Login

Murdo Coyote, May 30, 2013

Embedded Scribd iPaper - Requires Javascript and Flash Player
OFFICIAL PUBLICATION OF JONES COUNTY, SOUTH DAKOTA.
MURDO
“SERVING THE AREA SINCE 1904”
by Karlee Moore Jones County athletes traveled to Sioux Falls last weekend to participate in the state track meet on May 24 and 25. Wyatt Hespe (12), Chad Johnson (11), Josh Daum (12) and Cody Hight (10) participated in the 4x400 meter relay and ran a time of 3:40.07 in the preliminary race but missed out on qualifying for the finals by about two seconds. The top eight teams advanced to the finals and the Coyotes placed ninth in the preliminary round. Wyatt Hespe, senior, ran the 200 meter dash, but also fell short of the finals. Hespe finished the preliminary round with a time of 24.26, putting him in fourteenth place in the preliminaries. The Lady Coyotes placed in each event they entered in the meet. Sophomore Rachel Buxcel ran the 800 meter run and placed eighth overall. She ran a 2:28.00 in the preliminary round, and finished the finals with a time of 2:27.98. The girls entered two relay teams in the meet, placing in both. Calli Glaze (9), Mikayla Waldron (11), Buxcel (10), and Kalli Hespe (10) ran the 4x200 meter relay and placed eighth. The young team ran a 1:52.80 in the preliminary round and a 1:55.94 in the finals. Hannah Hight (8), Waldron, Buxcel and K. Hespe ran the 4x400 meter relay and placed seventh. They ran a 4:23.70 in the preliminary round and a 4:28.64 in the finals.
Coyotes bring home medals from state track meet
e t o C oy
A PUBLICATION
$1.00
Includes tax
Number 22 Volume 107 May 30, 2013
OF RAVELLETTE PUBLICATIONS, INC.
4x400
meter
relay… 800 meter run… Rachel Buxcel, center, strides out during the 800 meter run.
Chad Johnson finishes his leg of the boys 4x400 meter relay.
Perfect hand-off...Mikayla Waldron, right, receives the baton
from Rachel Buxcel and takes off during a relay at the state track meet. Courtesy photos
4x400 meter relay… Hannah Hight kicks off the 4x400 relay with the first leg.
4x200 meter relay...Calli Glaze, right, warms up to start the 4x200 meter relay as Hannah Hight holds her blocks.
4x400
meter
relay…
Cody Hight runs the second leg of the 4x400 meter relay.
Memorial Day celebrated May 27, local 4-H volunteers
by Karlee Moore Memorial Day services were held at the Murdo Cemetery, the Draper Cemetery and the Monson Cemetery north of Murdo on Monday, May 27. The Legion groups in both Murdo and Draper hosted the ceremonies. Stephanie Hespe and Kalli Hespe combined their talents to play Taps on trumpets at the Murdo and Draper Cemeteries. Nicki Kell sang God Bless America in Murdo, and Becky Bryan sang three patriotic songs at the Draper ceremony. The local 4-H club volunteered at the Murdo Cemetery to help decorate for the day. After patrons paid their respects at the Draper ceremony, they were invited to a potluck lunch at the Draper Auditorium. The weather cooperated during the day, making for a great day of remembrance and honor.
Hitting the home stretch...Kalli Hespe rounds the curve,
anchoring a relay.
Highway Patrol Campaign: ‘Obey the Sign, Avoid the Fine’
South Dakota’s Highway Patrol is using the Memorial Day travel weekend to kick off “Obey the Sign and Avoid the Fine,’’ a summerlong safe-travel campaign. The campaign is an initiative to reduce highway crashes and increase safety on South Dakota’s roadways, says Col. Craig Price, superintendent of the Highway Patrol. The kick-off weekend will include a high-visibility saturation patrol on Monday, Memorial Day. “Our statistics show that speeding, impaired driving and other hazardous moving violations are major contributors in crashes, injuries and deaths on our highways,’’ Price said. “We’re kicking off our safety campaign on Memorial Day weekend to get the maximum public awareness of the need for safety on the roadways.’’ Speed and alcohol will be the top two targets for the enforcement campaign this summer, Price said. The Highway Patrol believes that focus will have the largest impact on reducing fatal crashes. “Obviously, we will be enforcing all the other traffic laws,’’ he said. “That’s the reasoning behind the ‘Obey the Sign and Avoid the Fine’ campaign slogan.’’ Highway Patrol troopers will work in teams and will partner with other law enforcement agencies when opportunities arise, Price said. Monday’s saturation patrol will have virtually all uniformed troopers on the highways. In addition to enforcement, the summer safety campaign will use social media for public education and will partner with the State Department of Transportation for permanent and portable message boards with safe-driving messages on the interstates and other hightraffic areas in South Dakota.
Jake Lolley and Morgan Feddersen retrieving flag poles. Courtesy photos
Colleen Greenseth hanging a flag.
Alex Newsam, Jacob Birkeland, and LeAnn Birkeland help Virgil Stickler sort the crosses bearing the names of fallen soldiers.
Jones County News
Coyote News Briefs
Community Bible Church VBS will be held June 3-7 from 9:00 a.m. to 11:30 a.m. This year’s theme is “Knowing Christ”. Kids kindergarten through sixth grade are welcome to attend and have lots of fun with crafts, verses, stories, games and snacks. Pheasants Forever, NRCS, and FSA will be teaming up to conduct a public informational meeting on the new CRP sign-up at 6:00 p.m. on May 29 at the Murdo Tech Center. Supper will be provided by the local Pheasants Forever Chapter. In order to improve the security of the high school building, beginning on May 28 all fitness facilities will be accessible with a key card only. If you do not currently have a card, you may stop at the High School Office to sign a waiver and purchase a card for $15. Insurance purposes require all users of the fitness facilities sign a Policy Waiver and Release. All existing key cards have already been deactivated. In order to reactivate your card, you will need to stop at the High School Office and sign the release form. There will be no additional charge for existing card holders and you do not need to bring your card in to reactivate it, you simply need to sign the waiver. Call the high school at 6692258 with any questions or to verify our summer hours. The Murdo City Council will meet Wednesday, June 5 at 7:30 p.m. at the city office. The public is welcome to attend. Notice the date change. The Draper Town Board will meet Monday, June 3 at 7:00 p.m. at the Draper hall. The public is welcome to attend.
Murdo Coyote • May 30, 2013 •
Page 2
Vacation Bible School
Thursdays 8:00 p.m. at the East Commons. Call 530-0371 or 280-7642.
Open AA meetings
East Side News
by Janet Louder • 669-2696
Chelsee, Addison and Joey Rankin hosted a birthday celebration for husband/dad Tyler at their home on Tuesday, May 21. Those helping him celebrate with supper, cake and ice cream included: Bob Rankin; Andy and Jill Rankin, Riley and Peyton; Drew and Kati Venard, Mallory and Tenley. Happy birthday, Tyler! Memorial Day started off in the fog as the group hung the flags at the cemetery, but soon the Lord provided a beautiful day as the flags waved gently in the breeze. A great day – there was a good crowd that turned out to remember our veterans and our loved ones that have gone on before us. The service was very impressive and nice. The service began with a welcome by Commander Ray Freier. With Ellen Valburg at the piano, the Legion entered the colors. Invocation was done by Pastor Rick Hazen. Becky Bryan sang the “National Anthem.” A Pledge of Allegiance reading was given by David Seamans and Duane Parsley. The community read the roll call of deceased veterans. Taps were played by Stephanie and Kalli Hespe. Becky sang “Letters from Home.” The address was given by Debra Willert and she did a wonderful job; she had served her country herself. Becky then sang “Some Gave All.” The benediction was given by Pastor Hazen and then there was the retiring of colors. From there to the cemetery, where our guys did a good job and taps were played again. Then it was time to eat – there was no lack of food and no one should have gone away hungry. I have to comment on how nice it is when so many pitch in to put tables and chairs away and clean. We do have a great lil community. One more comment: the programs were made by Karen Bower and I must say, she did a super job. Following the dinner on Memorial Day, Skyler Dowling and friend Brittany visited Grandma Rosa Lee Styles at the farm. Rapid City area, former Draperites Janet Louder saw at the service were Don and Elaine Miller; Jeri (Dowling) Hodder and Rick Mills. Blake Henrichs was among the group that graduated from kindergarten last week. On hand for his big day were parents Amanda and Kraig and sister Layney; Grandparents Kim and Tony Schmidt, Kathy and Kevin Henrichs from Freeman; Aunt Kayla Hoag and girls from Aberdeen and Blake’s good friend, Lill Seamans. Congratulations, Blake! A Hamer-Whitney family reunion was held Sunday at a hunting lodge south of Kennebec. Jason Seamans of Rapid City spent the weekend with parents David and Lill. The trio attended the reunion. A potluck dinner was held, followed with lots of games for all ages and supper to top the day off. They came from all over S.D. and from Wyo. It proved to be a great day. A week ago Monday, Roger Vik and Patti Dowling stopped for a visit with Margaret and Greg Rankin. They were on their way home to Spearfish after being in Scotland for the graduation of granddaughter/niece Audrey Gall from high school on Sunday. Audrey is the daughter of Pam and Gary Gall. A family supper was held at Margaret and Greg Rankin’s last Thursday. Those enjoying the get together were: Karen Authier and son Michael and Jen Authier from Ft. Collins; Kris and Dick Bradley; Bob Rankin; Andy and Jill Rankin and family; Kati and Drew Venard and girls. Chelsee Rankin and kids stopped in for a brief visit. Ray and Shirley Vik were also visitors at the Rankins. Kris Bradley spent Memorial Day with Margaret Rankin. My neighbor, Tony, gave me a flower (I think from the neighbor’s yard) and then said you don't need to put this in the paper! Being a little on the smart side – I decided I would. Isn’t he sweet! Virginia Louder is back for awhile from her stay in North Carolina. She flew into Minneapolis and spent Tuesday and Wednesday nights with Russell and Janet Hurst. She flew into Rapid City where sister-in-law Shirley Wood met her. They had lunch together and then visited Eva Louder. Later Virginia and Shirley met Christopher and Kati Nix for supper, and Virginia accompanied them back to Murdo where she is staying with Carma and Greg Miller. Following church Sunday, Virginia and Rosa Lee Styles had dinner together in Murdo. Virginia plans to accompany grandson Sean Louder back to North Carolina on Wednesday, where he will stay with his dad, Alan, for some time. Virginia will return back here soon. On Saturday, Eldon and Esther Magnuson met Delores Volmer and they decorated graves in Murdo and Draper. They stopped at the late Sam Smith farm and got in a visit with the Smith family gathered there. They try to get together and spend time at the farm at least once a year. On Sunday following church, the Magnusons went to Pierre. They accidentally met Ray and Janice Pike and had dinner together. Later the Magnusons and Pikes attended the 100th birthday open house for Irene Caldwell at the Ft. Pierre Youth Center. The party was hosted by her family. I understand there was a great turnout to help her celebrate. Sorry we had to miss it. So glad you had a “great day,” Irene. The Magnusons visited the cemetery and decorated graves in Pierre. Later yet, the visited grandson Dusty Pelle and family. Ray and Janice Pike met Jerry and Marialyce Lenocker of Mitchell for lunch Wednesday at a local drive inn in Murdo. Janet Louder had a chat with Kenny and Joyce Ferris of Huron Sunday at the cemetery. They were in the area putting flowers on relatives’ graves here and in Murdo. On Thursday, Nelva and Janet Louder met Gerald and Wanda Mathews for lunch in Pierre. After, it was to appointments for the gals. Friday Nelva and Janet Louder left for the hills. They stopped in Kadoka and visited Dwight Louder. Dorothy and Darin Louder were also there. They visited Deanna Byrd as well. They went on to Rapid City and later that day, helped son Jay with a garage sale. Son Brian was there helping, along with Don Pearson. There was a very good turnout. That evening daughter Cara brought us supper. Don’s brother, Brad and wife Tami of Mitchell, were visiting at the Pearson house. Saturday morning, they started over again with the sale and had another good turnout. The day was nice – it did get pretty warm. It was a successful sale. Saturday evening, Nelva and Janet, Brian and Jay went to the Pearson’s for supper where they joined Don’s parents, Chuck and Carol Pearson of Lusk; his sis, Linda of Spearfish; Brad and Tami, plus Pearson kids and grandkids. Don was busy at the grill. Sunday morning, they woke to rain; they returned home in time to get ready for Memorial Day. Josh and Valerie Fredericksen of Watertown are in the process of moving to Draper. Josh worked with the Legion on Memorial Day and Valerie was a great help in the kitchen hall. We need some young help. Doug and Jackie Nies were among the many that attended the Memorial Day services. Janet Louder saw Delores Volmer and daughter Marlene Reuman at the services. Frank and Donna Volmer and Summer from Winner were also there, where they joined Flavia and Raymond Stotts for dinner at the hall. Tom and Marcia Authier of Vivian and Larry and Dort Koth of Winner were also at the service. Janet Louder talked to Wanda Mathews this morning. She’s home and doing well as she got a new knee in Pierre on Friday. Hubby Gerald and son Troy have been with her – plus, she had several visitors while there. Speedy recovery, Wanda. Karen Miller visited her daughter and son-in-law, Bobbie and Mark Boetel, and grandkids Alyssa, Collin and Justin, in Fargo over the weekend. She got to meet great grandson Caleb and spent a couple days enjoying him. Ron and Donna Kinsley, Wendell and Sharon Tisher and Martha Kinsley attended Memorial Day services at Murdo on Monday and enjoyed coffee and rolls at Martha’s afterwards. Tyler, Chelsee, Addison and Joey Rankin spent Thursday night through Monday afternoon of the Memorial Day weekend camping near Pierre. Those joining them in the fun included Randy and Holly Nemec of Midland; Don and Erin Bourk of Blunt; and Brian, Katey, Morgan, Tanner and Taiton Ortlieb of Sturgis.
