Login

Kadoka Press, October 10, 2013

Embedded Scribd iPaper - Requires Javascript and Flash Player
KADOKA PRESS
The official newspaper of Jackson County, South Dakota
$1.00
includes tax
Volume 107 Number 13 October 10, 2013
October blizzard brings harsh conditions to western South Dakota
The sunshine and healthy livestock was welcomed sight for many ranchers in the area after the recent blizzard that hit the area October 4 and 5. What began with up to three inches of rain, soon turned into several inches of snow, and wind gusts ranging from 50-70 mhp. The conditions took its toll on livestock and large numbers of livestock perished in the storm, while others wandered for miles in white out conditions. In a press release from The South Dakota Department of Agriculture (SDDA) it reminds producers who have lost livestock during the recent blizzard to document losses. Proper documentation is critical to ensure processing of potential claims. “This early season, record setting blizzard is devastating to our producers and our thoughts are with them,” said Secretary of Agriculture Lucas Lentsch. “We are working to coordinate with ag industry stakeholders to establish and execute a response plan.” SDDA is working closely with the Office of Emergency Management, Animal Industry Board, Brand Board and Governor’s Office on recovery efforts. Producers should document all livestock losses with pictures, vaccination and hauling receipts, or any other records for possible future use in disaster relief programs. Third-party verification of losses is recommended. If you have questions regarding livestock identification, please contact the South Dakota Brand Board at 605.773.3324. Affected producers should contact their local county emergency manager listed: Bennett County: Jeff Siscoe, 605.685.5994; Butte County: Martha Wierzbicki, 605.569.2766; Corson County: Brad Schell, 605.273.4481; Custer County: Mike Carter, 605.673.8152; Fall River County: Frank Maynard, 605.745.7562; Haakon County: Lola Roseth, 605.567.3515; Harding County: Kathy Glines, 605.375.3313; Jackson County: Jackie Stilwell, 605.488.0334; Jones County: Angie Kinsley, 605.669.7101; Lawrence County: Paul Thomson, 605.578.2122; Meade County: Angella Sutton, 605.347.7623; Mellette County: Karen O’Brien, 605.259.3371; Pennington County: Dustin Willett, 605.394.2185; Perkins County: Kelly Serr, 605.244.5243; Shannon County: Frank Maynard, 605.745.7562; Todd County: Kara Walking, 605.429.3246; Ziebach County: Mike Burgee, 605.365.5129. The South Dakota Animal Industry Board (AIB) will be coordinating disposal of livestock carcasses. Brand Board inspectors will be involved in identifying livestock and livestock carcasses.
Robyn Jones
West Central Electric meeting Government shutdown
The 64th annual West Central Electric Cooperative meeting was held Wednesday, October 2, in the Kadoka auditorium. The business meeting, presented by the board of directors, was followed by a complementary roast beef supper for the approximately 325 guests and West Central Electric personnel present. Cooperative members won door prizes such as a color televisions, beef certificates, barbecues, small appliances and other prizes. Instumental dinner music was provided by the Jim Szana Trio. The attendees approved a bylaw change where only 50 cooperative members need be present to constitute a quorum. Though about 325 attended the annual meeting, voting ability is per power meter, thus one household usually has only one vote. West Central Electric is a rural cooperative serving members in Haakon, Jackson, Jones, Lyman and Stanley counties. The cooperative maintains around 3,573 miles of line in an area of more than 7,000 square miles, serving approximately 3,660 members. The cooperative’s monthly newsletter, “Cooperative Connections,” includes energy saving programs, current events and issues about the cooperative, along with local, state and national news and information. Almost 40 people are employed by West Central Electric. West Central Electric officers presented the projected future of the cooperative. Chief Executive Officer Steve Reed said that, with the diminishing population in the area, everything has grown to be more efficient. This includes such things as LED lighting. Thus West Central has had to also become very efficient. He thanked members for their patience during the implementation of a new billing system, where members can now go online to check even their daily usage. With Golden West Telecommunication’s expansion of its local call area, Reed asked that members use West Cental’s phone
affects South Dakota locally
Del Bartels
Chuck Kroetch, left, was honored by Chief Executive Officer Steve Reed, for Kroetch’s 18 years on the West Central Electric board of directors.
number 669-8100 instead of 800 numbers. Reed said that there is no clear direction from Washington, D.C., concerning power companies and energy policies. What used to be almost an order to build coal-fired power plants, has now changed from that, while coal is being shipped to China. He said that the stalled TransCanada XL Pipeline would be good for the power industry. He concluded with that controlling peak demands equals lower costs. Vic Simmons of Rushmore Electric presented an update for the state’s electric cooperatives. Generation of electrical power needs to meet the maximum demand at peak times. Simmons listed the pros and cons of generating electrical power by use of coal, hydro power, natural gas, wind and nuclear power. The cons often involved the government. “We need a national en-
ergy policy. one that doesn’t always change,” said Simmons. Natural gas is limited because no major gas line goes through South Dakota. Hydro power is at the discretion of the Corps of Engineers. Nuclear power is regulated by disposal of spent fuel. Even wind power – currently economical only because of tax credits – must be wary of endangered species, such as causing harm to whooping cranes. All power sources are under attack from the Environmental Protection Agency. Simmons concluded with, “We all use power. We can help with when we use it.” Customers/ members are encouraged to help with electrical load bearing by running major appliances at night or in the times that are not peak times for electrical use. The cooperative, by using a customer-requested connection system, can temporarily turn off hot water heaters if variable peak load times require it.
With the Federal Government shut down, also comes the closure of the Badlands National Park. Cones were in place to block all look out points (above) and the pass through the park is open to the Interior junction, but the loop that continues to Interstate 90 is closed (below). Visitors from across the states who were making an attempt to visit the badlands even with the closure were asked to leave by park rangers.
Robyn Jones
Bridge closure in Midland
The South Dakota Department of Transportation will be closing Highway 63 across the Bad River Bridge in Midland beginning at 6 a.m. until 7 p.m. MDT on Wednesday, Oct. 9, weather permitting, for the second of two bridge deck pours. Motorists will need to find an alternate route around the bridge during the closure. The prime contractor on this $1.5 million project is Heavy Constructors of Rapid City. For more information, contact Dean VanDeWiele with the South Dakota Department of Transportation at 605-773-5294. For complete road construction information, visit www.safetravelusa.com/sd or dial 511.
Signs located throughout the Badlands National Park to inform visitors the park is closed.
2 - Thursday, October 10, 2013 - Kadoka Press
Editorial
Kudos & Concerns
tremes and usually have enough precipitation for grass and hay, but crops are somewhat hit and miss. We may be able to grow them or maybe not. I never did care much for farming so that isn’t my main concern, but I do like to have the enough grass to decently feed the critters. Culturally speaking, the arts are more at home far east and far west in the biggest towns. Between those more heavily populated areas, you aren’t going to find many orchestras or art galleries, or much classical music. I was trained as a classical pianist, but I don’t spend a lot of time on that here since the general population isn’t keen on that sort of thing. That’s okay. There are other forms of music that fill the bill adequately, and I can concentrate on those. Far and away, though, the best thing about this state is the people. They are basically friendly and helpful. If you live in this area as long as I have, you know and like a whole lot of people. In cities, people may not know their nextdoor neighbor whereas here we get to know practically everyone. If we dial the wrong number on the phone, we’re apt to know the person who answers and end up having a nice chat before hanging up. This is sort of nice. I like it. So, occasionally the infinite variety of weather we have to deal with in this silly state can be somewhat of a pain. Other things more than compensate, however, so I guess I’ll just stick around to see what happens next. It may be good or it may be less so, but I’m probably here to stay on these wide-open prairies that, most of the time, I love.
Kudos: To the crew that prepared and served the good meal at the West Central Electric supper last Wednesday. Great prizes too!
Lookin’ Around | Syd Iwan
Infinite Variety
This state is sometimes called “The Land of Infinite Variety.” That would include blizzards as early as October 4, hundred-andtwelve degree heat in July, and various other things we’d rather not talk about. I particularly do not need major snowstorms in October. That is way too early. Not that we suffered all that much in yesterday’s blizzard. Our electricity was only out an hour or two, and it wasn’t that cold. It was, of course, extremely windy and wasn’t a day for leisurely strolls in the park or across the prairie. My main complaint is that this kind of a weather system puts my nerves on edge. I can’t really settle to anything. I’m wondering when the power is going to go out, how much snow there will be to give us grief, and, primarily, when the dumb thing is going to get over. You’d think that I’ve lived through enough of these storms to just take them in stride, but I guess I haven’t. They still get me fussed up. At present, however, the wind has subsided, the snow has quit, and the stars are out. There’s a glow in the east meaning sunrise is imminent. Things are a lot better. I can take a deep breath and get back to some semblance of normal. That’s a good thing. Maybe I can even accomplish something of value today. Who knows? Alternately, I may need a day to get myself back to normal before attempting anything that takes rational thinking or concentration. If I ramble on incoherently here, you’ll know why. Despite the occasional storm or other form of miserable weather, I do basically like this area sufficiently to plan on staying. I’ve been to enough other places in my lifetime to compare living conditions, and we actually have it pretty good here most of the time. For one thing, we aren’t crowded. There is plenty of room to move. If I pass three cars on the country roads going to town, that is heavy traffic. Quite often I pass no one. Even the interstate is by no means bumper to bumper, and for nine months of the year it really doesn’t have much traffic. In the summer months with tourists, we might have to keep our wits about us when driving, but few tourists come here from November to April. They have better sense. The busiest time might be in August when they have the motorcycle rally, and you can easily pass a hundred roaring two-wheelers every ten miles and campers galore. The quietest time is probably January when most sensible people stay farther south. I also like the fact that our state does have a wide variety of scenery. We have farm country in the east and ranch country west. Over northeast there are lots of lakes, and a big old river runs north to south in the middle. In the southwest, the badlands take up a chunk of real estate. Way west are mountains and trees which I don’t care much for and consider somewhat claustrophobic, but other folks seem to think they’re dandy. We also have major differences in annual rainfall from east to west. East river often has enough moisture to raise corn and soybeans while the northwest barely has enough to grow grass. Here in the middle we are between the ex-
Kudos: To Jackson County for giving Bennett County $500 for the elderly meals that is to reimburse the cost for the service in Jackson County. They provide a service that would cost residents way more and is very much needed.
