Lincoln Smith wrestles at Disney Duels Tournament in Florida

Bronze medal winner of the Disney Wrestling Duels Tournament, Lincoln Smith, Philip, returned home with a record of seven wins and two losses.

Smith was the 189 pounder for the South Dakota Class "B" team at the Disney Wrestling Duels Tournament.

Members of the two South Dakota teams met at Beresford, on Thursday, June 21, for two days of training with the four South Dakota coaches. The South Dakota "A" team was coached by Brian Moser of Rapid City Stevens and Jeremy Tostenson of Milbank. The South Dakota Class "B" team was coached by Ken Bonte of Beresford and Fran Esser of Redfield.

On Saturday, June 23, the teams flew to Orlando, FL, for the national competition. Sunday was a day of recreation and acclimation. They weighed in on Monday and the competition started on Tuesday, June 26, in the Milk House at the Disney Wide World of Sports Center.

There were four different pools of eight teams each. Friday, June 29, they wrestled for the team positions. South Dakota Class "B" team ended up in 16th place and also won the Team Sportsmanship Award. The South Dakota Class "A" team finished in 25th place.

Smith faced tough competitors from around the country and was able to wrestle athletes who are highly ranked nationally. His team wrestled teams from Michigan, Iowa, Pennsylvania, North Carolina, Illinois, Ohio, Delaware, and North Dakota. Smith considered it a very good experience.

According to Smith, the comraderie of the South Dakota teammates was awesome with new friendships formed that will last for years to come. "Yeah, it was an awesome trip." Smith also thanks all of the Philip fans for their great support.

Team SD Class "B" wrestlers were: 103# - B. Gillette, Redfield, 112# - Dallas Jungwirth, Redfield, 119# - Brock Edgar, Redfield, 125# - Bradyn Neises, Howard, 130# - Jesse Rolston, Bon Homme, 135# - Brady Severson, Garretson, 140# - Carl Serck, Alcester-Hudson, 145# - Bryce Logan, Clark-Doland-Conde. 160# - Nick Bonte, Garretson, 160# - Tigh Faehnrich, Beresford, 171# - Jayden Hansen, Gettysburg, 189# - Lincoln Smith, Philip, 215# - Randall Waldner, Redfield and 275# - Tyler Bonefield, Newell.