Al-Anon
For Al–Anon meetings call 669-2596 for time and place.
CRP Informational Meeting
The Jones County Commissioners will hold their monthly meeting at the courthouse on Tuesday, June 4 at 9 a.m. The public is welcome to attend. The Jones County School District #37-3 will hold their monthly meeting Monday, June 10 at 8 p.m. at the high school library. The public is encouraged to attend. The Caring and Sharing cancer support group will meet on Monday, June 10 at 7 p.m. at the Messiah Lutheran Church. Anyone whose life has been touched by cancer is welcome to participate.
County Commissioners
J.C. School Board
Exercise room notice
Caring and Sharing
Trading Pages Library
The Trading Pages Library at the Murdo Coyote is open Monday through Wednesday from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. and Thursday as open. There are many new books available. Stop in and check one out.
Murdo City Council
Draper Town Board
One of the winners of the coloring contest from Murdo in May was Corwin Dykstra. We need an address for Corwin. Call the Coyote office at 669-2271. To have your NON-PROFIT meeting listed here, please submit them by calling 6692271 or emailing to coyoteads@gwtc.net. We will run your event notice the two issues prior to your event at no charge. PLEASE KEEP IN MIND, if you charge for an event, we must charge you for an ad!
NOTICE
Obituary
Phyllis Kochersberger_____________________________
to Larry Kochersberger on April 24, 1971, in Wall. After their marriage they made their home in Philip, where she worked numerous jobs in the area. She then began working at Dakota Case and later Scotchman Industries, where she worked for the last 24 years. Family was most important to Phyllis, and she also enjoyed working in the yard, puzzles, reading and being home. Survivors include her husband, Larry, of Philip; one son, Alan Kochersberger, of Philip; one daughter, Amy Kittelson and her husband, Scott, of Murdo; four grandchildren, Rachel, William “Willy” and Lane Kochersberger, and Kamri Kittelson; one greatgrandson, Camo; two brothers, Martin Eisenbraun of Webster and Roger Eisenbraun and his wife, Valerie, of Morrison, Colo.; two sisters, Ida Neiffer of Custer and Dorothy Jensen and her husband, Dale, of San Antonio, Texas; and a host of other relatives and friends. Phyllis was preceded in death by her parents, Martin C. and Adella (Schwarting) Eisenbraun; five brothers, Bernard, LeRoy, Robert, Alan and Leonard Eisenbraun; and two sisters, Evelyn Fuerstenau and Mary Ballistreri. Memorial services were held Wednesday, May 29, at the American Legion Hall in Philip. Interment was at the Masonic Cemetery in Philip. A memorial has been established. Arrangements were with the Rush Funeral Home of Philip. Her online guestbook is available at www.rushfuneralhome.com
by Jody Lebeda • 669-2526 • jody1945@gmail.com
The Memorial Day service held at the Murdo Cemetery was very well attended. The Avenue of Flags was displayed and as soon as the thick fog lifted, a glorious tribute to all our fallen veterans followed. Thanks to Nikki Kell for her solo ‘God Bless America” and to Stephanie and Kalli Hespe for their trumpet duet of “Taps” and to all the other participants that made up the spectacular program. Remember to thank a soldier for his or her service to this great country; so we may remain a free country under God. Because freedom isn’t FREE. What about that storm we had last night? What awesome lightning; we are so blessed. My rain gauge has two inches and I have heard we may have had two and a half or more. Winds of 60-70 mph were clocked between here and Kadoka. As I write, no reports of major damage and the rain was so needed. The lightning was awesome – what a show of God’s power. Deloris Iversen and Barb Godfrey went to Fort Pierre to attend the 100th birthday party for Irene Caldwell, her birthday was in January. Jackie Fosheim spent the weekend with Tory and LeAnna Fosheim of Pierre. Saturday they drove to Huron for the first birthday party and baptism of Kolee Dant, daughter of Vicki Dant (Fosheim) and granddaughter of Tory and LeAnna Fosheim. Julia Broeacher attended the Memorial Day service and then spent the afternoon at Tom Lebeda’s visiting with Betty and Russell Beck, Ronnie and Holly Lebeda, Sonya and Randy Lebeda and Skyler Jackson. Edna McKenzie called to chat and catch up on local goings on; she is doing very well and misses all her friends in Murdo. She hopes to be here for Memorial Day but probably won’t make it for the program. Mary Ann and Leonard Anker have been visiting Murdo for a few days and will be returning home to Rapid City on Tuesday. They enjoyed seeing so many friends and relatives at the Memorial Day program.
Local News
Phyllis Kochersberger, age 59, of Philip, S.D., died May 25, 2013, at her home in Philip. Phyllis Ann Eisenbraun was born October 12, 1953, in Wall, the daughter of Martin C. and Adella (Schwarting) Eisenbraun. She grew up in Wall, graduating from Wall High School in 1971. Phyllis was united in marriage
Murdo Coyote – Murdo, SD
Published Every Thursday
P.O. Box 465 Murdo, SD 57559-0465 Phone: (605) 669-2271 FAX: (605) 669-2744 E-mail: mcoyote@gwtc.net USPS No.: 368300 Don Ravellette, Publisher Karlee Moore, Reporter/Photographer/Sales Lonna Jackson Typesetter/Office SUBSCRIPTION RATES: Local … $34.00 + Tax Periodicals Postage Paid at Murdo, SD 57559 Postmaster: Send address changes to: Murdo Coyote P.O. Box 465 Murdo, SD 57559-0465 Deadlines for articles and letters is Thursdays at 5:00 p.m. (CT) Items received after that time will be held over until the next week’s issue. LEGAL DEADLINE: Fridays at 4:00 p.m. (CT) ADVERTISING DEADLINE: Tuesdays at 10:00 a.m. (CT)
Nutbuster Grill & Lounge
has bought out the “Busted Nut Restaurant” in Draper, SD
Nutbuster Grill & Lounge
will reopen on June 1, 2013 Monday thru Saturday 5 p.m. – 10 p.m.
Local subscriptions include the towns and rural routes of Murdo, Draper, Vivian, Presho, White River, Okaton, Belvidere, Kadoka and Midland
In-State … $39.00 + tax Out-of-State … $39.00
Thank you
Church and Community Lookin’ Around
• Syd Iwan •
Sam and I were the best of buddies for a number of years. He was a big orange dog that was already in residence at the ranch when I got home from college and the Navy. I know he was part husky, but the rest of him was a mystery. Whatever the mix, it was a good one since you don’t find many dogs as nice as Sam. The folks had named him “Sandy” after he was given to them by a cousin so, for awhile, I called him “San” for short. That later became “Sam” which seemed easier. This hound had several traits that endeared him to me. For one, he was a one-dog welcome-home committee. When I’d been gone and drove up the lane coming home, I could be pretty sure Sam would be lurking along the road somewhere. As I drove past, an orange streak would rise up and accompany me the last bit into the yard. Then, when I opened the door, his front feet would land on my lap and a tongue might try to give me a kiss. A hug was required. A lapdog he wasn’t since he was much too large. He didn’t necessarily agree with that assessment, however. When we were out walking on the prairie, he would range far and wide around me but without losing track of where I was. If I sat down on a hillside, pretty soon he’d be sitting there beside me. If I stayed there very long, he’d inch his rear closer and closer to my lap until he was right beside me. Then he’d lift his rear one more time and nonchalantly drop it on my lap as if I probably wouldn’t notice a big orange object parked there. This always made me chuckle. I’d tell him he was a silly old thing, grab him around the middle, and hold him for a little while. That’s what he wanted, and then he was ready to be off again to carefully check all the old holes in the ground and any bushes that might harbor things of interest. At home, Sam was an earlywarning system of anything that was suspicious or might be an intruder. He especially hated snakes and wouldn’t quit barking at them until someone arrived with a hoe and removed the nasty thing’s head. The body needed to be disposed of in the burn barrel, and then his job was done. You couldn’t just throw it out onto the prairie, though, since that wasn’t right according to him. He’d bark at the corpse until it was properly disposed of in the burn barrel. This hatred of snakes was even more intense after he was bitten on the nose by a rattler that had slithered right in front of the dog house and got in a strike when Sam was trying to get out. Sam survived the strike, but his nose was pretty big for a number of weeks. Porcupine quills did pose a problem. Sam would not let you pull them out until you’d doped him up enough that he could barely move. This was accomplished by sneaking pills into him through cheese balls until you had fed him enough that he could barely drag himself around. He adored cheese and ate it so fast that he didn’t notice the pills. Even then you had to proceed with caution, but you could get the quills out if you worked at it. Although Sam was probably my favorite of all the dogs we ever had, there were others that were fine too. As a kid, we had a pair called Corky and Rex. Rex was my companion a good bit of the time, but Corky was more standoffish. They were a snake-killing duo. Rex would find them and stand barking at them until Corky arrived on the scene. Corky would then sneak in without getting bitten, grab the nasty old things, and shake them to death. Their teamwork was appreciated. Later I had Rags who was a black-and-white, medium-sized gal that was a sweetie. More recently, son Chance had a black dog he named “Candy.” She was a good friend to the whole family and lived in the house quite a bit. She was no small thing but wasn’t as big as Sam. Wife Corinne had a short round pooch named Noel who was fairly frumpy but nice. We’ve had a few dogs that were more problematic than enjoyable. One was a purebred beagle that was cute as the dickens but who had no real loyalty to anyone. He visited neighbors far and wide and wouldn’t bother to come back home if we didn’t go get him. It was a relief when he finally ran off never to return. We also once got a yellow Lab for Chance, but he was much too busy for all of us. A neighbor took a shine to him, and we were very generous and allowed him to keep him. Right now we don’t have a dog due to our somewhat unsettled existence. If we ever have another, I’d like him to be a lot like Sam. He was hard to beat. If you have a dog at present or in the future, I hope you luck out with him as much as I did with Sam. He and I were buddies and the very best of friends.
