Login

Faith Independent, May 1, 2013

Embedded Scribd iPaper - Requires Javascript and Flash Player
1910 94¢ 84 34
May 1, 2013
Spring brings risk of tick-borne illness
Using tick repellent and regularly checking for ticks are the keys to preventing tularemia, Lyme disease and other tickborne illnesses, says a state health official.  “Spring means more time outdoors and more risk for tick-borne diseases,” said Dr. Lon Kightlinger, State Epidemiologist for the Department of Health. “Every year in South Dakota we see cases of Rocky Mountain spotted fever, tularemia, ehrlichiosis and Lyme disease – all tick-borne illnesses.” In 2012 the department investigated four cases of Lyme disease, five of tularemia and one ehrlichiosis. All four cases of Lyme disease had out-of state tick exposure. The Ioxdes deer tick that carries Lyme disease prefers heavily forested areas in Wisconsin and Minnesota, so most areas of South Dakota are not suitable habitat for the species.  A 2011 tick survey conducted by Dr. Michael Hildreth, a professor in the departments of Biology and Microbiology and Veterinary and Biomedical Science at SDSU did not find deer ticks in the locations tested. However, a deer tick was sent to Dr. Buyung Hadi, SDSU Extension Urban Entomologist last fall from Roberts County in northeastern South Dakota. To determine whether deer ticks are becoming established in the state, individuals finding ticks are encouraged to send specimens for identification to Dr. Hadi at: Dr. Buyung Hadi, Pesticide Education and Urban Entomology Coordinator SAG 224 Box 2207A South Dakota State University Brookings, SD 57007 Phone: (605) 688-6784; Cell: (605) 690-4289 Tick samples should be sent within a small bottle sealed with tape. DO NOT crush the sample or put the tick on tape. Make sure that your name, phone number and date of submission are attached to the bottle. If sending the sample via post, pack the vial in a padded envelope or cardboard containers. Ticks will be identified but not tested for Lyme disease. The 2011 tick survey did find plentiful numbers of Dermacentor dog ticks. While the dog tick doesn’t carry Lyme disease, it does transmit Rocky Mountain Spotted Fever, tularemia and ehrlichiosis, so people should protect themselves from this tick species Tick bites are usually painless and appear as a small red bump with a bright red halo. To remove an attached tick, use tweezers or a tissue and pull slowly and steadily, being careful not crush it. Then apply antiseptic to the site to prevent infection. If you use bare hands to remove a tick, wash your hands thoroughly with warm water and soap. Avoid touching your eyes before washing.   Tick-borne illness symptoms include sudden onset of a moderate-to-high fever, stiff neck, deep muscle pain, arthritis, fatigue, severe headache, chills, a rash on the arms and legs or around the site of the bite, and swollen lymph nodes, particularly in the neck. If you develop any of these symptoms after a tick bite, see your doctor. With Rocky Mountain spotted fever the illness does not start immediately after the tick bite, but typically 5 to 10 days after the tick attachment.   When outdoors, repel ticks by tucking your pants into your socks and spraying clothes and any exposed skin with a tick repellent. Other precautions include: •Check frequently for ticks when outside, especially the scalp and folds of skin. Ticks need to be attached for several hours to spread infection so you can significantly cut your risk by checking for and removing ticks right away. •Check small children thoroughly and often for ticks when they've been outside or have had contact with pets or livestock that may have ticks. •Ask your veterinarian about appropriate insecticides and collars to protect pets from ticks and limit the number they carry into the home. For added protection, apply insecticides and tick repellents to your pet's bedding. •Check your animals frequently for ticks. To remove ticks from animals, apply constant traction with forceps or tweezers. If you must use your fingers, wear disposable gloves then wash hands thoroughly with soap and water.   Fact sheets on specific tickborne diseases can be found on the Department of Health web site at http://doh.sd.gov/DiseaseFacts/.
Council hires information center By Loretta Passolt personnel
The Faith City Council held a special meeting on Tuesday, April 23rd. The main items on the agenda was to hire summer help. Council retired into executive session to discuss personnel. Following executive session, Council approved hiring Corinna Thompson at $8.25 hr. Monday–Wednesday and Madison Vance at $7.25 hr. for Thursday and Friday. Council approved advertising for bids for cement work on dips. There are a few areas in town that need to be repaired. There are two at the sale barn and at the school and one at the alley of Greg Fisher’s property. Members also discussed hiring help for mowing some of the city properties; the cemetery, the community center, tennis court, park, and cleaning those restrooms. The city crew has enough work to keep them busy this summer and could use the extra help with the mowing. Council decided to advertise bidding the mowing to be opened at the May 14th meeting. They also approved advertising for a fill-in bartender. A building permit was approved for Brent and Misty Simons for a mobile home on the lot north of Jon and Katrina Collins. Council retired into executive session at this time to discuss personnel for the swimming pool. After waiting around for about 45 minutes I decided to leave, so don’t have the final report of that session. I guess you’ll have to read the official minutes when they are published.
