Login

Kadoka Press, October 3, 2013

Embedded Scribd iPaper - Requires Javascript and Flash Player
KADOKA PRESS
The official newspaper of Jackson County, South Dakota
$1.00
includes tax
Volume 107 Number 12 October 3, 2013
2013 KAHS Homecoming
Parade Marshals, Jean Holzkamp (L) and Harry Weller.
Presenting the colors, Orville Josserand (L) and Paul Briggs.
2013 KAHS Homecoming royalty Lane Patterson (L), Logan Christensen, King Chandlier Sudbeck, Queen Taylor Merchen, Emily Schlabach, Raven Jorgensen. Coronation was held on Tuesday, Sept. 24.
Long Valley School, “Saluting Our Real Life Heros”
Fromm’s Hardware & Plumbing, Super Hank (aka Brian Fromm) “Plunge the Scotties Away!”
Preschool, junior kindergarten and kindergarten students show their Kougar spirit.
West Central Electric served hot dogs to all those attending the parade.
Duck Dynasty dress up day at Midland School Brian Cushman (L), Kash Block, Zakry Sinkey, Eagan Fitzgerald, Landon Schofield
Kadoka Fourth Grade, “Flash to a Victory!”
KAHS Marching Band
Jerry Magelky (L), Ted Hicks, and Jim Jones at the pancake and sausage supper sponsored by KCBA
Kadoka Volunteer Fire Department
Kadoka Press, “Crush the Scotties” driving by Tanner Jones and Beau Walker
2 - Thursday, October 3, 2013 - Kadoka Press
Editorial
From the U.S. Senate | Senator John Thune
did care much for it. Some areas of the cities should also be avoided if at all possible or driven through only with fully locked doors. In New Orleans, I also avoided walking down dark alleys at night when I had a room in the French Quarter. It wasn’t a dreadfully scary place, but you should keep your eyes open. I know radio antennas were not worth replacing because they routinely got broken off. Certain people there must have a fetish about antennas since you could never keep one on your car for very long. It also was best to leave your car unlocked at night since then no one would bother your vehicle. If you locked it, they figured there was something worthwhile inside so they’d break in. The car thing is not so much a peril. It’s just symptomatic of the kind of people you’re dealing with. Personally, I prefer living here where critters and weather pose the main problems and not other people. Anyway, there are certain hazards around us that we need to be aware of so we can avoid them. Fortunately, I don’t expect much danger any more today since I’m not going anywhere or doing much. I probably should avoid eating anything that will give me indigestion or add any poundage where I don’t need it. Other than that, I should be fairly safe. Nevertheless, I’ll try to keep my wits about me and stay out of trouble. Luckily, my Lord constantly looks after me and helps me out. That takes a lot of worry out of the whole business and gives me peace of mind. I’m very thankful for that.
Lookin’ Around | Syd Iwan
Hazards
This is the time of year when hornets like to sit on doorknobs and catch you unaware. There is no good reason for them to be there, but they are. I suspect it is just so you can offend them which gives them a good excuse to sting you before flying off in righteous indignation. I have been stung several times just trying to get into the house on a warm fall day in past years, but most of the time I see the nasty yellow and black things beforehand and shoo them away. Alternately, I feel something wiggle in my hand and let go very quickly. Still, sometimes you get stung. This is just one example of the many hazards we have to watch for and try to avoid in life. In this state, ice can be a problem. Most winters we have a spell of cold some time or other with slippery surfaces underfoot. One year I basically fell under the pickup just trying to get out of it. Luckily, I was well padded with thick winter clothing so mostly it was my pride that was injured and not my body. That isn’t always the case. A young friend of ours told us he had fallen on the ice the same week I did, but he had a good reason for it. According to him, he had “selfinduced balance problems” at the time. In other words, he had lingered a little too long at the bar before walking home. Our country roads have been known to be hazardous as well. I don’t know how many times over the years I’ve crept down our steep creek hill in a pickup to avoid slipping over the edge due to either mud or ice. When the roads are like that, I prefer to just stay at home, but that isn’t always completely possible. Occasionally you have to take your heart in your hands and risk it. It isn’t much fun, but I haven’t ever actually had a wreck in the process. I have gotten stuck and had to walk home or for help, but at least the vehicle and I have always both stayed in one piece. Other things to be on the lookout for around here might include rattlesnakes, spiders, blizzards, tornados, and bats. With snakes you soon learn to look where you’re going in warm weather when they are out and about. Don’t walk quickly through tall grass and that sort of thing, and kick stumps over before picking them up. I’ve had enough close calls in the past to keep me watchful. There is still a danger no matter how careful you are as my neighbor found out this summer. She was just weeding a flower patch when she felt pain in her hand and then saw a rattler that had slithered out of its hiding place in some cement blocks and bitten her. She, in consequence, had to make a hurried trip to the doctor and a stay in the hospital for a few days. Bats, by the way, are generally not something that give you any trouble. I just hate them and like to stay out of their way. Almost anywhere you live, you will find risks of some sort or other. The main one in California as far as I can tell is driving on freeways. Those people are crazy drivers and like to go at full speed, bumper to bumper, and then suddenly screech to a halt. This took a little getting used to, and I never
Defending our Hunting and Fishing Traditions
Hunting and fishing are a way of life in South Dakota. Like many across the state, I have great memories of heading out to the stock dam with my Dad, rod in hand, working hard to land a bigger fish than him. Sometimes we caught our limit, sometimes we went home empty-handed—but we always had a great time. While I don’t make it out fishing much anymore, pheasant hunting is a different story. Nothing beats the feeling of knocking down the first pheasant on opening day, walking the field with old friends, and ending the evening telling embellished stories of the “shot of day.” South Dakotans have a great appreciation for the outdoors and for the sporting traditions that not
only provide endless hours of entertainment, but also provide significant economic benefits to our state. However, potential Environment Protection Agency (EPA) regulations could dramatically change the availability of hunting ammunition and fishing tackle for sportsmen and women throughout the country. Some in the environmental community want the EPA to ban traditional lead in hunting ammunition and fishing tackle, increasing the cost and pricing some sportsmen and women out of the market. According to industry experts, metallic non-traditional ammunition makes up only one percent of the market share. In response to these regulations, I introduced legislation along with Senator Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.) that would protect ammunition and fishing tackle from unnecessary EPA regulation by excluding it from the
Toxic Substances Control Act. Our bill, the Hunting, Fishing, and Recreational Shooting Protection Act, would instead leave the regulation of these items up to the agencies that currently regulate both ammunition and tackle. Our bill is supported by the National Rifle Association, Safari Club, Congressional Sportsmen’s Foundation, Wildlife Forever, and other hunting and fishing groups. As co-chair of the Congressional Sportsmen’s Caucus and as an avid outdoorsman, I will continue to work with my colleagues in Congress to put an end to the EPA’s far-reaching and burdensome regulations, and to help ensure that future generations of South Dakotans are not unnecessarily restricted from hunting, fishing, and enjoying the great outdoors.South Dakota and throughout our country.
Office of the Governor | Gov. Dennis Daugaard
State Veterans Home
Last Wednesday, I attended the groundbreaking ceremony for the State Veterans Home in Hot Springs. As I spoke with veterans, their families and local leaders, I was reminded again of how important it is to honor and serve those who have fought for our freedom. In South Dakota, we have a history of taking care of our veterans dating back to the Civil War. Thousands of Union veterans came to South Dakota after the Civil War, along with a few Confederate veterans, and seven Civil War Generals were buried in our state. In 1889, the Dakota Territory became the first of all the territories to provide a home for its veterans, but not without struggle. In 1886, Dakotans and the Grand Army of the Republic (GAR), an organization for Civil War veterans, persuaded the territorial Legislature to pass a bill for construction of the soldier’s home, but to their dismay, territorial Gov. Louis Church vetoed the bill. The Dakota GAR spent three years discussing the proposal with the Governor in an attempt to change his mind. The GAR thought their lobbying efforts had been successful until Gov. Church surprised them by vetoing the bill again. The debate continued for several more days until finally, the Legislature overrode the veto. Just nine days after South Dakota became a state, on Nov. 11, 1889, the cornerstone for the first State Veterans Home was laid in Hot Springs. Ironically, that cornerstone was laid on what we now know as Veterans Day – twentynine years before the date gained its significance with the armistice that closed the First World War. Just as it was a challenge for the first South Dakotans to establish the first State Veterans Home, establishing the new home in Hot Springs hasn’t been easy. Our first request for a $23 million federal grant was turned down. Then the bids came in too high. After the state engineer opened the bids for the project, it became apparent that the amount estimated by the architect would not cover the cost of the Veterans Home. We even planned a special legislative session to allocate more funds so the project would not be derailed. To find a solution, I worked with the Lieutenant Governor, the South Dakota Department of Veterans Affairs and members of my staff. We spent many hours considering alternative designs and working with the VA. After months of long meetings, the federal VA agreed to extend our grant, which gave us time to consider alternative designs and bring down the cost of the project without additional state funds. Before the construction of the first State Veterans Home was complete, Gov. Arthur Mellette told the South Dakota Legislature, “It becomes your duty to provide suitably for the maintenance for those who have so richly earned the gratitude of a patriotic people.” No matter the challenges, we must always work to take care of those who have fought for our freedom. Gov. Mellette never said it would be easy, but in South Dakota, we’re known for choosing “the right” over “the easy.” Through hard work and perseverance we will continue to give back to those who have given so much for us.
