Login

Murdo Coyote, July 4, 2013

Embedded Scribd iPaper - Requires Javascript and Flash Player

Message from
the SD
Highway Patrol
The 4th of July is a time to cele-
brate your freedom, not lose it.
Make this special holiday a
blast..not a bust. If you choose to
drink and drive this 4th of July,
you will get caught.
I’m Inspector Darid Cooper with
the South Dakota Highway Patrol
Motor Carrier Services and I want
you to have a safe holiday. Make
sure you have a sober ride home.
Drunk driving. Over the limit.
Under arrest.
Prevent recreational
water illness this summer
South Dakotans who head to
the beach and the pool this sum-
mer should take common sense
precautions to prevent water-
borne illnesses such as cryp-
tosporidiosis, says a state health
official.
"Water sports are great physical
activities and we don't want to dis-
courage them but we do want peo-
ple to practice healthy swimming,"
said Bill Chalcraft, health protec-
tion administrator for the Depart-
ment of Health.
In 2012, South Dakota reported
113 cases of the diarrheal illness
caused by Cryptosporidium para-
sites. Through May of this year, 37
cases have been reported.
Chalcraft said beaches, pools,
hot tubs and waterparks can be
contaminated by runoff, the pres-
ence of chlorine resistant germs, or
poor maintenance. Contamination
can also result when individuals
with diarrhea use recreational
waters. People at high risk for
recreational water illnesses
include the young, the elderly,
pregnant women, and the
immunosuppressed.
Chalcraft offered the following
prevention tips for all swimmers:
•Shower with soap before
swimming and wash your hands
after using the toilet or changing
diapers. Wash your children thor-
oughly with soap before swim-
ming.
•Don’t swim when you have
diarrhea.
•Don’t swallow pool water.
•Take young children on bath-
room breaks and check diapers at
least every hour.
•Change diapers in a bathroom
or a diaper-changing area and not
poolside.
•Use sunscreen with at least
SPF 15 and UVA and UVB protec-
tion, reapplying after swimming.
•Change out of wet swimwear
and shower thoroughly after
swimming.
Parents should keep an eye on
children at all times when near
the water and avoid using water
wings and other swimming aids in
place of life jackets.
Learn more about healthy
swimming at www.cdc.gov/
healthyswimming.
Venard family hosts third annual golf tournament
Jones County “B” baseball team takes first at Philip tournament
The Venard family sponsored
their 3rd Annual Golf Tournament
June 29 at the Murdo Golf Course
with 23 teams of couples partici-
pating.
The weather cooperated with a
nice summer day and an enjoyable
time was had by all. Drawings
were held for prizes and pin prizes
were awarded. Cash payback was
awarded for the first four teams in
each flight.
The day ended with a playoff for
first place in the Championship
Flight between the team of Jed
and Jennifer McNaughton,
Presho, and Steve and Deb Reed,
Murdo. Steve and Deb won first
place and Jed and Jennifer got sec-
ond. Third place winners of the
Championship Flight were Larry
Ball and Kelcy Nash. Chris and
Cheryl Iversen took fourth place
winnings.
Winners of the 1st Flight were
Bruce and Kerri Venard. Denny
Moore and Katie Venard took sec-
ond place with Mick Poppe and
Cindy Jost third; and Tyler and
Chelsee Rankin in fourth place.
Gary Diehm and Kathy of
Presho were first place winners of
the 2nd Flight. Brian O'Reilly and
Debra Willert took second place,
Bill and Sherry Philips third and
Sam and Jane Springer fourth.
After 18 holes of play, a supper
was served and prizes were award-
ed. Mick Poppe was the winner of
a new golf bag. Brian O'Reilly,
Kelcy Nash, Lora Gibbs, Jennifer
McNaughton, Dean Volmer and
Deb Reed won shirts in the draw-
ing.
Second place… Jed and Jennifer McNaughton took home
second place in the Championship flight.
Courtesy photos
Champions… Steve and Deb Reed won the Championship
play-off with Jed and Jennifer McNaughton.
New golf bag… Mick Poppe shows off the new golf bag he won
at the Venard golf tournament.
“B” team champions… Back, left to right: Base coach Andy Rankin, Preston Gyles, Riley Rankin, Jake Dowling, Jacob Birkeland, Morgan Feddersen and Coach
Mike Boni. Front: Christian Nelson, Colbe Scott, Matthew Birkeland, Blaise Nelson and Tanner Willert. Not pictured: Cooper Feddersen. See more pictures on page
2. Courtesy photo
OFFICIAL PUBLICATION OF JONES COUNTY, SOUTH DAKOTA.
“SERVING THE AREA SINCE 1904”
MURDO
A PUBLICATION OF RAVELLETTE PUBLICATIONS, INC.
$1.00
$1.00
Includes tax
Number 27
Volume 107
July 4, 2013
Remembering the
USS South Dakota
by Sen. John Thune
As we prepare to celebrate the
Fourth of July, families and busi-
nesses throughout the country will
unfurl the stars and stripes and
proudly display the American Flag
in honor of our great nation. The
importance of this waving symbol
of liberty and justice is epitomized
in the famous World War II photo
depicting U.S. Marines and a
Navy Corpsman raising the flag
atop Mount Suribachi in Iwo Jima,
Japan. Stories such as this, depict-
ing the patriotic heroism of our
military, cause us to pause and
reflect upon the sacrifices that our
men and women in uniform have
made and continue to make on
behalf of our country.
I have had the honor of listen-
ing to many of our state’s great
war heroes tell stories of battles
won and fought, and some of my
favorite stories are of the USS
South Dakota, a famous World
War II battleship that found great
success throughout its career.
Nicknamed ‘Old Incredible’, it
played an active role in 15 major
U. S. military operations, 50 air
strikes, and the downing of over 64
Japanese aircraft. It was one of
the fastest and most expensive
ships of its time, and was truly
feared in the Pacific. The USS
South Dakota also took part in a
number of historic World War II
events. It was one of the first ships
to bomb the Japanese homeland
and was present at the Japanese
surrender signing.
At the conclusion of its illustri-
ous career, the USS South Dakota
had traveled almost 250,000 miles
– roughly the distance from the
earth to the moon. It crossed the
equator and the international
dateline 30 times, as well as the
Arctic Circle twice. This mighty
battleship truly became a legend
before it was even one year old.
For its efforts, the USS South
Dakota and its crew were awarded
13 battle stars by the United
States Navy after less than five
years at sea.
We are eternally grateful to the
heroes of the USS South Dakota
and their families for their contri-
butions and sacrifice to our coun-
try. I invite all South Dakotans
this Fourth of July to join me in
honoring the service of our veter-
ans and to keep the brave mem-
bers of our military and their fam-
ilies in our thoughts and prayers
as they continue to serve on our
behalf.
Kimberley and I wish all South
Dakotans a very happy and safe
Independence Day.
Jones County News Murdo Coyote • July 4, 2013 • Page 2
Murdo Coyote – Murdo, SD
P.O. Box 465
Murdo, SD 57559-0465
Phone: (605) 669-2271
FAX: (605) 669-2744
E-mail: mcoyote@gwtc.net
USPS No.: 368300
Don Ravellette, Publisher
Karlee Moore,
Reporter/Photographer/Sales
Lonna Jackson
Typesetter/Office
SUBSCRIPTION RATES:
Local … $34.00 + Tax
Local subscriptions include the towns and rural
routes of Murdo, Draper, Vivian, Presho, White
River, Okaton, Belvidere, Kadoka and Midland
In-State … $39.00 + tax
Out-of-State … $39.00
Periodicals Postage Paid at
Murdo, SD 57559
Postmaster:
Send address changes to:
Murdo Coyote
P.O. Box 465
Murdo, SD 57559-0465
Deadlines for articles and letters is
Thursdays at 5:00 p.m. (CT)
Items received after that time will be
held over until the next week’s issue.