Murdo Coyote • May 30, 2013 •
Page 3
Letter to the Editor
Commoditization of the United States cattle industry I recently read a report by one of our cattle market analysts, who tried to identify what issues and/or policies had damaged the cattle industry the most. Great question ... with an exploding population that needs to feed itself, one would certainly wonder why the United States cattle industry is contracting. The analyst identified two such issues, but he also exposed the extremes that such folks as himself, certain industry groups, and some of our more social media will go to distort the facts and create smoke screens to accomplish their socialistic agenda. The article states that “mandatory country of origin labeling (COOL) for fresh meat products” has “added billions of dollars of costs to the livestock and meat industry.” WOW – billions! Somebody needs to tell him that COOL has only been in effect since 2009 and that even the packers and retailers couldn't come up with a figure that ridiculous. Then he goes on to say that the blame for COOL lies squarely with a “tiny minority of livestock producers.” These are the same tactics used by our monthly Beef Enquirer-like publications that we get for free to create public record to try and show a lack of producer support. The problem is that – when you look at all the local and state Farm Bureau, Farmers Union and cattlemen's groups – you will find overwhelming producer support for mandatory COOL. He then goes to say, “Surveys showed consumers didn't care about labeling.” WOW, I believe what we have seen reported is just the opposite with multiple surveys showing consumer support for COOL. And then he finishes up by saying that USDA (United States Department of Agriculture) “changes will only increase discrimination against foreign born livestock.” Not sure what changes he’s talking about, but the ones submitted by USDA to come into WTO (World Trade Organization) compliance are designed to reduce the discrimination practice yielded by U.S. packers in an effort to kill COOL. I still think what the packers did bordered on anti-competitive and discriminatory practices ... a heck of a thing to witness in this country. I point this out on COOL not because I believe anyone really buys into these distortions, as we all understand the extremes these folks will go to and certainly they have lost their credibility with the average U.S. cattle producers. Rather, I point this out because these are the same people and groups that told you in the late ’80s and the ’90s that you need to learn to compete in a global market; however, they oppose you identifying your product. They also told you that your competition was poultry and pork and not imports. That’s interesting, because it was recently announced that the National Pork Producers Council and the Cattlemen's Beef Board have been working in partnership for nearly two years to provide more “consumer-friendly” names for 350 new and older cuts of beef and pork under URMIS (Uniform Retail Meat Identity Standards) with some of the pork cuts adapting beef names. Now while some of this appears good, other changes have the potential to reduce and confuse beef sales. For example, no longer is it just pork chops; now it will be ribeye chops, porterhouse chops, and New York chops. So when the young housewife walks up to the meat counter to buy a “ribeye” for her loved one, she will be asked by the meat retailer, “pork or beef?” She may then very well ask the perceived professional, “What do you suggest?” I imagine the response by the retailer will depend on which product gives him the most profit, along with his own biases. I understand why the pork folks went for this, but here’s the problem for U.S. cattle producers. These meat cut names, while not trademarked brand names, act very much like brand names for the beef/cattle industry. Consumers are familiar with these terms in beef and relate those names to such things as flavor, tenderness and quality. Historically, consumers have made decisions based on these names, they have become the brand-like name of each cut, and you don’t conspire to let your competitor use your brand name! It is well understood that brand names simplify shopping and aid in processing of information about products; however, these types of changes complicate meat buying decisions for consumers and compromise beef ’s ability to separate itself in the animal protein market and promote itself. As the EBAC noted, “People recognize brand and attach a certain intrinsic value to the product because of its name” like ribeye, New York, porterhouse, T-bone – those names kind of make your mouth water, don’t they? Another marketing expert goes on to say, “Do NOT underestimate the power of name brands. This power can be so compelling to your buyers that they may be blinded to all other purchase considerations.” But not now, not with beef. No wonder Patrick Fleming of the National Pork Board said it will aid the consumer’s “decision-making on pork by adapting beef nomenclature for pork.” In other words, they will sell more pork ... at beef ’s expense. So, as we look to answer the question of what issues and/or policies have done the most damage to U.S. cattle herd, I would have to say the destructionist trade policies of some of our industry groups and our social media, who have had no problem sacrificing U.S. producers for trade liberalization, as well as the social commoditization and standardization of our industry and the fading product identity in the animal protein domestic and global market; instead of concentrating on differentiating between our products, we are blurring the lines. /s/ Leo McDonnell Note: Leo McDonnell ranches in Montana and North Dakota and helped to grow the family business, Midland Bull Test at Columbus, Mont., into the largest genetic cattle performance test in North America.
Seizing the Hope Set Before Us by Pastor Rick Hazen ... Heb 6:18 United Methodist Church
Murdo and Draper “For freedom Christ has set us free. Stand firm, therefore, and do not submit again to a yoke of slavery.” (Galatians 5:1) We are a nation of people longing to be free. Free to assemble, free to worship, free to express ourselves, free to print and broadcast the news. Those who come to our shores long for freedom. Veterans fought and died, sacrificed their own freedom to keep us free. And those who stayed working on the farms and ranches,and in businesses and factories, and those who bought war bonds during those hard times — all sacrificed to keep us free — free from the tyranny of dictators who would have enslaved us. We gladly look to almighty God and proclaim to others the freedom He gave to us. We humbly thank God for the many sacrifices of those who God called, who gave their lives to keep us free. I come from a family of immigrants, who fought alongside other Americans in World War I and World War II. At the base of the Statue of Liberty in New York harbor, these words greet all immigrants: “Give me your tired, your poor, your huddled masses, yearning to be free, the wretched refuse of your teeming shores. Send these, the homeless, tempest tossed to me. I lift my lamp beside the golden door.” The next time you take down and fold an American flag,remember those who have given their last full measure of devotion, and know why it’s folded in a three-sided or tri-corn pattern. Each fold means something. That three-sided tri-corn pattern reminds us of those “farmer-patriots” who wore three-sided hats, fought for our liberty, giving their lives in the Revolutionary War. The poet, Robert Frost later wrote about them, and the shots fired at Lexington and Concord: “By the rude bridge that arched the flood, Their flag to April’s breeze unfurled. Here once the embattled farmers stood, And fired the shot, heard ‘round the world.” Memorial Day is not just another “three day holiday.” It is truly a day to “remember” and “give thanks.” In 2000, Congress enacted a law called the National Moment of Remembrance. At 3 p.m. on Memorial Day, we are to pause for a moment of silence to remember the men and women who fought and died for our country. One of our founding fathers and presidents, Thomas Jefferson, wrote that: “The price of liberty is eternal vigilance.” Besides being a nation of “free” immigrants, we are still, “One nation, under God, indivisible, with liberty and justice for all.” May the peace of Jesus Christ be with you.
Jones County Weather
Date 5-22 5-23 5-24 5-25 5-26 5-27 5-28 High 48.8 54.9 68.1 77.9 84.5 66.3 79.1 Low 44.4 43.1 48.5 56.7 53.0 53.3 51.9 Prec. .18 .01 0 0 .01 .01 2.11
Catholic Church of St. Martin 502 E. Second St., Murdo, S.D. • Father Gary Oreshoski Saturday Mass: 6 p.m. St. Anthony’s Catholic Church Draper, S.D. • Father Gary Oreshoski Sunday Mass: 8:30 a.m. Draper United Methodist Church Pastor Rick Hazen Sunday Worship: 11 a.m. Murdo United Methodist Church Pastor Rick Hazen • Corner of E. 2nd and Jefferson Ave. Sunday Worship: 9:30 a.m. and Fellowship Time • Sunday School: 10:30 a.m. United Methodist Women: 1st Wednesday at 2 p.m. • ALL WELCOME! Okaton Evangelical Free Church Okaton I–90 Exit 183 • Pastor Gary McCubbin • 605–837–2233 (Kadoka) Sunday Worship: 9 a.m. (CT) • Sunday School: 10:30 a.m. (CT) Messiah Lutheran Church 308 Cedar, Murdo, S.D. • Pastor Ray Greenseth Sunday Worship: 9 a.m. • Sunday School: 10 a.m. • Bible Study: Tuesday 7 a.m. Thursday 9:30 a.m. • Midweek: Wednesday 3:15 p.m. St. Paul’s Lutheran Church Draper, S.D. • Pastor Ray Greenseth Sunday Worship: 11 a.m. • Bible Study: Wednesday 9 a.m. Community Bible Church 410 Washington, Murdo, S.D. • Pastor Alvin Gwin • 669–2600 Sunday Worship: 11 a.m. and 7 p.m. • Sunday School: 9:45 a.m. Wed. Night Bible Study: 7 p.m.