From the U.S. House | Representative Kristi Noem
Nominating South Dakota’s Best and Brightest for our Nation’s Service Academies
Every year, I have the opportunity to nominate young South Dakotans who are interested in attending one of our four U.S. Service Academies. Our nation’s service academies provide young men and women the opportunity to further their education while serving our country. If you, or someone you may know, is interested in applying to the Military Academy at West Point, Naval Academy at Annapolis, Air Force Academy in Colorado Springs, or the Merchant Marine Academy in Kings Point, here is some additional information that may be of interest to you. The first step is to submit a precandidate application to the preferred academy. I would also encourage you to contact your high school counselor about your interest in attending a military academy so you can start preparing now by taking a challenging course load and supplementing your application with extracurricular and physical activities. In order to be considered for admission to a service academy, applicants must also receive a nomination from a member of Congress. You can download a nomination application from my website (http://noem.house.gov) and may also call my Sioux Falls office at 605-275-2868 for application details. In addition to completing the application, I request that applicants submit the following information: a cover letter detailing why you would like a nomination to a service academy; a list of extracurricular activities, honors, awards, employment and current coursework; a high school transcript; ACT and/or SAT scores; a minimum of three letters of recommendation and any copies of correspondence you’ve received from the academies. I’m proud to say that all applicants receive an interview with my academy nomination board. Interviews are held the first Saturday in December in both Sioux Falls and Rapid City. We are also able to conduct phone interviews if you are unable to interview inperson due to circumstances beyond your control. Nomination applications are due on October 31st so it’s important to get started now if you haven’t already! I encourage applicants to submit applications to all three Congressional offices in order to better their chances of receiving a nomination. Academies make the final decision on acceptance and announce appointments next spring. I would also like to publicly thank the following eleven South Dakotans who serve on my academy nomination boards. I truly appreciate the fact that each one not only gives up a full day of their spare time to meet with applicants, but many also travel long distances to be there. These individuals have a vested interest and passion in selecting our nation’s next generation of leaders and have extensive experience in education, business and the military. East River Academy Board: Annie Falk of Aberdeen, Dr. Blake Curd of Sioux Falls, Teddi Mueller of Sioux Falls, Cameron Corey of Watertown, Ken Bjur of Aberdeen, Glen Herrick of Sioux Falls. West River Academy Board: Dan Hunter of Rapid City, Lynn Kendall of Black Hawk, Mike Pelly of Rapid City, Gayle Thom of Rapid City, Scott Odenbach of Spearfish. Spread the word about this incredible opportunity and please don’t hesitate to reach out to my office if we can answer any additional questions about the academy application process. generation away from extinction.” I encourage you to remember those words and appreciate the nature of the freedoms we enjoy.
The Prairie Doc Perspective | Dr. Richard P. Holm M.D.
The Path to Understanding the Proper Diet
We have been on the path to understanding the proper diet that prevents heart attacks or strokes. Although most believe a life style of moderate physical activity and avoidance of smoke is important in preventing atherosclerosis, there remains no consistent answer to which diet is most protective in preventing early aging of blood vessels. For years we thought it was a no-egg, low fat, and more vegetarian diet, but in recent years experts have started endorsing more meat. It began when a fad, lowcarbohydrate, weight-loss diet became clearly more successful than the standard more vegetarian diet. Reported in the medical journals, researchers found that those eating less bread, potatoes, and sweets lost more weight and felt better than those eating less meats and fats. Alas, after a year both groups were equally unsuccessful in keeping the weight off, but we learned from it. Add to this what we’ve known for years about the medical conditions of food intolerance. There is intolerance to lactose, which is the natural sugar of milk, and celiac disease, which is intolerance to gluten, a protein in many cereals especially wheat. Anthropologists tell us these problems did not occur in hunter-gather societies until about 10,000 years ago when farming developed and humanity became exposed to animal milk and wheat. It is also intriguing that studies of twentieth century hunter-gatherers, whose diets are about 65% wild game meat and 35% gathered plant food, show them to be generally free of the signs and symptoms of cardiovascular disease. Could it be then that the eating habits of our ancestral pre-farming Paleolithic people living 2.5 million years ago until 10,000 years ago are guiding us along a path to prevent heart attacks and stroke in modern humans? Those who don’t swallow this theory advise us that back then, most people had to walk about an hour a day to survive, had smaller portions of food when they had food at all, and that most didn’t live past 30 years of age anyway. These contrarians state that 500 generations of living with an agrarian diet has been enough to evolve tolerance to lactose and gluten with only an occasional throwback who doesn’t tolerate our modern diet of milk and bread. I think the path to preventing a heart attack is not by avoiding meat and fat, or even milk and bread, but rather by simply eating smaller portions and daily walking along any path.
Phone 837-2697 Kadoka SD
Fromm’s Hardware & Plumbing, Inc.
Main Street • Kadoka, SD
Ditching & Trenching of
B.L. PORCH
Veterinarian
•Major Appliances •Color Match Paint System
Contact us for all your plumbing service calls
Kay Reckling
Independent Norwex Consultant
ALL types!
605-837-2274
605-391-3097 cell kayreckling.norwex.biz kmreckling@gmail.com
837-2690
Craig cell 605-390-8087 Sauntee cell 605-390-8604
Kuddos & Concerns
Ask about our solar wells.
Want to give credit to someone or have a concern? Address it here! Contact Kadoka Press for details.
Jackson County Title Co., Inc.
615 Poplar St. • Kadoka, SD 57543 u u u u u Monday - Friday, 9 a.m. to Noon and by appointment. Over 20 Years of Service
Midwest Cooperative
Kadoka Clinic & Lab
601 Chestnut Kadoka, SD 57543-0640
Call 837-2259 or email: press@kadokatelco.com
Kadoka South Dakota
Fax: 837-2061 Ph: 837-2257 MONDAY Dave Webb, PA-C TUESDAY Dave Webb, PA-C Wednesday - CLOSED Please call Philip Clinic 800-439-8047 THURSDAY Dr. David Holman FRIDAY Dr. Coen Klopper Clinic Hours: 8:00 - 12:00 1:00 - 5:00 Lab Hours: 8:15 - 12:00 1:00 - 5:00 The Lab & X-ray departments accept orders from any provider.
Kadoka Clinic is a Medicare provider & accepts assignments on Medicare bills.
•Grain •Feed •Salt •Fuel •Twine
Kadoka Press
USPS 289340
Telephone 605-837-2259 • PO Box 309, Kadoka, South Dakota 57543-0309 E-mail: press@kadokatelco.com Fax: 605-837-2312
Kadoka, SD
Phone: 837-2235
605-837-2431
Philip, SD
(605) 837-2286
Check our prices first!
Divisions of Ravellette Publications, Inc.:
Kadoka Press: 837-2259 Pioneer Review: 859-2516 The Profit: 859-2516 Pennington Co. Courant: 279-2565 New Underwood Post: 754-6466 Faith Independent: 967-2161 Bison Courier: 244-7199 Murdo Coyote: 669-2271
605-859-2610
Ravellette Publications, Inc.
PO Box 309 • Kadoka, SD 57543-0309
Publisher: Don Ravellette Graphic Design/News Writing/Photography: Robyn Jones Published each Thursday and Periodicals postage paid at Kadoka, Jackson County, South Dakota 57543-0309
Official Newspaper for the City of Kadoka, the Town of Interior, the Town of Belvidere, the Town of Cottonwood, the County of Jackson and the Kadoka School District #35-2.
DISCOUNT FUEL
Kadoka Oil Co.
Kadoka, SD
Check out our website!
http://www.goldenwest.net/~kdahei
1-800-742-0041 Ice • Beer Pop (Toll-free) Groceries Mark & Tammy Carlson
Snacks Food Coffee
605-837-2271 For fuel & propane delivery:
Complete line of veterinary services & products.
MONDAY - FRIDAY
8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
SATURDAY
8:00 a.m. to noon by appointment
• ANNUAL SUBSCRIPTION RATES • All of Jackson, Haakon, Jones, Mellette and Bennett Counties and Quinn and Wall Addresses . . . . . . . . . . . .$35.00 Plus Tax All other areas in South Dakota . . . . . . . . . . . . . .$42.00 Plus Tax Out of state . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .$42.00 No Tax
South Dakota Newspaper Association POSTMASTER: Send change of address to the Kadoka Press, PO Box 309, Kadoka, SD 57543
Correspondent News
Gateway News | Lola Joyce Riggins, 837-2053 (Let it ring.)