LEGAL DEADLINE:
Fridays at 4:00 p.m. (CT)
ADVERTISING DEADLINE:
Tuesdays at 10:00 a.m. (CT)
Published
Every
Thursday
Local News
by Jody Lebeda • 669-2526 • jody1945@gmail.com
Monday evening was a beauti-
ful night to be mowing – at the
Draper Cemetery, that is. It is so
nice to have a good turnout to
keep it spruced up. Your efforts
are greatly appreciated.
Nelva and Janet Louder went
to Pierre last Wednesday. On the
way we heard about the Oahe
Farm and Ranch Show being held
north of Pierre, so of course, we
went! Lots of walking! One of the
highlights was the ice cream
shakes (free) being handed out,
compliments of Prairie State
Bank. I've thanked Steve since.
Later back to Pierre and stopped
at Parkwood for iced tea and visits
with Mona Sharp, Lillian Sev-
eryn, Ken Halligan and others.
Later yet we called on Alex and
Jean Freier. A long day, but a good
day.
The 50th anniversary party for
Bill and Ellen Valburg Saturday
evening was very well attended.
The evening started with a church
service, followed with a very good
supper, music and lots of visiting.
The plan is that Ellen will write
an article about the day. If not this
week, hopefully next week.
On Sunday, June 23 Trent
Dowling and daughter Emily of
Sioux Falls visited Terry and
Penny Dowling. This past week-
end, Trent and daughter Aubree
spent Friday through Sunday
with them.
Gen Liffengren recently had
some medical test that revealed
she has a pinched nerve in her
neck. She is patiently waiting to
see what will have to be done. We
wish her well.
Alice Horsley called to tell me
that her neighbor, Norma Heer,
was moved to Pierre last week by
Pastor Al and Holly Gwin. She
will be residing in Maryhouse
near her mom, Helen DeRyk.
Troy and Jody Iversen and boys
Mason and Conner of Lismore,
Minn., arrived at Gerald and
Wanda Mathew's for the weekend.
Troy and Jody were busy haying,
and the boys kept Grandma
Wanda entertained!
Dorothy and Brad Louder visit-
ed Dwight in Kadoka on Sunday.
Brad also visited the Byrd's and
Stone's.
Ray and Janice Pike headed for
Mitchell on Friday and spent the
night camping. Saturday they
attended the wedding of niece
Kayla Roth and Xavier Christmas
held at the Hitchcock Park flower
garden gazebo. Janice said the
flowers were beautiful, so nature
did the decorating. A reception
and dance were held later in
Ethan. Kayla is the daughter of
Kathy and Lonny Roth, grand-
daughter of Carol and Jean
Cressy. Congratulations to the
newlyweds.
Paul and Katherine Patterson
attended the Ainslie family
reunion Saturday held at the
Sportsman at Lake Mitchell.
Katherine's late mom was Mabel
Ainslie Prahl. Approximately 75
relatives were on hand for the
noon potluck. Katherine reports
she saw cousins that she hadn't
seen in years. There was lots of
visiting and reminiscing. They
came from California, Minnesota,
Oklahoma, Wyoming and all over
South Dakota. A good time was
had. Maria Larson, daughter of
Trampass and Elizabeth of Ethan,
came to Draper with the Patter-
son's and spent the night. On Sun-
day, she went to spend time with
grandparents Wanda and Roger
Larson.
On Friday Ron Rankin of North
Platte and daughter Jenny and
hubby Dan Morrow, Everett and
Sawyer of Kansas City, and Karen
Authier arrived at Margaret and
Greg Rankin's. A pizza supper
cooked by Bob Rankin was
enjoyed. Others joining the group
at that time were: Andy and Jill
Rankin, Riley and Peyton; Kati
and Drew Venard, Mallory and
Tenley; Tyler and Chelsee Rankin,
Addison and Joey.
On Sunday Kris and Dick
Bradley and son Nathan and
daughter Lucy visited and had
dinner in Murdo with Margaret
and Greg Rankin. Nathan and his
family just moved from Oklahoma
City to Rapid City. I'm thinking
this makes the grandparents
happy to have them closer.
On Wednesday Esther Magnu-
son's brother, Merlin and Shirley
Schmidt of Waterloo, Iowa,
arrived at the Magnuson's. They
were on their way home from a
wedding they had attended in Las
Vegas. They spent the night. On
Thursday they got in on some-
thing a little different for them –
they helped load cattle to go to
another pasture. They later left to
visit friends in Pierre before
returning to Iowa.
On Saturday Delores Volmer
and Eldon Magnuson took their
sister, Anna Rose, to Rapid City to
Emil Magnuson's. They spent the
night and returned home on Sun-
day. On Monday Anna Rose and
niece Patsy boarded a plane for
California after spending two
weeks here with family. On the
way home Sunday Delores and
Eldon stopped in Kadoka and vis-
ited Dwight. In the meantime
Esther attended church on Sun-
day and met daughter Kathie in
Murdo for dinner. Kathie accom-
panied her home and Delores and
Eldon joined them later for sup-
per.
On Monday Eldon and Esther
Magnuson spent the day in
Pierre. They got in a visit with
daughter Shelley and her daugh-
ter, Crystal. Later they joined
Chad and Heather Whitney and
boys and Terri Pelle and Jim
Nickleson at the ball game to
watch their great-grandson, Alec,
play. After the group went out to
eat.
Sunday morning Nelva and
Janet Louder left for Rapid City,
stopping in Kadoka to visit
Dwight. As we had missed our
granddaughter, Chelsea's, gradu-
ation from SDSU and as Sunday
was her birthday, we decided it
was time to see her, We visited her
and parents Brian and Karen –
Karen also had a birthday July 3.
The rest of the day we spent with
Don and Cara Pearson, sons Daw-
son and Drew, daughter Calli,
great-grandkids Charley,
Kingston and Aria and our son,
Jay. Monday we headed home
after a little shopping. So now you
know why I missed calling many
of you. Hope to catch you next
week.
Exercise room notice
Reminder: Anyone wishing to
use the exercise room at the
school needs to fill out a waiver
to have your card reactivated.
Call the high school at 669-2258
with any questions or to verify
our summer hours.
J.C. School Board
The Jones County School Dis-
trict #37-3 will hold their
monthly meeting Monday, July
8 at 8 p.m. at the high school
library. The public is encouraged
to attend.
Caring and Sharing
The Caring and Sharing can-
cer support group will meet on
Monday, July 8 at 7 p.m. at the
Messiah Lutheran Church. Any-
one whose life has been touched
by cancer is welcome to partici-
pate.
Al-Anon
For Al–Anon meetings call
669-2596 for time and place.
Open AA meetings
Thursdays 8:00 p.m. at the
East Commons. Call 530-0371
or 280-7642.
Correction:
The Murdo Lions Club did not
fund the shingles for the Deb
Kirscher home. They provided
much needed man power. Com-
munity donations for the shin-
gles are being accepted.
