to reopen the govern-
ment; rather, it was about what
kind of government we should
have. Do we want a government
that lives within its means? Or do
we want a government that
spends much more than it takes
in, leaving a crushing amount of
debt for future generations? I
voted “no” because I believe our
spending problems are unsus-
tainable and because the bill that
was ultimately signed into law
missed a real opportunity to fix
the problems that have led us to a
A better way to
restore our
fiscal future
$17 trillion national debt.
One of the most pressing chal-
lenges facing our nation is our
growing debt. Concern over our
fiscal future is one of the reasons
I oppose President Obama’s tril-
lion-dollar health care law, com-
monly referred to as Obamacare.
In fact, concerns about Oba-
macare – including the unfair
way it has been implemented –
helped lead to the standoff that
partially shut down the govern-
ment on October 1.
To be clear, the government
shutdown was not the outcome I
hoped for, though I do stand by
my desire to see South Dakotans
get the same treatment under
Obamacare that the president
has offered to corporations and
large businesses. During the peri-
od the government was partially
shut down, I remained hopeful
that both parties would come
together and negotiate on the
issue of providing fairness under
Obamacare. In the absence of
those negotiations, the House
began passing numerous bills to
reopen basic, noncontroversial
parts of the federal government.
Those bills were unfortunately
never considered in the Senate.
On October 10, I was part of a
small group of Republicans that
went to the White House in an
effort to negotiate a way forward
From the U.S. House
• Representative Kristi Noem •
From the U.S. Senate
• Senator John Thune •
There is nothing like a crisp
fall day in South Dakota for
enjoying one of our great state
traditions, pheasant hunting.
Families throughout South Dako-
ta dust off their hunting gear,
organize weekend hunts, and
invite out-of-town family and
friends into their homes for a
taste of this long-standing sport-
ing tradition. While pheasant
hunting may be the reason for
these annual fall gatherings, for
many of us the time spent with
family, friends, and neighbors is
the true highlight of the fall
hunts.
South Dakota has become
famous for its hospitality and
quality pheasant hunting.
Dubbed the “Pheasant Capitol of
the World,” we have grown accus-
tomed during these fall and win-
ter months to seeing planes com-
ing and going from our airports
filled with passengers loading
and unloading their gun cases,
coolers, and blaze orange gear.
Despite pheasant numbers being
down for the 2013 season, the
South Dakota Department of
Tourism estimates that pheasant
hunting will generate approxi-
mately $223 million in revenues
for the state. Whether it is the
licenses, gas, and gear that they
buy, or the nights spent in lodges
and motels throughout the state,
clearly hunting in South Dakota
is big business.
But for those of us who grew up
pheasant hunting in South Dako-
ta, we often do not think about
the business it generates.
Instead, we think about the treas-
ured memories of quality time we
have spent with families and
friends, the lessons we learned
about responsible hunting prac-
tices and gun safety, and the
unforgettable feeling of bagging
Pheasant
hunting: A South
Dakota tradition
with President Obama. By that
time, it was clear that the issue of
government funding was going to
be merged with the issue of rais-
ing the debt ceiling. At that meet-
ing, the president was offered a
temporary increase in the debt
ceiling along with a way to reopen
the government as long as both
sides entered real, meaningful
negotiations on reforming some of
the programs that are the real
drivers of our fiscal problems.
The president did not accept our
offer and began working with
Senate Majority Leader Harry
Reid on a deal to reopen the gov-
ernment and increase the debt
ceiling, which formed the founda-
tion for the bill that I ultimately
could not support.
The process that I went
through prior to casting my vote
was neither simple nor easy. I
supported reopening the govern-
ment and wanted to see that hap-
pen as quickly as possible. While
there were some positive aspects
to the bill, it also included things
that troubled me, including a $2.1
billion funding boost for an Ohio
River dam and a one-time “death
gratuity” payment of $174,000 to
the widow of a millionaire law-
maker that passed away earlier
this year. However, at the end of
the day it all came back to one
thing for me: our $17 trillion debt.
While reopening the government
was important to me, so too was
pushing for a government that
stops spending more money than
it takes in.
Congress and recent presi-
dents from both political parties,
including President Obama, have
a long history of tying reforms to
an increase in the debt ceiling.