Lola Joyce Riggins accompained Virginia Coller to Martin to attend the funeral service for a former Kadoka resident, Ray Young. May we extend our sympathy to his family. Quilting was held Wednesday afternoon in the community room. Lova Bushnell, Marie Addison, Shirley Josserand, Margie Peters, and Susie Bauman were busy getting more quilts done. The craft club held their meeting later that day. They were crafting very interesting witch’s hats for Halloween. Very nice and crafty to use them for the big holiday. And later yet, the cemetery board held their meeting and an extended discussion was over some issues and how to solve them. I had the permission to visit with each group briefly. Remember these people keep up with the happenings so don’t forget that they need encouragement and support. Lola Joyce enjoyed Sunday evening meal at the home of Chris and Anitalyn Riggins. Dylan, Krista and I enjoyed a game of Cribbage. I started the game with bang, but then Dylan started getting some good cards and no one could compete with him, so he won. It’s always fun to see how the cards will fall. Friends and family gathered at the community room on Sunday for a baby shower for Presley James Carlson, daughter of Luke and Geri. Thought: When was honey ever made with one bee in the hive? Don’t wait to strike till the iron is hot, but make it hot by striking. Reagan Ison of Ft. Worth, TX, is spending a couple weeks with her mom, Vicki Wilson, after coming to Kadoka because of the death of her father, Stu Wilson. Stu’s funeral and burial was last week. Other relatives in town for the services included Reagan’s husband, Terry; Willard Wilson and family of Eastover, SC, who left for their home on Friday; Mary Jane Knight and friend, Rocky Harris of Little Rock, Arkansas; Dennis and Melody Headlee from Pleasantville, IA; Karen and Ray Sorensen of Albert Lea, MN; and Steve Wilson from Wichita Falls, TX. Deb Moor and Diana Coller attended the South Dakota Library Assoc. conference in Sioux Falls last week. They left on Sept. 22 and returned the 25th. While in Sioux Falls Diana visited with her son, Nathan Schnee.
Kadoka Press - Thursday, October 3, 2013 -
3
Kadoka Area News | Sydne Lenox, 837-2465
Wanda Swan and Sydne Lenox drove to Rapid City on Thursday where Wanda kept an eye appointment. They enjoyed lunch with Beth (Jeffords) Boersma at the hospital cafeteria and then visited Wanda’s sister and Beth’s mom, Marjorie Jeffords, at the There’s a Hart Assisted Living Facility. Marj is doing fine and likes to ask about all her friends in Kadoka. Former Kadoka resident, Sue Erickson of Springfield, died in the St. Michael Hospital in Tyndall on Thursday, September 26. Sue’s husband, Harvey, was a teacher and administrator at Kadoka High School several years ago. She is survived by Harvey and five sons. Her funeral was Monday at the United Church of Christ in Springfield. Another successful homecoming celebration was held in Kadoka on Friday with a parade, Punt, Pass and Kick contest, pancake supper and a win at the football game. The weather was a little chilly and some rain fell, but all in all many people enjoyed the day. Saddle bronc results for last week: American Royal Rodeo, Kansas City, MO, Sept. 27-28 – Louie Brunson tied for 8th, score 77, $70; Justin Boots Championships, Omaha, NE, Sept. 26-28 – 1st round – 1st place Chad Ferley, 84, $3,256, tied for 2nd Cole Elshere, 82, $2,122; Second round – tie for 6th Chad Ferley 77 $247; Average – Chad Ferley 161 points, $2,467, tie for 5th Cole Elshere 155 pts., $592; Semifinals – tie for 3rd Chad Ferley 81 $987; Finals first place Chad Ferley 86 $7,430; Total earnings Chad in first place with $14,387 and 7th place Cole Elshere, $2,714.
Norris News | Marjorie Anne Letellier, 462-6228
The biggest news of the week is the six miles stretch of road between Norris and Corn Creek. Folks in this area are thrilled to see the Reece Bligh Memorial road being worked on, FINALLY. Some of us were checking the progress daily. It was fun to even follow the pilot car! That road was so bad that it always reminded JaLynn of being back in Russia with all the dangerous pot holes. What is really nuts is, it has a 25 mile per hour speed limit and everybody drives 55 on it now. It had a 55 mph limit on it before everyone was risking their life if they drove 25 on it. Monday, the James Letelliers went to Valentine, NE, for supplies and were supper guests that evening of their daughter, Julie, at Kilgore. Kilgore was getting a good rain while they were there and it rained all the way to Parmelee on their way home. Remember, that Ken and Karen Toews of Kadoka are having Kids Bible Class on Tuesday after school this year instead of Thursdays. It will be held at the Ben Looking White Memorial Hall in Blackpipe. Everyone is invited. June Ring went into White River to donate blood on Tuesday. Dan and Susan Taft and Morgan made a trip to Pierre where Morgan kept an appointment. Evan and Dorothy visited Maxine Allard one evening this week. Gene and Bertie Schoon of Corsica arrived at the Gale Letellier home and were houseguests for a few days last week. Norris School news: Parentteacher conferences will be held Thursday evening from 4 to 8 p.m. Please attend and get a progress report on your student. Interested parents make better students. Thursday, Alberta Allard visited in the June Ring home. The Tafts took in the tri-angular volleyball games at White River on Thursday. Kadoka and Pine Ridge were the other two teams and White River came out the winners in both the junior varisty and varsity games. Friday, two cars of gals left this area for Watertown for the State Master Gardener Update. Ladies attending were: JoAnn Letellier of Norris, Donna Adrian of White River, Noma Sazama of Mission, Ila Tucker of Wood, Donita Denke of Long Valley, Rosa Lee Styles of Draper and Mabel Schmit of Chamberlain. Noma Sazama received a gold star badge for her years of service and achievements in the Master Gardener program. Morgan Taft went with a friend to Rapid City to help her celebrate her birthday on Friday. Morgan returned home on Sunday. June Ring visited in the Jean Kary home on Friday. The gals are working on their entries for the South Dakota History Conference coming up in Rapid City soon. Maxine Allard has been busy and she tied two lap robes this week. Friday, the James Letelliers were among the large crowd who attended all the activities at the Sunshine Bible Academy homecoming including the dedication of the new gym. Jim was in the “Parade of the Decades” representing the 1950s classes, and their daughter, LuAnne Beckwith, was among those representing the 80s and their little grandchildren representing the future. Speaking of homecomings, Norris has ties to several royalty crowned this last weekend. First off, congratulations to Taylor Merchen who was crowned queen at the homecoming held in Kadoka on Friday. Taylor is the daughter of Tim and Tammy Merchen of Norris. Chandler Sudbeck was crowned king at Kadoka. Chandler’s dad, Jody, keeps us supplied with potato chips down here. David Paul was crowned king at Sunshine Bible Academy. David is the son of Daniel and Tresa (Bauman) Paul of Carson, ND. Norris was home to Tresa when she was crowned queen at Kadoka 25 years ago, too. David’s grandparents are Dave and Sandi Bauman formerly of Norris. At Rapid City Christian Jordan Hunt was crowned king of their festivities. Jordan is the son of Jim and Joni (Berry) Hunt of Faith. Joni is the daughter of Keith and Bunny Berry formerly of Norris. Earlier this month, Dusti Good Shield daughter of Audi Larvie Black Bull of Norris was crowned at White River this year, too. It is living proof that small communities build leaders. We are so proud of our young people, we can’t keep our buttons on around here. Andrea Beckwith spent the weekend visiting her sister, Erica, in Omaha at Grace University. Erica played in a soccer game while she was there, too. The Jason Burma’s arrived in Norris early Saturday morning to antelope hunt. They were thrilled to get a buck shortly after they started hunting, too.