Two minutes with the bible
Sin Is No Joke by Pastor Cornelius R. Stam
The present trend in American moral conduct is downward. Increasing thousands all about us are throwing restraint to the winds “to enjoy the pleasures of sin”. We struggle with the problem of juvenile delinquency, but tempt the young in a hundred ways to immorality and violence. We are shocked at the deeds of sex-mad criminals who make it unsafe for women to walk the streets at night, but our women continue to pay less and less heed to the principles of modesty and decency that would contribute so greatly to their own safety. Most of all, we have disregarded the Word of God. No longer does the Bible hold the first place in our homes. It rather lies gathering dust while our moral and spiritual strength is dissipated by pursuing pleasures that fail to bring true happiness or satisfaction. Yes, we have “a form of godliness” but our conduct “denies the power thereof”. Sin may be “fun” to many. They may joke about drunkenness, indecency and immorality, but God declares that it is no joke to Him. He says: “Fools make a mock at sin”(Prov.14:9); for, not only does sin in its very nature break down, rather than build up; but, as responsible creatures, sinners will one day have to give an account of their conduct to the God who created them. To look at the brighter side, we may all rejoice in another indication that sin is no joke to God. St. Paul points it out in I Corinthians 15:3, where he says: “Christ died for our sins”. Christ knew the horrible results of sin and the dreadful penalty which justice must visit upon it. Yes, and He also knew that “all have sinned and come short of the glory of God” (Rom.3:23), and in infinite love He left the glories of heaven and stooped to bear the disgrace and penalty for sin Himself! “Christ… hath once suffered for sins, the Just for the unjust, that He might bring us to God” (IPet.3:18), and those who come to know God through faith in Christ experience peace and joy which this world can never afford.
Midwest Co–op
669–2601
Graham’s Best Western
669–2441
First National Bank
669–2414 • Member F.D.I.C.
Murdo Coyote
PHONE: 669–2271 FAX: 669–2744 mcoyote@gwtc.net
Super 8 Motel
669–2437
Dakota Prairie Bank
Draper and Presho
669–2401 • Member F.D.I.C.
Rural Extension News
• Bob Fanning (605) 842-1267 •
Managing Alfalfa Weevils A producer recently called to ask when was the best time to spray alfalfa weevil adults. There are a few alfalfa producers who seem to have discovered that spraying the adults reduces the incidence and feeding damage of the larvae. While there may be some truth to it, there are some inherent problems with this practice. SDSU Extension Entomologist, Ada Szczepaniec, reports that a number of things can happen to adversely affect the adults laying eggs, the eggs hatching, the larvae surviving, etc. Warm and wet springs promote the growth of pathogens that attack the larvae so weather conditions and soil moisture play a role in the severity of alfalfa weevil infestations. There are also several predatory insects that offer a bio control alternative. These natural controls can result in larval populations being low enough that insecticide applications may not be economical. If you apply insecticides with the intention of controlling the adult weevils, you will never know if the population of larvae would have justified insecticide treatments or not. The larva is the damaging life stage and the target for control, if needed. Routine insecticide applications are detrimental to the predatory insects that are typically abundant in alfalfa fields. There is also concern that consistent, routine insecticide applications may lead to resistance of alfalfa weevils to insecticides. SDSU Extension’s recommendation is to scout for alfalfa weevils and make management decisions based on numbers of weevils, the growth stage and/or height of the alfalfa, and other factors. The general threshold (and least precise) is to treat if 30-40 percent of tips are damaged by the weevils, larvae are present, and early harvest is more than one week away. The bucket method is a more precise sampling method and is the preferred technique to sample alfalfa weevils to determine whether pesticide applications are warranted. An explanation of the bucket method, along with other good information about alfalfa weevils can be found in the iGrow article, “Entomology Update: Alfalfa Weevil Scouting Notes” at: http://igrow. org/agronomy/other-crops/entomology-update-alfalfa-weevilscouting-notes/. Early cutting can be a highly effective strategy in managing alfalfa weevils if the weather cooperates. Ideal conditions for early cutting in alfalfa weevil management are good drying conditions, i.e. warm temperatures, low humidity, sunshine, and wind. The idea is to cut the alfalfa and get it baled and out of the field to expose the larva to the drying conditions, which will lead to a lot of mortality. With early cutting, producers need to monitor the regrowth after the first cutting to make sure enough larva didn’t survive to keep the second cutting from regrowing. Regular scouting is crucial in making sustainable management decisions. Calendar 5/30/2013 – HOSTA, 10:00 am, Winner Regional Extension Center, Winner, SD 6/3/2013 – HOSTA, 10:00 am, C&B Operations John Deere Dealership Gettysburg, SD 6/11/2013 – Wheat Walks, Delmont and Winner, SD 6/12/2013 – Wheat Walks, Dakota Lakes Research Farm and Gettysburg, SD
Murdo Coyote • May 30, 2013 •
Page 4
Natural pest and disease control
Donna Adrian, Master Gardener If you grow the same crop in the same place year after year you will get a buildup of pests and diseases specific to that crop. Different crops take different levels of nutrients from the soil and inevitably these become unbalanced. Even the addition of fertilizers is unlikely to help since it is likely the trace elements are depleted. This is why it is important to keep a yearly calendar of your garden plot and to map out your garden every year and keep your records. The simplest rule of crop rotation is not to grow the same thing in the same place two years running. In fact a gap of three or four years will even be better. The advantage of plots works well, versus the long rows. Crop rotation simply put, involves dividing the garden into sections, and planting a different plant family in each section every year. A systematic rotating schedule ensures that every section eventually receives each plant family. Most crop rotation systems have at least four sections, with four rotating plant groups. There are many different systems for rotating crops, some fairly crude and some quite complex, designed to ensure that following crops utilize nutrients left by previous crops. Potatoes are one of the biggest reasons to rotate your planting, or you will end up with potato scab. Last year I had a severe problem with squash bugs, it is said that even a 5 year rotation is needed to keep them away. Crop rotation has many advantages: •It lessens the need for pest control •The soil structure is maintained •You reduce the spread of soilborne disease •It avoids nutrient depletion in the soil Rotation offers an excellent defense against all kinds of pests and disease. Where possible, keep plants of the same family together as their requirements will be similar. For instance, although they appear radically different, potato and tomato are in fact members of the same family. According to the traditional scheme one could follow the other, but since they are so closely related, they will attract the same pests and use-up the same nutrients from the soil. To avoid this type of confusion, a garden planning tool uses a more sophisticated classification system which is convenient. 1. Legumes: Bush, pole, snap, and dry beans, peas 2. Root vegetables: radish, carrot, potato, onion, garlic, beet, rutabaga, sweet potato, shallots 3. Leafy greens: spinach, chard, kale, cabbage, cauliflower, broccoli, spinach 4. Fruit-bearing: tomato, corn, cucumber, squash, pumpkin, eggplant Crop rotation is a method of organic pest-control which reduces the build-up of soil borne disease. Use the guide to identify the family of your chosen vegetable. Members of any given family should not be grown in the same spot for more than one year.
Summer travel should not mean pain at the pump
by Senator John Thune Families will soon be packing up their cars, pulling out the maps, and jumping on the road to enjoy the beautiful summer weather in South Dakota. Tourism is the number two industry in South Dakota, so we understand the implications that higher gas prices mean not only for our own summer plans, but also for the plans of thousands of other families hoping to enjoy some summer fun in our state. Increases in gas prices across South Dakota and surrounding areas of the Midwest continue to squeeze American families and small businesses who are still dealing with a historically slow economic recovery. The financial pain of high gas prices is not limited to filling up our own vehicles. The price of gasoline is driving up the cost of goods and services each of us rely upon. For example, the price to transport everyday household goods is higher due to increased gas prices; these fuel costs are passed on to the consumers in the form of higher prices. The high gas prices also impact the state’s number one industry—agriculture. Farmers and ranchers, who rely on the use of tractors, combines, and other equipment, also feel the pinch of the higher prices for gasoline and diesel fuel. Instead of working together to help lower the cost of gas for all Americans, the administration and Senate Democrats continue to turn a blind eye to the problem. It is time for Congress to get serious about creating jobs and lowering energy prices. Projects like the Keystone XL pipeline will help provide a more efficient distribution of Bakken oil to refineries across the Midwest and will help create nearly 20,000 jobs. Additionally, while oil and gas production is booming on private lands, it continues to lag in federal areas and some of our most promising offshore areas remain off-limits. America is beginning to take hold of its energy future, but without the right policies coming out of Washington, consumers will continue to feel pain at the pump throughout the year. As South Dakotans gear up for another season of baseball games, camping trips, and summer vacations, I will continues to push for responsible access to all domestic sources of energy that will help lower prices and increase America’s energy security.
Application deadline for beefSD Class 2 is June 15
beefSD will launch its second class for cattle producers in August. An educational program, beefSD is designed to give participants a highly interactive and hands-on learning experience to help them succeed in their beef enterprise. Core components of the program include: workshops focused on production, business management, and marketing; tours of case-study ranches to examine various types of beef enterprises; a post-weaning calf performance evaluation; and two out-of-state travel study trips to expand participants' view of the beef industry. In addition, participants will develop mentoring relationships with successful ranchers and industry professionals to assist them in identifying goals and opportunities for their own operations. Class space is limited to representatives from up to 20 beef enterprises - individuals, couples or two siblings are welcome to apply as one operation. All beef producers are encouraged to apply; however, preference will be given to applications from beginning ranchers with less than 10 years of experience. Application deadline is June 15. Application forms are available at the South Dakota Farm Bureau website at www.sdfbf.org or by contacting Janna Kincheloe, beefSD Coordinator, 605-394-2236 or janna.kincheloe@sdstate.edu; Ken Olson, SDSU Extension Beef Specialist, 605-394-2236 or kenneth.olson@sdstate.edu; or Adele Harty, SDSU Extension Cow/Calf Field Specialist, 605-394-1722 or adele.harty@sdstate.edu. Don't miss this opportunity to further develop management skills, network with producers, travel, and increase knowledge and understanding of all aspects of the beef industry.
Jones County FSA News
• David Klingberg •
2013 ACRE SIGNUP ENDS JUNE 3, 2013 DCP and ACRE signup for the 2013 crop year started on February 19, 2013. The DCP sign-up period will end on August 2, 2013 and the ACRE sign-up period will end on June 3, 2013. The 2013 DCP and ACRE program provisions are unchanged from 2012, except that all eligible participants may choose to enroll in either DCP or ACRE for the 2013 crop year. This means that eligible producers who were enrolled in ACRE in 2012 may elect to enroll in DCP in 2013 or may re-enroll in ACRE in 2013 (and vice versa). Stop by or call the office for an appointment. Advanced payments are not authorized. The DCP/ACRE Appendix does have the following language that everyone needs to be aware of: Payments are subject to the availability of funds, compliance with all applicable laws and statutory changes and to limits on payments as may be provided for in the program regulations. It is specifically understood that any payments under this Appendix and the programs to which it applies are subject to statutory and regulatory changes including those that occur after the signing of the contract. Payments under the DCP and ACRE programs may be reduced by a certain percentage due to a sequester order required by Congress and issued pursuant to the Balanced Budget and Emergency Deficit Control Act of 1985. Should a payment reduction be required, FSA will provide notice about the required percent of payment reduction that applies to direct, countercyclical and ACRE payments. 45TH GENERAL SIGN-UP FOR CRP ENDS JUNE 14 The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) is conducting a four-week general sign-up for the Conservation Reserve Program (CRP) which ends on June 14. Additional sign-ups for continuous CRP programs-such as Highly Erodible Land Initiative and Initiative to Restore Grasslands, Wetlands and Wildlife-started May 13. USDA DESIGNATES JONES COUNTY, AMONG 26 OTHER COUNTIES IN SOUTH DAKOTA, AS PRIMARY NATURAL DISASTER AREA The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Agriculture (USDA) has designated 27 counties in South Dakota as primary natural disaster areas due to damages and losses caused by the recent drought. DATES TO REMEMBER/ DEADLINES: May 20-June 14: CRP General sign-up June 3: 2013 ACRE sign-up ends July 15: 2012 ACRE Production July 15: 2012 NAP Production July 15: Final 2013 Acreage reporting deadline August 2: DCP sign-up ends November 15: 2014 Acreage reporting deadline on perennial grasses and winter wheat Feel free to call the office if you ever have questions on any of our programs 605-669-2404 Ext. 2.