Unfortunately, we missed an
opportunity to do so with this bill.
With our national debt at $17 tril-
lion and growing, I could not sup-
port the bill because it increased
our debt ceiling without doing
anything to address our country’s
structural spending problem.
I believe there is a better path.
Members of Congress from both
parties must work with President
Obama on common sense reforms
that we can all agree on. These
reforms could include things like
fixing our broken tax code by
eliminating loopholes and mak-
ing incremental reforms to enti-
tlement programs that are the
real drivers of our spending so
they can better serve current and
future beneficiaries.
Despite this recent episode, I
still believe divided government
can work to better serve the
American people and I am com-
mitted to trying to make that
happen.
The minutes of the last meeting were
read and approved.
These bills were presented for payment
and approved: Dept of Revenue, ss &
wh, $87.96; Farmers Union, hall supplies
& propane, $871.80; Murdo Coyote,
advertise, $9.09; Kim Schmidt, salary,
$359.40; Servall, rug, $1.83; Heartland
Waste, garbage, $700.00; Greg Rankin,
mowing, $101.12; West Central Electric,
electric, $414.27; WR Lyman, water,
$47.50; Dept of Revenue, sales tax,
$20.00.
Budget for the Town of Draper
October 2014
Income
Street . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .$3,000
Garbage . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .9,400
Sewer . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .4,300
Water . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .300
Hall . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .300
Heat . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .0
Ben rent . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .550
Interest . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .1,500
Taxes . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .8,500
Liq . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .1,200
Library . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .0
Insurance . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .0
Adm . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .0
Electric . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .0
General . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .7,950
Total . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .$37,000
Expense
Street . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .$5,000
Garbage . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .9,200
Sewer . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .500
Water . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .450
Hall . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .1,500
Heat . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .1,500
Ben rent . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .0
Interest . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .0
Taxes . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .0
Liq . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .150
Library . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .100
Insurance . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .4,100
Adm . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .7,100
Electric . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .4,400
General . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .3,000
Total . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .$37,000
The tax levy was set at $5000.00.
Heath Bryan turned in the hay bale
count. It was decided to put these up for
bids with the opening being on Novem-
ber 4, 2013.
The Board was informed that the hall has
developed a couple of leaks. Nies stated
he would try to get up on the roof and
see if he could see where it was leaking
and if it could be temporarily fixed until
something can be done.
Being no further business Louder
motioned to adjourn, seconded Hathe-
way.
Kim Schmidt,
Finance Clerk
Published October 24, 2013, at the total
approximate cost of $33.79.
that first pheasant. All of these
experiences have made pheasant
hunting a sport passed down from
generation to generation in our
state, and one which I hope can
continue for future generations.
As we gather at our favorite
pheasant hunting locations, take
the newest family hunter out for
the first day in the fields, and
gather at night over a warm meal
to tell stories of the “shot of the
day,” we continue these treasured
South Dakota traditions and
instill an appreciation for nature
and the outdoors in the next gen-
eration of hunters. I wish all
hunters across South Dakota a
safe and successful hunting sea-
son.
Coyote Classifieds
Murdo Coyote • October 24, 2013 • 8
fields. Application and instruc-
tions at www.bellefourche.org
(click on BF Development Corpo-
ration tab). Contact Krysti at
605-892-3006 or Krysti@belle-
fourche.org if you have any ques-
tions.
FULL TIME JACKSON
COUNTY HIGHWAY Depart-
ment Worker. Truck driver,
heavy equipment operator, light
equipment operator. Experience
preferred, but will train. CDL
required, or to be obtained in six
months. Pre-employment drug
and alcohol screening required.
Benefits package. Applications/
resumes accepted. Information
(605) 837-2410 or (605) 837-2422
Fax (605) 837-2447
LOOKING FOR A MANAGER
for our P/O Printing & Graphics
division in Watertown. The posi-
tion involves sales, bidding of
print jobs, marketing and cus-
tomer service. Successful candi-
date should have customer serv-
ice experience, strong math and
computer skills, and the ability
to lead a team. A full-time posi-
tion with benefits. Send letter of
interest and resume to: chris.
carter@thepublicopinion.com
Position closes October 31, 2013.