Kudos & Concern: To Jackson County Commissioners for setting up 911 county wide. But now the radios need upgraded for the 911 service and this is a great expense. Who’s responsibility will it be? The ambulance and each fire department or the county? Kudos: To the SD DOT, West Central Electric lineman, and the emergency workers who were out in the recent blizzard clearing roads, restoring power and help-
ing those in need! We are thankful for your hard work and dedication. Kudos: To all the neighbors helping neighbors during the storm. During difficult time the extra help and support can makes a difference! •Want to telling some one “good job” or have a concern? Express it here! Call the Kadoka Press at or email 837-2259 press@kadokatelco.com
From the U.S. Senate | Senator John Thune
Senate Democrats Should Stop Blocking Funding for DoD Civilians, National Guard Employees
Military service covers a wide range of duties and responsibilities throughout the branches of our Armed Forces. From operating and maintaining equipment, to defending our nation at home, to deploying forces abroad, each of these men and women—civilian, National Guard and Reserve, and active-duty military—are critical to sustaining our military readiness. Due to the important nature of their job, those who serve and defend our nation should not be forced to face the added anxiety of wondering how their pay will be affected by disagreements over spending in Washington. On Monday, September 30th, President Obama signed the “Pay Our Military Act” to provide pay during a lapse in government funding for active-duty members of the Armed Forces. The legislation, which passed with unanimous support in the Senate, also provided the Secretary of Defense with the authority to pay civilian and contract employees who are engaged in supporting our Armed Forces. Unfortunately, despite enactment of this law, the Department of Defense (DoD) civilian personnel and full-time National Guard employees throughout the country were furloughed. In response to these furloughs, I sent a letter to Secretary of Defense Chuck Hagel calling for him to send these hard-working men and women back to work. My letter stressed that the legislation signed by the president granted authority to pay civilian and contract employees who are engaged in supporting our Armed Forces, including many of those who were recently furloughed at Ellsworth Air Force Base and South Dakota National Guard installations. I believe that Congress acted with clear intent to prevent the furlough of National Guard employees and civilian DoD personnel who support our Armed Forces, a position supported by the Adjutant General of the South Dakota National Guard, and am dismayed that the administration still chose to inappropriately furlough these men and women. In addition to my letter, I also offered a unanimous consent agreement on the Senate floor to pass a bill to ensure National Guard and Reserve servicemen and women who are not on activeduty are able to train and receive compensation during this lapse in government funding. Unfortunately, Senate Democrats blocked funding for this bill along with three other common-sense funding bills to resume normal operations for several important government functions, including: veterans’ services, lifesaving medicine and treatment, and national parks and museums. I was disappointed that the Senate Democrat Majority Leader chose to play partisan politics rather than pass measures to fund these important services. I will continue to work to end this unnecessary partial government shutdown and put our DoD civilian personnel and National Guard servicemen and women back to work.
From the U.S. House | Representative Kristi Noem
Finding Common Ground to Fund the Government
At midnight on October 1st, the federal government shut down due to a lapse in appropriations. I’ve heard from hundreds of South Dakotans about the shutdown and have heard from hundreds who support the effort underway to protect people from the damaging effects of Obamacare. I want to take this opportunity to share some insight into where I stand and to let you know what I’ve been doing to try to resolve this issue. I was not in favor of shutting down the government and I want to see it get reopened as soon as possible. In the past, government funding bills have always included negotiations on reforms that can be put into place. That is why it is so surprising that the President and the Senate are refusing to negotiate. I have voted four times in the past week to keep the government open while also asking that no one get special treatment under Obamacare – which is something I’ve heard repeatedly from South Dakotans who have contacted me and asked for. One of the most recent bills I voted for would have kept the government open while also delaying the individual mandate in Obamacare for one year. This mandate requires all individuals to purchase health insurance or pay a tax. President Obama previously decided to give big businesses a delay from this requirement, so why should we treat individuals and families any differently? I believe it is only fair that big businesses and the people of South Dakota be treated the same under Obamacare. All of these attempts to fund the government while providing fairness from Obamacare have been rejected out of hand by the Senate Majority Leader. In response, I supported an attempt to convene a formal conference committee so the House and the Senate could meet and work out our differences. Unfortunately, our request for negotiation was rejected. Our country’s spending problems are simply unsustainable. The federal government goes $4 billion into debt every day. With the debt we have accumulated in the past year we could have fully funded the state of South Dakota’s budget for nearly 200 years. We cannot continue to borrow money from China to fund our federal government today and expect our children and grandchildren to pick up the tab. That’s why the President’s insistence that we continue to do so and stick with the status quo is so shocking. Obamacare is a law that too many people don’t want and our country can’t afford. It is filled with nothing but broken promises. In fact a recent Manhattan Institute study shows that young males in South Dakota will see a 145 percent increase in their premiums because of Obamacare. A 64-year-old female in South Dakota will see her premiums increase by over 93 percent, according to the same study. While I would prefer to see the law completely repealed and defunded, I have been and remain willing to find common ground with Senate Democrats. I am hopeful that the President will begin to start productive conversations with Congress that will keep our country strong and safe. They just need to be willing to come to the table and talk. In the meantime, I have been supporting targeted funding bills that would allow our government to continue doing things like pay our troops, operate national parks, continue children’s cancer research, and take care of veterans. These basic functions of government are not controversial. There’s no reason we shouldn’t fund them immediately. Please know that I will continue working to resolve this problem. In the meantime, I hope I continue hearing from you. I appreciate hearing your stories and receiving your feedback. Please stay in touch.
From the U.S. Senate | Senator Tim Johnson
Republican Shutdown Puts South Dakotans at Risk
Visitors to Mount Rushmore have been turned away. More than 400 civilian employees at Ellsworth Air Force Base have been sent home without pay. South Dakota small businesses relying on federal Small Business Administration loans to grow and create new jobs have been cut off from this credit. USDA offices across the state are shuttered. These are just a few examples of the real, every day impact the government shutdown is having in South Dakota. Nationwide, the shutdown has resulted in 800,000 federal workers being furloughed, more than 400 national parks and monuments being closed, veterans education and rehabilitation benefits not being processed, and 19,000 children being sent home from Head Start centers. The shutdown is disrupting our recent economic gains. It will cost our economy $10 billion each week the government remains closed. Additionally, a three-to-four week shutdown is projected to slash our country’s GDP by 1.4 percent. For the good of the country, Congress must reach a deal to end the government shutdown. Last week, the Senate passed a “clean” funding bill to keep the government running through midNovember. This would give Congress time to negotiate a longer-term measure to provide funding certainty through the remainder of the fiscal year. This bill represents a compromise from Senate Democrats and funds the government at spending levels that are closely in line with the House-passed Ryan Budget. Unfortunately, the House has refused to vote on the Senate bill and has instead attached a controversial policy rider to delay the Affordable Care Act, commonly called “Obamacare.” There isn’t the support in the Senate to approve a policy rider delaying Obamacare, and the President has vowed to veto the House bill. Republicans have made their case against Obamacare legislatively and judicially through the courts, but they have lost the argument each time. The Supreme Court issued its decision, the American people had their voices heard in last November’s election, and Obamacare is moving forward as a result. There is a time and a place to debate policy, but it is reckless to hold our government hostage when one side does not get its way. We live in a nation where there are checks and balances. Our Founding Fathers created a government designed around the principles of compromise and consensus. Unfortunately, a relatively small minority in the House have abandoned the spirit of compromise, grinding the government to a halt until they get everything they want. This is not the way a democracy works. South Dakotans are rightfully sick and tired of the gridlock and partisanship in Washington. Our country simply cannot afford to stumble from one manufactured crisis to the next. The American people expect and deserve better. While I believe we can find solutions to contentious issues, it will require compromise and a willingness to work together for the common good. The time has come for the House of Representatives to end the government shutdown and for Congress to get to work on the nation’s business.
Phone 837-2697 Kadoka SD
Fromm’s Hardware & Plumbing, Inc.
Main Street • Kadoka, SD
Ditching & Trenching of
B.L. PORCH
Veterinarian
•Major Appliances •Color Match Paint System
Contact us for all your plumbing service calls
Kay Reckling
Independent Norwex Consultant
ALL types!
Kuddos & Concerns
Featuring a new section in the paper!
605-837-2274
605-391-3097 cell kayreckling.norwex.biz kmreckling@gmail.com
837-2690
Craig cell 605-390-8087 Sauntee cell 605-390-8604
Want to give credit to someone or have a concern? Address it here!
Call 837-2259 or email: press@kadokatelco.com
Ask about our solar wells.
Contact Kadoka Press for details.
Jackson County Title Co., Inc.
615 Poplar St. • Kadoka, SD 57543 u u u u u Monday - Friday, 9 a.m. to Noon and by appointment. Over 20 Years of Service
Midwest Cooperative
Kadoka Clinic & Lab
601 Chestnut Kadoka, SD 57543-0640
Kadoka South Dakota
Fax: 837-2061 Ph: 837-2257 MONDAY Dave Webb, PA-C TUESDAY Dave Webb, PA-C Wednesday - CLOSED Please call Philip Clinic 800-439-8047 THURSDAY Dr. David Holman FRIDAY Dr. Coen Klopper Clinic Hours: 8:00 - 12:00 1:00 - 5:00 Lab Hours: 8:15 - 12:00 1:00 - 5:00 The Lab & X-ray departments accept orders from any provider.
