Mark Nelson sworn in as newest board member of Haakon School District

The Monday, July 19, Haakon School Board meeting began with Business Manager Britni Ross swearing in elected Mark Nelson and appointed Bill Slovek and Vonda Hamill.

Slovek was voted in to continue as the board president and Anita Peterson is the new vice president.

Next, the consent calendar was gone over and discussed. First National Bank in Philip was declared as the official depository for school district funds. The Pioneer Review was then declared the official newspaper for publications of official school board meetings and advertisements.

Authorization of the continuance of existing funds and fund balances included the general, capital outlay, special education, food service, pension, trust and agency funds. Ross was then appointed and authorized to be the administrator of the trust and agency accounts. Superintendent Keven Morehart was appointed director of federal programs.

The October board meeting will be held at the Cheyenne Rural Attendance Center. The November through February meetings will be at 6:00 p.m. All other meetings will be held at the regular time of 7:00 p.m.

The meal prices for the school lunch program for the 2010-2011 school term did not change from last year. Lunches for students kindergarten through sixth grade will be $1.65, for seventh through 12th grade, $1.90, reduced meals, $0.40, adult meals, $2.65, and milk will be $0.25.

Next was the declaration of parliamentary procedures in conducting board meetings. It was then authorized for Ross to invest funds to the advantage of the district.

Admission prices to school activities for the 2010-2011 school term remained the same as last year. Student and senior citizen 65 and older will be charged $2.00, with their season passes being $20.00. Adult tickets will be $3.00, with season passes at $35.00.

Morehart was appointed as the person responsible for closing the school for emergencies and inclement weather. Board member compensation for attendance at authorized meetings was approved. Members receive $50 per meeting plus mileage. Rodney Freeman, Huron, was approved as school attorney. A separate motion was made to contact him first to confirm his agreement.

Appointment for building, memorial field, negotiations and board member budget committees was tabled until the next meeting.

Agreement for negotiated classified 2010-2011 contracts was also tabled until next meeting. The Haakon Education Association wanted it to be recorded, "Haakon Education Association notes this contract is being imposed upon classified employees. The signatures acknowledge the negotiated agreement exists." HEA did not file for the fact finding which means the last best offer of the board is imposed for the 2010-2011 school year. Morehart said, "We are tabling this until next meeting not for anything negative, just that this inclusion was unexpected." The contracts are to be frozen to the pay used for the 2009-2010 school year.

The following personnel action was approved. Ralph Kroetch will be the cross country coach. Lacey Clements will be the assistant volleyball coach. Kory Foss will be the head boys basketball coach. LaRae Carley, Lana Elshere, and Tayta West are on extended summer services. Larry Aaker will have a pay lane change.

Volunteer coaches for next year are Travis DeJong, football, Carol Kroetch and Harold Iwan, cross country, Aaron Johnson and Nathan O'Dea, football, and Del Bartels, oral interp.

Peterson was named delegate for the Associated School Board of South Dakota (ASBSD), and the Black Hills Special Services Co-op (BHSSC), with Hamill as alternate.

Next, the engagement letter with Casey Peterson for audit in 2010 was approved. The letter stated that the November 15, gross fee will not exceed $9,900. Travel, copies, overnight stay, and meals are not included in the gross fee.

Advertising bids for propane and milk were approved next. Land 'O Lakes was awarded the contract for milk. Propane will be from Fitzgerald Oil Company at a price of $1.49.5, as opposed to last year's $1.14.

The barium chloride bid was approved, and this year 220 bags at $86.90 a piece will total $19,118.

Peterson then gave the BHSSC report. Morehart reported that there will be a coaches convention Monday, July 26. Two athletes, Marissa Mann, volleyball, and Karch Foley, football will attend the all star games in Aberdeen.

August 16 marks the return of the staff to the Philip schools, and athletics also start that day. Students resume school on August 18. There will be a pre-season athletic meeting for football, cross country and volleyball August 9.

The next meeting for the Haakon School District 27-1 School Board will be Monday, August 16, in room A-1 of the Philip High School.