CUSTER REGIONAL HOSPI-
TAL, Custer Clinic, Hot Springs
Regional Medical Clinic and
Custer Regional Senior Care
have full-time, part-time and
PRN (as-needed) RN, LPN,
Licensed Medical Assistant and
Nurse Aide positions available.
We offer competitive pay and
excellent benefits. New Gradu-
ates welcome! Please contact
Human Resources at (605) 673-
9418 for more information or log
onto www.regionalhealth.com to
apply.
THE WATERTOWN PUBLIC
OPINION has an immediate
opening for a Full-time Reporter
to join its news team. The suc-
cessful candidate will have the
ability to cover a wide variety of
news events in print and video
and still feel comfortable putting
together a compelling feature
story. Experience is preferred but
will consider a recent journalism
graduate. Photography and video
skills are a plus. The Watertown
Public opinion is a six-day a week
newspaper in northeastern
South Dakota. This job offers
competitive wage based on expe-
rience, and benefits package with
health benefits, 401(k) and life
insurance. Send letter, resume,
layout and writing and/or video
samples to: Watertown Public
Opinion, Attn: Human
Resources, PO Box 10, Water-
town, SD 57201, or e-mail:
chris.carter@thepublicopinion.co
m
FOR SALE
FAMOUS CENTRAL SD BAK-
ERY available for purchase in
Gettysburg. Established turnkey
mix bakery with both wholesale
and retail sales. Contact Kath-
leen at ltgandt@yahoo.com or
240-461-4779.
LONGBRANCH IN PIERRE,
SD. We have lowered the price &
will consider contract for deed.
Call Russell Spaid 605-280-1067.
HOLIDAY CRAFT SHOW
HOLIDAY CRAFT & BOU-
TIQUE Show, November 29 &
30, Belle Fourche Community
Center. Vendor space available.
For more information contact
605-892-2336 or www.black-
hillsparrotwelfare.org
LOG HOMES
DAKOTA LOG HOME Builders
representing Golden Eagle Log
Homes, building in eastern, cen-
tral, northwestern South &
North Dakota. Scott Connell,
605-530-2672, Craig Connell,
605-264-5650, www.goldenea-
gleloghomes.com
OTR/DRIVERS
DRIVERS WANTED: CDL,
owner operators, freight from
Midwest up to 48 states, home
regularly, newer equipment,
Health, 401K, call Randy, A&A
Express, 800-658-3549
Deadline is Tuesdays at 10 a.m.
Call: 669-2271
CLASSIFIED ADVERTISING
CLASSIFIED RATE: $5.00 minimum for up to 20 words.10¢ per word after
initial 20. Each name and initial must be counted as one word.
CARD OF THANKS: Poems, Tributes, Etc. $5.00 minimum for up to 20
words.10¢ per word after initial 20. Each name and initial must be counted
as one word.
NOTE: $2.00 added charge for bookkeeping and billing on all charges.
DISPLAY AD RATE: $5.20 per column inch.
PUBLISHER’S NOTICE: All real estate, advertised in this newspaper is
subject to the Federal Fair Housing Act of 1968, which makes it illegal to
advertise “any preference, or discrimination on race, color, religion, sex, or
national origin, or any intention to make any such preference, limitation, or
discrimination.”
This newspaper will not knowingly accept any advertising for real estate
which is a violation of the law. Our readers are informed that all dwellings
advertised in this newspaper are available on an equal opportunity basis.
Help Wanted
JONES COUNTY SCHOOLS is
looking for a para professional to
assist teachers in the educational
setting. The elementary school
would be the primary area of
employment, but candidate must
be willing to work with students
of all ages. Interested candidates
should submit a letter of applica-
tion and resume to Jones County
Schools, Attn: Grant Vander
Vorst, PO Box 109, Murdo SD
57559. Deadline for application
is October 25. M42-2tc
T H E J O N E S C O U N T Y
BOARD OF COMMISSION-
ERS will be accepting applica-
tions for full-time employment
with the County Highway
Department. Applications and
resume will be received at the
Jones County Auditor’s office,
P.O. Box 307, Murdo, SD 57559
until Friday, November 1, 2013 at
5 p.m. CDST. Applications must
be picked up at the County Audi-
tor’s office, 310 Main Street,
Murdo, SD or the Jones County
Highway shop, 311 N. Main
Street, Murdo, SD. Please state
valid South Dakota driver’s
license number and C.D.L. status
on application. For further infor-
mation, call 605-669-7102 (Coun-
ty shed), 605-530-3355 (Highway
Superintendent cell) or 605-669-
7100 (County Auditor’s office).