Kadoka Clinic is a Medicare provider & accepts assignments on Medicare bills.
•Grain •Feed •Salt •Fuel •Twine
Kadoka Press
USPS 289340
Telephone 605-837-2259 • PO Box 309, Kadoka, South Dakota 57543-0309 E-mail: press@kadokatelco.com Fax: 605-837-2312
Kadoka, SD
Phone: 837-2235
605-837-2431
Philip, SD
(605) 837-2286
Check our prices first!
Divisions of Ravellette Publications, Inc.:
Kadoka Press: 837-2259 Pioneer Review: 859-2516 The Profit: 859-2516 Pennington Co. Courant: 279-2565 New Underwood Post: 754-6466 Faith Independent: 967-2161 Bison Courier: 244-7199 Murdo Coyote: 669-2271
605-859-2610
Ravellette Publications, Inc.
PO Box 309 • Kadoka, SD 57543-0309
Publisher: Don Ravellette Graphic Design/News Writing/Photography: Robyn Jones Published each Thursday and Periodicals postage paid at Kadoka, Jackson County, South Dakota 57543-0309
Official Newspaper for the City of Kadoka, the Town of Interior, the Town of Belvidere, the Town of Cottonwood, the County of Jackson and the Kadoka School District #35-2.
DISCOUNT FUEL
Kadoka Oil Co.
Kadoka, SD
Check out our website!
http://www.goldenwest.net/~kdahei
1-800-742-0041 Ice • Beer Pop (Toll-free) Groceries Mark & Tammy Carlson
Snacks Food Coffee
605-837-2271 For fuel & propane delivery:
Complete line of veterinary services & products.
MONDAY - FRIDAY
8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
SATURDAY
8:00 a.m. to noon by appointment
• ANNUAL SUBSCRIPTION RATES • All of Jackson, Haakon, Jones, Mellette and Bennett Counties and Quinn and Wall Addresses . . . . . . . . . . . .$35.00 Plus Tax All other areas in South Dakota . . . . . . . . . . . . . .$42.00 Plus Tax Out of state . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .$42.00 No Tax
South Dakota Newspaper Association POSTMASTER: Send change of address to the Kadoka Press, PO Box 309, Kadoka, SD 57543
Correspondent News
Belvidere News | Syd Iwan, 381-2147
Church was held in Belvidere on Sunday despite the interstate being closed and the other roads being somewhat dicey. The congregation only numbered about 15, or 16 if you counted Rev. McCubbin. It wasn’t exactly a standing-roomonly affair. It did turn out to be a nice morning, however, and the day was a major improvement over the blizzard on Friday and Saturday. Marj and Marvin Street had returned to their house under the water tower on Saturday evening although they had to take the service road from Murdo west since the interstate was closed. Marj played the organ for church on Sunday. They hope to be here a couple of weeks or so. Since their water heater had gone bad the last time they were here, they were hoping to go to Rapid City on Sunday afternoon for a replacement. Sister Crystal Paulson strongly advised against that. A call to sister Elaine in Rapid City confirmed that it was a bad idea. A call to Menard’s showed that they weren’t even open for business. Getting a new water heater has therefore been postponed until roads and businesses get back to normal. The Fox family made up about half the congregation in church on Sunday at Belvidere. Kenny, Roxie, Wade, Patty, and four daughters made eight, and 16 was all that was there. Kenny said that, so far, they haven’t found any dead cattle from the storm at their place, but they have quite a bit of natural protection for which they are thankful. Reports are coming in, however, of large losses north and west. It appears to be a combination of this being an early blizzard that came before the cattle had time to grow their winter coats, rain beforehand which chilled everything down, and strong wind and snow. A lot of the cattle were still in summer pastures where there traditionally isn’t as much protection as winter quarters. Jim and Fayola Mansfield drove to Wyoming again on Monday to watch their grandson, Thomas, play football. His team was playing against Wright, and they came out the winners. Wright is a nearby town that is home to a number of miners from the area. Daughter Alison and her husband, Mike Davis, report getting plenty of snow on Friday and Saturday. They haven’t noticed any dead cattle at their place yet and hope not to find any. Mansfields haven’t completely checked all their cattle yet but haven’t noticed a lot of losses although a few. Fayola had heard bad reports of cattle losses at Wall, northwest of Philip, north of Belvidere, and at Interior. Some cattle also apparently drifted over the Badlands wall. It was a nasty storm that came too early for the cattle or ranchers to be ready for it. Chuck Fortune said they didn’t seem to have many cattle losses. He also said the rain and moisture were welcome, and they may have gotten close to three inches of precipitation. Two of that probably came as rain and the rest as snow. John Addison is preparing to take part in the Badlands circuit rodeo finals that will be held at Minot, ND, from Thursday through Sunday of this week. He will compete in bareback. His brother Eric will be in the SDRA (South Dakota Rodeo Asso.) finals after that only in saddle bronc instead of bareback. John said they weathered the storm fairly well and only had brief power outages at their place. Nikki Bonenberger said they were holding their own after the storm. They made it through without too much damage. This week will be back to school as usual. Brett normally takes the kids to school when he goes to town to work at the feed store and picks them up again afterwards. MaKaylan is in Gail Reutter’s first-grade class, and McCoy is in Dana Eisenbraun’s pre-kindergarten class. Nikki isn’t working off the place at present so stays home when she can but goes to town on schooling trips as necessary. Dolezals lost a few cattle in the winter storm but faired fairly well. Joy got a few days off from 1880 Town since there weren’t a lot of people stopping to tour the place during a blizzard. They couldn’t get there anyway with the interstate closed. Things may get more back to normal later this week. Jim Addison said there were quite a few dead cattle visible along the roads from Belvidere to 1880 Town. Daughter Jami did go to school in Murdo on Friday, and Jim went there in the rain in the afternoon to pick her up. She was somewhat interested in staying with friends instead of coming home, but she did come home. On Saturday when their electricity was out quite a bit at Belvidere, her friends in Murdo told her she should have stayed since their power never went out and they were nice and warm with their furnace working just fine. Georgann had planned to do some barrel racing this weekend, but that was cancelled. They said they would refund any entrance fees and so forth. Georgann has also been in Philip quite a bit helping her mom, Audrey Carley, who is preparing for a possible trip to their Florida quarters in a few days. Syd Iwan’s pickup was power washed by a combination of winddriven rain and snow. A few spots were missed on the leeward side, but that can be easily remedied by a few strokes of a wet rag. There isn’t a lot of good to be said for the recent storm except that, and that moisture is usually welcome in this area. Larry and Jo Johnston felt the effects of the storm, along with several neighbors. Both cows and calves died in the storm and others drifted for miles and through several fences in the blowing snow. Pat and Donna Nowlin of Stoughton, WI, visited in Kadoka last week. They had been to Brookings to visit with his brother, Ed Nowlin, and stopped to visit in DeSmet on the way to Kadoka. While here they visited with Aunt Lillian Carlson, who was still a patient in the Philip hospital and with his sister, Janice Nowlin. Thursday they were on their way to Rapid City to have supper with Janice’s son, Justin. Tim and Carmen Huffman are new grandparents with the birth of granddaughter, Ariella Kennede Huffman, on September 16. She is the daughter of Keith Huffman and Lindsey Bettelyoun of Rapid City. Ariella weighed eight pounds, 15 ounces and was 20 1/2 inches long. Carmen spent a few days with Keith and Lindsey after the birth and had planned to visit again this past weekend. Jerry Baldwin of Rapid City was a Kadoka visitor on Tuesday, October 1. He told the morning coffee drinkers that on Monday he took part in the Crazy Horse Autumn Volksmarch public hike near Custer. Deb and Marv Moor went to
Kadoka Press - Thursday, October 10, 2013 -
3
Kadoka Area News | Sydne Lenox, 837-2465
Burke on Friday to attend the funeral of Marv’s cousin, Kathy Lindwurm, age 50. They were able to arrive back home just as the rain turned to sleet, and then into a full blown snow blizzard. Marv has been busy since working with West Central to get the electricity back on after many electric poles and wires in the area were torn down because of heavy snow and ice. An unusual October blizzard raged in Western South Dakota all day Saturday, and as of Monday schools in the Hills were closed as the Lead area got over 50” of snow and Rapid City snow measured over 30”. In Kadoka the snowfall wasn’t as high but the wind kept the visibilty near zero and Interstate 90 was closed from Murdo to the Wyoming border for several hours. We were lucky that the electricity was off and on during the morning Saturday. The trees in Kadoka took a real hit, as many large tree limbs are on the ground or hanging from large cracks. There are many reports of large losses of cattle from area ranches. A large crowd attended the annual West Central meeting and supper in Kadoka on Wednesday night. People in this area are certainly grateful for this electric company and are even more so when a snow storm like we had this past weekend occurs. Legion Auxiliary members are reminded that there will be no October meeting this month and the next meeting will be on November 14. October 15 is the deadline for taking gifts to the local library for the Veterans at the Hot Springs Veterans Hospital’s Christmas Gift Shops. The gifts will be taken to the facility in Hot Springs on Wednesday, October 16 as the gift shops will be held in early November. Only one area bronc rider placed in rodeos last week – Cole Elshere tied for 3rd with a score of 77 and winnings of $1,085 at the Atlantic City, NJ, Boardwalk Rodeo. There are eight South Dakota bronc riders in the top 50 in the world standings, with Chad Ferley up to 3rd place with winnings of $103,771 and Cole Elshere standing at 10th, winnings of $80,698. Included in those eight are Ty Thompson and Louie Brunson.