Coyote News Briefs
East Side News
by Janet Louder • 669-2696
Well, here it is almost the 4th
and you know what that means;
school break is half over, so get
busy and finish up those plans
that you have been making.
I hope you all are making spe-
cial plans to do something special
to remember the 4th and our dec-
laration day and all that it means
to us in this great country. God
Bless America.
Julia Broeacher had guests
from Florida on Saturday. Jennifer
and Scott Giffin and family are
moving to Billing Mo. They were
passing through Murdo on the
way, so they stopped for a quick
visit with Jennifer’s grandmother,
Julia Broeacher. They had a fine
time catching up with the new
baby and seeing how much the
other children had grown up.
Michelle McNeely and Cheryl
McMillan stopped in on Saturday
evening to visit Jody and Tom
Lebeda. They checked out the yard
and garden before leaving.
Elma Vreeland of Apache Junc-
tion, Ariz., and Clevie Heller of
Mesa, Ariz., were callers at the
Russ Olson home this past week.
Russ and Wanda Olson spent
the weekend at the Gene and Kay
Olson’s and Barb Baustian’s
homes at Garretson, S.D. Wanda
had a very happy 80th birthday.
Doris Vos and Phoebe Krogman
of White River took Wanda Olson
out to coffee and snacks on Mon-
day.
Summer Baseball Schedule
July 9 Kadoka at Murdo
July 11 Philip at Murdo
July 18 “A” Tourney at High Seed
July 20 “A” Tourney at Kadoka
***B Team games start at 6:30 p.m. CT with A
Team games to follow.
ordo Areu Murket
M
Every Tuesday (until Sept. 24) Irom 5 p.m. - 7 p.m. at the open lot on
the north side oI the senior citizen building on Main Street.
Featuring:
·Local craIts · Locally grown Iresh produce · Baked goods
Jones County Weather
6-26 91.7 64.2 0
6-27 93.4 64.3 0
6-28 89.9 61.7 0
6-29 86.8 58.7 0
6-30 83.3 61.3 0
7-1 83.4 58.6 0
7-2 80.6 58.1 0
Date High Low Prec.
To have your NON-PROFIT meeting listed here, please submit
them by calling 669-2271 or emailing to coyoteads@gwtc.net.
We will run your event notice the two issues prior to your
event at no charge. PLEASE KEEP IN MIND, if you charge for
an event, we must charge you for an ad!
JC Sheriff’s Report
The Sheriff ’s report is printed
as received by Jones County Sher-
iff ’s Office. It may or may not con-
tain every call received by the
department.
Sheriff and Deputy calls:
June 24
Sheriff Weber responded and
searched for two subjects that
were reported on private
property. The subjects were not
located.
Sheriff Weber responded to a
report of suspicious activity
on I-90, westbound, mm180. The
report was of two subjects spray
painting something on the high-
way. No one was located in that
area and there was no spray paint
on the highway.
Sheriff Weber responded to a
report of a broke down vehicle
on I-90, eastbound, mm181. The
vehicle was towed to Murdo.
Sheriff Weber responded to a
report of a vehicle traveling at
a high rate of speed on I-90,
westbound, from mm212. The
vehicle was located and the driver
was cited for traveling 94 mph
and no drivers license.
Sheriff Weber transported a
subject from Murdo to the Jack-
son Co. line and turned over to
their deputy.
Sheriff Weber responded to a
report of a car vs. deer on US
Highway 83, southbound, mm65.
A report was made and the vehicle
was able to drive away on its own.
June 26
Deputy Sylva responded to a
motorist assist call on I-90,
eastbound, mm194 with a vehicle
pulling a boat and the trailer had
a broken axle. The trailer was
towed to Murdo.
Deputy Sylva responded to
and searched for a possible
lost ring in several areas in
Murdo. Unable to locate.
Deputy Sylva responded to a
motorist assist call on I-90,
eastbound, mm208 on a vehicle
that had a flat tire. The tire was
changed by owner.
June 28
Deputy Sylva was assisting a
mobile transient when the
subject was found to have
arrest warrant out of Stanley
and Jones Co. The subject was
arrested and transported to the
Hughes Co. Jail in Pierre.
June 29
Deputy Sylva and the Jones Co.
Ambulance responded to a
report of a motorcycle acci-
dent with injuries on I-90,
westbound, mm175. One rider
was transported to St. Marys with
non life threatening injuries by
the JC Ambulance. The Jones Co.
Sheriff Office investigated and
wrote the accident.
June 30
Deputy Sylva responded to a
911 call in Murdo. It was found
to be a small child playing with an
old cell phone. There were no
problems.
Deputy Sylva responded to a
report of a one vehicle acci-
dent on I-90, eastbound, mm204.
A car had struck the bridge, caus-
ing severe damage to the car and
guardrail on bridge. The driver
was not injured. The vehicle was
towed away and DOT was notified
about the damage to the bridge
rail. Watching from the sidelines… Some of the Jones County baseball “B” team lean up against
the fence to watch the Kadoka/Wall game, scouting to see who they would play for the champi-
onship. They played Kadoka in the final game and won with a score of 6-2.
And, he’s safe… Riley Rankin slides into third base during
the championship game against Kadoka at the Paulson Tourna-
ment held in Philip on Saturday, June 29.
Courtesy photos
Annie Tieszen
Obituary
Annie Tieszen, 69, passed away
on June 26, 2013, at Wheatcrest
Hills in Britton, South Dakota.
Annie is the wife of Rev. Wayne
Tieszen, retired. Annie was a local
licensed pastor who served the
First Presbyterian Church of Brit-
ton, South Dakota. Annie also
served the Dakotas Conference
together with Wayne at Murdo-
Draper; Groton-Columbia UCC;
Kimball-Kimball PC-Kimball
ELCA; Presho-Kennebec-Reliance;
and Claremont-Hecla.
A memorial service will be held
at 10:30 a.m. Saturday, July 6,
2013, at the First Presbyterian
Church of Britton. Visitation will
be 6-7:00 p.m. at the United
Methodist Church of Claremont,
South Dakota.
Church and Community
Murdo Coyote • July 4, 2013 • Page 3
Catholic Church of St. Martin
502 E. Second St., Murdo, S.D. • Father Gary Oreshoski
Saturday Mass: 6 p.m.
St. Anthony’s Catholic Church
Draper, S.D. • Father Gary Oreshoski
Sunday Mass: 8:30 a.m.
Draper United Methodist Church
Pastor Rick Hazen
Sunday Worship: 11 a.m.
Murdo United Methodist Church
Pastor Rick Hazen • Corner of E. 2nd and Jefferson Ave.
Sunday Worship: 9:30 a.m. and Fellowship Time • Sunday School: 10:30 a.m.
United Methodist Women: 1st Wednesday at 2 p.m. • ALL WELCOME!
Okaton Evangelical Free Church
Okaton I–90 Exit 183 • Pastor Gary McCubbin • 605–837–2233 (Kadoka)
Sunday Worship: 9 a.m. (CT) • Sunday School: 10:30 a.m. (CT)
Messiah Lutheran Church
308 Cedar, Murdo, S.D. • Pastor Ray Greenseth
Sunday Worship: 9 a.m. • Sunday School: 10 a.m. • Bible Study: Tuesday 7 a.m.
Thursday 9:30 a.m. • Midweek: Wednesday 3:15 p.m.
St. Paul’s Lutheran Church
Draper, S.D. • Pastor Ray Greenseth
Sunday Worship: 11 a.m. • Bible Study: Wednesday 9 a.m.