Jones County is an equal oppor-
tunity employer. M41-3tc
For Sale
SEVERAL NICE REFRIGER-
ATORS with warranties. Del’s,
Exit 63, Box Elder, SD, 390-9810.
PR8-2tc
Notice
SEEKING BIDS FOR SNOW
REMOVAL at the Jones County
Schools. Interested party must
push snow on sidewalk areas
around both schools. Interested
parties should contact the busi-
ness office to seek additional
information on the job. Bids can
be dropped off at the business
office or sent to the school by
November 1st. Bids can also be
sent to Jones County Schools,
Attn Supt., 404 Jackson Ave.,
Murdo SD 57559. M43-2tc
ROUGH COUNTRY SPRAY-
ING: Specializing in controlling
Canada thistle on rangeland.
ATV application. Also prairie
dogs. Call Bill at 605-669-2298.
M21-24tp
AUCTION
LAND AUCTION: 474+/- Acres,
Lake Oahe-Peoria Flats, Crop-
land, Recreational, Development,
Prime Hunting, 8 miles north of
Pierre, SD, just above the Oahe
Dam, November 12, 2013. Call
Dakota Properties, Todd Schuet-
zle, Auctioneer, 605-280-3115,
t o d d @ p l a c e t o h u n t . c o m,
www.DakotaProperties.com.
4th ANNUAL LEBANON Con-
signment Auction. Saturday, Oct.
26, 10 am, Lebanon, SD. Con-
signments welcome until sale
day. Contact Gary McCloud 605-
769-1181, 605-948-2333, Sam
McCloud 650-769-0088, Lewis
Reuer 605-281-1067. Complete
listing at www.mrauctionsllc.com
800+ ACRES CROPLAND with
200+ Acres Pasture, productivity
79, Reeder Loams, Class II & III,
Mobridge SD, Absolute Auction,
Nov. 4, www.PiroutekAuction.
com or 605-544-3316
BUSINESS OPPORTUNITY
CALL AVON TO EARN extra
money for Christmas. **40% dis-
count/commission - $10 to start**
Call 605-334-0525
EMPLOYMENT
IMMEDIATE OPENING.
Duties include but not limited to,
bulk delivery of fuel. CDL, Haz-
mat required. Will train. Farm-
ers Oil Company, Orient SD.
Information, Don, 392-2424.
EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR
Belle Fourche Development
Corp. Job requirements include a
degree or work experience in eco-
nomic development or related
MISCELLANEOUS
DISH TV RETAILER- Starting
at $19.99/month (for 12 mos.) &
High Speed Internet starting at
$14.95/month (where available.)
SAVE! Ask About SAME DAY
Installation! CALL Now! 1-800-
308-1892
WANT TO BUY
ANTLERS WANTED up to 7.00
lb. Deer, Elk/moose 7.50 lb.
Bleached 3.00 lb. cracked 1.00 lb.
Also need Porcupines, Rat-
tlesnakes, Elk Ivories, Mt. Lion
skins. More info; 605-673-4345 /
clawantlerhide@hotmail.com
NOTICES
ADVERTISE IN NEWSPA-
PERS statewide for only $150.00.
Put the South Dakota Statewide
Classifieds Network to work for
you today! (25 words for $150.
Each additional word $5.) Call
this newspaper or 800-658-3697
for details.
COFFEE CUP FUEL STOP
in Vivian
is looking for
an individual or contractor
to provide
24-hour snow removal
Please contact Lesa at
24022 US Hwy 83, Vivian SD
(Hwy 83 and Interstate 90)
605-683-4666
www.ravellettepublications.com
Jones County Senior
Citizen menu can be
located on page 6
The
Murdo Coyote
now accepts
credit cards.
Call 605-669-2271
and pay your
subscription or ad
with your credit card.
Fast
&
Easy!!

Published under a Creative Commons License By attribution, non-commercial
AttachmentSize
Coyote_10-24-13.pdf5.39 MB