Kadoka Nursing Home | Cathy Stone, 837-2270
Well, it’s a catch up week here at KNH on the news. We’ve had several visitors and family members stop by the past couple of weeks. First thing we would like to extend our deepest sympathy to Vicki Wilson and family for their loss. Many family members stopped over to see their grandmother, Edith Perault. Some of those stopping by were Jason Headlee, Mary Knight, and Rocky Harris, and of course, Vicki. Emma Jarl got to go out to lunch at Jigger’s Restaurant with her grandson, Stan, and his family, Deb, Trey, and Savannah Knispel on Saturday. Lunch was terrific and the social hours were even better. Katie Weller Knutson, the daughter of Bud and Clara Belle Weller, was here for a couple of days visiting. She definitely inherited her mom’s disposition. She’s so pleasant and kind. Also, stopping in to see Clara Belle were her husband, Bud, Shirley Josserand, and some friends. Short Ireland got back from his trip to Miami, OK. He went to visit his oldest son, Jerry, and his wife, Pam. He took the trip with his son, Hal. Shorty was gone about six days and came back with a few stories to tell and stated he had a great trip! Jack and Elaine Roghair came by to see the residents and to kick the ball around in fitness class. I don’t know who likes it the most, Jack or the residents! I know they bring BIG smiles around here. Micki Word got a surprise visit from a good friend and fellow employer, Royce Garrett. Royce stayed a few hours and they seemed to catch up on some old business. Micki, also had a chance to go to some of the homecoming events, including the football game. She also went to the girls volleyball game with Derald Kulhavey and Cathy Stone. Keep up the good job Kougars! We’d also like to wish Micki’s husband, Bob, a speedy recovery. Bob and Mary Ellen Herbaugh are over in the Philip hospital. Joy Carson was a very popular lady once again this week. Sawyer, a nephew dropped by along with Oliver, Gayle, Ron, Renate, and Wilma. We all keep her quite busy during the day. She loves to do word search or read when she’s in her room. Bunny Green had a visit from her daughter, Darlene, and friend. They sat outside and enjoyed the fresh air and probably the last look at the beautiful flowers. We did get the produce picked from the garden and the apples picked, peeled, and homemade apple pies made. Talk about some good stuff! Others stopping in were Betty Kusick and many others to say hello. Larry and Genell Kimball, a nephew of Kate DeVries, came by to say hi. Kate enjoyed showing them around the facility and introducing them to a few of the residents and staff. Arlyss Klundt and Raynita drove down from Rapid City to take Ruth Klundt our to Jigger’s for lunch. Everything was delicious as always! They stayed awhile to visit and then headed back. Mary Bull Bear shared her week with many family members and friends. Mary loves when the little ones stop in. Mike Kinsley and Gen Liffengen from Murdo were here for Sunday church services. They will be here on any month having five Sundays. We appreciate all those who come in and do our church services. Reverend Ray Greenseth and Colleen stopped by to check Mary Ellen Herbaugh. They were lucky to have stopped when they did as Mary Ellen was only back for a couple of days before she had to return to the Philip hospital. Get well soon. Lois Pettyjohn, Lola Joyce Riggins, and Father Bryan were all here Monday. This starts us off to a good week! rances Terkilsen and Geraldine Allen called and played Bingo with us last Tuesday. We always enjoy a new voice for the calling. Anyone out there that would like to volunteer calling Bingo, read devotions, or do any other activity PLEASE call me, Cathy Stone 837-2270. We always are looking for an extra hand or foot up in here! Those visiting Dwight Louder this week were his brother, Nelva, and his wife, Janet. One of the boys and Dorothy were also in to check on him. Lova Bushnell and Shirley Josserand came by on Saturday to visit and to take in the afternoon game. We played Bingo since it had to be canceled because of the parade. Speaking of the parade we had a good time trying to put it together in the wind. Our theme: Scotties are the “UnderdogS”! Those riding in the parade were: Alice Wilmarth, Charity Edwards, Ruth Klundt, Sheila Bowen, Elmer Williams, Shorty Ireland, Kate DeVries, Ruby Saftner, and Cathy Stone. We are always happy to see all who stop by to say hi, and keep coming back, we enjoy each and everyone of you! And we so appreciate everyone for taking the time to stop. Remember the Holiday Festival on November 3.
Gateway News | Lola Joyce Riggins, 837-2053 (Let it ring.)
The West Central Electric held their annual meeting and appreciation supper on Wednesday evening. There was a huge crowd that attended. It was a very good meeting and prizes and more prizes were given out. May we welcome two new residents at the apartments, Connie WoodenKnife and her daughter. The Jackson-Kadoka Economic Development Corp. held their monthly meeting at the Community Room on Wednesday, October 2. They meet on the first Wednesday of each month and the meeting is open to the public. Their purpose and goal is to the development and promotion of Jackson County and the City of Kadoka. The people who serve on the board need your interest, encouragement and ideas to proceed in the best efforts. It was a very interesting meeting and the board is very dedicated to their responsibilities. This is your city and county, for your sake, please participate with interest. Again, I heard an interesting meeting. Where were you? My grandson, Chris Riggins, stopped in Sunday evening and when he left my lights were on, and there was a picture and sound on the TV. Gods blessing. It was a long and quiet Sunday. I read a book Saturday afternoon. Thought: “Truth is the only safe ground to stand on.”
Norris News | Marjorie Anne Letellier, 462-6228
“A great man stands on God. A small man stands on a great man.” Ralph Waldo Emerson I am doing news this week, because June Ring is stranded in Rapid City, she and Jean Kary were participating in the South Dakota History Conference when the storm hit there. Watch for her version of the storm in the news next week. The Dan Tafts went up to Rapid City on Thursday afternoon and got a motel room. The appointments they had scheduled for Friday morning were canceled because of the blizzard along with the Lakota Nation volleyball tournament. They soon became counted among the hundreds stranded in the Black Hills until Sunday evening when they finally could travel on Interstate 90. Susan reported of seeing the sad sight of lots of dead cattle along the way. Heather Taft held the fort down here at Norris while they were gone. She ended up wrangling their cattle back home with the help of neighbors. Sept. 28, Deb Ring brought down her friends, Gene and Marie Boufquet, from Montana to show them her home place. They were guests of Deb parent’s, Robert and Sharon Ring, for the day. Wednesday, Sharon Ring took her grandson, Jeremy, to Murdo to keep his appointment. Norris School News: 54% of the parents turned out for the parent/teacher conference held last Thursday evening. Tuesday afternoon, they plan to take the students in for the prevention day assembly at White River at 2:30 p.m. Sharon Ring reported 3½ inches of rain before the snow hit on Friday night. The fall blizzard of 2013 will definitely go down in history. Thursday evening folks were busy bringing in their garden produce and covering the rest in preparation for the storm headed our way. My entryway looks like the makings for a big vegetable soup. It is full of everything from cabbage, tomatoes, potatoes and onions, to watermelon. That night it started to rain, we received over two inches before the snow started later Friday evening. Saturday we woke up to a blanket of snow and a real winter blizzard. All the preparation in the world does not get a person ready for a storm like that. The trees were all weighed down and breaking branches. It is quite a sight to see the trees still green and snow on the ground. The mighty oaks down the creek look pretty sad. Friday night and Saturday, the electricity was blinking off and on, and the folks north of town actually lost power. In the middle of the day on Saturday we lost the use of the telephone and Norris is a dead zone for cell phones, too! Losing contact with family and neighbors in a blizzard like that is losing a lifeline. The phone service was restored within a few hours and the electricity is back on now too. Sunday morning was a much different day. The wind had died down, the snow had quit and the sun was shining. Church services were canceled as folks began to survey the damages and count their losses. South Dakota has the best people in the world and a storm like this proves it all the more. In this country we share our profits, losses and blessings with everyone. We know we are all in this together. Many folks saw our cattle behind the Norris Head Start building and called, offered their help and several came to help when we got them in. With the help of friends and neighbors ranchers are still gathering up and sorting their cattle that drifted or strayed with the storm today (Monday). It seems everyone has suffered some loss. I looked out one door and saw the church steeple pointing us to God and then I go to the entryway on the opposite end and see all the garden produce; (it shows no sign of the terrible hail storm that hit in late July). Just as the garden recovered from the storm, with God’s help; we will recover.
4 - Thursday, October 10, 2013 - Kadoka Press
Youth
Kadoka FFA Nationals bound
Lady Kougars defeated by Bennett County
Land judging: Back row (L-R): Austin Thayer, Aage Ceplecha, Dylan Riggins, Emery Little Thudner. Middle row: Brendon Kukal and Jed Brown. Front row: Logan Christensen, Logan Ammons, Myles Addison, Wyatt Enders.
Photos submitted
Myla Pierce #13 gets the kill against Bennett County.
Robyn Jones
Kadoka Bennett County
14 25
6 11 25 25
The Kadoka Lady Kougars were defeated by the Bennett County Lady Warriors on Tuesday, October 1 at home. Allie Romero was 7/7 serving with 3 service points. Scout Sudbeck was 7/7 spiking with 3 kills. Taylor Merchen and Allie Romero were 54/56 setting with 9 assists. Destiny Dale had 7 digs. “It was not a very well played match by us. We just couldn't find any rhythm because we couldn't control the ball,” said Coach Hutchinson. “I give credit to Bennett County; they played great defense, not giving us anything easy, and served very consistently. They are a very good team.” The next game for the Lady Kougars will be Thursday, October 17 at Jones County.
Shelby Uhlir #11 receives the serve and bumps it to the setter.