VA crisis line
The VA is working to ensure that all Veterans and their loved ones are aware of the Veterans Crisis Line - a toll-free, confidential resource that connects Veterans in crisis and their families and friends with qualified, caring VA responders. It’s your call ... confidential help for Veterans and their families. 1-800-273-8255 Press 1, chat at VeteransCrisisLine.net or text to 838255
Warmer weather, longer days call for an ample blood supply
As winter begins turning to spring, the days get longer and activities increase. Spring is the season when life is renewed. One important way to help renew life is to give blood. “Giving blood during springtime can be a great tradition, like spring cleaning, and it’s a gift that the recipient will always remember,” said Lori Liebman, Donor Recruitment Director of Rapid City’s United Blood Services. By giving blood, a donor helps replenish a community resource used by a neighbor, relative or friend. Blood can be stored for only 42 days, so a continual fresh supply is crucial. Anyone may need blood at any time. In the event of an accident, serious illness, or surgery, an adequate blood supply will make the difference between life and death. Make your appointment to give blood at the Faith drive on Thursday, May 9th at St. Joseph’s Catholic Church by calling Amy Ulrich. With each donation, donors receive a free total cholesterol test and earn points in United Blood Services’ Hero in Me reward program. Volunteer blood donors must be at least 16 years of age, weigh a minimum of 110 pounds, and be in good health. Additional height/weight requirements apply to donors 22 and younger, and donors who are 16 years old must have signed permission from a parent or guardian. For more information, visit www.unitedbloodservices.org.
Farmers State Bank ... one of the oldest businesses in Faith,
is no more. 1st National Bank of Philip merged with Farmers State Bank recently and officially changed the name last Wednesday to 1st National Bank in Faith. Photo by Loretta Passolt
Page 2 • May 1, 2013 • The Faith Independent
Obituary
Marvin Edwin Knutson
Marvin was born February 4, 1932, to Ben and Anna Marie (Olson) Knutson and grew up on a ranch near Cedar Canyon, SD. When he got older, he did ranch work for his uncle near Sulphur until he was drafted into the United States Army in 1952 and went to Korea. Following his honorable discharge in 1954, he went back to work on the ranch. He did ranch work all of his life, and enjoyed breaking horses and herding sheep. He briefly did some work with a pipeline crew, but he didn’t go too far from the ranch. Marvin loved to play the guitar, sing to his nieces and nephews, and ride motorcycles, snowmobiles, four wheelers, and dirtbikes. He also enjoyed feeding his numerous stray cats over the years. He will be remembered by family and friends as a very kind and loving, soft-spoken man. Marvin is survived by his sister, Ilene Symonds, Newell; nephew, Ben (Suzie) Symonds, Hulett, WY; nieces, Nancy Tennis, Newell, and Dawn (Calvin) Griffin, Belle Fourche; and numerous grand-nieces, nephews, and cousins. He is preceded in death by his parents; brother-in-law, Marvin Symonds; cousin, Ida Hull; greatnephew, Peter Tokley, Jr.; greatgreat-niece, Kristina Deschamps; and many aunts and uncles. A memorial has been established to the South Dakota Shriner’s Hospitals for Children. Condolences may be sent to the family at www.kinkadefunerals.com.