Community Bible Church
410 Washington, Murdo, S.D. • Pastor Alvin Gwin • 669–2600
Sunday Worship: 11 a.m. and 7 p.m. • Sunday School: 9:45 a.m.
Wed. Night Bible Study: 7 p.m.
Midwest
Co–op
669–2601
Graham’s
Best Western
669–2441
First National
Bank
669–2414 • Member F.D.I.C.
Murdo
Coyote
PHONE: 669–2271 FAX: 669–2744
mcoyote@gwtc.net
Super 8
Motel
669–2437
Dakota Prairie
Bank
Draper and Presho
669–2401 • Member F.D.I.C.
The Power Of Godliness
by Pastor Cornelius R. Stam
God would have us live as His own sacred possession, separate from this world-system, but godliness is out of style these days. Religious leaders in ever
greater number are telling us that to win the world we must become part of it and to win the people of the world we must fellowship with them in the things
they do and the places to which they go. But the believer cannot impress the world by conforming to it. And even if he could this approach would still be
contrary to the Will of God, for His Word exhorts us:
“Be not conformed to this world, but be ye transformed by the re- newing of your mind, that ye may prove what is that good, and accept- able and per-
fect, will of God” (Rom. 12:2).
It is true godliness, consistent separation to God from this world, which most deeply impresses the lost to whom we bear witness.
True godliness exerts enormous spiritual power. It causes men to toil and sacrifice, yea to suffer and die for Christ and for others. It exerts a profound
influence upon those with whom it comes into contact. A truly godly believer will win the respect of other believers and by his example encourage them to
live godly lives, while at the same time his godliness will convict the lost, so that they will either be angered or will turn to Christ for salvation.
This is why II Tim. 3:12 says: “Yea, and all that will live godly in Christ Jesus shall suffer persecution.” Carnal Christians do not like to think about the
word “all” in this passage, but it is there and stands as a rebuke to their lack of consecration to God. They have “a form of godliness” but deny “the power
thereof” (II Timothy 3:5).
Two minutes with the bible
Chamber Yard of the Week... The home of Larry and Bev
Ball at 301 Cedar Avenue in Murdo was chosen as this week’s
winner for the Murdo Area Chamber of Commerce Yard of the
Week. They will receive $25 in Murdo Bucks.
~Photo by Lonna Jackson
Gleanings from
the Prairie
An old question: “Does England
have a 4th of July?” The answer is
at the end of this article. Please
read on.
Years ago I came across an arti-
cle titled “America’s Great Reli-
gious Document”. It was pub-
lished by “Eagle Forum” and it is
my privilege to share it with you
in its entirety and unedited.
“The 4th of July is America’s
birthday. The anniversary of the
declaring of the Declaration of
Independence gives us a good
chance to reflect on our nation’s
religious roots.
The best way to observe our
nation’s birthday is to re-read and
re-examine our Declaration of
Independence, and to rededicate
ourselves to the principles of our
nation’s founding document.
Did you know that the Declara-
tion of Independence is America’s
great religious document?
The Declaration of Independ-
ence is the official and unequivo-
cal affirmation by the American
people of their belief and faith in
God. It affirms God’s existence as
a ‘self-evident’ truth that requires
no further discussion or debate.
The nation created by the great
Declaration is God’s country. The
rights it defines are God-given.
The actions of its signers are God-
inspired.
The Declaration of Independ-
ence proclaims God as Creator.
The Declaration contains five
references to God --- God as
supreme Lawmaker, God as Cre-
ator of all men, God as the Source
of all rights, God as the world’s
supreme Judge, and God as our
Protector on whom we can rely.
The Declaration of Independ-
ence declares that each of us is
created. If we were created, we
must have had a Creator. The
Declaration of Independence
declares that each of is created
equal. This means equally
endowed with unalienable rights.
It does not mean that all are born
with equal capabilities, as obvi-
ously that are not. Nor does it
mean that all of us can be made
equal, as Communist dogma
alleges. Obviously and realistical-
ly, as the modern discovery of
DNA nor confirms, each of God’s
creatures is unequal and different
in every other way from every
other person who has ever lived or
ever will live on this earth.
The Declaration of Independ-
ence proclaims natural rights as
gifts of God.
The Declaration of Independ-
ence proclaims that life and liber-
ty are the unalienable gifts of God
--- natural rights --- which no per-
son or government can rightfully
take away. It affirms that the pur-
pose of government is to secure
our God-given rights, and that
government derives its powers
from the consent of the governed.
Our Declaration reduced govern-
ment from master to servant, for
the first time in history.
Knowledge of the Declaration of
Independence should be required
of all schoolchildren.
The unchangeable Declaration
of Independence forever pledges
the firm reliance of the American
people on the continued protection
of God’s Divine Providence.
Schoolchildren should be taught
that many of the men who signed
it paid for their courage with their
lives and fortunes --- and that’s
why we are able to enjoy our free-
dom and independence.”
The closing words of the Decla-
ration of Independence are: “And
for the support of this Declara-
tion, with a firm reliance on the
protection of divine Providence,
we mutually pledge to each other
our Lives, our Fortunes, and our
sacred Honor.”
Americans have a great her-
itage. Let’s not squander it.
And the answer to the question
above: Certainly they do. What
else comes between the 3rd & 5th
of July? But their 4th is not a cel-
ebration.
Have a very GOD-Blessed
“Independence Day”!
by Pastor Alvin L. Gwin
Community Bible Church, Murdo
July 4th Independence Day
South Dakota State University
food preservation classes
A series of “Principles of Home
Canning” Classes will be present-
ed at the Emergency Management
Building in White River, beginning
on July 9 at 6:30. The series will
include proper canning, drying,
freezing of tomatoes, vegetables,
meat/poultry, pickles and jams/jel-
lies. The first session will be the
basics about equipment and new
safe methods.
Have you noticed the new lids
don't have as much rubber as the
old ones? Come and learn why and
how to handle the new style.
The Murdo Coyote will be The Murdo Coyote will be
CLOSED CLOSED on Thurs. & Fri. on Thurs. & Fri.
July 4 & 5 in honor of July 4 & 5 in honor of
Independence Day!! Independence Day!!
Wyatt Hespe of Murdo, S.D., pictured second from the left with
the 2013 Compound Archery Team from South Dakota. The
team, who's final standing was 12th in the nation, also included
members left to right, Josh Christopher of Alexandria, S.D.;
Luke Mairose of Kimball, S.D.; and Michael Plaggemeyer of Stur-
gis, S.D.
Kyle Manke, Murdo, S.D., competing at the Nationals in the
Three Position Precision Small Bore Rifle Competition. The
South Dakota Team took fourth place in the Three Position com-
petition and as a team, finished the week 7th overall in the
nation.
The South Dakota National Small Bore Pistol Team. Right to left,
Coach Angie Kinsley, Murdo, S.D.; Shooters Collin Borgman,
White Lake, S.D.; Krista Dvorak, Lake Andes, S.D.; Regina Knut-
son, White, S.D.; and David Knoll, Platte, S.D. The teams final
standing at the end of the week was 6th place overall as they fin-
ished fourth in bullseye competition and shot solidly the
remainder of the time.
Jones County shooting sports members participate at Nationals
Youth & Sports
Murdo Coyote • July 4, 2013 • Page 4
Coach David Geisler (right) supervises friendly competition
between Gunnar Whitney and dad Chad Whitney during the par-
ents vs. kids game.