Belvidere News | Syd Iwan, 381-2147
Bill and Norma Headlee celebrated their fortieth wedding anniversary with a family gathering in the Black Hills near Hill City this weekend. All their kids were able to be there, namely Anora, Corale, Monica, Donella, and Billy. They brought various spouses and kids as well. Norma’s sister and brother were also there, Barb Schroeder and Tom DeVries. Tom’s daughters, Sarah DeVries and Trisha Bork, came too. A relative originally from Holland, Aaron Boer, was there with two friends, Marteen and Franco. Aaron lived with the Wally DeVries family for a time when he first came to this country and while going to medical school to become a doctor. He now is from California but also owns some hotels in Amsterdam. The event started on Friday when many members of the family came in time to see the buffalo roundup in the nearby park. It ended on Sunday. Norma said their forty years together were well celebrated. It was busy last weekend at the Headlee home as well due to the death of Stu Wilson and services for him on Sunday at Philip. Stu’s wife, Vicki, is Bill’s sister. As a result, Stu and Vicki’s kids were here, Willard and Reagan, and their families and some stayed at Bill and Norma’s. Some of them also had team and wagon rides thanks to Tom DeVries with his rig. All four of Bill and Norma’s daughters came for their uncle’s funeral but only came for the day and didn’t stay over. Dave and Jean Calhoon drove to Vivian on Sunday to help grandson Carter celebrate his seventh birthday. Son Josh went along as did Jean’s mom, Marie Addison. Carter is Dixie Sue’s son and has two brothers, James who is almost 16 and Evan who is 2. The birthday was duly celebrated. Dana DeVries gained her eighth grandchild on Tuesday last week when her daughter, Kelli Halls, and her husband had a son born to them. Dana now has five grandsons and three granddaughters. The baby came with the cord wrapped around his neck, but that didn’t seem to cause any problems. Dana said he seems to have some red in his hair which would be a first for her. Pat Fortune is now back in the area after having finished his time in the Marines, most recently at Camp Pendleton in California. He, despite some vehicle problems in Cody, WY, was able to arrive in Rapid City last week with his wife and son, Tatiana and Fionnlagh, the latter being pronounced more like Finley. Pat and family will be living in the basement apartment of the house owned by his sister, Francie Davis, and family. Pat is currently looking for work and hopes to get into law enforcement or security since he spent the last four years being in the military police. Pat and his family had planned to come to Belvidere to see everyone this weekend, but their dad, Bob Fortune, and his wife, Ruth, were already in Rapid City at the Stockgrowers Convention. As a result, they all just went over to the convention on Friday night and had supper there with Bob and Ruth. On Saturday, Francie and Chad celebrated Chad’s birthday with an outing to Deadwood. Chad has now started working with an electrician in Rapid City, and Francie is cracking jokes about fried electricians. Francie also said her brother, Les Red Paint, has moved back to the ranch recently. He has been living at Yankton for the last several years and working at the sale barn. The sale barn has downsized so Les needs to find other employment. Larry Grimme went to Wanblee last Sunday and performed one of his original songs at church there. This Sunday evening, he went to church in Murdo and sang another one. Larry said his garden is still going strong, but he doesn’t really need much more produce since his freezer and pantry are already full. As a result, he has been learning about the blessing of sharing his produce with others. Wade Fox said they’ve been building a new fence line to keep their cattle from crossing the river. The river has been high enough recently to discourage cattle from crossing, but that isn’t always the case. Last weekend, Wade and Patty and kids went to the Sergeant Ranch and Resort near Pierre to attend a benefit for Clay Hindman, who landed on his neck at a recent rodeo and has medical bills as a result. The event had a fishing derby and a silent auction. It raised quite a bit of money to help with the bills. Chuck and Merry Willard attended the Stockgrowers Convention in Rapid City this weekend. They stayed there overnight. Other locals they saw at the convention included Kenny Fox, Bob Fortune, and Mark DeVries. Back at home, they are still working on moving a fence which is getting close to done but will be delayed slightly since they are out of supplies. At church on Sunday, Chuck and Merry had just gotten out of their car when they heard the doors click shut. This had happened once before for no apparent reason. Although the keys were left in the car, Merry had her purse with her which contained the phone number for On-Star. She called them, and they unlocked the doors within a few minutes. While Chuck and Merry were in Rapid, Tom DeVries came down, did chores, and looked after things. Jim and Fayola Mansfield drove to Sundance, WY, this weekend to attend another football game that their grandson, Thomas, was in. It wasn’t the most enjoyable game for them due to it being cold and wet. They spent part of the time in their vehicle trying to stay warm. Fayola said there were even a few snowflakes coming down although no accumulation. The team that came to play Thomas’ team was from the other side of the Bighorns so they might have had fun getting back home. Les Huber was in Belvidere this weekend with his friend, Teresa. He has been hauling cement recently for construction and repairs on I-90, first near Wall and also near Sturgis. He has also been finishing up a painting project at Williston, ND, where they are expanding their water plant to deal with the influx of people into the oil fields. Another painting project on the horizon is the courthouse building in Rapid City.
Work has begun on the six mile road from Norris to Corn Creek. Pavement is the next step.
Earlier this week, travelers had to follow a pilot car to get from Norris to Corn Creek. They were kept busy, too.
Marjorie Anne Letellier
STATE BIRTH
RECORDS ACCESSIBLE THROUGH COUNTY REGISTER OF DEEDS
Certified copies of birth records from across the state are available in Jackson County, according to Mitzi Mitchell, Register of Deeds. The office has access to computerized birth records statewide and can issue a certified copy of any South Dakota birth. In the past, birth records were only available from the county where the birth occurred or from the South Dakota Department of Health, Vital Records Program. Birth records are available from 1905 on. As earlier years are entered in the computerized system, records from those years will also become available. The cost for a certified copy of a birth record is $15.00 as of July 1, 2012.
Long Valley Fire Department 12th Annual Hog Roast & Dance
Saturday, October 5
Long Valley Community Hall
Supper Featuring
Pit Roasted BBQ Pork
5:30 to 7:30 p.m.
Dance to Uncle Roy & the Boys
8 p.m. to Midnight
Proceeds benefit the Long Valley Fire Department
Great Food & Great Fun For A Great Cause!
4 - Thursday, October 3, 2013 - Kadoka Press
Sports
Kougars over power Scotties for the homecoming victory
Cheering for the Kougars Myla Pierce (back row, left), Taylor Merchen, Shai Lamont, Jerica Coller, Allie Romero, Vanessa Buxcell (front row, left), Kirsten Kiewel, Raven Jorgensen, Scout Sudbeck, Chloe Baldwin.
Robyn Jones
Logan Ammons #22 goes up for the catch on a pass from Lane Patterson for the two point conversion.
Robyn Jones
Kadoka Philip
6 0
14 6 6 0
8 12
34 18
The 2013 homecoming week was a great week of school spirit and a bunch of traditions and activities, and the Kougar football team was able to top the week off with a victory over the Philip Scotties 34-18. The Kougars opened the scoring in the first quarter with a 1 yard run by Lane Patterson to put us on top in the first quarter 6-0. The second play of the second quarter Patterson once again punched in another 1 yard run with Chandlier Sudbeck adding the two-point
conversion to bring the score to 14-0. Later in the second quarter after a Kougar turnover, the Scotties took the ball on the next play and busted off a long run of their own to bring the score to 14-6. That was as close as it would be as Chandlier Sudbeck rattled off a nice 41 yard run of his own to bring the score to Kadoka 20 Philip 6 at halftime. The second half the Kougars once again behind some great blocking and running were able to punch in our fourth touchdown of the night and Lane Patterson’s third to bring the score to 26-6 at the end of the third quarter. Early
in the fourth quarter the Scotties were on offense, Logan Ammons pressured the quarterback and Logan Christensen intercepted the football and returned it 30 yards for a touchdown. A pass from Patterson to Ammons for the two-point conversion brought the score to 34-6. After that the Scotties were able to punch in two late game touchdowns which brought the final score to 34-18. It was evident early on with the wet conditions in the game that we were going to have to keep the ball on the ground offensively and play good team defense to stop the Scottie run game. Our offensive
line really did a good job this week controlling the line of scrimmage. Our offensive line consists of Logan Christensen, Gavin DeVries, True Buchholz, Herbie O’Daniel, and Logan Ammons. Along with some great lead blocking by Dylan Riggins, Brady Jandreau, and Sam Pretty Bear, we were able to open up some good holes and run the ball effectively. Chandlier Sudbeck was the work horse for the Kougars as he carried the ball 32 times for 233 yards and 1 touchdown. Lane Patterson had a nice night on the ground chipping away yards as he had 12 carries for 30 yards and 3 touchdowns. Brady Jandreau carried the ball 4 times for 19 yards, and Dylan Riggins had 2 carries for 8 yards. Defensively I thought we did a good job of playing team defense. Time and time again we had 3, 4, 5, or even 6 guys in on just about every tackle. Turnovers are always a big stat as we had four of our own, but our defense forced 3 as well. Chandlier Sudbeck and Aaron Janis each had key fumble recoveries, and Logan Christensen had an interception that he ran back 30 yards for a defensive touchdown. I was pleased with the way our kids came to play this week as I felt we blocked very well on offense and on defense we did a nice
job being relentless tacklers and pressuring Philip’s offense. We played some of our best team defense of the year. We would like to thank everyone for their encouragement and support for us throughout this year’s homecoming and this entire season. It’s been a fun first half of
the season as we turn our focus now on the second half of the season and in particular this week on the White River Tigers. We will be on the road in White River this week, with a kick off time of 6:00 p.m. MT. --by Coach Eisenbraun
Chandlier Sudbeck #21gets by the defense of the Philip Scotties and moves the chains for the Kougars.
Robyn Jones
Lady Kougars compete at White River in volleyball triangular
Kadoka Pine Ridge 13 25 19 25 15 25 16 5 25 15 Kadoka 25 22 25 White Riv. 22 25 17 sists. Destiny Dale had 21 digs. “The first match versus Pine Ridge was poorly played; we simply weren't ready to play and were defeated handily by Pine Ridge,” said Coach Hutchinson. “In the second match against White River our play improved greatly, and we had a good first four sets of play. In the 5th set White River got off to a good start serving and jumped out to a big lead. We couldn't recover, and lost that set 15-5 and the match 3-2.” The next action for the Lady Kougars will be Tuesday, October 8 at Presho.
Cross country Western Great Plains meet held in Philip
Kadoka Lady Kougars volleyball team competed against Pine Ridge and White River on Thursday, September 26 at White River. Destiny Dale and Taylor Merchen combined for 30 service points going 52/54. Raven Jorgensen had 15 kills and 6 solo blocks, and Mackenzie Word was 29/32 hitting with 8 kills. Taylor Merchen had 13 set as-
GATEWAY APARTMENTS
301 1st AVE. SW KADOKA, SD
Spacious 1 bedroom units are available for the elderly (62 years or older) and/or disabled/handicapped adults (18 years or older)
Scout Sudbeck (L) and Reese Sudbeck competed at the Western Great Plains cross country meet in Philip on Wednesday, September 25. Scout placed 9th and Reese placed 32nd in their divisions.