Sr. Citizens Menu
All meals served with milk and bread. Menu subject to change without notice. Wed., May 1: Breaded Baked Fish, Oven Broiled Potatoes, Parsley Carrots, Fresh Fruit, Oatmeal Fruit Muffin Thur., May 2: Spaghetti w/Meat Sauce, Tossed Salad, Mandarin Oranges, Vanilla Pudding, French Bread Fri., May 3: Roast Beef, Mashed Potatoes & Gravy, Lima Beans, Seasonal Fruit Mon., May 6: Ham & Potato Omelet, Green Beans, Cinnamon Roll, Tropical Fruit Tue., May 7: Birthday Dinner-Hamburger on Bun, Potato Salad, Tomato Slices on Lettuce, Cooked Apples, Cake Wed., May 8: Baked Chicken, Creamed Potatoes, Baked Squash, Grapes Thur., May 9: Hot Beef over Bread w/Gravy & Mashed Potatoes, Green Beans, Peaches, Ice Cream Fri., May 10: Beef & Noodles, Tossed Salad w/Dressing, Parsley Carrots, Plums
Five generation: Mary Lee Marty, Ryan Russell, Camden Peterson-Russell, Randy Russell and Addie Boyd Weyer in front. Photo courtesy of Mary Lee Marty
Marvin Edwin Knutson, 81, Newell, died Sunday, April 21, 2013, at the Fort Meade VA Healthcare Center. Funeral services were held at 10:00 a.m. on Friday, April 26, 2013, at Kinkade Funeral Chapel with Pastor Tom Martin officiating. Burial will follow at Black Hills National Cemetery with military honors provided by the Sturgis Veterans Honor Guard.
Letter to the Editor
Dear Editor Let’s not lose Faith After 100 years of Farmers State Bank, a new building and too many clerks! It has weathered some mighty hard years! People who think we’re in hard times now can’t even guess! I can remember after Art Naslund died, Mrs. Naslund said she believed her and Marie Doak (a bank clerk) could have run the bank alone (which they did for a short time), and were they busy! And remember the tiny office Shirley Moelter worked in, alone, doing the utilities sometimes taking work home evenings and weekends! But we were in the black! And the fairs! Where crowds stood in the walkways! And livestock barns so full that many were tied on the outside. In the exhibits building, exhibits piled and sometimes even on the floor! Impressive floats and high class entertainment that matched any in the state and a Number One Promoter! Even the volunteer ticket takers went home with ‘full pockets’! There was good carnivals and dances and people staying past midnight! Now some of the exhibit barns are sold, I’m told. All exhibits are down, no high class entertainment, no impressive floats, dances. A funded carnival for 2-3 years – this year none, and people just go home - like after a Sunday rodeo. We used to have fun promotions. Do we need another 3/4ths empty large building to pay taxes and upkeep on? A state newspaper reported that when grants were being given out to small towns to build large buildings, many did so for buildings they didn’t have a use for a few years ago. Now these buildings stand empty and crumbling-they couldn’t afford the upkeep! We have several good solid basements in town for tornado protection. Faith was built to be a small town and it will always be a small town. We now have less people than ever. Let’s not make the other half leave! Irean Jordan
Double J Horse Sales
Saturday, May 11, 2013 Stockmen’s Livestock Exchange Dickinson, ND
Ranch Horse Competition 7 am MDT Sale 12 noon MDT
All Breeds Consignment Sale
Legal Advertising
Friday noon before Wed. publication The Faith Independent
For a catalog or more info call or log on: Joe (701) 230-3044 John (701) 720-6674 www.doublejhorsesales.com
Church Schedule Faith United Methodist Church Sun., May 5, 11:30 ..................................... Graduation Recognition
ADVERTISING RATES: Local Display: $4.70 per column inch. WANT ADS & CARDS OF THANKS: $5.00 for first 20 words; 10¢ per word thereafter. ADS & NEWS DEADLINE: Monday Noon
PUBLIC NOTICE DEADLINE: Friday, 10:00 a.m.
Faith Community Health Center
DOCTOR SCHEDULE
Verna Schad, CNP . . . . . . . .Call for schedule Peggy O’Connor, CNP . . . .Call for schedule DAVID ROLLASON, PA . . . . . . . . . .THURSDAYS
Published in the Heart of the West River Empire Publication No. 184760 Published Weekly on Wednesday Faith, SD 57626-0038
POSTMASTER, Send Address Changes to: P.O. Box 38, Faith, SD 57626-0038 PHONE: (605) 967-2161 – FAX: (605) 967-2160 E-mail: faithind@faithsd.com
DEADLINE: Last possible moment to turn news items in at the office to be published. LEGAL NEWSPAPER FOR: State of S.D., Meade County, City of Faith, Faith School District 46-2
Publisher.............................................................Don Ravellette Office Manager.......................................................Diane Isaacs Reporter, Proofreader, Composition.................Loretta Passolt
SUBSCRIPTION RATE: Faith & Dupree $34.00 + local tax; In-state $39.00 + local tax; Out-of-state $39.00; Foreign $45.00.