Courtesy photos
Farmers Union camp… from left to right: Kamri Kittelson,
Kade Larson, Sage Waldron, Malikai Cook, Isaac Cook, Haily
Cook and Wallace Cook.
Kamri Kittelson is all concentration as she hits the ball and
takes off for first base.
2013 T-ball… Coaches David and Anne Geisler are pictured with part of the 2013 Jones County t-ball team. They reported a
full team of approximately 30 players. Unfortunately, some of the kids were unable to make it the final week for the group pic-
ture.
Mallory Venard takes a run at the next base with a little coach-
ing from dad Drew Venard.
Jones County t-ball wraps up season with parents vs. kids
Farmers Union campers learn
financial literacy, cooperation
Many Americans have too much
debt, aren’t saving enough money
every month and need to work on
their financial literacy. That edu-
cation should start early, and
Jones County Farmers Union’s
annual day camp taught young
people about the importance of
taking care of their money and
about the impact cooperative busi-
nesses have had on our state’s
economy.
Young people attended this
year’s camp themed, ‘Farmers
Union is our name, Cooperation is
our game.’ The kids participated in
activities and games that taught
them about cooperative business,
rural communities, and agricul-
ture in a fun and safe setting.
They participated in hands-on
team building activities, and
played a cooperative human board
game to test their knowledge of
finances.
“We hope the children who
learn about saving money and
cooperating with each other at an
early age will be more successful
adults,” said State Education
Director Bonnie Geyer. “Our youth
need to learn about what coopera-
tion in their own personal lives
can do, along with the importance
of cooperative business and being
a good steward of the money they
earn.”
Along with activities, games
and singing, each child also deco-
rated their own wooden bank as a
craft to promote saving money.
Each child also received a free T-
shirt.
Participants at this year’s Jones
County Farmers Union camp were
Kamri Kittelson, Sage Waldron,
Kade Larson from Murdo, S.D.;
Wally, Hailey, Maliki and Isaac
Cook from Draper, S.D.
Helping at this year’s Jones
County Farmers Union Camp
were Summer Staff Interns Emma
Smith and Kortny Sterrett.
For more information on South
Dakota Farmers Union and how
you and your children can get
involved in the organization’s
youth activities, visit the educa-
tion page at www.sdfu.org or call
Bonnie Geyer, State Education
Director at 605-352-6761 ext. 125
669-2271
Advertise your garage sale
in the Murdo Coyote
C
A
L
L
Cell-phone ban for young
drivers takes effect on July 1
A new law making it illegal for
young drivers to use a cell phone
while driving takes effect on Mon-
day, July 1, South Dakota Depart-
ment of Public Safety officials
remind citizens.
The law, passed by the 2013
Legislature, prohibits anyone who
holds a learner’s permit or a
restricted minor’s permit from
using any handheld communica-
tion device while driving. General-
ly, such permits are issued to per-
sons between the ages of 14 and
18.
“Young people still gaining
experience with driving really
need to avoid any distractions,’’
said Jenna Howell, director of
Legal and Regulatory Services for
Public Safety. “Driving is a full-
time responsibility for all of us.
That is especially true for our
younger drivers who are still try-
ing to get comfortable behind the
wheel of a vehicle. The law empha-
sizes the need to pay attention to
the road.’’
A learner or instruction permit
allows the holder to drive between
the hours of 6 a.m. and 10 p.m. if
accompanied by a person who has
a valid driver license, is at least 18
years old and has at least one year
of driving experience. That person
must occupy a seat beside the
young driver.
A restricted minor’s permit
allows the holder to drive between
6 a.m. and 10 p.m. with permis-
sion of a parent or guardian. The
holder of a restricted minor’s per-
mit may drive between the hours
of 10 p.m. and 6 a.m. if the parent
or guardian is in a seat next to the
driver.
The Legislature directed that
the new law be enforced as a sec-
ondary offense, meaning a young
driver would have to be stopped
for another offense before a ticket
could be issued for driving while
using a handheld communications
device.
Celebrating
Independence Day
by Rep. Kristi Noem
On July 2, 1776, John Adams
sent a letter to his wife Abigail:
“The second day of July, 1776, will
be the most memorable epoch in
the history of America. I am apt to
believe that it will be celebrated by
succeeding generations as the
great anniversary festival.”
Although his prediction was two
days premature, Adams’s senti-
ment was 100 percent accurate.
People all across the state of
South Dakota are preparing for
this upcoming week’s celebration.
Whether you decide to spend it at
the ball fields, on the lake or with
friends and family in your commu-
nity, the Fourth of July is a great
opportunity to pause and give
thanks to all the men and women
who fought for the idea that was
America, as well as all of those
who have sacrificed to protect our
country since its founding.
One of the most inspiring parts
of our nation’s story of independ-
ence is that the Declaration of
Independence, which so eloquently
proclaimed our freedom, is still on
display today in the National
Archives in Washington, D.C. If
you ever have the opportunity to
visit our nation’s capital, I encour-
age you to make a point to see this
historic document. The words on
that parchment inspired a revolu-
tion, inspired a movement and
crafted a vision for what a United
States should truly look like.
As President Ronald Reagan
once said, “Freedom is never more
than one generation away from
extinction. We didn’t pass it to our
children in the bloodstream. It
must be fought for, protected, and
handed on for them to do the
same, or one day we will spend our
sunset years telling our children
and our children’s children what it
was once like in the United States
where men were free.”
I wish all of you a happy and
safe Fourth of July holiday and
hope you’ll take this opportunity to
share your celebrations with me.
Feel free to send me a tweet @Rep-
KristiNoem or an email through
my website (http://noem.
house.gov) and tell me how you
plan on celebrating!
Public Notices & Statewide News
Murdo Coyote • July 4, 2013 • Page 5
The Clinical View
• Dr. P.E. Hoffsten •
STRESS MANAGEMENT -
6: IRRATIONAL SELF
EVALUATION
As mentioned in several previ-
ous columns in this series, Dr.
Herman Witte got interested in
stress management in the 1980’s.
As a psychologist, he had a sub-
stantial practice counseling many
individuals. He became interested
in a set of comments often made by
the individuals in his practice.
Thus far in this series of columns,
we have addressed the following
self talks that individuals say to
themselves quietly before they
speak out loud. Each of these self
talks has intrinsic self-defeating
properties. For example, the point
was made that the two most
important factors in human moti-
vation are the person deciding
what they will do for themselves
and then constructively respond-
ing to the result that they get. The
first and most common self talk
Dr. Witte noted was “It upsets me.”
Note that this defies the above
intrinsic human need for self moti-
vation. Specifically, if “it” is upset-
ting you, then “it” is controlling
you. It is not you that is upsetting
you and you have given control of
you to “it.” According to the above
irrational self talk, every time “it”
happens, you must get upset. You
are not directing what you are
going to do. “It” is. Four more irra-
tional self talks have been consid-
ered in the last four columns.
These included:
1. He shouldn’t do that.
2. I don’t understand why he
does that.
3. It is terrible.
4. I will never get over this.
The 5th irrational self talk
described by Dr. Witte comes from
a group of thoughts whereby the
individual assumes irrational self
importance, self pity, self blame, or
self worth.
This leads to irrational self talk
such as:
1. Why me?
2. This type of thing shouldn’t
happen to me.
3. What did I do to deserve
this?
4. I could have done better
therefore I am guilty.
5. I am worthless and inade-
quate.