It’s time to mulch
Donna Adrian, Master Gardener Adding mulch to your garden will improve the health of the soil and beautify the appearance of your yard and garden. Cover garden beds with a layer of mulch to keep weeds down and reduce the need for water. Weed seed is less likely to sprout when soil is covered with enough mulch to keep the soil surface dark. If you are short on grass clippings, just start by adding a few handfuls around your tomatoes etc each time you mow. Even a thin layer of mulch will reduce evaporation from the soil. Kill off sod or dense weeds by mowing then layering newspaper or cardboard under the mulch, it decomposes and adds organic matter to the garden. Don’t forget to mulch in the fall to save those shrubs, trees and other perennials from winter root damage. Mulching allows you to recycle nature’s products to replenish your garden. Selecting mulch can be shredded bark, grass clippings, pine needles, hay poultry litter, coffee grounds, sawdust, compost, leaves, manure, corncobs (chopped), newspapers, straw, woodchips or anything organic that breaks down in soil. Mulching around trees is important; first of all to protect the truck from the mower damages, if plants are under stress without extensive root system, much can be helpful. Start about six inches from the base, working out to the desired diameter. Depth should be up to four inches. Not only is protecting the tree moisture but it is easier to mow around. If you use lawn clippings, spread them immediately to avoid heating and rotting. Spread thin layers. Be sure the clipping does not have herbicide on them.
Mellette County Pasture Walk
Have you ever wondered about the forage value of certain plants in your pasture? Considered an alternative grazing system, but need more information about what effect it will have on the landand productivity in your area? Do you just want to learn to identify plants in your range? If you answered yes to any of these you should plan to attend a pasture walk at Brett Strain’s on Wednesday, June 12, hosted by SDSU Extension, Mellette County NRCS, Mellette/Todd County Conservation District and South Central RC&D. The White River Annie’s Project Group requested the pasture walk so that they could gain a better understanding of plant identification and grazing systems andbetter understand what is happening on the land and how management decisions affect the natural resources. The pasture walk is open to the public and everyone is invited to participate. The pasture walk begins at 5:30 p.m. CDT and will conclude by 7:30 CDT. Participants will gather on location. To get there travel four miles north of White River on Hwy 83, East of the Moran Auto Salvage or 19 miles south of Murdo on Hwy 83, East of the Moran Auto Salvage. Light snacks and refreshments will be available for the participants. SDSU Extension programs are open to all South Dakota residents regardless of their ability to pay registration fees or other program fees as identified. For more information about the pasture walk, contact the Mellette County NRCS Office at 605-2593252 or Adele Harty with SDSU Extension at adele.harty@sdstate. edu.
www.ravellettepublications.com
School & Sports
Weber shoots pair of 91’s at state golf meet
Jones County track continued...
Murdo Coyote • May 30, 2013 •
Page 5
Area athletes participate in state tournaments
Dowling sets bar high at AA state track meet
JC Track participants… From left to right: Dalton Kinsley, Wyatt Hespe, Hannah Hight, Calli Glaze, Mikayla Waldron, Rachel Buxcel, Kalli Hespe, Josh Daum and Cody Hight. Not pictured: Chad Johnson. Courtesy photos
Reading the green… Wyatt Weber, JCHS sophomore,
crouches to read a green at the state golf tournament held May 20 and 21 at the Brookings Country Club in Brookings. Courtesy photos
No stranger to the podium… Cortney Dowling, T.F. Riggs High School freshman, is pictured center receiving a first place medal for her efforts in the 100 meter dash at the state track meet. Courtesy photo
by Karlee Moore Cortney Dowling, daughter of Brent and Donna Dowling and granddaughter of Tracey and Karen Dowling of Draper, had an outstanding weekend participating in the AA State Track Meet in Sioux Falls held May 24 and 25. She is a freshman at T.F. Riggs High School. Dowling took home medals in every event she participated in. She placed first in the 100 meter dash with a time of 12.39, first in the 200 meter dash with a time of 25.56, second in the 400 meter dash with a time of 57.83, and anchored the 4x400 meter relay that earned first place with a time of 4:01.15. Dowling participated in the state meet as an eighth grader last year and placed sixth in the 100 meter dash, third in the 200 meter dash and fifth in the 400 meter dash.
Buxcel places eighth… Rachel Buxcel, far left, poses on the
winners’ podium after accepting her eighth place medal for the 800 meter run.
Close to the cup… Weber chips onto the green on the first
day of the state tournament. He recorded a score of 91 for both days, leaving him with a 182 for a two-day total.
Wyatt Walker receives Golden West scholarship
qualities including leadership, academic achievement, civic and extracurricular activities, and the motivation to serve and succeed. Some of Wyatt’s activities have included National Honor Society, student council, football, basketball, track, golf, band, choir and the school play. He also dedicated time to the Turner Youth Foundation. He plans to attend South Dakota State University and major in either mechanical or electrical engineering. The Golden West Scholarship is an annual award established to help promote educational opportunity for students within the Golden West service area. Nearly 500 scholarships have been awarded by the Wall-based telephone, internet and cable television Company since Golden West’s scholarship program was established in 1999.
Wyatt Walker of Jones County High School has been named recipient of the $1,000 Golden West Scholarship for 2013. Wyatt was selected by the school for a number of merit-based
Hespe selected as scholarship finalist
His application package was submitted to the national scholarship chair for further consideration. Scholarship winners will be announced in June at the 2013 National 4-H Shooting Sports Invitational in Grand Island, NE. Hespe wrote in his essay "My participation in 4-H Shooting Sports has helped me evolve into a leader and a teacher, and has shaped my goals for the type of community member I want to be in the future. I realize now the importance of leadership and community service because of my experience in 4-H Shooting Sports." In addition, Hespe received a $500 National Field Archery Association Memorial Scholarship. He is the oldest son of Keith and Stephanie Hespe and will be attending college at the University of Nebraska - Lincoln.
Jones County 4-H was delighted to be informed that Wyatt Hespe was selected as one of the South Dakota 4-H finalists for the Daisy 4-H Shooting Sports Scholarship.
Statewide News
Golden West Telecommunications Cooperative CEO recognized for advocacy efforts
Denny Law, general manager of Golden West Telecommunications Cooperative (Wall, S.D.), understands how delivering communications services to nearly one-third of South Dakota’s land mass can be directly impacted by the decisions of regulators and policy makers in Pierre and Washington, DC. His leadership and insight on these issues along with his dedication to the telecommunications industry earned him special recognition during the Legislative & Policy Conference hosted by NTCA–The Rural Broadband Association in Washington, D.C. NTCA Chief Executive Officer Shirley Bloomfield and Director of Government Affairs Leif Oveson presented Law with the Supporting Policy Initiatives for Rural Independent Telecommunications (SPIRIT) Award on April 22. The award recognizes Law’s efforts to educate congressional staff about call completion issues when he served as a panelist in a 2012 Capitol Hill briefing. Law also spent a significant amount of time reaching out to other NTCA members around the country to help build support for a related letter to the FCC signed by more than 30 members of the United States Senate. “Denny has been instrumental in building relationships with his state’s congressional delegation, some of whom have gone on to become leading advocates of key rural telecom issues such as universal service and call completion,” Bloomfield said. South Dakota Telecommunications Association executive director Rich Coit echoed Bloomfield’s thoughts. “Denny has a unique ability to take a very complex topic and make it understandable to everyone involved in the discussion. His involvement and leadership on these issues benefit everyone in South Dakota and everyone that Golden West serves.” The NTCA SPIRIT award recognizes the efforts of member participants in the NTCA SPIRIT campaign—a grassroots initiative to maximize the association’s advocacy success. The campaign focuses on developing a team relationship between NTCA members, NTCA staff and federal policymakers. Law currently serves as vice chairman of the NTCA Industry and Regulatory Policy Committee and is a member of the South Dakota Telecommunications Association board of directors.