PERIODICALS POSTAGE PAID Faith, South Dakota 57626
COPYRIGHT: 1988 Faith Independent. All rights reserved. Nothing may bereprinted, photocopied, or in any way reproduced from this publication, in whole or part, without the written consent of the publishers.
Office Hours 8:00 AM-5:00 PM – Monday–Friday For appointments call: 605-967-2644 or 1-800-584-7668
May 1, 2013 • The Faith Independent •
Page 3
The Garden Gate
By Karen Englehart, Master Gardener, SDSU Extension - Perkins Co.
and unsettled
Spring, are you here yet?
This cold
weather has sure put a damper on gardening. We did get a little
May is Mental Health Month: Pathways to Wellness
Essential to leading full and productive lives
Pathways to Wellness – this year’s theme for May is Mental Health Month – calls attention to strategies and approaches that help all Americans achieve wellness and good mental and overall health. “Wellness is essential to living a full and productive life,” said Robert J. Kean, Executive Director of South Dakota Advocacy Services (SDAS).  “We may have different ideas about what wellness means, but it involves a set of skills and strategies prevent the onset or shorten the duration of illness and promote recovery and well-being. It’s about keeping healthy as well as getting healthy.” Dianna Marshall, Program Director for the SDAS Protection and Advocacy for Individuals with Mental Illness Program said “wellness is more than absence of disease. It involves complete general, mental and social wellbeing. And mental health is an essential component of overall health and well-being. The fact is our overall well-being is tied to the balance that exists between our emotional, physical, spiritual and mental health. “ Kean added everyone is at risk of stress given the demands it brings and the challenges at work and at home. But there are steps that maintain well-being and help everyone achieve wellness. These involve a balanced diet, regular exercise, enough sleep, a sense of self-worth, development of coping skills that promote resiliency, emotional awareness, and connections to family, friends and the community. He said these steps should be complemented by taking stock of one’s well-being through regular mental health checkups. “Just as we check our blood pressure and get cancer screenings, it’s a good idea to take periodic stock of our emotional well-being. One recent study said everyone should get their mental health checked as often as they get a physical, and many doctors routinely screen for mental health, which typically include a series of questions about lifestyle, eating and drinking habits and mental wellness. But a checkup doesn’t necessarily require a special trip to the doctor. There are also online screening tools you can use. While conditions like depression are common – roughly 1 in 5 Americans have a mental health condition – they are extremely treatable.” “Fully embracing the concept of wellness not only improves health in the mind, body and spirit, but also maximizes one’s potential to lead a full and productive life,” Marshall added. Using strategies that promote resiliency and strengthen mental health and prevent mental health and substance use conditions lead to improved general health and a healthier society: greater academic achievement by our children, a more productive economy, and families that stay together. “It’s why pathways to wellness are so important and why we need to spread the word” noted Kean. Governor Dennis Daugaard has signed a proclamation declaring May as Mental Health Awareness Month in South Dakota. 
moisture, emphasis on little, compared to the welcome moisture those South of us received, we are thankful for what came our way.  As the years go by, those of us that have been gardening for lots of years, find it harder  to garden comfortably. Seems back and joints complain a little more with each passing year. Even though the incentive of fresh garden produce all season and lovely flowers gracing our landscape is pulling us to garden, the guarantee of an aching back and stiff joints gives us pause.  If you are one of us, there are some things you can try. Plant those, every day, must have, fresh salad makings and herbs in containers to keep on your patio or deck for quick easy access. Herbs do well in pots as do salad greens, just keep them watered and be sure they get enough sunlight. Consider adding raised beds to your garden. Raised beds will do a lot to alleviate pain. If you make them about four feet wide you can
easily reach in from both sides for planting, weeding and harvesting.  If, because of location, you cannot reach in from both sides, make the bed narrower, say three feet wide so you can still reach all the way across the bed.  Build raised beds according to your individual needs.  You may want them higher than the standard 12 inches to really be of help in your situation.  This gardener has opted for 17 inch raised beds which certainly will need more material to fill them. With top soil a bit scarce, we are going to fill the bottom six to eight inches with old rotted straw before adding the soil. Eventually the straw will become an organic part of the soil. As the straw rots down we will add soil and compost to keep the soil level up in the beds, this will also enrich the soil for the next crop. We plan to connect two of the beds with a hoop for vining plants to climb, think cucumbers, poll beans, peas and such. A bit of an
experiment, but time will tell if our plan works. A five-gallon bucket tipped upside-down makes a convenient place to sit for those who have difficulty bending or kneeling in the garden. If back pain makes gardening difficult, there are also a variety of gardening seats available from catalogs that will make the garden more accessible. Some even have wheels to make it easier to scoot around while gardening and many have pockets or trays for keeping tools or a water bottle handy. If necessary, reduce the size of the garden to make it more manageable. A garden that requires too much work will soon become a chore. Gardening should be a pleasurable hobby, one that provides good therapy for both the body and the soul. If we had no winter, the spring would not be so pleasant; if we did not sometimes taste of adversity, prosperity would not be so welcome. ~ Anne Bradstreet
Bring in your prescriptions and have them filled locally
3 Easy Ways
1. Have your physician fax in your prescription to our pharmacy 2. Bring us your empty refill bottle 3. Call Vilas with your physician and prescription information
It’s That easy. Faith’s full-service pharmacy is here to serve you – PH: 605-967-2123
Please bring in your new insurance cards when you fill or transfer your prescription!