Note that these self talks cover
the spectrum from irrational self
importance to equally irrational
self worthlessness. Both of these
personal opinions are irrational.
The origin of these self talks is
planted in us as children. We learn
that undesirable events should not
happen to us unless we do some-
thing to deserve it. If we behave
and perform in a favorable respon-
sible manner, then we should be
treated as “special.” But life is
really not like that; bad things do
happen to good people. On the
other side of the coin, if as children
we are repeatedly berated and
devalued by our parents, our sib-
lings and our teachers when we
don’t met their standards and even
if their criticism is well intended to
improve our performance that crit-
icism can lead to an irrational feel-
ing of inadequacy or guilt or
shame.
A constructive and adult atti-
tude recognizes that the world is
not “fair.” Recognize that the per-
son is not what they do. Just
because a person performs won-
derfully or poorly, does not mark
the person as special or inade-
quate.
As a side light, a word should be
offered regarding perfectionistic
behavior. The perfectionistic per-
son is one who constantly criticizes
their own or others efforts and
results. Perfectionistic behavior
provides a source of conflict with
others. It is a common human trait
to want to help others. Perfect peo-
ple can’t be helped since they are
already perfect. Therefore, others
are deprived of the satisfaction of
trying to help a person. Refusing
help sincerely offered by others
may be interpreted as an insult
and “snooty behavior.” When oth-
ers cease to offer help or support,
the perfectionistic person tends to
feel isolated, unfulfilled, lonely
and perhaps even resentful. When
an expected compliment or reward
is not received the perfectionistic
person may develop hostility and
become “angry all the time.”
On the other end of the spec-
trum is the person that feels guilty
and inadequate because they did
not perform or live up to the stan-
dards set for them by their par-
ents, teachers and compatriots.
Note that when you let others set
your goals and standards you are
sacrificing one of your basic
human needs. Always remember
that self determination and decid-
ing what you will do for yourself is
a critical part of a healthy mental
attitude. Letting others set your
standards can lead to feeling of
inadequacy and anticipation of
failure which is anxiety producing.
To avoid the anxiety, the person
does not try and therefore avoids
acting because of fear of failure.
To combat irrational feelings of
self worth, Dr Witte suggested a
group of thoughts whereby the
individual avoids equating self
worth with performance and is
realistic regarding performance
standards. He offered the follow-
ing self talks:
1. I am a mosaic. My self worth
is not only my performance in any
given endeavor.
2. I set my goals and expecta-
tions reasonably and realistically
for myself. I do not need to feel
guilty or inadequate because my
performance does not satisfy other
persons unrealistic expectations.
3. I am very disappointed or sad
over what I did. I wish it had not
occurred this way. I feel remorse
over this but I am still basically a
good and capable person. I will try
not to let this happen again and
get on with my life.
4. I feel like I performed terri-
ble. However at the time I acted, I
was doing as well as I could and
what I then thought was right
regardless of how wrong it is now.
Self blame, degradation and pun-
ishment will serve no useful pur-
pose and I should instead work to
avoid the same mistake in the
future.
5. I am a good and capable per-
son. However, this does not entitle
me to a pain-free life. Disappoint-
ment and adverse events are
inevitable and not always
bestowed according to deserved-
ness.
Notice of Public Hearing to
Adopt FY 2014 Budget
West River Water Development District
A public hearing will be held at the Murdo Project Office, 307 Main St., Murdo, S.D.,
on July 17, 2013, at 10:45 a.m. (CDT) to consider the proposed Water Development
District budget for Fiscal Year (FY) 2014 beginning January 1, 2014.
PRELIMINARY FY 2014, BUDGET:
Appropriations General
Fund
01 Board of Directors 3,600
02 Administration & Technical Assistance 10,660
03 Legal and Consultant 7,500
04 Capital Outlay 0
05 Project Assistance 156,570
06 Contingency 10,000
07 WDD Revolving Fund Repayment 0
09 Capital Reserve Fund 0
TOTAL FY 2014, APPROPRIATIONS 188,330
MEANS OF FINANCE:
310 Taxes (except FY 2014 Levy) 1,800
350 Intergovernmental Revenues 0
360 Miscellaneous Revenues 500
370 Other Financing Sources 76,280
SUBTOTAL 78,580
WDD Tax Levy Request for FY 2014 109,750
TOTAL MEANS OF FINANCE 188,330
The purpose of holding this hearing is to provide the public an opportunity to
contribute to and comment on the Water Development District proposed operating
budget for Fiscal Year 2014.
Persons interested in presenting data, opinions, and arguments for and against the
proposed budget may appear, either in person or by representative, at the hearing
and be heard and given an opportunity for a full and complete discussion of all items
in the budget.
Published July 4, 2013, at the total approximate cost of $49.63.
Unneeded/Excessive Pesticide
Use?
Although my “title” is Plant
Pathology Field Specialist, being
the only Agronomy Extension staff
person at the Winner Regional
Extension Center, I deal with more
than plant diseases. I consider
that broader perspective to be a
good thing, as there are often com-
mon themes across other aspects
of agronomy.
A local producer recently
brought in a “weed” that was pres-
ent in his pasture, and more obvi-
ous in his neighbors’. With the aid
of the SDSU Taxonomist’s expert-
ise, the “weed” turned out to be a
native wildflower. The Taxonomist
knew the producer wanted to
know what the “weed” was, main-
ly so he could find out which herbi-
cide would control it. Being the
expert in his field that he is, he
provided the plant species, but
also added a concern. In his words,
“Native forbs like this one are
being extinguished through whole-
sale herbicide application to grass-
lands. Native bees important for
pollinating native and cultivated
fruits, etc., are being decimated as
natural nectar sources needed
through the growing season are
lost. I'm seeing far fewer bees and
less fruit set in pollinator-depend-
ent fruits in corn/soybean/pasture
country here in the eastern part of
the state. We have a pollinator cri-
sis that is intensifying. I'm not a
tree hugging true environmental-
ist, just an observant realist. How
do we debunk the notion that any-
thing not grass is a weed?”
This “theme” carries over to
other areas. Entomologists pro-
mote that there are other ways to
control insects than just insecti-
cides. Wheat producers are likely
hearing of aphids in their fields.
There are also lady beetles and
other predatory insects there too,
and if at high enough populations,
can keep aphid numbers below the
thresholds. Applying insecticides
when insect pest thresholds
haven’t been reached may not be
economical, and the predators will
also be “controlled”. Insecticides
are also not the only solution for
alfalfa weevils. Granted, the
weather doesn’t always cooperate
to allow early cutting, and even so,
the weevils sometimes survive to
feed on the regrowth and justify an
insecticide application. Alfalfa
weevils have natural enemies and
insecticides should be used with
care to minimize the effect on
these beneficials. There are situa-
tions where including an insecti-
cide with another pesticide appli-
cation because there are a few
undesirable insects present may
require coming back for another
application because the beneficial
insects were taken out in the first
application.
A similar phenomena occurs
with fungicides. In addition to
killing harmful fungi, fungicides
also kill good fungi. These good
fungi help to control aphids,
grasshoppers, and other insects as
well as plant diseases such as bac-
terial. Extensive fungicide use has
also shown to be detrimental to
microbial activity in the soil.
Integrated Pest Management, or
IPM, practices have been encour-
aged for several years. IPM princi-
ples stress crop scouting, following
economic thresholds and consider-
ing alternative control methods.
