Gayla Piroutek among eight inducted to 4-H Hall of Fame

The South Dakota 4-H Hall of Fame inducted eight new members in 2007.

Those selected in 2007 are Gayla Piroutek, Haakon/Jackson counties; Keith Gebhart, Tripp County; Eugene Jaycox, Moody County; Melvin M. Moore, Sanborn County; William Schilder, Faulk County; Amy Schoenfelder, Beadle County; Paulette Vanderham, Union County; and Dick Wettlaufer, Miner County.

The eight were inducted into the South Dakota 4-H Hall of Fame during a ceremony on the 4-H Stage at the South Dakota State Fairgrounds in Huron on Sunday, September 2.

Marilyn Rasmussen, a youth development/4-H specialist for the South Dakota Cooperative Extension Service, said the South Dakota 4-H Hall of Fame was created during the 4-H Centennial year in 2002. The eight individuals honored this year join more than 150 members to date.

"The Hall of Fame recognizes the significant and lengthy contributions of volunteers from across the state who have played key roles in 4-H programming and youth development," Rasmussen said. "The 4-H Hall of Fame ceremony is just one way that 4-H, the Cooperative Extension Service, and SDSU can honor a few of the many dedicated people who contribute time and talents to help the next generation grow into good citizens and leaders in their communities."