Del Bartels | Pioneer Review
Join us for lunch…
Daily Noon Speicals Monday through Friday
Serving 11 a.m. to 2 p.m.
Special Every Sunday
Serving Buffet once a month
Jigger’s Restaurant
837-2000 • Kadoka
OF ALL INCOME LEVELS.
CALL 1-800-481-6904 TDD-Relay 1-800-877-1113
Community
Traveling with their pet Minuteman missile
Kadoka Press - Thursday, October 3, 2013 -
5
bill signed into law
When driving home on Friday afternoon, September 24, Larry and Jo Johnston were surprised to when they turned on to Belvidere Road, just past the cemetery, when they came across a pickup and horse trailer backed into a pasture opening. Thinking may be a neighbor was trying to load some livestock into the trailer, they slowed down and saw a grizzly bear! They visited with the two ladies who were with the bear and learned they were returning from shooting a tuna commercial in Idaho. They were headed back to Canada with their 15 year-old grizzly bear that they had raised since it was five weeks old. They had stopped to clean the bedding in the trailer and give the bear a snack. Pictured is the bear and one of his owners feeding him.
Photo Submitted
United States Senators Tim Johnson and John Thune and Congresswoman Kristi Noem announced on September 20 that legislation to facilitate construction of a visitor center at the Minuteman Missile National Historic Site was signed into law by President Obama. The law will transfer approximately 29 acres of National Forest Service land to the National Park Service to construct a visitor facility and provide parking. “This law will allow construction of the visitor center to begin shortly at the Minuteman Missile National Historic Site” said Johnson. “This is the first unit of the National Park Service dedicated exclusively to Cold War events. With the visitor’s center, the Park Service will be able to tell the story of this historic site and the role South Dakota played in the Cold War.” “I am pleased the president has cleared the way for the development of a visitor’s center highlighting the important role and historic significance of the Minuteman Site,” said Thune. “The center will make a piece of South Dakota’s past more accessible to students of history from around the globe.”
“Now that this bill has been signed into law, plans for a new visitor center can move forward, allowing South Dakotans and visitors from all over the country to visit this historic site and learn more about the history of the Minuteman Missile,” said Noem. “The Minuteman Missile National Historic Site helps tell the story of how the Minuteman played a role in bringing peace during tense relations between the United States and former Soviet Union. I’m pleased the House, Senate and the president took swift action on this common-sense bill.” The launch control facility and missile silo that make up the Minuteman Missile National Historic Site were preserved to illustrate the history of the Cold War and the role the Air Force’s Minuteman II Missile defense system played in efforts to preserve world peace. The new law builds upon a law passed in 1999 that established Minuteman Missile as a National Historic Site. The land transfer provided in the new law allows for the construction of a visitor center and administrative facility at Exit 131 off of I-90. The bill would also transfer 3.65 acres near the missile silo for visitor parking and other administrative uses. Congress provided funding for the construction of the visitor center when the site was established. The Minuteman Missile consists of the Delta-01 launch facility and the Delta-09 missile silo, located about 11 miles from one another on Interstate 90.
Email press@kadokatelco.com
Winter Hours
Monday - Thursday 10 a.m. to 11 p.m. Friday & Saturday 9 a.m. to Midnight Sunday 1 p.m. to 10 p.m.
Photo Submitted Gang Tackling at its best! A "Gang" of Mighty Mite Eagles hit the ball carrier behind the line for a loss in the game against the Spearfish Rams on Saturday. They went on to win 35-0. The Junior PeeWee team had another tough game, but pulled off the victory 14-8 against the Rams Gold team. The PeeWee team also won 34-0 against the Rams Blue team. This weeks games against the Steelers of Rapid City, will be held in Philip on Saturday Oct. 5, starting with the Mighty Mites at 2:00 p.m.
344-2210 ATM
BELVIDERE BAR
Belvidere Store
344-2277
Open Daily 7 a.m. - 6 p.m. 24/7 Credit Card Pumps
Diesel • Gas Farm Fuel Pop • Snacks • Beer
For all your automotive supplies -- give us call!
Brakes • Fuel Pumps Alternators • Starters
Timken Seals & Bearings
Auto Parts
Hwy 248 • Kadoka, SD We’re Open Monday - Friday 8 a.m. - Noon • 1 - 5 p.m.
Oien
Phone 837-2214
Tim home 837-2087 Dave cell 488-0326
6 - Thursday, October 3, 2013 - Kadoka Press
Church
WEST RIVER WATER DEVELOPMENT DISTRICT August 15, 2013
CALL TO ORDER: The West River Water Development District convened for their regular meeting at the West River Water Development District Project Office in Murdo, SD. Chairman Joseph Hieb called the meeting to order at 10:30 a.m. (CT). Roll Call was taken and Chairman Hieb declared a quorum was present. Directors present were: Joseph Hieb, Casey Krogman, Marion Matt, Veryl Prokop and Lorne Smith. Also present: Jake Fitzgerald, Manager; Kati Venard, Sec./Bookkeeper.
Sue Erickson___________________
ney, SD Cable and as an assistant manager at Katons Korral in Deadwood. After moving to the acreage, she worked for Don the Clothier in Tyndall, JC Penney in Yankton, Northwestern Public Service in Springfield and Coyote Sports in Tabor. Sue retired for a second time and then returned back to work for JC Penney and Coyote Sports. Sue then retired for the third time. Sue was a member of the Dwight Wood American Legion Auxiliary, the United Church of Christ and the UCC Women’s group, Merry Madams Extension Club and the Springfield Ladies Golfing Association. Sue loved to golf and play Bridge. She enjoyed dressing up in costumes for Crazy Days, planting flower gardens and most of all, spending time with her grandkids and great grandkids. Thankful for having shared her life are her husband, Harvey of Springfield; five sons: Jerry and wife, Carol, of Spearfish, Boyd and wife, Susan, of Chandler, AZ, Clark of Springfield, Dale and wife, Taina, of Yukon, OK, and Kevin and wife, Karla, of Sioux Falls, SD; nine grandchildren; six great-grandchildren; two brothers: Bob of Polo Verdes, CA, and Bill of Hanford, CA; sister-in-law, Lenore Williams of Avon; and many nieces, nephews and friends. Sue was preceded in death by her parents; two brothers: Douglas and Jim; and four sisters: Shirley, Viola, Jane and Gladys, who died as an infant. Memorial services were held 11:00 a.m. Monday, September 30, 2013 at the United Church of Christ in Springfield. Visitation was at the church Sunday from 6 to 7 p.m., followed by a 7 p.m. prayer service. Crosby-Jaeger Funeral Home of Springfield is in charge of the arrangements.