It’s important to recognize that a
healthy grassland contains more
plants than just grass, not all
insects are pests, and not all fungi
are bad.
Calendar
6/27/2013 – Dakota Lakes
Research Farm Tour, 4:00 pm, 17
miles east of Pierre, SD
6/27-28/2013 – IPM Field School,
Dakota Lakes Research Farm, 17
miles east of Pierre, SD
7/1/2013 – Winter Wheat Variety
Plot Tour, 5:30 pm CDT, Jorgensen
Farm, Ideal, SD
7/2/2013 – Winter Wheat Variety
Plot Tour, 5:00 pm MDT, 5 miles
east of Martin, SD
Extension News
• Bob Fanning (605) 842-1267 •
I also learned, sometimes the
hard way, that color has a temper-
ature which is rated by photogra-
phers on the Kelvin scale. Kelvin
is sometimes shortened to K. A
temperature of 5000K is cool or
bluish, and lower numbers like
2,500 or 3,000K are warmer with
red, pink or orange. During the
day, normal sunshine colors are
cooler, but they warm up towards
sunset so people might turn out
orange in a photo instead of being
a more appropriate skin color.
This change isn’t always obvious
to the eye since we mentally make
an adjustment, but photographic
film captures what is there and
sometimes the effect is not flatter-
ing to human subjects. With sun-
sets, though, the hotter and
neater the colors, the better the
effect.
Well, this morning wasn’t so
great as far as sunrises go since
there was too much overcast for a
good show. Instead, I had to look
elsewhere for enjoyable colors.
That wasn’t too hard. On the hill-
side, there was still a mass of
white daisies with yellow centers.
They are winding down their big
display of the year, but they’re
still nice along with the few
remaining blue and purple lark-
spur which were really showy for
a while. The hollyhocks are just
now getting started and promise a
lot of color shortly since they are
thriving this year. In the back-
ground are quite a few yucca blos-
soms intermixed with a few yellow
cacti and sunflowers. Closer are
the potted plants on the deck.
These include a scarlet geranium
and four lantana of various hues.
Lantanas are favorites of wife
Corinne right now since they are
unique in their flowering. Their
blossoms start one color such as
yellow or white and then slowly
turn maybe to pink or to orange or
red. They usually have several
colors on the same plant at the
same time which is rather neat.
When I’m out strolling on the
prairie, my favorite wild posies
are probably the pinks. This
would include wild roses and
morning glories. There are also
some blues and oranges that are
nothing to scoff at and some
whites and yellows. I even rejoice
when all there is to see is a whole
sea of green or tan grass stretch-
ing way out to meet the blue sky
at the horizon. This may appear a
desolate expanse to some, but to
me it is close to heaven.
So, in my opinion, God is a mas-
terful artist with an excellent eye
for design and color. He tends to
turn out one masterpiece right
after another. I often remark
about this to him and express my
gratitude. What’s more, they tell
me that beauty is good for the soul
so it probably behooves us to
observe as much of it as possible.
It often is right there in front of
us, and all we have to do is look. I
wonder what eye-catchers are out
there today? I’d better keep my
eyes open.
God is an artist with light and
color. Take the morning last week
when the eastern sky was loaded
with lots of small puffy clouds. As
the sun came up, it turned the
tops and edges of those puffballs
into brilliant whites and silvers
which contrasted nicely with their
grayish undersides. I just sipped
my morning coffee, sat on the
deck, and watched until the sun
got high enough to turn all that
splendor back into simple fluffy
white clouds against a deep-blue
background. I enjoyed the play of
light and color so much that I was
somewhat reluctant to trudge
back inside and start the day.
I’ve always been a major fan of
nice sunrises and sunsets
although I’ve probably seen more
sets than rises do to my tendency
to be a night owl. I’ve missed quite
a few sunrises in consequence.
When I was doing a lot of photog-
raphy a number of years ago, sun-
sets were one of my favorite sub-
jects, especially when I could find
something interesting to silhou-
ette against the pinks, reds, and
oranges of the clouds. I got to be
pretty good at predicting when a
particularly showy sunset was
about to happen so I could grab
my camera and be in a prime loca-
tion for snapping the shutter.
Horses, trees and yucca plants
were some of my favorite things to
capture as dark objects against
bright colors. Other people must
like that sort of thing as well since
I sold a lot of sunset photos for a
number of years. I had a major
advantage in taking such pictures
because I lived on a hill in the
middle of nowhere from where I
could see the entire sky and
prairie, and without a lot of build-
ings and power lines to get in the
way. I did sometimes cuss the jet
jockeys who made artificial
straight white streaks in the mid-
dle of otherwise nice sunsets.
Lookin’ Around
• Syd Iwan •
position. Individuals may nomi-
nate themselves or others as can-
didates. Producers who are resi-
dents in the LAA holding the elec-
tion, participate in an FSA pro-
gram, and are of legal voting age
may be nominated to serve. Addi-
tionally, organizations represent-
ing minority and women farmers/
ranchers are encouraged to partic-
ipate in the nomination process.
Nomination forms are available at
USDA Service Centers and online
at http://www.fsa.usda.gov/elec-
tions. Nominations must be post-
marked or received in the office by
close of business on August 1,
2013.
DATES TO REMEMBER/
DEADLINES:
July 15: 2012 ACRE Production
July 15: 2012 NAP Production
July 15: Final 2013 Acreage
reporting deadline
August 1: COC Nomination peri-
od ends
August 2: DCP sign-up ends
November 15: 2013 NAP Produc-
tion
November 15: 2014 Acreage
reporting deadline on perennial
grasses and winter wheat
Feel free to call the office if you
ever have questions on any of our
programs 605-669-2404 Ext. 2.
2013 CROP ACREAGE
REPORTING DEADLINE
FAST APPROACHING
If you are done planting your
2013 crops, please contact the
office for an appointment to certify
your planted acreage on your
farm(s). You will need to delineate
the field(s), list the crop planted,
planting dates, acres of the crop,
intended use, and share(s). If you
have either prevented planted or
failed crop acreage, this will also
need to be reported. The deadline
for crop acreage reporting is July
15, 2013. An accurate crop report
is important with the cross compli-
ance between FSA and Federal
Crop Insurance. Crop reports are a
requirement to remain eligible for
most FSA Programs.
2012 NAP & ACRE
PRODUCTION DUE JULY 15
Producers must annually pro-
vide the quantity of all harvested
production of the crop in which the
producer held an interest during
the crop year. We have sent out the
“NAP Yields” form and CCC-658
form which lists your acres and a
spot for you to record your produc-
tion. The deadline for reporting
this production is July 15, 2013.
Production reporting is required
for all 2012 crops on farms with
NAP coverage or enrolled in ACRE
as applicable.
ACCEPTING NOMINATIONS
FOR COUNTY COMMITTEE
It is time once again to nomi-
nate producers to represent you on
the County Committee (COC).
LAA-1, which is the east 1/3 of
Jones County is up for election.