Robyn Jones
The Kadoka FFA Chapter had a good day at Wall for the Annual Land and Range Competition. On September 25 over 100 students from across Western South Dakota gathered to test their skills and possibly earn a trip to compete in the National Contest in Oklahoma City. Kadoka had won the Range Judging Event the last two years and since we had a number of experienced students who could not compete in range again, we entered a Land judging team. We can enter ten students on the official team and our best four scores make up the team score. The highest team score wins. Our four top students were; Austin Thayer 1st place, Emery Little Thunder 2nd, Dylan Riggins 3rd, Brennan Kukal 4th. The rest of the team followed in close
proximity with Myles Addison 5th place, Jed Brown 6th, Wyatt Enders 8th, Aage Ceplecha 10th, Logan Ammons 12 and Logan Christensen 13th. Our boys took ten of the top 13 spots,” This is the best finish we have ever had” quoted Mr. Knutson, long time Ag advisor for Kadoka. “Any combination of our ten scores would have won the team event. That’s the first time that has ever happened. Going into the contest, I knew it was going to be good based on their scores at our practice contests here in Kadoka, but I didn’t know it was going to be that good. The toughest competition they had was from each other, great job!” Kadoka also took a rookie Range Judging Team to start the rebuilding process. All were freshman and 5 out of the ten placed.
Leading the team in the silver division in 8th place was Shaina Solon. At the top of the bronze in 11th place was Emily Knutson, then Kelsey Lensegrav in 14th and Carson Good in 16th place, Lindsey VanderMay pulled in just ahead of the wire with a 17th place. Makenzie Stilwell, Jeremy Ring, and AJ Bendt were just out of the money with 19th, 20th and 21st placings, Jackie Thayer placed 23rd and Ryan Schlabach finished well ahead of the rest of the pack in 27th place. “This is the highest average placing of any all-freshman team I have ever had and it puts us in good shape for the next several years,” said Knutson. The all-freshman team placed 3rd as a team behind 2nd place Newell and Philip won the team event.
Belvidere Store
344-2277
Open Daily 7 a.m. - 6 p.m. 24/7 Credit Card Pumps
Diesel • Gas Farm Fuel
Pop • Snacks Beer
Freshman range judging team: Back row (L-R): Ryan Schlabach, Jackie Thayer, Carson Good, Shaina Solon, AJ Bendt. Middle row: Jeremy Ring, Makenzie Stilwell, Emily Knutson, Lindsey VanderMay. Front: Kelsey Lensegrav.
Reschedued! Long Valley Fire Department 12th Annual Hog Roast & Dance
Saturday, November 2
Long Valley Community Hall Supper Featuring Dance to Uncle Roy & Pit Roasted the Boys BBQ Pork
5:30 to 7:30 p.m. 8 p.m. to Midnight
Proceeds benefit the Long Valley Fire Department
Great Food & Great Fun For A Great Cause!
press@kadokatelco.com
Community
National 4-H week
Stronger Economies Together invites all to attend next meeting
The Badlands/Bad River Region “Stronger Economies Together” group has an excellent program planned for October. The monthly SET meeting is scheduled for Tuesday, October 15 from 5:30 – 8:00 p.m. in the Wall Community Room. The group is finished with the required educational modules, and now has the flexibility to offer additional professional development around an issue identified as key to economic development in this region – entrepreneurial support. Bob Weyrich, buyer for Prairie Berry Winery in Hill City, will speak to the group from 5:30 – 6:15 p.m. about supporting entrepreneurs as a region. Bob knows about starting small businesses from his own personal experience, as well as his days as “Ag Development Specialist” for the SD Dept. of Agriculture. Bob will have many examples of entrepreneurial spirit, resources, and persistence that paid off. He will identify ways our region can find and support entrepreneurs. Following Bob’s presentation, the group will view and critique SET material that will help us move the region toward our goal of an entrepreneurial support network. Following the SET presentation, participants will be encouraged to meet in committees to work further on strategic plans begun in September. The following goals have been defined: 1. Develop and maintain a sustainable online presence that promotes and markets the economic development of the Badlands/Bad River Region, which people can access by January 1, 2015. 2. Establish a support network for entrepreneurs to create new, and retain or expand existing businesses; so that through usage business in the region shows a 5% growth in the next 5 years. SET trainer and SDSU Extension field specialist, Kari O’Neill says, “Everyone who would like to contribute to the development of either of these two goals is strongly urged to attend. More people in the region are encouraged to get involved in order to accomplish these goals, and this will be an excellent session to come and get a taste of what this group is doing.” A light supper will be available immediately before the speaker begins.
Kadoka Press - Thursday, October 10, 2013 -
5
Check it out at the Library | Deb Moor, Librarian
Tagg Weller and “Shaggy”
Photo submitted
Diana Coller (L), Nancy Peterson, Lola Joyce Riggins, and Deb Moor (not pictured), went to Deadwood for the Book Festival on Saturday Sept 21st. This three-day event is hosted by SD Humanities and brings in authors and speakers, providing rich sessions and workshops for a variety of interests. The group attended the “Western Crime Wave” where several local authors sat on a panel and answered questions about their work. Book signing opportunities were available including a visit with C.M. Wendelboe, who promises another visit to Kadoka this winter.
National 4-H Week is October 6 through 12. October 1 kicked off the start to a new 4-H year. Local youth will promote 4-H this week by wearing 4-H apparel, decorating bulletin boards, visiting school classrooms, and participating in the National Science Day Experiment on the 9th. Area 4-Hers planned to attend Western Junior Livestock and Family and Consumer Sciences show this week as well, but due to the recent blizzard, that event has been cancelled for 2013. 4-H youth learn life skills through 4-H, and participate in many different activities through out the year, with highlights of County Achievement Days and
Horse show and rodeo, state events such as State 4-H Horse Show, State Fair, State Rodeo, State Livestock Judging Contest, Youth and Teen Camp at Camp Bob in Custer, TLC Camp in Brookings, and Citizen Washington Focus trip in June. Several area youth will be attending this trip. To participate in project workshops, judge livestock and also do consumer science judging, skill-athons, and public presentations. Community service is a large part of a 4-Her’s life as well. 4-H is for any youth age 8 through 18. Contact your local extension office to find out how to join 4-H!
GoldenWest Telecommunications hosts annual meeting in Wall
Golden West Telecommunications celebrated their annual meeting, Saturday, September 28, 2013, in Wall. More than 300 members attended the 61th annual meeting. Jeff Nielsen, President of the Board of Directors welcomed the members and recognized Robert Hansen, from Howes, SD, who retired after sitting on the Board of Directors for 24 years. Denny Law, General Manager/CEO, reiterated Robert Hansen’s many contributions, and years of commitment to the Cooperative. He also laid out the many ways that Golden West continues to invest in its members. From expansion the toll-free calling, which began in June of 2013; the Golden West scholarship and economic development programs; the video programming access to state high school events and collegiate sports, Golden West continues to invest in its members. Law stated that Golden West constructed just over 500 miles of fiber optic cable connecting approximately 1,000 homes and businesses. In 2013, Golden West will construct close to 900 miles of fiber optic cable, which extends our capacity for future applications and boosts our Internet speeds. Law also touched the Federal Communications Commission’s recent rulings that affect local service rates, future infrastructure, and future technology. “We will continue to fight until policymakers understand the importance of ensuring that advanced telecommunications remain a cornerstone investment in rural America,” stated Law. Three of the four board members up for election were incumbents to the board they each ran unopposed. Re-elected to four-year terms were Bart Birkeland to District VII, Dale Guptill to District VI, and Kenneth Zickrick Jr., to District IV. Also serving a fouryear term will be Jade Hlavka who ran unopposed in District I, the district that Robert Hansen previously represented. Brent Morris and the Western Acoustics, from Hill City entertained by playing classic country music. During the meeting, several customers won door prizes. The grand prize of $500 went to Mary Lou Claussen of Martin, SD. Next year’s Annual Meeting will be held September 27, 2014.
Noem, Thune seeking interns
Representative Kristi Noem is accepting applications for spring internships in her Washington, D.C. office, as well as in her offices in Sioux Falls, Rapid City and Watertown. Student interns in Noem’s office will assist staff with various constituent service and communications projects, as well as assist with legislative research. Both South Dakota and Washington, D.C. internships provide students with first-hand knowledge of the legislative process and the countless other functions of a congressional office. College students who are interested in interning in any of Noem’s offices should submit a resume, cover letter and references to Christiana.Frazee@ mail.house .gov by November 8. Senator John Thune (R-SD) is currently seeking intelligent, hard-working college students to serve as spring interns in his office in Washington, D.C., as well as in his offices in Aberdeen, Rapid City, and Sioux Falls. Interns in Thune’s state offices will participate in constituent service and state outreach activities, while students in the Washington, D.C., office will have the opportunity to witness the legislative process, give Capitol tours, and attend Senate votes and hearings. Both in-state and Washington, D.C., internships will allow students to work closely with constituents, hone their research and writing skills, and learn a multitude of valuable office skills. Senator Thune is a member of the Senate Committees on Agriculture, Nutrition, and Forestry; Commerce, Science, and Transportation; and Finance. College students who are interested in interning in Thune’s Washington, D.C., office should submit a resume and cover letter, by October 31, to Senator John Thune, Attn: Allie Ryan, 511 Dirksen Senate Office Building, Washington, D.C. 20510. Or they can fax to 202-228-5429 or email to Allie_Ryan@thune .senate.gov College students who are interested in interning in Senator Thune’s Sioux Falls, Rapid City, or Aberdeen offices should submit a resume and cover letter, by October 31, 2013, to Senator John Thune, Attn: Robin Long, 320 North Main Avenue, Suite B, Sioux Falls, SD 57104.