NOTICE TO BIDDERS
Notice is hereby given that the Jackson County Commissioners are accepting sealed bids on the following supplies for the period of October 17, 2013 through April 15, 2014. The supplies to be bid are as follows: Bulk No. 1 Diesel for county equipment at shop tanks. Bulk No. 2 Diesel for county buildings and county equipment at shop tanks and on job sites. Bulk lead free gasoline for county equipment at shop tanks and on job sites. Bulk ethanol gasoline for county equipment at shop tanks and on job sites. Bulk Propane for county buildings. Lead free gasoline and ethanol gasoline for Courthouse maintenance and Sheriff’s Dept. and Director of Equalization vehicles to be purchased as needed at supplier’s pumps. Fuel and gasoline bids are to be fixed price bids. Competitive quotations may also be provided for negotiating a contract as per SDCL 5-18-25. All bids and competitive quotations shall be for the time period specified above. All bids and quotations must be submitted in a sealed envelope plainly marked “Fixed Price Bid” or “Competitive Quotation”, and must be filed in the Jackson County Auditor’s Office, 700 Main Street, P O Box 280, Kadoka, SD 57543 by 2:15 p.m., Friday, October 4, 2013. Bids will be opened at 2:30 p.m., Friday, October 4, 2013. For further information contact the Jackson County Highway Department (837-2410), or Jackson County Auditor’s Office (8372422). The Board of Jackson County Commissioners reserves the right to accept or reject any or all bids or quotations, and to accept the bid or quotation that is in the best interest of Jackson County. Vicki D. Wilson Jackson County Auditor [Published September 26 & October 3, 2013, at an estimated cost of $41.88]
Town of Cottonwood REGULAR MEETING September 16, 2013
A regular meeting of the Town of Cottonwood was held at Town Hall on Wednesday evening, September 16, 2013 at 7 p.m. Present were JC Heath, Dave Griffee, and Doug Hovland. Absent Jeff Heath. The meeting was called to order by JC Heath. Old Business: No one was present to address the building repairs. New Business: A discussion was held on whether it would be a good idea to have an ordinance put in place or an application that would have to be filed and approved in order for a new business to move into town. The following bills were approved: Mayor . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .30.00 Bookkeeper . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .30.00 Kadoka Press . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .4.69 WREA . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .101.00 Walker Refuse . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .89.30 Checking Acct. Balance . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .14,912.09 CD . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .4,847.43 With there being no other business to discuss, a motion was made and seconded to adjourn. The next regular meeting will be held on October 16,2013 at 7 p.m. at Town Hall. JC Heath, President [Published October 3, 2013, at the total approximate cost of $14.95]
Sue Carol Erickson, age 79 of Springfield, South Dakota, formerly of Kadoka, died September 26, 2013, at St. Michael's Hospital in Tyndall. Sue Carol Erickson, daughter of Albert and Martha (Magstadt) Williams, was born October 10, 1933 at Running Water, SD. She died Thursday, September 26, 2013 at St. Michael’s Hospital in Tyndall. Sue attained the age of 79 years, 11 months and 17 days. At a young age, Sue moved to Springfield with her parents. She attended school there and graduated from Springfield High School in 1951. Sue attended Southern State Teachers College and received a teaching certificate. She taught one year at Fairview Rural School District. Sue married Harvey Erickson on June 7, 1952 at the United Church of Christ in Springfield. Five sons were blessed to their union. They lived in Yankton, Onida, Faulkton, Kodoka and Lead. After their retirement, they moved to a rural acreage between Tyndall and Springfield in 1986 and then into Springfield in 2003. Besides being a wife and mother to five sons, Sue worked outside of the home throughout her life. She worked for JC Pen-
JACKSON COUNTY, SD SURPLUS PROPERTY AUCTION
Notice is hereby given that the Board of Jackson County Commissioners are holding a public auction to dispose of surplus property as per SDCL 6-13. A surplus real estate auction will be held at 10:00 a.m., Friday, October 4, 2013. The real estate auction will be held at the Jackson County Courthouse, 700 Main Street, Kadoka, SD. The following items to be sold at public auction are parcels of real estate on which the ad valorem taxes became delinquent and Jackson County obtained tax deed upon the parcels or quit claim was issued to Jackson County. All parcels are located in Jackson County, South Dakota. Lots 7, 8, 9, 10,11, 12, Block 2, Town of Cottonwood Lot 6, Block 5, Town of Cottonwood Lot 8, Block 6, Town of Cottonwood Lots 10, 11, 12, Block 6, Town of Cottonwood Lot 3, Block 10, Ingham Addition, Town of Cottonwood Lot 3, Block 11, Ingham Addition, Town of Cottonwood Lot 1, Section 11, Township 3 South, Range 24 East Lot 14, Block 8, Searby Addition, Town of Wanblee Lots 9, 10, Block 11, Searby Addition, Town of Wanblee Terms: Cash date of sale - - All payments to be made at Jackson County Treasurer’s Office. All appropriate taxes will be applied at time of payment to the Treasurer. Real estate filing fees of $30.00 per parcel to be paid immediately to the Register of Deeds by buyer of real estate. Call 605-837-2422 (Auditor) for additional information. [Published September 26 & October 3, 2013, at an estimated cost of $44.60]
ADDITIONS TO AGENDA: None APPROVE AGENDA: Motion by Director Prokop, seconded by Director Matt to approve the agenda. Motion carried unanimously. APPROVE MINUTES: The minutes of the July 17, 2013, meeting were previously mailed to the Board for their review. Motion by Director Matt, seconded by Director Krogman to approve the July minutes. Motion carried unanimously. FINANCIAL REPORT: A. APPROVAL OF BILLS: Joseph Hieb . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .55.41 Casey Krogman . . . . . . . . . . . . .55.41 Marion Matt . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .55.41 Veryl Prokop . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .55.41 Lorne Smith . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .55.41 West River/LymanJones RWS . . . . . . . . . . . . .1,000.00 Kadoka Press . . . . . . . . . . . . . .100.64 Lyman County Herald . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .166.91 Murdo Coyote . . . . . . . . . . . . . .118.22 Pennington County Courant . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .66.18 Pioneer Review . . . . . . . . . . . . . .35.20 Todd County Tribune . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .99.04 USGS, previously approved . . . . .11,280.00 Motion by Director Smith, seconded by Director Matt to approve the District bills. Motion carried unanimously. B. DISTRICT FINANCIAL STATUS REPORT: The financial status of the District to date was previously sent to the Board. A copy of the July Financial Report is on file at the District office in Murdo. Motion by Director Prokop, seconded by Director Krogman to approve the July Financial Report. Motion carried unanimously. REPORTS: A. MANAGER'S REPORT: Manager Fitzgerald presented his August report to the Board. Motion by Director Matt, seconded by Director Krogman to approve the Manager’s Report. Motion carried unanimously. B. OTHER REPORTS: None FY 2014 TAX LEVY: County evaluations were not available from the Dept. of Revenue to calculate individual county tax levies for the 2014 Tax Resolution. The Board approved the Resolution with the amounts as the state has recommended. Individual county levies will be provided when evaluations are available. Motion by Director Krogman, seconded by Director Matt to approve the 2014 Tax Resolution with the amounts as the state has recommended. Motion carried unanimously. ADJOURNMENT: There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 10:38 A.M. (CT). Joseph Hieb, Chairman ATTEST: Kati Venard, Recording Secretary [Published October 3, 2013 at the total approximate cost of $42.57]
Town of Belvidere Regular Meeting August 5, 2013
A motion was made by Wayne Hindman to call the meeting to order. Rudy Reimann seconded the motion. With the following people present: Wayne Hindman, Rudy Reimann, John Rodgers, Jo Rodgers, Wally Wells, Frank Carlson, and Toni Romero. OLD BUSINESS: The minutes of the July 8, 2013 meeting were read. With there being no changes, Rudy Reimann made a motion to approve the minutes as read. Wayne Hindman seconded the motion. NEW BUSINESS: Discussion was held on doing more work around the dam and boat dock area. Rudy Reimann noted that there needs to be some work done at the park to be in compliance for our insurance. Discussion was also held on if there should be speed limit signs put up again at the section of SD HWY 248/ SD Hwy 63 and at the edge of town for people coming up the gravel from HWY 44. Frank Carlson asked about putting in a culvert by the West Central Sub Station. John Rodgers will contact the DOT and West Central. Jo mentioned that there are ceiling tile in the city office that are in need of repair. John asked the council if he could keep using Charles Black Bear to help with town maintenance. BILLS APPROVED AND PAID: Brosz Engineering, survey . . . .552.50 Charles Black Bear, labor . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .915.00 Corell Redi Mix, concrete . . .3,930.48 Ernie’s Building Center, supplies . . . . . . . . . . . . . .1,424.85 G&A Trenching, machine hire . . . . . . . . . . . .405.00 Gage Guerue, labor . . . . . . . . .510.00 Golden West, phone & internet . . . . . . . . . . . . . .108.49 Jo Manke-Rodgers, wages . . . .50.79 Kadoka Press, publication . . . . . . . . . . . . . .63.04 O’Connell Construction, gravel . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .601.41 SD One Call, locate . . . . . . . . . . .1.05 Randy Peters, labor . . . . . . . . .100.00 West Central, electricity . . . . . .607.86 WR/LJ, water . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .42.50 West River Excavation, machine hire . . . . . . . . . .1,102.04 With there being no further business, Wayne Hindman made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Rudy Reimann seconded the motion. Because of a schedule conflict, the next council meeting will be Tuesday, September 10, 2013 at 7:00pm in the city office. John L. Rodgers Council President ATTEST Jo Manke-Rodgers Finance Officer [Published October 3, 2013, at the total approximate cost of $27.63]
Meals for the Elderly
Monday, October 7: Hamburger gravy over biscuits, hash brown potatoes, stewed tomatoes, and pears. Tuesday, October 8: Open faced hot beef sandwiches, potatoes and gravy, corn, and sunshine salad. Wednesday, October 9: New England ham dinner with vegetables, cottage cheese with fruit, V-8 juice, and bread. Thursday, October 10: Sweet and sour pork, rice, oriental vegetables, bread, and apricots. Friday, October 11: Oven baked chicken stew with vegetables, crackers, and upside down cheesecake with fruit.