Vilas Pharmacy & Healthcare Store
PH: 967-2123, Faith, SD
Page 4 • May 1, 2013 • The Faith Independent
Marcus News
Yesterday we ran the air conditioner, today I turned up all the heaters in the house when I got up. Yes, our weather continues to be unpredictable. I saw Rod and Tracy Ingalls at the Palmer auction sale today looking at old Red Wing crocks. When I accused Rod of threatening the groundhog on Facebook and wanting to pickle him in a crock he denied it. He said he just wanted to bury the little gu,y not pickle him! I think many of us feel the same. We are seeing green grass in the road ditches and pastures but many of our pastures are so grazed down and full of cow pies not much grass is showing yet. We also did not get any major runoff in the draws, creeks, dams, etc. We are in need of some good soaking rains that go on for a few days till we complain of the mud. Hopefully God still has us in his sights. Thanks to those of you who responded to my question last week about the old City building. Cindy Escott emailed me saying there is a plaque on it that says WPA 1941 and lists the project number. George Afdahl also told me it was a WPA project. I called the gals at the city office too and they were very helpful. I had an email from Albert and Marie (Collins) DeKnikker. She told me the following things so I thought I’d share. “We just got home from a trip to northern Idaho and WA where we visited friends and family on both sides. We visited Albert’s aunts, Stella Linenko and Mary Short. They were from the Dowling Philip area years ago! Both are in assisted living complexes. Our grandson, Conner DeKnikker works for the Chevy garage in Chico,CA. He has designed web pages with lots of interesting information. The internet address where this can be found is: www.chevroletmucsle.com Many models are pictured as well as parts for sale. Conner is now in college and hopes to finish in less than four years. He made my computer when he was in seventh grade!  The funny part about this is that he is a Ford man!” Bev Hudson and Janice Arends went to Sturgis Friday evening to meet with their classmates working towards a September high school class reunion. Gene and Kim Secrest of Spearfish were Sunday dinner guests at Tucker Hudsons. Tina Hudson joined them to take a drive down to the Sioux Spiritual Center where they enjoyed a tour and visit with Father Pete and Father Ron. Tucker and Bev Hudson were in Sturgis on Wednesday doing business. I accompanied Lacey, Quirt and Rio Wondercheck to Rapid City Friday. They were attending a workshop put on by the South Dakota School for the Deaf. It took place at the Game Fish and Parks Campus West. Quirt and Rio also took part in a ChIP event put on by the Mason’s. ChIP stands for Child Identification Program. It is a charitable initiative by South Dakota Masonic Lodges to aid in the identification and recovery of missing children. According to the National Center for Missing and Exploited Children, on average in the United States, a child is reported missing every 43 seconds.  The SD-ChIP program is supported monetarily by the Masons and Lodges of South Dakota and from donations made to the South Dakota Masonic Foundation, and are staffed by volunteers from the local lodges as well as by law enforcement and dental professionals. The SD-ChIP program allows parents the opportunity to create a kit of identifying materials for their child, free of charge.  The kit contains a fingerprint card, a physical description, a picture and video DVD of the child, a dental imprint, and a DNA sample. The purpose of the kit is to provide critical information to the public and to law enforcement in the event that a child goes missing. Thank you to all our area Masons. The GFP Campus West is located in the Robbinsdale and St. Martins Academy area of Rapid City on the west side of the highway. My memory keeps trying to think what this area used to be and I can’t get it but it seems like weddings were once held there? I’m not sure. The address is 4130 Adventure Trail. The phone number is 605-394-2310. I just want to make families and teachers aware of this area. It is free and
By Vicky Waterland