•Dakota Readers will have a discussion on the book, “One-Room School” –a collection of stories from people around the state of South Dakota. This discussion, led by Dorothy Liegl, will be on Sunday afternoon, Oct. 20th at 2:00. •Jan Cerney will lead the new Christian-fiction reading group with the first book, “The Wedding Dress”. This group will gather on Saturday, Oct. 26 at 2:00 at the library. Bring a friend to both groups for a pleasant afternoon of thoughtful discussion. •Story Time will be held on Monday mornings at 9:30 for preschool age children, starting Oct. 21. This “condensed” version of the Summer Reading program will only last as long as a few good books take to read. •Are you tired of writing the same thing to everyone in your annual Christmas Cards? Interested in creating a Christmas Letter on the computer this year to add with your seasonal card? Sessions will begin in November, stop in to ask about what time might work the best for you or call 837-2689. Did You Know?? •We are open all day on Wednesdays! Of course, we are closed from 1-2 for lunch, and will be closed on Friday afternoons. •Check-out the Jackson County Library website--Links, information, homework help, library hours, programming and more!! Changes and updates will periodically be included. Find us @ https://sites.google.com/site/jacksoncountylibrary/ •Certain examinations and other tests need to be PROCTORED (supervised) by an uninyet authorized volved representative when taken remotely from the home institution.
The library provides this service, call for more information. •There is no fine for overdue books? Please return material so we can update our list for the upand-coming circulation system. There will be overdue notices going out in the near future as a reminder. •An enlarging machine is available to the public which is helpful in making small print larger, stop in to see this amazing machine! •Over 50 databases are available through the Jackson County Library courtesy of the SD State Library. Authoritative resources; journal, magazine, and newspaper articles, and current information is available for medical, technical, business, agriculture, historical, and student needs—including databases with maps, encyclopedias, and more. If needed, these databases can also assist with citations—making easy referencing and reduce copyright worries. These fantastic resources are available through your local library—Stop in and inquire! Questions? Call Jackson County Library @ 837-2689, e-mail @ jclibrary2000@gmail.com or stop in for a visit.
Westbound
Saturday, October 19 9 p.m. to 1 a.m.
Dance to
344-2210 ATM
BELVIDERE BAR
E-mail photos to:
press@kadokatelco.com
Auto Parts
Hwy 248 • Kadoka, SD
Oien
Wix Filters
Gates Belts & Hoses We make Hydraulic Hose & Chainsaw Chains!
We’re Open Monday - Friday 8 a.m. - Noon • 1 - 5 p.m.
Phone 837-2214
Tim home 837-2087 Dave cell 488-0326
6 - Thursday, October 10, 2013 - Kadoka Press
Church
ranching, teaching, and her family, she always came out of any situation, smiling. Her whole family looked up to her with the utmost respect. Survivors include her husband, Vernon, of Hot Springs; two sons, Tad Auker and his wife, Paige, of Rapid City, and Nick Auker of San Angelo, Texas; one daughter, Corinn Amiotte and her husband, Tucker, of Interior; a stepson, Tom Schnose and his wife, Brenda, of Oelrichs; a stepdaughter-in-law, Kim Schnose, of Oelrichs; 11 grandchildren, Gavin Auker and Brady Ness, Oscar and Lily Auker, Baxter (Skyler) Anders, Dunbar Anders, Taylor Amiotte, Breezy Amiotte, Theresa Schnose and Mykelsi and Clay Schnose; two great-grandchildren, Merit Anders and Ava Schnose; three brothers, John Deering and his wife, Mary, of Union Mills, Ind., George Deering and his wife, Sandy, of Loveland, Colo., and Pat Deering and his wife, Frankie, of Belle Fourche; three sisters, Linda Pipal and her husband, Butch, of Wall, Kathrine Deering of Sacramento, Calif., and Joan Deering Sutton of Rapid City; and a host of other relatives and friends. Carolyn was preceded in death by her parents, five siblings, and a stepson, Robert Schnose. A celebration of life service was held Monday, October 7, at the Wall Community Center, with Pastor Kathy Chesney officiating. Arrangements were with the Rush Funeral Chapel of Wall. Her online guestbook is available at www.rushfuneralhome. com
Carolyn Schnose________________________________
Carolyn Schnose, age 72, of Hot Springs, S.D., died Wednesday, October 2, 2013, at the Hans P. Peterson Memorial Hospital in Philip. Carolyn Elizabeth Deering was born January 7, 1941, in New Underwood, one of 12 children born to Oscar and Ruth (Caton) Deering. Carolyn grew up north of Wasta and attended rural school in that area. Carolyn then attended high school in Rapid City. After graduation, she attended Black Hills State College, where she received her teacher’s certificate. Carolyn was united in marriage to James L. Auker on July 29, 1961, in the Viewfield Church, north of New Underwood. They made their home in the Viewfield community and Carolyn taught rural school there for a number of years. Carolyn then raised her family, along with working the dairy farm and ranch. Carolyn was a 4-H leader for over 25 years, and had great help and a lot of fun with the parents in the community. In 1986, they sold the dairy farm-ranch and moved to Arizona for a short time. As it turns out city life was not for Carolyn. She was passionate about her family, South Dakota, and the open spaces. Carolyn returned to South Dakota, and returned to Black Hills State University, where she received her bachelor of arts degree. Carolyn then taught English in Little Wound High School, where she used her passion for writing to motivate her students. She was a strong supporter of local writers
Kadoka Cemetery Association meets
A regular meeting of the board of directors of the Kadoka Cemetery Association was held April 15, 2013 at Jigger’s Restaurant. Directors Olney, VanderMay, Crew and Peterson were present. President Olney explained the need for a new caretaker for the cemetery since Rex Totton has decided he would not be able to take the job again this summer. An average of hours over the past 11 years showed approximately 133 hours per summer. Grady moved to advertise in the Kadoka Press for a summer part-time caretaker and name Bud as the go-to person to call by May 1. Chuck seconded and motion carried. Motion to adjourn was made and carried. On May 6, via telephone, the directors went over the interested applicants for caretaker. Kristie Stone was offered the job at $9 per hour and she accepted.
NOTICE OF INTENT TO MINE SAND, GRAVEL AND ROCK
Notice is hereby given that the Jackson County Highway Department, PO Box 594, Kadoka, SD 57543, will be conducting a gravel mining operation at E2, Section 3, T 42 N, R 35 W, Jackson County, South Dakota. The general location is one and one-quarter miles east and thirteen miles south of Kadoka, SD. The operation is to begin November 9, 2013 and will be completed to include final reclamation by November 9, 2023. Proposed future use of the affected land will consist of re-grading, replacing topsoil and re-seeding to allow the area to be returned to pasture land. For additional information contact the Jackson County Highway Department, (605) 837–2410, or the S. D. Department of Environment and Natural Resources, Minerals and Mining Program, 523 East Capitol Avenue, Pierre, SD 57501-3182 (605) 773–4201. [Published October 10 & 17, 2013, at the total approximate cost of $25.28]
IN CIRCUIT COURT SIXTH JUDICIAL CIRCUIT
STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA COUNTY OF JACKSON Estate of Wanda L. Holcomb, Deceased. PRO. NO. 13-08 NOTICE TO CREDITORS Notice is given that on the 1st day of October, 2013, Robert M. Holcomb, whose address is PO Box 34, Long Valley, SD 57547, was appointed as Personal Representative of the Estate of Wanda L. Holcomb. Creditors of decedent must file their claims within four (4) months after the date of the first publication of this notice or their claims may be barred. Claims may be filed with the personal representative or may be filed with the clerk with a copy of the claim mailed to the personal representative. /s/ Robert M. Holcomb Robert M. Holcomb PO Box 34 Long Valley, SD 57547 Clerk of Courts Jackson County Courthouse PO Box 128 Kadoka, SD 57543 605-837-2122 Kemnitz Law Office Ralph A. Kemnitz PO Box 489 Philip, SD 57567 605-859-2540 [Published October 10, 17 & 24, 2013] ) )SS )
and authors, and loved the challenge of bringing theater and English to the school. The friendships and camaraderie that came with the experiences she received in Kyle, connected her with the history of the Badlands and her own family. She was also an adjunct at Oglala Lakota College, and working toward earning her masters degree. During this time, Carolyn reunited with her high school sweetheart, Vernie Schnose, and they tore it up from the floor up. They enjoyed the outdoors, their families, and had a deep and abiding respect for each other. They were united in marriage on December 16, 1996, and made their home in the Maitland area, south of Hot Springs. They spent their time ranching, going to ropings, and having fun. Carolyn was extraordinarily resilient, surviving breast cancer,
Let us quote your printing Call 859-2516 in Philip or 837-2259 in Kadoka
NOTICE TOWN OF INTERIOR
The Town Board of Interior will meet at 7:00 p.m. on October 16, 2013 at Cowboy Corner to consider the following Temporary On Sale Malt Beverage License: Interior Volunteer Fire Department, Valid October 19 & 20, 2013 for a special event. Any person(s) or his/her attorney, interested in the approval or rejection of any license, may appear and be heard at the above meeting. Finance Officer Linda Livermont Town of Interior [Published October 9, 2013, at the total approximate cost of $8.46]
Meals for the Elderly
Monday, October 14: Eat at Jigger’s. Tuesday, October 15: Barbeque chicken legs, baked potatoes, mixed vegetables, dinner roll and apple crisp. Wednesday, October 16: Hungarian goulash, cooked cabbage, french bread, and mandarin oranges. Thursday, October 17: Breaded pork cutlets, mashed potatoes and gravy, green beans, bread, and peaches. Friday, October 18: Ham and beans, coleslaw, corn bread, and plums.