Hail Damage Repairs City-Owned Property Kadoka, South Dakota
Notice is hereby given that sealed bids for hail damage repairs to city-owned buildings will be received by the City of Kadoka, South Dakota at the City Finance Office until 4:00 p.m. (MDT) on Friday, October 11, 2013. A detailed listing of all damages to be repaired, plus a recap sheet are available at the City’s Finance Office located at 705 9th Avenue or by mail at PO Box 58, Kadoka, SD 57543. Bids may be submitted for any or all of the following buildings and locations to be repaired. The buildings to be bid upon are as follows: A. Auditorium (location 1): Bid envelope must be labeled “Auditorium Repair” B. Bar & Swimming Pool (locations 2 & 8): Bid envelope must be labeled “Bar & Swimming Pool Repair” C. Pump Houses & Shop/Garage (locations 4, 5 & 16): Bid envelope must be Labeled “Pump Houses & Shop/Garage Repair” D. Fire Hall (location 6): Bid envelope must be labeled “Fire Hall Repair” E. Museum (location 7): Bid envelope must be labeled “Museum Repair” F. Rodeo Grounds Buildings (locations 9 through 12 and 14 & 15): Bid envelope must be labeled “Rodeo Grounds Repair” G. Transfer Station (location 18): Bid envelope must be labeled: “Transfer Station Repair” Bids will be opened and read aloud at 7:15 p.m. (MDT) on Monday, October 14, 2013, and award made as soon as possible. The City reserves the right to accept or reject any or all bids and to waive any irregularities therein and reserves the right to award the contract to the lowest responsible bidder as they so determine. There must be enclosed with each bid a draft, certified check or cashier’s check certified or issued by a state or national bank domiciled in South Dakota, payable to the order of the City of Kadoka in the amount of at least 5 percent or, in lieu thereof, a bid bond of at least 10 percent of the amount of the bid as a guarantee that the bidder will enter into the proposed contract and furnish the required performance bonds. Each bid must be accompanied by a certificate of insurance with minimum liability coverage of One Million Dollars ($1,000,000.00). Pursuant to State law, a copy of the bidder’s sales and use tax license and a copy of the bidder’s excise tax license as issued by the state of South Dakota must accompany the bid. In lieu of a copy of the license, the bidder shall submit appropriate evidence that the bidder and all affiliates have the appropriate licenses. The beginning date for these projects will begin upon the award of the bid and must be completed within 180 days of the event, which was July 30, 2013. If the weather becomes a negative factor, the City may request an extension for an additional 180 days. However, all repairs must be completed prior to July 30, 2014. Questions regarding this project and repair specifications should be directed to: Patty Ulmen, Finance Officer at 605-8372229. [Published September 19 & 26, October 3, 2013 at the total approximate cost $94.56]
INVITATION TO BIDDERS
"Brethren, I count not myself to have apprehended: but this one thing I do, forgetting those things which are behind, and reaching forth unto those things which are before, I press toward the mark for the prize of the high calling of God in Christ Jesus." (Philippians 3:13-14 KJV)
Upcoming Area Events
Wednesday, October 2: •West Central annual meeting in Kadoka. •Jackson-Kadoka Economic Development Corp. meeting at 7:00 p.m. at the Gateway Apartments Community Room. Thursday, October 3: •KCBA monthly meeting at noon at Jigger’s. •Parent-teacher conferences, students dismissed at 2:30 p.m. Friday, October 4: •Jackson County Commissioner monthly meeting at 9 a.m. •Varsity football at White River 6:00 p.m. MT. Saturday, October 5: •Varisty volleyball at Lead/Deadwood. •JH football jamboree at Wall. •JH volleyball at Stanley Co. •Long Valley Fire Dept. hog roast and dance. Monday, October 7: •JH football with White River at 4:30 p.m. Tuesday, October 8: •Volleyball at Presho. Wednesday, October 9: •Kadoka Area School Board meeting at 7: 00p.m. Friday, October 11: •JH volleyball against Wall. •Varsity football against Stanley Co. Saturday, October 12: •Cross country at Philip. •JH football jamboree at Philip. Sunday, November 3: •Kadoka Nursing Home Holiday Festival at the Kadoka City Auditorium. Notices: •The Dakota Readers Group book "One-Room Country School" is in! Our discussion is on Sunday, Oct. 20 at 2:00 p.m. at Jackson County Library. For more information, stop in or call Deb Moor @ 837-2689. Come in to sign-up and bring a friend.
Church Calendar
CONCORDIA LUTHERAN Kadoka • 837-2390 Sunday Services: 10:00 a.m. LUTHERAN PARISH - ELCA OUR SAVIORS LUTHERAN • Long Valley Pastor Frezil Westerlund Sunday Services: 5:00 p.m. PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH Kadoka • Pastor Gary McCubbin • 837-2233 Worship Services: 11:00 a.m. Sunday School: Sr. Adults - 9:45 a.m. Sunday School: All Ages - 9:45 a.m., • Sept. - May Release Time: 2:15 p.m. Wednesdays. • Sept. - May FIRST PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH Interior • 859-2310 Sunday Worship: 11:00 a.m. BELVIDERE COMMUNITY CHURCH Pastor Gary McCubbin • 344-2233 Sunday Worship: 9:30 a.m. Coffee & Donuts: 10:30 a.m. Sunday School: 10:45 a.m. Sept. - May OUR LADY OF VICTORY CATHOLIC CHURCH Father Bryan Sorensen • Kadoka • 837-2219 Mass: Sunday - 11:00 a.m. Confession After Mass INTERIOR COMMUNITY CHURCH Sunday School: 9:30 a.m. • Church: 10:30 a.m. EAGLE NEST LIFE CENTER Gus Craven • Wanblee • 462-6002 Sunday Church: 11:00 a.m. ST. PETER LUTHERAN CHURCH-LCMS Midland • Rev. Glenn Denke • 462-6169, SD (6 mi. north and 3 mi. east of 1880 Town) Sunday Worship--10:00 a.m. MT/11:00 a.m. CT
Town of Belvidere Resolution 13-02
2013 Estimated Annual Budget
Be it resolved by The Town of Belvidere Whereas, the town council deems that the following estimated sums are needed for the obligations of the municipality. 410 General Governments . . . . . . . . .26,840.00 431 Streets & Highways . . . .9,060.00 460 Economic Development . . . . . . . . .23,250.00 Total . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .59,150.00 The following designates the fund of funds that the money is derived from. 310 Taxes . . . . . . . . . . . . . .31,749.00 320 Licenses . . . . . . . . . . . . .2,200.00 335 State Shared Revenue . . . . . . .5,970.00 338 County Shared Revenue . . . . . . . . .133.00 360 Miscellaneous Revenue . . . . . . . . . . . . . .4,965.40 Total . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .46,131.40 Need from Tax Levy . . . . . .13,018.60 The finance officer is directed to certify the following dollar amount of tax levies made in the Resolution to the county auditor. Dated this 7th day of October, 2013. John Rodgers, Council President Rudy Reimann, Trustee Wayne Hindman, Trustee ATTEST Jo Manke-Rodgers, Finance Officer [Published October 3, 2013, at the total approximate cost of $18.53]
Town of Belvidere Ordinance #13-03
2014 Appropriation Ordinance
Be it ordained by the Town of Belvidere that the following sum will be appropriated to meet the obligations of the municipality. General Fund . . . . . . . . . . .13,018.60 Adopted this 7th day of October, 2013. John Rodgers Council President Rudy Reiman, Trustee Wayne Hindman, Trustee First Reading: September 10, 2013 Second Reading: October 8, 2013 Adoption: January 1, 2014 ATTEST Jo Manke-Rodgers Finance Officer [Published October 3, 2013, at the total approximate cost of $11.70]
PEOPLE’S MARKET
WIC, Food Stamps & EBT Phone: 837-2232 Monday thru Saturday 8 AM - 6 PM
Classifieds
Classified Advertising & Thank You Rates:
$5.00 minimum for 20 words, plus 10¢ for each additional word. To place an ad call 605-837-2259 or email: press @kadokatelco.com
Kadoka Press - Thursday, October 3, 2013 -
7
Peters Excavation
Home: (605) 837-2945 Cell: (605) 381-5568
Help Wanted
HELP WANTED: Opening date of Subway getting closer. Taking applications for all shifts and positions. Apply on-line at www.mysubwaycareer.com. Already applied? Please reapply. Questions call 837-2400. KP11-2tc HELP WANTED: Part-time cook and/or part-time cashier, evenings or weekend shifts available. Would work well with school hours for students or adults. Applicantions are available at fuel desk at Discount Fuel. KP11-2tc POSITIONS OPEN: The Kadoka Area School District has the following coach positions open: junior boys basketball, junior high girls, junior varsity girls, and varsity girls. Applications are available on the school's website www.kadoka.k12.sd.us and may be submitted to KASD, Attn. Jamie Hermann, PO Box 99, Kadoka, SD 57543. For more information contact Supt. Jamie Hermann KP10-3tc at 837-2175. HELP WANTED: Full-time Jackson County Highway Department Worker. Truck driver, heavy equipment operator, light equipment operator. Experience preferred, but will train. CDL required, or to be obtained in six months. Pre-employment drug and alcohol screening required. Benefits package. Applications / resumes accepted. Information 837-2410 or 837 - 2422, Fax 837-2447. KP10-3tc HELP WANTED: Cooks, counter personnel, and wait staff position(s) are available for Aw! Shucks Café opening soon at 909 Main Street in Kadoka. Please apply within or contact Teresa or Colby Shuck for more information: 837-2076. KP2-tfn
Business/Services
HILDEBRAND STEEL & CONCRETE: Will do all your concrete construction jobs. Call us and we will give you a quote. Office 837-2621, Rich’s cell 431-2226, toll free 877867-4185. K45-tfn WEST RIVER EXCAVATION: will do all types of trenching, ditching and directional boring work. See Craig, Diana, Sauntee or Heidi Coller, Kadoka, SD, or call 605/837-2690. Craig cell 390-8087, Sauntee cell 390-8604, email wrex@gwtc.net. 27-tfc SEPTIC TANK PUMPING: Call 8372243 or contact Wendell Buxcel, Kadoka, SD. 10-tfc
Excavation work of ALL types!