Murdo Coyote • May 30, 2013 •
Page 6
The Clinical View
• Dr. P.E. Hoffsten •
STRESS MANAGEMENTTHE BASICS In the 1980s, the concept of stress and stress management were “a hot topic.” Then and now, the idea that inordinate stress upon a person caused all kinds of health problems including high blood pressure, ulcers, heart problems, obesity, etc. We have all heard about Yoga, “just relax,” “don’t worry so much,” “chill out” and a host of other recommendations that are well intended but inconstantly relieves a persons stress problems. But there is a method to stop excess stress although it is complicated and requires some thought and effort. At one of my continuing medical education programs, there was an ancillary four hour course on stress management given by Dr. Herman Witte, a young psychologist at that time. He put together recordings of multiple interviews he had had with different patients. He noticed that there were selfdefeating speech patterns common to many different patients. It was his impression that these speech patterns were at least part of the person’s stress problem. I was very impressed with his work and followed up with several additional courses. In the mid-1980s, I organized his material into a course at Capital University Center on stress management. The course was taught every year for about five years and then I became too busy to continue it. Recently, a former patient inquired about that course and whether the contents were available in a booklet or other organized written down manner. I decided I would devote the next seven columns to this endeavor of getting the material organized in an easily presentable way. It is noteworthy that what I am going to try to do is consolidate over 45 hours of class time into seven columns. Some definitions need to be understood from the outset. Specifically, what is stress? Stress is the internal reaction that occurs in response to an event. That event could be an altercation with a loved one, an automobile accident, discovering that your child is using drugs or an illness such as pneumonia. Most people would say that the event itself is the stress. In fact, the events occur independent and usually out control of what the person may want. How the person responds internally to an event is the stress. Thus, your child using drugs is not stress. Stress is the internal reaction that the person has in response to the child using drugs. This is an important first step in understanding stress management. The next step in understanding stress management is based on research done by Edward Deci in the 1980s. He asked the question, “What makes a person act?” Based upon his research, he had hypothesized that there were two driving forces that made individuals act. The first of these was the person deciding for themselves what they would do be it eat lunch, drive the car, go to sleep, or watch TV. Basically, a person wants freedom to do what they want to do. The second driving force was the person being reasonably pleased with the results of their act. Thus, the normal healthy response might be exemplified by a young child wanting to play baseball. When they get a hit or catch a fly ball and the crowd cheers, the young baseball player feels good, might continue their endeavor playing baseball. However, if the child gets hit in the face with the ball or were to strike out, they might come to the conclusion that baseball is not for them and they don’t try it further. In any case, the child has chosen for himself what he will do and then responded to the result. If the father decides that the child needs to play baseball when the child doesn’t want to, the father is interfering with the choice of what the child will do (self determination). By the same token if the child is chided because he struck out, that will interfere with the child’s evaluation of their baseball endeavor (self evaluation). Thus, Dr. Deci hypothesized that there were two basic driving forces for a person’s activity. The first of these was self determination and the second one was self evaluation. This lays the foundation for a host of very detrimental choices a person might make. If the above child feels bad because he struck out, there is always an ice cream cone dad buys to make the child feel better. If an ice cream cone is repeatedly used to soothe disappointment, obesity and all of its problems will follow. For an adult, there are other forms of gratification such as cigarettes, alcohol or drugs that become substitutes for the gratification that was missed because of some disappointment. To return to Dr. Witte’s research, re-listening to the many interviews that he had with patients, he early on recognized that “it upsets me” was an almost universal statement made by stressed-out patients. Variations on this would be he upsets me, she upsets, my dog upsets me, my boss upsets me, my employer upsets me, etc. etc. But please note from several paragraphs above, that the stress that the person is experiencing is not the he, she, the boss, the employee, etc. etc. but rather what is going on inside of the person dealing with these people. This led Dr Witte to hypothesize that what they were saying out loud was also being repeated silently in their head as a “self talk,” something they said silently but powerfully to themselves. The self-talk he heard most often was, “it upsets me.” He called this the “basic irrational self talk.” By irrational, he meant that the self-talk simply wasn’t true; that it was a lie the person told themselves. Note that if “it” is upsetting the person, they have abdicated responsibility for choosing their own behavior. An example of this is how my brother chose my little sisters behavior. He was 15 years old while she was only three. She was learning table manners and it was slow. If she spilled or did not wipe her mouth, my brother would call her a “pig.” Sis would start crying. Mom would tell my brother not to call sis a pig or mom would make him leave the table. But my brother was devious and cunning himself and he soon learned that he could look at sis, silently move his lips to say “pig” and sis would start crying again. Note poor sis was only three but already someone else was deciding when she would cry. She was simply too young and inexperienced to chose a response other than crying. Dr. Witte noted that people who use the “basic irrational self talk” defied Dr. Deci’s basic tenant of human behavior. Specifically, if “it” is upsetting you, then you are not making the choice on whether or not you will be upset. Specifically, if your neighbor’s dog excreting in your yard makes you upset and you therefore choose to do something vindictive and reactive, please note that this is an anger reaction on the inside of you. Note that there are many other reactions a person might have but anger and vindictiveness are at least two of the most destructive reactions a person can have. They come from basic irrational self talk as described above (it upsets me). It must always be remembered that you upset yourself in response to what goes on around you. Based on just how smart and self controlled you are, you can choose another response besides “being upset.”
Job training program for young people with disabilities expands to SDSU
Project SEARCH, a program that provides employment training opportunities for young people with disabilities, has expanded to Brookings and added business advisory councils in Aberdeen and Sioux Falls. Project SEARCH is a partnership between businesses, local school districts, the S.D. Department of Human Services and S.D. Department of Labor and Regulation. Internship programs have been operating at Avera McKennan Health Care Systems in Sioux Falls and Aberdeen for three years, and a third site at South Dakota State University in Brookings will begin training students in August. “Project SEARCH is a perfect example of how businesses can work together with state and local governments to make a real difference in the lives of people with disabilities,” said Gov. Dennis Daugaard, who is in Seattle this week participating in the National Governors Association institute on employing people with disabilities. “Gainful employment in the competitive labor market is the preferred outcome for any of our citizens, and this program gives young South Dakotans with disabilities the tools they need to succeed as they enter adulthood.” Those participating in Project SEARCH are primarily students with intellectual disabilities, 18 to 21 years old, who have completed all individual requirements for high school graduation. Participants are assigned a job coach, attend employment training classes and work in the business environment, rotating through three different internships over the course of a school year. Full-time employment with benefits is often the result. Of the first two classes to complete Project SEARCH programs in Aberdeen and Sioux Falls, about 67 percent are meeting or exceeding the program’s definition of competitive employment: working year-round, 16 hours per week or more, at minimum wage or higher; and working within an integrated business setting alongside coworkers with and without disabilities. A dozen students recently graduated and are either competitively employed or are currently working on job-placement goals in the community. “It’s a pleasure to witness the growth of a program as successful as Project SEARCH,” said Department of Human Services (DHS) Cabinet Secretary Laurie Gill. “Expanding to a new community and establishing business advisory councils, where employers provide interview training and job placement assistance, are significant milestones for Project SEARCH and its students in South Dakota.” Founded by Erin Riehle in Cincinnati in 1996, Project SEARCH has expanded to more than 200 locations internationally. For more information about the program in South Dakota, contact DHS.
The now accepts credit cards. Call 605-669-2271 and pay your subscription or ad with your credit card.
Murdo Coyote
Fast & Easy!!
FULL TIME NURSE POSITION
Certified Medical Assistant, LPN or RN
Mellette County Health Clinic in White River, S.D., an office of Horizon Health Care, Inc., is seeking applicants for a full time Certified Medical Assistant, LPN or RN to work in a busy health care setting. Ideal candidates must be a certified Medical Assistant or be a licensed LPN or RN in the State of South Dakota. Excellent patient care and nursing skills is a must. Experience with Electronic Health Records would be very beneficial. If you are a positive team player and enjoy working in a busy health care environment, this position is for you.
Job Descriptions are available upon request @ lfeller@horizonhealthcare.org
EXCELLENT BENEFIT PACKAGE • • • • • • • • • Health Dental Vision Disability Life Insurance Vacation Leave Sick Leave Paid Holidays Retirement Plan
Tales on the River 2013
Tales on the River is a free series of “Tales” presented each Thursday night in June, July and August. The programs will be held at the Ft. Pierre Moose Club community room with concessions available from the Moose Club. There will be music from 6:30 p.m. to 7 p.m. with story tellers from 7 p.m. to 8 pm. Story teller schedule: •Thurs. June 6: Guy Tillet sharing stories of wildlife, nature and his favorite topic, birds •Thurs. June 13: Stan Wahl has tales to tell about creating pottery •Thurs. June 20: Jeff Putzier on barbequing in competitions and as a business •Thurs. June 27: Lonis Wendt has stories of the “Trails Less Traveled” •Thurs. July 4: No Tales Program, see the rodeo and firework display in Fort Pierre •Thurs. July 11: Pierre Mayor Laurie Gill will tell the tale of our area levees •Thurs. July 18: Sidney Zanin on the life of a professional soccer player •Thurs. July 25: Gary Grittner and Darby Nutter sharing the past and present of the Ft. Pierre Depot •Thurs. August 1: Ray Maple tells us a thing or two about Liars and Outlaws •Thurs. August 8: Brent Pries and Zay Norman share the adventures and facts of modern cowboys. •Thurs. August 15: Marion Cramer interprets Laura Ingalls Wilder •Thurs. August 22: Pierre Players informs about plays as an art medium •Thurs. August 29: No Program
Hartley retires from Highway Patrol
Major Randy Hartley is retiring after 25 years with the South Dakota Highway Patrol, Col. Craig Price said today. Hartley started with the Highway Patrol in 1988 at Presho. He also served as a trooper in Brookings before being promoted to sergeant in 1999 and transferring to Rapid City. He received promotions to lieutenant in 2003 and then captain in 2006, serving as commander of the Rapid City district. In 2008 he received a promotion to the rank of major and became assistant superintendent of the Highway Patrol. He served as acting superintendent from June 2010 until January 2011. At the time of his retirement he was assistant superintendent for field operations. In that position, he supervised the Highway Patrol’s district headquarters in Aberdeen, Sioux Falls and Rapid City, as well as the Motor Carrier Division. He was also responsible for SWAT, the canine program, Capitol Protective Services, executive protection, accident reconstruction and aircraft operations. “Randy Hartley served with distinction for a quarter of a century, wearing the uniform of the Highway Patrol with pride,’’ said Colonel Price. “He was committed to protecting the citizens of South Dakota, and all of us are better for his service. We wish him all the best in his retirement.’’ Hartley said he had a great career with the Highway Patrol. “I was able to see and do things over the course of my career that I never would have done if it weren’t for the South Dakota Highway Patrol,’’ he said. “I will miss the fantastic people. I’m looking forward to the new challenges and the next chapter in my life, and I can only hope it will be as rewarding as my time in uniform.’’ The Highway Patrol is in the process of filling the vacancy created by Hartley’s retirement.
June 2013
Monday 3 10 4 11 Dr. Holland 18 Tuesday 5 12 Julia Women’s Health 19 Wednesday 6 13 Thursday Friday 7 Dr. Meyer 14
Free Childhood Immunizations
17
20
21 Dr. Meyer 28
24
25 Dr. Holland
26
27
Jones County Clinic
Phone: 669–2121
Hours: 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. – Monday and Friday 8:30 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. – Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday James McNeely, III, RNCFNP • www.ruralhc.net
Public Notices
Notice of School Board Election
Jones County School District #37-3 A School District Election will be held on the 4th day of June, 2013, in the voting precinct in the Jones County School District No. 37‑3, South Dakota. If the poll cannot be opened because of bad weather, the election may be postponed one week. The Election poll will be open from seven o'clock a.m. to seven o'clock p.m.CST on the day of the election. At the election, the following will be voted upon: May vote for two (2) candidate for three (3) year terms of office with the following persons running for the vacancies for the at large positions: Trent Manecke Cheryl L. Saunders Andy Rankin Dean Volmer The polling place of this district shall be at the Murdo Auditorium in Murdo. Voters with disabilities may contact the business manager for information and special assistance in absentee voting or polling place accessibility. Tami Schreiber Business Manager Jones County School District #37-3 Published May 23 & 30, 2013, at the total approximate cost of $29.90.
Murdo Coyote • May 30, 2013 •
Page 7
Notice of Resolution for Opt Out
Murdo Ambulance District Resolution 3.2013 THE GOVERNING BOARD OF MURDO AMBULANCE DISTRICT do state that the above said board is unable to operate under the tax limitation measure currently in statute. We therefore OPT OUT of such tax limitation in the amount of $8,802.00 starting with calendar year 2013 taxes payable in the calendar year 2014. This opt out will be for 2 (two) years, which will be through taxes payable in the calendar year 2015. This action has been taken by the board and approved by at least a two-thirds vote of the board. This decision may be referred to a vote of the people upon a petition signed by at least five percent of the registered voters in the district and filed with the governing body within twenty days of the first publication of this decision. Unless this action is referred to a vote of the people and reversed by such vote, this resolution authorizes the county auditor to spread an excess levy to raise tax dollars in the above stated amount.