Rebecca Bingaman to perform at Kadoka Presbyterian Church Oct. 13
Rebecca Bingaman will be presenting a concert on Sunday evening, October 13 at 7:00 p.m. at the Presbyterian Church in Kadoka. She is a rising Christian recording artist from Prairie City, SD. She has represented the Christian relief group; One Child Matters formerly known as Mission of Mercy. This summer she spent ten days with a One Child Matters group in the Dominican Republic. Rebecca says about herself; "Well, I know I'm just another girl, and they say that it's a big old world, but as long as I'm already here I'm gonna let it shine." - from "Let It Shine", The new EP (extended play) from Bec Bingaman. Bec is a new Christian artist who is letting her talent shine from the far reaches of her parents’ farm in South Dakota. Graduating high school early and working on her B.A. in Christian Ministry, Bec is a go-getter. She is such a go-getter that she contacted a label in Nashville, Creative Soul Records and got the president, Eric Copeland, on the phone. After a few conversations, Copeland knew he had a hard worker on his hands and someone dedicated to her craft. Fast forward to the end of 2012. Bec and Creative Soul unleash "Let It Shine", a collection of four originals and covers that showcase Bec's talents, her love of min-
Upcoming Area Events
Wednesday, October 9: •Kadoka Area School Board meeting at 7:00 p.m. Friday, October 11: •JH volleyball against Wall. •Varsity football against Stanley Co. Saturday, October 12: •Cross country at Philip. •JH football jamboree at Philip. Monday, October 14: •JH and JV football at Stanley County. Tuesday, October 15: •K-12 math night at Kadoka School 5-7 p.m. •Badlands/Bad River Region “Stronger Economies Together” will meet in Wall at 5:30 p.m. Wednesday, October 16: •Cross country regions in Philip. Sunday, November 3: •Kadoka Nursing Home Holiday Festival at the Kadoka City Auditorium. Notices: •The Dakota Readers Group book "One-Room Country School" is in! Our discussion is on Sunday, Oct. 20 at 2:00 p.m. at Jackson County Library. For more information, stop in or call Deb Moor @ 837-2689. Come in to sign-up and bring a friend.
istry, and her desire to get out and get this party started. With songs by the Newsboys and Leeland, plus songs written by her production team and others, Bec had great material to work with. The result is a fresh sound on her debut release. "I really want to do all I can to learn the craft of being a Christian artist, and put all my talents on the line," Bec says. "I want to Let It Shine, and this is the first step for what I feel God has for me to do. See her web site and her music at www.becbingaman.com. Everyone is cordially invited to the concert. If you have questions please call the pastor Gary McCubbin at 837-2485.
Inspiration Point
The Sovereignty of God: Reason for Our Assurance
Read Romans 8:28 Since eternity past and throughout history, almighty God has ruled with supreme authority. Nothing is hidden from His knowledge or beyond the scope of His control. Because of His sovereignty, we who by faith in Christ are part of His family can live with assurance that: • God works for our good. Scripture declares that God has the power to work every circumstance in our life into something that is beneficial in His eyes. He has the knowledge and power to accomplish it, as well as the desire. God promises to do this for those who love and belong to Him. Our part is to believe. • God protects us every day. Scripture declares that “the angel of the Lord encamps around those who fear Him” (Ps. 34:7). Apart from His permissive will, nothing can touch God’s children. When our Father allows painful things to happen, we must trust in His unchanging nature and enduring promises. People and circumstances change, but the Lord’s good and loving character does not. • God has control over our future. He’s fully worked out a plan for the body of Christ and each of its members—a plan so good that it is beyond imagining (1 Cor. 2:9). We can entrust our future to God because His character and plans are perfect. Resting in the Lord’s sovereignty will free us from fear and anxiety. If you lack assurance about any of the points listed above, confess your unbelief to the heavenly Father. Ask His forgiveness, and commit to meditate on His character and promises. Then you will experience the strengthening of your faith.
Church Calendar
CONCORDIA LUTHERAN Kadoka • 837-2390 Sunday Services: 10:00 a.m. LUTHERAN PARISH - ELCA OUR SAVIORS LUTHERAN • Long Valley Pastor Frezil Westerlund Sunday Services: 5:00 p.m. PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH Kadoka • Pastor Gary McCubbin • 837-2233 Worship Services: 11:00 a.m. Sunday School: Sr. Adults - 9:45 a.m. Sunday School: All Ages - 9:45 a.m., • Sept. - May Release Time: 2:15 p.m. Wednesdays. • Sept. - May FIRST PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH Interior • 859-2310 Sunday Worship: 11:00 a.m. BELVIDERE COMMUNITY CHURCH Pastor Gary McCubbin • 344-2233 Sunday Worship: 9:30 a.m. Coffee & Donuts: 10:30 a.m. Sunday School: 10:45 a.m. Sept. - May OUR LADY OF VICTORY CATHOLIC CHURCH Father Bryan Sorensen • Kadoka • 837-2219 Mass: Sunday - 11:00 a.m. Confession After Mass INTERIOR COMMUNITY CHURCH Sunday School: 9:30 a.m. • Church: 10:30 a.m. EAGLE NEST LIFE CENTER Gus Craven • Wanblee • 462-6002 Sunday Church: 11:00 a.m. ST. PETER LUTHERAN CHURCH-LCMS Midland • Rev. Glenn Denke • 462-6169, SD (6 mi. north and 3 mi. east of 1880 Town) Sunday Worship--10:00 a.m. MT/11:00 a.m. CT
PEOPLE’S MARKET
WIC, Food Stamps & EBT Phone: 837-2232 Monday thru Saturday 8 AM - 6 PM
Classifieds
Classified Advertising & Thank You Rates:
$5.00 minimum for 20 words, plus 10¢ for each additional word. To place an ad call 605-837-2259 or email: press @kadokatelco.com
Kadoka Press - Thursday, October 10, 2013 -
7
Peters Excavation
Home: (605) 837-2945 Cell: (605) 381-5568
Help Wanted
Full Time Jackson County Highway Department Worker. Truck driver, heavy equipment operator, light equipment operator. Experience preferred, but will train. CDL required, or to be obtained in six months. Preemployment drug and alcohol screening required. Benefits package. Applications / resumes accepted. Information 837-2410 or 837-2422. Fax 837-2447. KP13-5tc HELP WANTED: Cooks, counter personnel, and wait staff position(s) are available for Aw! Shucks Café opening soon at 909 Main Street in Kadoka. Please apply within or contact Teresa or Colby Shuck for more information: 837-2076. KP2-tfn
Thank You
Thank you for your kindness, cards, flowers, and phone calls after Beth Olson Long passing. A special thank you to Brett and Tammy Prang, Kieth and Nona Prang, and Deb Olney for the food. It was greatly appreciated. Thank you to Pastor Ray and Rush Funeral Home for your compassion. Bob Long Barry (Elaine) Olson Sharri (Zane) Pettyjohn Jennifer & Augusta McMillin The family of Stuart Wilson wishes to thank Dr. Klopper and the nursing staff at the Philip hospital for their care of Stuart in his final days. Special thanks go out to Toni Rhodes and Shirley Dennis for your time, and also thanks to all friends and relatives for their condolences. Vicki Wilson Reagan & Terry Ison Willard, Jennifer, Victoria, Amanda & Bowen Wilson Brad, Rhonda, Brady, Daniel & Aloni Deschamp Karen & Larry Speir Steven & Dana Wilson Words cannot express how grateful we are for your cards of heartfelt sympathy, words of comfort, wonderful food, visits, phone calls and random acts of kindness, throughout this time of loss. We cannot say thank you enough to let you know how much we appreciate the great people and wonderful communities in which we live. Thank you! The Family of Wanda Holcomb We wish to express our heartfelt gratitude for all that was done for us during the recent loss of our mother, Lucille Brunsch. Thank you to our pastor Rev. Craig West and his wife Miriam for all the prayers and visits to mom's home during her last days with us, to those who called, brought food, and sent cards and flowers, and to Rush Funeral Home. DJ, your compassion along with your outstanding work will be remembered always. Thank you to Debbie Knispel, Meg, and Dr. Cazan for your excellent medical care and advice. To our cousins "The Peck Girls", the ECW ladies, and Carmen, thank you for the delicious food that was prepared and served. To all of those who we will never be able to adequately express our feelings of gratitude for the outpouring of love and compassion you have shown our family this past year. May God bless you always. The Family of Lucille Brunsch
Excavation work of ALL types!