WBackhoe WTrenching WDirectional Boring WCobett Waters Located in WTire Tanks Kadoka, SD WDozer WVacuum Excavation
Full-time Position available at the Kadoka Press
Responsibilities include covering local events, public meetings and photography. Computer knowledge helpful, willing to train. For more details or an application Call 837-2259
Brent Peters
Thank You
Once again in too short a time, our families would like to express our sincerest thanks following the loss of our mother, grandmother, greatgrandmother and mother-in-law, Bonnie Riggins. We begin our thanks with all the phone calls and visits from her friends while in the hospital, Golden Hills and at home. She truly cherished each and every one of them. The thoughts, prayers, food, flowers, phone calls and visits from friends and family that we received after our loss will never be forgotten. Thank you Father Bryan for the comforting service, the Catholic ladies for the lunch after the services, to Samantha Christenson for sharing her beautiful voice; Zane Riggins and Robert Riggins for the readings during the service; Joel and Kelly Stephens for being ushers and the Rush family for their help and compassion. A heartfelt thank you to the grandsons and granddaughters for being pallbearers-you were grandma’s blessings. Thank you to all that gathered at the ranch following the burial. It seems healing begins when you have time for fellowship and memories. God bless each and every one of you. Awake, north wind, and come, south wind. Blow on my garden, that its fragrance may spread everywhere. Let my beloved come into His garden and taste its choice fruits. Song of Solomon 4:16 Stephen & Linda Riggins & families Marla & Dan Nelson & families Ella & Troy Hindman & families Sterling & Jill Riggins & families
Philip League Bowling
Monday Night Mixed Rockers ........................................11-5 Shad’s Towing .............................10-6 Handrahan Const .......................10-6 Dakota Bar....................................9-7 Badland’s Auto ..............................8-8 Highlights: Marsha Sumpter .5-10 split; 185/505 Andrew Reckling..........................533 Marlis Petersen ............4-7 split; 180 Clyde Schlim......3-5-10 & 3-10 splits Carl Brown .........................5-10 split Jason Petersen ...................3-10 split Matt Reckling .....................3-10 split Connie Schlim ......................2-7 split Wednesday Morning Coffee State Farm ..................................13-3 Bowling Belles.............................11-5 Cutting Edge Salon ......................9-7 Jolly Ranchers ..............................8-8 Little Orphans ............................6-10 Highlights: Debbie Gartner .............187, 158/490 Charlene Kjerstad.................179/439 Marsha Sumpter..........................157 Deanna Fees.................................155 Donna King...........................5-6 split Shirley O’Connor..................4-5 split Jen Schriever.......5-6 & 2-5-10 splits Wednesday Nite Early Dakota Bar..................................10-6 Hildebrand Concrete ..................10-6 Chiefie’s Chicks.............................8-8 First National Bank .....................8-8 Morrison’s Haying ......................6-10 Pink Ribbons...............................6-10 Highlights: Brenda Grenz........................181/523 Marlis Petersen............................182 Stacey Schulz................4-5 split; 174 Kathy Gittings .............................172 Ashley Reckling....................5-7 split Andrea Carley ......................5-7 split Sandee Gittings...............4-5-10 split Tena Slovek ........................3-10 split Val Schulz .............................2-7 split Friday Nite Cristi’s Crew .................................3-1 D’s Crew ........................................1-3 In Forcer’s.....................................NA Randy’s Spray Service..................NA Hightlights: Jeremiah Iron Moccisan .......205/516
Notices
HOLIDAY FESTIVAL: Sunday, November 3, 2013 at the Kadoka City Auditorium. Booths available. Call Ruby at 837-2270. KP12-3tc
Rentals
APARTMENTS: Spacious one-bedroom units, all utilities included. Young or old. Need rental assistance or not, we can house you. Just call 1800-481-6904 or stop in the lobby and pick up an application. Gateway Apartments, Kadoka. 36-tfc
Statewide Classifieds:
South Dakota's best advertising buy! A 25-word classified ad in each of the states’ 150 daily and weekly newspapers. Your message reaches 375,000 households for just $150.00! This newspaper can give you the complete details. Call (605) 837-2259.
AUCTION HARRIET AND TIP SISK ESTATE AUCTION, 10:00 a.m. Oct. 12, Miller, SD. Antiques, collectibles, glass. See sale bill at www.sdauctions.com. Midwestern Auction Service, 605-870-1082. HILL CITY, SD, ABSOLUTE LAND AUCTION. Friday, October 18. 24 prime development acres within city limits. Complete seclusion amongst the pines! Marv Matkins, owner. Details at www.bradeenauction.com. 605-673-2629. LAND AUCTION: 428+/- acres, Walworth County, Cropland, Recreational, Investment, 6 miles west of Bowdle, SD at the junction of Hwy 12 and Hwy 47, October 30th, 2013. Call Dakota Properties, Todd Schuetzle, Auctioneer, 605-280-3115, www.DakotaProperties.com. EMPLOYMENT CUSTER REGIONAL HOSPITAL, Custer Clinic, Hot Springs Regional Medical Clinic and Custer Regional Senior Care have full-time, part-time and PRN (asneeded) RN, LPN, Licensed Medical Assistant and Nurse Aide positions available. We offer competitive pay and excellent benefits. New Graduates welcome! Please contact Human Resources at (605) 673-9418 for more information or log onto www.regionalhealth.com to apply. FOR SALE FAMOUS CENTRAL SD BAKERY available for purchase in Gettysburg. Established turnkey mix bakery with both wholesale and retail sales. Contact Kathleen at ltgandt@yahoo.com or 240-4614779. FOR SALE BY OWNER: 2009 Chevrolet Silverado, white, low mileage, roll up topper. Call 605-421-8526. LOG HOMES DAKOTA LOG HOME Builders representing Golden Eagle Log Homes, building in eastern, central, northwestern South & North Dakota. Scott Connell, 605-5302672, Craig Connell, 605-264-5650, www.goldeneagleloghomes.com. MISCELLANEOUS DISH TV RETAILER- Starting at $19.99/month (for 12 mos.) & High Speed Internet starting at $14.95/month (where available.) SAVE! Ask About SAME DAY Installation! CALL Now! 1-800-308-1892. NOTICES ADVERTISE IN NEWSPAPERS statewide for only $150.00. Put the South Dakota Statewide Classifieds Network to work for you today! (25 words for $150. Each additional word $5.) Call this newspaper or 800-658-3697 for details. OTR/DRIVERS DRIVERS WANTED: CDL, owner operators, freight from Midwest up to 48 states, home regularly, newer equipment, Health, 401K, call Randy, A&A Express, 800-6583549. WANT TO BUY ANTLERS WANTED up to 7.00 lb. Deer , Elk/moose 7.50 lb. Bleached 3.00 lb. cracked 1.00 lb. Also need Porcupines, Rattlesnakes, Elk Ivories ,Mt. Lion skins. More info; 605-673-4345 / clawantlerhide@hotmail.com.
8 - Thursday, October 3, 2013 - Kadoka Press
Agriculture
Bob Fanning, Plant Pathology Field Specialist 842-1267
Soil Sampling and Fertilizer Rates Twenty-five short years ago, producers were asking about the value of fertilizing wheat planted back on wheat stubble, and fertilizing wheat planted on fallow was virtually unheard of. Due to years of removing fertilizer nutrients, no-till farming practices, continuous cropping and the pursuit of higher yields, most crops receive one or more forms of commercial fertilizer. There are many philosophy’s used to decide if producers need to apply fertilizer, and if so, what nutrient, what product(s) and how much. These may range from a seat of the pants approach like applying what the neighbor does up to more sound approaches. Although neither soil testing nor fertilizing is an exact science, soil testing is the best way to evaluate the fertility status of a field or of areas within a field. If you are going to base fertilizer rates on soil test results, it pays to follow recommended practices. When you send a sample off to the laboratory for plant-available nutrient analysis, a good soil sample that adequately represents your field or area gives you good results. A poor sample will only lead to an analysis of limited value and be a waste of your time and money. Testing soils even every second or third year is much better than not testing at all, and allows you to identify trends in fertility levels. For more information on soil sampling, ask for factsheet FS935, “Recommended Soil Sampling Methods for South Dakota”, at your Regional Extension Center. Drought Risk Management Workshops South Dakota ranchers who received good rainfall in 2013 know it’s only a matter of time before they’re dealing with drought again. SDSU Extension will host four Drought Risk Management Workshops. These workshops are designed to help ranchers develop and write drought management and mitigation plans for their own operations. Ranchers will receive the tools they need to create a drought plan that fits their own needs. The one-day hands-on workshops will focus on many aspects of drought risk management, including: why you need a written drought plan, and how to do it; weather and climate monitoring; measuring grassland productivity; using pasture, rangeland, forage – rainfall index insurance; SD Drought Tool and efficiency of soil infiltration; and best management practices for range management. Calendar 10/8: Drought Risk Management Workshop, 9 a.m., The Nature Conservancy’s Whitney Preserve, Hot Springs 10/9: Drought Risk Management Workshop, 9 a.m., SDSU Extension Center, Lemmon 10/10: Drought Risk Management Workshop, 9 a.m., Lucy’s, Gettysburg 10/11: Drought Risk Management Workshop, 9:00 a.m., SDSU Extension Center, Winner
Winner Regional Extension Center
This Ad will disappear in seconds
if we put it on the radio.
~~~
SEEING is BELIEVING
~~~
Ravellette Publications, Inc.
Kadoka
837-2259 Philip 859-2516 Wall 279-2565

Published under a Creative Commons License By attribution, non-commercial
AttachmentSize
E-Kadoka-10-03-13_Layout 1.pdf2.45 MB