Rep. Noem announces efforts to Noem invites Obama officials to combat sexual assault in the military Black Hills to view pine beetle damage
Rep. Kristi Noem outlined a number of proposals to address sexual assault in our nation’s armed forces. She announced the proposals in light of a 35 percent increase in military sexual assaults since 2010 and is working to get the policy changes made as part of the upcoming National Defense Authorization Act (NDAA) of 2013. Specifically, Rep. Noem hopes to improve investigations of sexual assaults in order to ensure that victims receive justice. Additionally, Noem is working with the House Armed Services Committee to include provisions which would require the Secretary of Defense to establish selection and qualification criteria for officers in sexual assault prevention positions. Provisions Noem is crafting would require the Defense Department to develop a basic training plan and materials in order to make prevention practices uniform across the Armed Forces. “Our military men and women put themselves in harm’s way to defend our country’s freedom, but should be able to feel safe when surrounded by fellow soldiers,” said Rep. Noem. “This is a problem that isn’t getting any better and it needs to be addressed in a meaningful, comprehensive way.” Noem is proposing changes in the following areas: •Improved Investigation of SexRelated Offenses. Rep. Noem advocates a policy change that would direct the Secretary of Defense to standardize recommendations by military criminal investigative organizations as to whether a sex-related offense is founded or unfounded. This change would aim to give military commanders better information in the form of an expert opinion when proceeding with prosecuting sexual assault crimes. •Qualifications for Sexual Assault Prevention/Support Personnel. Rep. Noem believes the Secretary of Defense should be required to establish selection criteria for individuals in sexual assault prevention related positions. Currently, there are not any specific qualifications for these positions. Changes in this specific area are all the more important in light of recently publicized instances of military personnel in sexual assault prevention/support positions being accused of a sexual offenses themselves. •Basic Training Standards for Sexual Assault. Rep. Noem believes the Department of Defense should be directed to develop basic training plans and materials for sexual assault prevention. Currently the individual branches of the military do their own training plans for sexual assault, highlighting the need for consistency among all branches. Rep. Noem supports a basic bar for training across all branches. As a member of the House Armed Services Subcommittee on Military Personnel, which has jurisdiction over these issues, Noem has made it a priority to speak up on behalf of those victimized by sexual assault while serving in the military. She has spent the last few months researching and working on these policy change proposals. Earlier this year, Noem questioned U.S. Air Force Chief of Staff General Mark A. Welsh III and U.S. Air Force Commander General Edward A. Rice, Jr. about sexual misconduct by basic training instructors at Lackland Air Force Base. Rep. Noem continues to be an advocate for women, both civilian and military. As a Vice Co-Chair of the Congressional Caucus for Women’s Issues, Noem continues to advocate for women and families in a bipartisan manner. Noem recently returned from Afghanistan with a bipartisan group of women lawmakers to see how the withdrawal of American troops is proceeding and to show support for Afghan women and their push for increased rights and opportunities in their country. Rep. Kristi Noem announced that she has extended an invitation to two key members of the Obama administration to visit the Black Hills and other areas in the Mountain West to see pine beetle damage firsthand. The bipartisan invitation, spearheaded by Noem, was sent in a letter to Chief of the U.S. Forest Service Tom Tidwell and Council on Environmental Quality Chairwoman Nancy Sutley. The letter also asks that Chief Tidwell and Chairwoman Sutley meet with constituents and stakeholders in the affected areas to discuss how the pine beetle is impacting local communities. “I’ve been fighting since day one to save the Black Hills from the pine beetle,” said Rep. Noem. “We’ve made progress and the Mountain Pine Beetle Response Project in the Black Hills is a huge step forward, but we can and we must do more to protect our communities and restore our national forests. I hope Chief Tidwell and Chairwoman Sutley accept our invitation to visit one of our nation’s greatest treasures to see just how devastating the pine beetle has been to our forests and to further discuss potential solutions.” The letter states: “Over the years, millions of acres of pine forests across the country have been destroyed by the Mountain Pine Beetle epidemic. We appreciate the resources that you have dedicated to this emergency situation which has severely impacted forests in the Rocky Mountain Region of Colorado, Kansas, Nebraska, South Dakota and Wyoming.” It continues: “Our offices look forward to working with U.S. Forest Service and the White House Council on Environmental Quality so that together we can continue to make strides in addressing the pine beetle epidemic. By touring the forests and talking with stakeholders, we believe we can share the challenges and successes of our forests and enhance cooperation between lawmakers, local communities, and our government agencies.” Reps. Jared Polis (CO-2), Cynthia Lummis (WY-AL), Lee Terry (NE-3), and Cory Gardner (CO-4) have also signed onto this letter. Full text of the letter is below: The Honorable Tom Tidwell Chief, U.S. Forest Service Sydney R. Yates Building 201 14th Street SW, 4th Floor Washington, DC 20250 The Honorable Nancy Sutley Chairwoman Council on Environmental Quality 730 Jackson Place, NW Washington, DC 20502 Chief Tidwell and Chairwoman Sutley, Over the years, millions of acres of pine forests across the country have been destroyed by the Mountain Pine Beetle epidemic. We appreciate the resources that you have dedicated to this emergency situation which has severely impacted forests in the Rocky Mountain Region of Colorado, Kansas, Nebraska, South Dakota, and Wyoming. The Mountain Pine Beetle Response Project in the Black Hills National Forest is one of the key steps toward restoring our national forests and we appreciate your willingness to use this as a blueprint nationwide. Because of the urgency of addressing this situation, we invite both of you to come to our states to tour the forests this year to see first-hand the damage caused by the pine beetle and also the work being done to address it. We also invite you to meet with constituents and businesses in our communities to discuss how this has impacted our states. Our offices look forward to working with U.S. Forest Service and the White House Council on Environmental Quality so that together we can continue to make strides in addressing the pine beetle epidemic. By touring the forests and talking with stakeholders, we believe we can share the challenges and successes of our forests and enhance cooperation between lawmakers, local communities, and our government agencies. Our offices stand ready to assist you in setting up a tour of a few of our forests that will be convenient for your schedules and to ensure we make the best use of your time. Thank you for your consideration of our request. Sincerely, Rep. Kristi Noem (SD-AL) Rep. Jared Polis (CO-2) Rep. Cynthia Lummis (WY-AL) Rep. Lee Terry (NE-3) Rep. Cory Gardner (CO-4)
/s/ Don Hieb Don Hieb Board Chairman /s/ Matt Cazan Matt Cazan Board Member /s/ Donna Fischer Donna Fischer Board Member /s/ Sam Springer Sam Springer Board Member /s/ Raymond Stotts Raymond Stotts Board Member
Published May 23 & 30, 2013, at the total approximate cost of $36.40.
Notice of Bids Being Accepted
The Draper Town Board will be accepting sealed bids on a share basis for the hay grounds that surround the Draper Dam and Lagoon. Bids will be opened June 3, 2013, at 8:00 p.m. at the Draper Hall. For more specification or information, contact one of the Draper Council men: Kent Nies, Cody Hatheway or Kevin Louder. Published May 23 & 30, 2013, at the total approximate cost of $11.70.
Legal Notices Protect YOUR Right to Know
Defending state water rights
by Senator John Thune Since 2011, I have been raising concerns about a controversial proposal from the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers that would restrict access to Missouri River water and charge users for surplus water taken from Missouri River reservoirs in South Dakota, North Dakota, and Montana. When the Corps built the dams along the river after Congress passed the 1944 Flood Control Act, it flooded prime state and tribal land with the agreement that by doing so, residents would have access to water from the Missouri River for various purposes. This set a precedent for water users along the Missouri River, and highlights why water users in South Dakota should not be required to pay for water that is legally and historically theirs. The Corps’ proposal infringes on South Dakota’s underlying right to the water, and charging for surplus water on the Missouri River constitutes an unprecedented power grab and could have numerous negative impacts on individuals, tribes, businesses, and water systems in South Dakota. In September of 2012, I was joined by Senators Kent Conrad (D-N.D.), John Hoeven (R-N.D.), Tim Johnson (D-S.D.), and Jon Tester (D-Mont.) in sending a letter to the Chairman and Ranking Member of the Senate Environment and Public Works (EPW) Committee outlining our concerns about the Corps’ proposal and urged the committee to schedule an oversight hearing on the issue. Although the EPW Committee did not hold a hearing regarding this Corps proposal last year, the continued opposition from the Congressional delegation, respective governors, and attorneys general from our region made it clear to the Corps that we would not stand for this controversial proposal to charge a new surplus water fee. As a way to prevent the Corps from implementing this unprecedented power grab, I joined Senator Hoeven in introducing an amendment to the Water Resources Development Act (S. 601) to protect states’ water rights and prevent the Corps from implementing its plans to charge for surplus Missouri River water. On Wednesday, May 15, 2013, the Senate accepted our amendment to the Water Resources Development Act, which passed the Senate and now awaits further action by the House of Representatives. I am pleased my colleagues acted to prevent this massive power grab by the Corps to ensure the federal government honors the long-standing agreements among Missouri River states, tribes, and the Corps of Engineers. I will continue to monitor this legislation as it moves through the House and look forward to ensuring this issue is resolved and states’ water rights are protected.
NOTICE FOR HAY BIDS
The Murdo City Council is accepting bids, on a share basis, for one (1) haying contract for a two (2) year term. Contract will consist of a two (2) year rotation of haying the North dam area. Rotation of the two years are set by the City Council. Bids will be accepted until 4:30 p.m. on June 5, 2013 at the City Finance Office at 107 West Second Street and will be opened that evening at the regular City Council meeting at 9:00 p.m. All bids shall be in a sealed envelope marked “Hay Contract”. All bids can be left at the City Finance Office at 107 West Second St. or mailed to the City of Murdo, PO Box 432, Murdo SD 57559. The City of Murdo reserves the right to accept or reject any or all bids.
Published May 30, 2013, at the total approximate cost of $31.20.
Call the Murdo Coyote to place your ad: 669-2271
Published May 30, 2013, at the total approximate cost of $78.00.
Coyote Classifieds
CLASSIFIED ADVERTISING
CLASSIFIED RATE: $5.00 minimum for up to 20 words.10¢ per word after initial 20. Each name and initial must be counted as one word. CARD OF THANKS: Poems, Tributes, Etc. $5.00 minimum for up to 20 words.10¢ per word after initial 20. Each name and initial must be counted as one word. NOTE: $2.00 added charge for bookkeeping and billing on all charges. DISPLAY AD RATE: $5.20 per column inch. PUBLISHER’S NOTICE: All real estate, advertised in this newspaper is subject to the Federal Fair Housing Act of 1968, which makes it illegal to advertise “any preference, or discrimination on race, color, religion, sex, or national origin, or any intention to make any such preference, limitation, or discrimination.” This newspaper will not knowingly accept any advertising for real estate which is a violation of the law. Our readers are informed that all dwellings advertised in this newspaper are available on an equal opportunity basis. CABLE/SATELLITE/ INTERNET DISH NETWORK. Starting at $19.99/month (for 12 mos.) & High Speed Internet starting at $14.95/month (where available.) SAVE! Ask About SAME DAY Installation! CALL Now! 1-800308-1892. SAVE ON CABLE TV-InternetDigital Phone-Satellite. You’ve Got A Choice! Options from ALL major service providers. Call us to learn more! CALL Today. 888-3375453. INTERNET HIGHSPEED everywhere By Satellite! Speeds up to 12mbps! (200x faster than dial-up.) Starting at $49.95/mo. CALL NOW & GO FAST! 1-888518-8672. EMPLOYMENT BRITTON-HECLA SCHOOL, K-12 SP ED teacher. Closes 6/5/13. Kevin Coles, PO Box 190, Britton, S.D. 57430; kevin.coles@ k12.sd.us, 605-448-2234. HEAVY EQUIPMENT OPERATOR CAREER! 3 Week HandsOn Training School. Bulldozers, Backhoes, Excavators. National Certifications. Lifetime Job Placement Assistance. VA Benefits Eligible! 1-866-362-6497. BUILDING TRADES INSTRUCTOR opening for 9th – 12th grade program in Northwest South Dakota. Competitive wage, excellent benefits, car provided. For more information contact Cris Owens, Northwest Area Schools, 605-466-2206 or Christine. Owens@k12.sd.us.