WBackhoe WTrenching WDirectional Boring WCobett Waters Located in WTire Tanks Kadoka, SD WDozer WVacuum Excavation
Full-time Position available at the Kadoka Press
For more details or an application Call 837-2259
Philip League Bowling
Monday Night Mixed Shad’s Towing .............................14-6 Handrahan Const .......................13-7 Rockers........................................12-8 Badland’s Auto ............................11-9 Dakota Bar................................10-10 Highlights: Jerry Mooney.......5-10 split; 212/532 Vickie Petersen .....................179/516 Trina Brown ..........................177/504 Arlene Kujawa............5-10 split; 170 Ronnie Coyle......6-7-10 & 5-10 splits Jackie Shull ........................3-10 split Wednesday Morning Coffee Bowling Belles ............................15-5 Cutting Edge Salon ....................13-7 State Farm ..................................13-7 Jolly Ranchers ..........................10-10 Little Orphans ............................8-12 Highlights: Charlene Kjerstad .............3-10 split; .......................................168, 150/459 Marsha Sumpter...................160/446 Deanna Fees..4-5, 6-7 & 4-5-7 splits; .......................................173, 154/445 Dody Weller..................................150 Donna King...........................2-7 split Debbie Gartner.....................4-5 split Audrey Jones ........................2-7 split Wednesday Nite Early Dakota Bar..................................14-6 Hildebrand Concrete ..................12-8 Chiefie’s Chicks...........................11-9 Morrison’s Haying ......................8-12 First National Bank ...................8-12 Pink Ribbons...............................7-13 Highlights: Kathy Gittings .............................199 Tena Slovek ...........................191/480 Chelsea Moos ...............................136 Marlis Petersen.....................175/506 Rachel Kjerstad ............4-5 split; 171 Stacey Schulz.....6-7-10 & 5-10 splits Brittney Drury ...................5-10 split Cristi Ferguson.....................5-7 split Cheryl Behrend ....................5-6 split Lindsey Hildebrand .............4-5 split Thursday Men McDonnell Farms .........................3-1 A&M Laundry...............................3-1 Coyle’s SuperValu .........................2-2 The Steakhouse ............................2-2 WEE BADD...................................2-2 O’Connell Const ............................2-2 Dakota Bar....................................1-3 West River Pioneer Tanks ............1-3 Highlights: Jan Bielmaier........................255/609 Haven Hildebrand .......................214 Ronnie Williams....................210/539 Andrew Reckling..........................578 Jay McDonnell ......................202/548 Brian Pearson .......................201/542 DJ Rush ......................5-10 split; 204 Harlan Moos.................................201 Wendell Buxcel ...................3-10 split
Brent Peters
Notices
HOLIDAY FESTIVAL: Sunday, November 3, 2013 at the Kadoka City Auditorium. Booths available. Call Ruby at 837-2270. KP12-3tc
Rentals
APARTMENTS: Spacious one-bedroom units, all utilities included. Young or old. Need rental assistance or not, we can house you. Just call 1800-481-6904 or stop in the lobby and pick up an application. Gateway Apartments, Kadoka. 36-tfc
Business/Services
HILDEBRAND STEEL & CONCRETE: Will do all your concrete construction jobs. Call us and we will give you a quote. Office 837-2621, Rich’s cell 431-2226, toll free 877K45-tfn 867-4185. WEST RIVER EXCAVATION: will do all types of trenching, ditching and directional boring work. See Craig, Diana, Sauntee or Heidi Coller, Kadoka, SD, or call 605/837-2690. Craig cell 390-8087, Sauntee cell 390-8604, email wrex@gwtc.net. 27-tfc SEPTIC TANK PUMPING: Call 8372243 or contact Wendell Buxcel, Kadoka, SD. 10-tfc SERVICE: Need a plumber? Licensed plumbing contractor for all your indoor plumbing and outdoor water and sewer jobs call Dale Koehn 441-1053 or leave a message at 837-0112. KP13-4tp
Statewide Classifieds:
AUCTION LAND AUCTION: 428+/- acres, Walworth County, Cropland, Recreational, Investment, 6 miles west of Bowdle, SD at the junction of Hwy 12 and Hwy 47, October 30th, 2013. Call Dakota Properties, Todd Schuetzle, Auctioneer, 605-280-3115, www.DakotaProperties.com. BUSINESS OPPORTUNITY CALL AVON TO EARN extra money for Christmas. **40% discount/commission - $10 to start** Call 605-334-0525. EMPLOYMENT HUNKPATI INVESTMENTS, a Native CDFI in Ft. Thompson, SD seeks a qualified Executive Director. For more information, call 605-2452148 or email: searchcommittee@hunkpati.org. CUSTER REGIONAL HOSPITAL, Custer Clinic, Hot Springs Regional Medical Clinic and Custer Regional Senior Care have full-time, part-time and PRN (as-needed) RN, LPN, Licensed Medical Assistant and Nurse Aide positions available. We offer competitive pay and excellent benefits. New Graduates welcome! Please contact Human Resources at (605) 673-9418 for more information or log onto www.regionalhealth.com to apply. FOR SALE LONGBRANCH IN PIERRE, SD. We have lowered the price & will consider contract for deed. Call Russell Spaid 605-280-1067. SPORTING GOODS REDFIELD GUN SHOW - Saturday, November 2, from 9am-5pm, Sunday, November 3, from 9am-3pm. For more information call 605-4720965. HEALTH AND BEAUTY PELVIC/TRANSVAGINAL MESH? Did you undergo transvaginal placement of mesh for pelvic organ prolapse or stress urinary incontinence between 2005 and the present? If the mesh caused complications, you may be entitled to compensation. Call Charles H. Johnson Law and speak with female staff members 1-800535-5727. LOG HOMES DAKOTA LOG HOME Builders representing Golden Eagle Log Homes, building in eastern, central, northwestern South & North Dakota. Scott Connell, 605-530-2672, Craig Connell, 605-264-5650, www.goldeneagleloghomes.com OTR/DRIVERS AMERICAN TRUCK DRIVING ACADEMY offering 80-hour CDL class for drivers with experience. $2,135, funding may be available, job guarantee if accepted for class. 1-866-308-7755 Yankton,SD. DRIVERS WANTED: CDL, owner operators, freight from Midwest up to 48 states, home regularly, newer equipment, Health, 401K, call Randy, A&A Express, 800-658-3549. MISCELLANEOUS DISH TV RETAILER- Starting at $19.99/month (for 12 mos.) & High Speed Internet starting at $14.95/month (where available.) SAVE! Ask About SAME DAY Installation! CALL Now! 1800-308-1892. WANT TO BUY ANTLERS WANTED up to 7.00 lb. Deer , Elk/moose 7.50 lb. Bleached 3.00 lb. cracked 1.00 lb. Also need Porcupines, Rattlesnakes, Elk Ivories ,Mt. Lion skins. More info; 605-6734345 / clawantlerhide@hotmail.com
8 - Thursday, October 10, 2013 - Kadoka Press
Agriculture
For $150, place your ad in 150 South Dakota daily & weekly papers through the …
Winner Regional Extension Center
Late Planting Winter Wheat? Recent rain and snow across much of the state has improved the prospects of planting winter wheat in some of the dry areas, but will also delay planting in fields yet to be seeded. In South Dakota, the recommended time to plant winter wheat is Sept. 15 through Oct. 10. The October 15 deadline to receive full crop insurance coverage and winterkill protection provides incentive to get fields planted by that date. Producers can still purchase crop insurance on fields planted after October 15, but will sacrifice 1% of coverage for each day after that date, up to 25 days, and those fields are ineligible for winterkill protection. There are good reasons for the Sept. 15 to Oct. 10 planting date recommendations, but winter wheat can be planted after Oct. 10, or Oct. 15 and still raise a respectable crop. The primary disadvantage to planting late is that the plants are typically behind in development going into the winter, are slower getting going in the spring, and consequently mature later than earlier planted wheat. That delay can shorten the grain fill period, and often results in the plants being subjected to moisture and heat stress during this stage. Date-of-planting studies have shown that late planted winter wheat can produce just over 20% less than wheat planted at the ideal time. Late planting also presents higher risk of winterkill and erosion, particularly when not seeding into protective cover. There are management strategies you can use to help compensate for planting late. If you have the equipment, can rent it or hire someone who does, use narrow row spacing. Ten inches or wider would be considered wide spacing. If wider spacing is your only option, increase the seeding rate by 1.5. Also, simply increase the seeding rate. While 960,000 – 1.2 million pure live seeds per acre is the recommended seeding rate when planting during the recommended
Bob Fanning, Plant Pathology Field Specialist 842-1267
time, raising that to 1.6 million seeds per acre or even higher is suggested when planting late. Apply Phosphorus with the seed. Apply 20 Lbs/A of Phosphorus if soil test levels indicate none is needed, and add 20 Lbs/A to recommendations. Phosphorus promotes root growth and improves winter survival. Plant certified, disease-free, treated seed. A final suggestion would be to plant an early maturing variety with favorable agronomic characteristics and good yield potential. If winter wheat planting gets delayed past November 1, producers should consider waiting until spring to plant spring wheat, or consider dormant planting spring wheat. Winter wheat that is planted late enough that it doesn’t emerge and become established before winter often matures later and yields less than dormant or early planted spring wheat. True dormant planting occurs when the seed is planted just before the ground freezes. Spring wheat that is properly dormant planted will lie in the soil as hard seed until the soil warms enough in the spring to begin germination, approximately 34-37 degrees F. Calendar 10/10/2013: Drought Risk Management Workshop, 9:00 a.m., Lucy’s, Gettysburg 10/11/2013: Drought Risk Management Workshop, 9:00 a.m., SDSU Extension Center, Winner 10/21-23/2013: SDSU Extension Annual Conference, Brookings 12/3-4/2013: Ag Horizons Conference, Ramkota Inn, Pierre
STATEWIDE CLASSIFIEDS!
Call 605•837•2259
SD Stockgrowers, dealing with livestock losses
The South Dakota Department of Agriculture (SDDA) reminds producers who have lost livestock during the recent blizzard to document losses. Proper documentation is critical to ensure processing of potential claims. "This early season, record setting blizzard is devastating to our producers and our thoughts are with them," said Secretary of Agriculture Lucas Lentsch. "We are working to coordinate with ag industry stakeholders to establish and execute a response plan." SDDA is working closely with the Office of Emergency Management, Animal Industry Board, Brand Board and Governor's Office on recovery efforts. Documentation of Livestock Losses Documentation of livestock losses are critical. Documentation will help emergency authorities understand the scope of the impact of this storm and help you as producers to file claims and receive potential compensation for losses. Producers should document all livestock losses with pictures of carcasses, vaccination and hauling receipts and records, or any other records such as tags, Bangs clips. Third-party verification of losses is recommended and can be a simple piece of paper explaining the facts and signed. This can come from a veterinarian, a local law enforcement official or even an arms-length third party such as a neighbor or pastor. Family members or hired employees are not considered third-party. If you have questions regarding livestock identification, please contact the South Dakota Brand Board at 605.773.3324. Disposal and Identification of Livestock Carcasses The South Dakota Animal Industry Board (AIB) will be coordinating disposal of livestock carcasses. Brand Board inspectors will be involved in identifying livestock and livestock carcasses and will document these losses and ownership. Call the Animal Industry Board at 605.773.3321. For carcass disposal information, contact the AIB at 605.773.3321. Disposal guidelines are available at http://aib.sd.gov/pdf/Carcass%20D isposal%20Guidelines%202011.pdf A large scale effort to gather carcasses from the roadways will begin on Tuesday morning. Please contact your county emergency management or the Animal Industry Board for details or to report livestock for removal.

Published under a Creative Commons License By attribution, non-commercial
AttachmentSize
E-Kadoka-10-03-13_Layout 1.pdf2.21 MB