Currently LAA-1’s representatives
are Katherine Patterson with Curt
Miller as her alternate. Katherine
has served on the COC faithfully
for 9 years and has reached the
end of her eligibility to sit on the
COC. We encourage all eligible
voters in the applicable area to
consider filling out an FSA-699A
nomination form and run for this
JC FSA News
• David Klingberg •
Selected Interest Rates for
July 2013
Commodity Loans 1.125 percent
Farm Operating Loans — Direct
1.250 percent
Farm Ownership Loans — Direct
3.250 percent
Farm Ownership Loans — Direct
Down Payment, Beginning
Farmer or Rancher 1.500 percent
Farm Storage Facility Loans –
7 Yr 1.500 percent
Farm Storage Facility Loans –
10 Yr 2.125 percent
Farm Storage Facility Loans –
12 Yr 2.375 percent
Coyote Classifieds
Murdo Coyote • July 4, 2013 • Page 6
Applications at website www.ben-
nettcountyhospital.com. Competi-
tive wage, health benefits, loan
repayment. New graduates wel-
come!
TEACHING POSITIONS
OPEN AT MOBRIDGE-POL-
LOCK School District #62-6 for
2013-2014 School Year: HS Math;
MS Special Education; and Birth
to 2nd Grade Special Education.
Contact Tim Frederick at 605-
845-9204 for more information.
Resumes and applications can be
mailed to the school Attn: Tim
Frederick at 1107 1st Avenue East
in Mobridge S.D. 57601. Open
until filled. EOE, Signing Bonus
available.
DOUGLAS COUNTY COMMIS-
SION is taking applications for
full- time Douglas County High-
way Superintendent. Must have
valid Class A Driver’s License.
Experience in road/bridge con-
struction/maintenance. For appli-
cation contact: Douglas County
Auditor (605) 724-2423.
LOG HOMES
DAKOTA LOG HOME Builders
representing Golden Eagle Log
Homes, building in eastern, cen-
tral, northwestern South & North
Dakota. Scott Connell, 605-530-
2672, Craig Connell, 605-264-
5650, www.goldeneagleloghomes.
com.
MISCELLANEOUS
DISH TV RETAILER- Starting
at $19.99/month (for 12 mos.) &
High Speed Internet starting at
$14.95/month (where available.)
SAVE! Ask About SAME DAY
Installation! CALL Now! 1-800-
308-1892.
SAVE ON CABLE TV-Internet-
Digital Phone-Satellite. You’ve
Got A Choice! Options from ALL
major service providers. Call us to
learn more! CALL Today. 888-337-
5453.
HIGHSPEED INTERNET
everywhere By Satellite! Speeds
up to 12mbps! (200x faster than
dial-up.) Starting at $49.95/mo.
CALL NOW & GO FAST! 1-888-
518-8672.
NOTICES
ADVERTISE IN NEWSPA-
PERS statewide for only $150.00.
Put the South Dakota Statewide
Classifieds Network to work for
you today! (25 words for $150.
Each additional word $5.) Call
this newspaper or 800-658-3697
for details.
SEARCH STATE-WIDE
APARTMENT Listings, sorted by
rent, location and other options.
www.sdhousingsearch.com South
Dakota Housing Development
Authority.
OTR/DRIVERS
DRIVERS WANTED: CDL,
owner operators, freight from
Midwest up to 48 states, home
regularly, newer equipment,
Health, 401K, call Randy, A&A
Express, 800-658-3549.
DRIVERS $1000 SIGN-ON
BONUS. *Home Weekly *Excel-
lent Benefits *Regional Dedicat-
ed. Routes *Up to 47 CPM *2500
Miles weekly $50 Tarp Pay. (888)
691-5705
Deadline is Tuesdays at 10 a.m.
Call: 669-2271
CLASSIFIED ADVERTISING
CLASSIFIED RATE: $5.00 minimum for up to 20 words.10¢ per word after
initial 20. Each name and initial must be counted as one word.
CARD OF THANKS: Poems, Tributes, Etc. $5.00 minimum for up to 20
words.10¢ per word after initial 20. Each name and initial must be counted
as one word.
NOTE: $2.00 added charge for bookkeeping and billing on all charges.
DISPLAY AD RATE: $5.20 per column inch.
PUBLISHER’S NOTICE: All real estate, advertised in this newspaper is
subject to the Federal Fair Housing Act of 1968, which makes it illegal to
advertise “any preference, or discrimination on race, color, religion, sex, or
national origin, or any intention to make any such preference, limitation, or
discrimination.”
This newspaper will not knowingly accept any advertising for real estate
which is a violation of the law. Our readers are informed that all dwellings
advertised in this newspaper are available on an equal opportunity basis.
Help Wanted
T H E J O N E S C O U N T Y
SCHOOL DISTRICT is hiring
for the following positions: High
School Librarian, Full/Part-time
Custodians, Summer Lawn Care,
Assistant Football Coach. Call
605-669-2258 for more informa-
tion. Deadline to apply is July 19.
M27-2tc
CAREGIVER/AIDE: Part time
position available in the Murdo
area assisting elderly and disabled
individuals in the comfort of their
own homes. Will assist with basic
cleaning, laundry, meal prep, per-
sonal cares, and other tasks which
allow independence. Flexible
schedules and great supplemental
income. Please contact the office
(605)224-2273 or 1-800-899-2578.
Be sure to check out our web site
at homecareservicessd.com.
M26-4tc
For Sale
FOR SALE: Alfalfa seed, grass
seed and high test alfalfa hay.
Delivery available and volume dis-
count available. Call 798-5413.
PR25-11tp
2007 DODGE RAM 1500: 68,000
miles, 6-speed manual transmis-
sion, 5th wheel hitch. $16,500.
Call 840-2963 for more informa-
tion.
M27-1tp
Notice
ROUGH COUNTRY SPRAY-
ING: Specializing in controlling
Canada thistle on rangeland. ATV
application. Also prairie dogs. Call
Bill at 605-669-2298. M21-24tp
Thank You
Thank you to the Murdo Cham-
ber of Commerce for awarding me
Yard of the Week. My nine roses
that were in bloom did it for me!
Marie Tedrow
The Venard family would like
to thank all the participants for
making their 3rd Annual Golf
Tournament a success. Thank you
to those who furnished snacks and
food. A special thank you to the
volunteers who cleaned the club-
house and got the course ready for
the tournament.
I am blessed with a wonderful
family that hosted an 80th birth-
day open house for me. Thank you
for a wonderful day. Also, thanks
to all the extended family and
friends that attended and sent
cards. God bless all.
Russ Beck
Murdo Nutrition
Program Menu
July 8
Hamburger Goulash
Corn
Bread
Peaches
July 9
Roast Beef
Mashed Potatoes & Gravy
Green Beans
Dinner Roll
Applesauce
July 10
Hamburger on a Bun w/ Lettuce
& Onion
Potato Wedges
Perfection Gelatin Salad
July 11
Oven Fried Chicken
Mashed Potatoes & Gravy
Harvard Beets
Bread
Melon
July 12
Pork Chops in Celery Sauce
Baked Sweet Potatoes
Green Beans
Bread
Pears
BUSINESS OPPORTUNITY
LONGBRANCH IN PIERRE,
S.D. We have lowered the price &
will consider contract for deed.
Call Russell Spaid 605-280-1067.
EMPLOYMENT
WILMOT CITY ACCEPTING
APPLICATIONS for MFO.
Strong bookkeeping, office and
customer service skills. Quick-
Books a plus. Send resume and 3
work references to PO Box 78,
Wilmot, S.D. 57279 or email:
Wilmot@tnics.com. Open until
filled.
FULL TIME RN POSITION.
Rural 11 bed Critical Access Hos-
pital seeking full-time RN’s. Con-
tact Misti Broyles 605-685-6622.

Published under a Creative Commons License By attribution, non-commercial
AttachmentSize
Coyote E-Edition 7-4.pdf3.53 MB