Deadline is Tuesdays at 10 a.m.
Call: 669-2271
Murdo Coyote • May 30, 2013 •
Page 8
LARGE COOPERATIVE SEEKS Information Systems Manager to manage company computer network. Degree is required with network administration experience. For more information contact Gene Lueb CHS at gene.lueb@chsinc.com. ALEXANDER, N.D., SCHOOL DISTRICT is seeking 1 elementary teacher, 1 Pre-School teacher, and a Title 1 Teacher. Send a letter of application and resume with references: Alexander Public School, Lynn Sims, PO Box 66, Alexander, N.D. 58831, or lynn.sims@sendit.nodak.edu. EOE. ACE READY MIX - is looking for Ready Mix truck drivers. Competitive wages and benefits. Stop by the corner of Rice Street & N Bahnson Ave, Sioux Falls, or call 605-338-0405 www.acereadymix. com. EEO/AA. THE ROAD TO THE RIGHT CAREER - STARTS HERE! Statewide construction jobs, $12.00 - $18.00 OR MORE. No experience necessary. Apply online www.sdwork.org. #constructionjobspaybetter. MYRL & ROY’S PAVING now hiring CDL drivers. Competitive wages and benefits. Stop by the corner of Rice and N Bahnson Ave, Sioux Falls, or call 605-334-3204 www.myrlandroyspaving.com. Women and minorities encouraged to apply. EEO/AA. DOUGLAS COUNTY COMMISSION is taking applications for full- time Douglas County Highway Superintendent. Must have valid Class A Driver’s License. Experience in road/bridge construction/maintenance. For application contact: Douglas County Auditor (605) 724-2423. DIRECTOR OF POLICY AND LEGAL SERVICES – Associated School Boards of South Dakota (ASBSD) seeks a person to serve as Director to handle legal and policy services. Qualifications – Law Degree. Experience in education, public policy, adjudication of worker’s compensation claims, public sector labor laws, human
relations and health insurance is preferred. Application deadline, Noon, June 14, 2013. Contact Katie at: Katie@asbsd.org, 605773-2502, or ASBSD, PO Box 1059, Pierre, S.D. 57501 for complete application materials or http://www.asbsd.org/page190.asp x Salary and benefits competitive. An equal opportunity employer. THE ROAD TO THE RIGHT CAREER - STARTS HERE! Statewide construction jobs, $12.00 - $18.00 OR MORE. No experience necessary. Apply online www.sdwork.org. #constructionjobspaybetter. SMART SALES AND LEASE seeks bookkeeper. Work from home. Hourly wage based on experience. M-F 8-4, Degree/management experience a plus. Resume, questions: careers@smartsalesandlease.com. CUSTER REGIONAL HOSPITAL has full time Occupational Therapist, RN and LPN or Medical Assistant opportunities available. We are located in the beautiful southern Black Hills of SD just a short distance from Mount Rushmore, Wind Cave National Park, Custer State Park, Jewel Cave National Park and many other outdoor attractions. Call 605-673-2229 ext. 110 for more information or go to www.regionalhealth.com to apply. EOE. THE ROAD TO THE RIGHT CAREER - STARTS HERE! Statewide construction jobs, $12.00 - $18.00 OR MORE. No experience necessary. Apply online www.sdwork.org. #constructionjobspaybetter. FINANCE OFFICER: FAULKTON, full time, accounting experience necessary. Responsible for city accounting system: budget, reports, payroll. Salary DOE, qualifications. Information contact City of Faulkton, 605-5986515, EOE. LOG HOMES DAKOTA LOG HOME Builders representing Golden Eagle Log Homes, building in eastern, cen-
tral, northwestern South & North Dakota. Scott Connell, 605-5302672, Craig Connell, 605-2645650, www.goldeneagleloghomes. com. NOTICES ADVERTISE IN NEWSPAPERS statewide for only $150.00. Put the South Dakota Statewide Classifieds Network to work for you today! (25 words for $150. Each additional word $5.) Call this newspaper or 800-658-3697 for details. SEARCH STATE-WIDE APARTMENT Listings, sorted by rent, location and other options. www.sdhousingsearch.com South Dakota Housing Development Authority. WANTED WANTED: HUNTING LAND for Pheasant, quality Mule Deer 170” class+, Whitetail Deer 150” class+ and Merrium Turkey. Call 605448-8064.
Ad dress Change?
If you’re moving or have a change of address, please let us know as soon as possible to ensure timely delivery of your
Help Wanted
OFFICE POSITION: The position requires the ability to effectively coordinate available resources and prioritize multiple projects and meet deadlines, communicate with others, both orally and in writing, and maintain accurate records. Working knowledge of Microsoft Word, Excel, Outlook and PowerPoint is required along with excellent mathematical skills and ability to read and write legal descriptions. Duties will include lifting, sorting, cataloging and filing of documents, and other general office duties as required. Must be able to learn and use proprietary software. Must have or be able to obtain a valid South Dakota driver’s license. Position will be located at Murdo, S.D. An application form may be completed online at www.wce.coop or sent to Steve Reed, CEO, West Central Electric Cooperative, P.O. Box 17, Murdo, S.D. 57559. Email steve.reed @wce.coop EOE. Applications will be accepted until position is filled. PR22-2tc
Murdo Coyote! Call: 605-669-2271 Fax: 605-669-2744
BUSINESS OPPORTUNITY HIGH-PROFIT PET GROOMING BUSINESS-Aberdeen, S.D. Want to own your own business? Well-established 38-year pet grooming business for sale. Owner retiring. Begin making $$ on your first day. Training with some financing available. Serious inquiries only. 605-225-5726.
Emily Wickstrom, Rural Advocate for Missouri Shores Domestic Violence Center, is at the J.C. Courthouse in the jury room Tuesday, June 4 1 p.m. to 3 p.m. NO APPOINTMENT NECESSARY For more information call 1-800-696-7187 Domestic Violence, Sexual Assault, Dating Violence.
Emily is also available for presentations to any group.
Business & Professional Directory
Rent This Space $4.25 a week/ minimum 3 mos.
Wanted
LOOKING FOR PRAIRIE DOG TOWNS to lease and deer hunting ground. Every hunter that touches your property is FULLY insured, liability, and we carry extra fire insurance. Contact Brett at 605669-3440. M22-2tc
Ranchland Drug
259-3102
• Nightly Deliveries to Murdo • Senior Citizen’s Discount
HEIMAN CONSTRUCTION
and Seamless Gutters
Allen Heiman – Owner
Notice
ROUGH COUNTRY SPRAYING: Specializing in controlling Canada thistle on rangeland. ATV application. Also prairie dogs. Call Bill at 605-669-2298. M21-24tp THERE HAS BEEN INTEREST IN DOING A CITYWIDE RUMMAGE SALE ON JULY 19-20 (weekend of Murdo Ranch Rodeo). If you are planning on having a rummage sale that weekend, please contact the Murdo Coyote for advertising specials 605-6692271.
Located in White River, S.D.
P.O. Box 433 Presho, S.D. 57568-0433 Phone: (605) 895-9644 Cell: (605) 730-5634
Variety of Colors Free Estimates
New Life Home, Inc.
Residential Living Center
24–Hour Care Home–Like Atmosphere
203 W. Hwy. 16, Presho, S.D. • 605-895-2602
CALL US FOR ALL YOUR HOME REPAIRS
AERIAL & AG SERVICE
• Aerial & Ground Application • Chemical & Fertilizer Sales • GPS Equipped
Valburg
605-669-2077 Tires & Service ATV & UTV Service Exit 191 ~ Murdo SD
Venard Inc
Thank You
I would like to thank everyone for all of the calls, cards, gifts and who came to my 90th birthday party. It was a great party put on for me by my daughter, Pam Hasting, and grandchildren from Florida, Eric and Sherry. Had visitors from Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Florida and a lot from South Dakota. Mick Weaver
605-669-2121 Clinic J.S. McNeely 605-669-2553 Home RN, CFNP dba Jones County Clinic
609 Garfield Ave., Murdo, SD 57559
Murdo, Martin & White River
Your Full Service Lumber and Hardware Store
105 E. 2nd Street • PO Box 108 • Murdo, SD 57559 Phone: (605) 669-2201 • Fax: (605) 669-2450 Dennis and Kevin Moore
Dan: 605-259-3134 Charlie: 605-452-3311
Family owned and operated – Our family serving your family
Low–Income Housing 1 & 2 bedroom apartments Income–based rent Includes light, heat, water and garbage pickup
Murdo Housing & Redevelopment
605-669-2681
Hildebrand Construction
•Foundations •Driveways •Patios •Tanklids •Floor Slabs •Colored •Stamped
Jerry Hildebrand Cell: 605.488.0291
Contact us for ALL types of concrete work!
Murdo Nutrition Program Menu
June 3 Scalloped Potatoes w/ Ham Pieces Glazed Carrots Bread Mandarin Oranges & Banana Slices June 4 Taco Salad w/ Meat, Beans & Chips Pears Oatmeal Raisin Cookie June 5 Roast Turkey Mashed Potatoes & Gravy Broccoli Dinner Roll Mixed Fruit June 6 Hamburger Goulash Corn O’Brian Bread Purple Plums June 7 Fish Portions Oven Browned Potato Patties Mixed Vegetables Blueberry Muffin Apricots
Equal Housing Opportunity
Daryl & Scott Isburg, Funeral Directors
Family Dentistry
James C. Szana, DDS
Murdo Health Center Wednesday & Thursday 9 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
669-2131
Rent This Space $4.25 a week/ minimum 3 mos.
ALL PRO TOWING
24-Hour Service Light to Heavy Duty Towing Repairs Domestic Cars & Trucks
Phone: (605) 669-2075 Murdo, S.D.
(605) 869-2150
Cell: 605-222-0317 • Pierre, S.D. E-mail: darrenboylesales@pie.midco.net Website: www.darrenboylesales.com
New & Used Farm Equipment REA Seeds
Darren Boyle Sales

Published under a Creative Commons License By attribution, non-commercial
AttachmentSize
Coyote E-Edition 5-30-13.pdf2.26 MB