open to the public. It has interactive displays that can be touched. There are mounted animals, animal skins and informational displays. Quirt about wore this ole grandma out going to all the displays where he could crawl through something or climb on the rocks. I didn’t let anyone help him find the outdoor hiking trails, my feet hurt the way it was. He had started the day there fishing and was the first little kid to catch a fish! He loved the place and so did I! As I said earlier, Harold and I attended the auction sale at Gary and Bambi Palmers Sunday. The collection of items was amazing. As we looked at the items, I thought of the number of years this collection encompassed. Many of these things had been there for decades, collecting dust and holding memories. Some were old items that had located there in recent years. All the items hold an aura of the area. As we often say, “If these things could talk … “The area folks were there too, adding a touch of support and help for Bambi and Gary. A farm sale is another coming together of the community people who reminisce to others and themselves about the times and the people on this place. Today I heard ole Ray Cooper stories being told here and there around the yard. It is always sad to see a place and a family pass from the community scene. If the place has been sold to a person who will be involved in the community or a young family with children who will improve and enrich our areas then it is easier to bear. Too often today the rich people from Timbuktu are buying land here and not doing anything to fit into or enrich the area. South of us on the Cheyenne River the place sold and the people built a big new house, ordered all the furniture shipped in from who knows where and are never seen in our local stores. Yup, Damn good for the community, aren’t they? We have a new house along one of our area roads. It has been there 2 or 3 years and no one has been able to tell me the names of the folks who own it and maybe live there a few days a year. Now I think that’s scary and sad at the same time. Fortunately, that’s not the case here, they know the person. We wish the best for the new owner and for Bambi and Gary as they enter a new section of their lives. Harold and I enjoyed the day and I spent money on items I probably didn’t need but was still glad to get. We drove on north and across so that we came south past Reid Palmer’s to the Opal Road and on south to home. Every time I see the Opal Hall in daylight it seems to have shrunk. I know it was larger when I was a teen!
Faith News
We had a few snow flurries last Wednesday morning, but mostly wind. Thursday was a nice spring day with temperatures reaching the high 60s, about 20 degrees warmer than the day before! We had 70s Friday and Saturday, and a little cooler Sunday. It was nice to have a little warm weather, although the moisture is wonderful! Dave and Eldora Fischbach went to Rapid City last Tuesday. Their daughter Susan flew in from Indiana to spend a few days. They all went to Watertown for the weekend to attend the First Communion for Nathan and Anita’s daughter, Taryn. They had a great time visiting. They returned home Monday, and back to Rapid City this week. Susan has become quite a quilter now, like her mother, so she and Eldora kept busy with some projects. I got an email to share from Craig Ness. Michon and Monique Ness returned to Denver a few weeks ago after a ten day visit with Craig and Becky. Michon’s boyfriend, Nick Guillen accompanied them. Last week Michon had a successful cornea replacement operation at a clinic in Denver. She is recovering on schedule with better sight. Craig and Becky are looking forward to being back in Faith country in mid June, and hope it warms up by then. I had a little visit with Marge Hoffman on the phone Monday. She said her granddaughter Bobbie Galinat flew in from Washington last week and spent a few days with her. Her flight out was delayed a day because of the weather. Michele Hulm, Regent, and Grace Chamness attended the Catholic Daughters of the Americas state meeting in Brookings April 19-20th. Michele McCain accompanied the ladies. Snow greeted them in Brookings, and again as they returned to Faith. After spending time attending to a variety of projects; electing new state officers, determining which charities to donate to, etc., it was time to relax. An evening of entertainment was enjoyed by all. Choral music by a group of SDSU students was outstanding. A talk by V.J. Smith was both inspirational and hu-
By Loretta Passolt
morous. The Faith Catholic Daughters of the Americas Court #2635 Blessed Kateri Tekakwitha received two state awards for their charity work with United Blood Services. Cindy Escott and I accompanied Diane Isaacs to Eagle Butte last Friday afternoon. Of course, we all enjoyed a treat at DQ! It was a nice day to get out of town for a change. Speaking of treats, it’s almost time for Linda’s Drive In to open. She will be opening this weekend. Faith School students only have a little over two weeks of school, and they will be busy with all those final activities, spring concert, field day, etc.! Congratulations to Paige Brink, Ashley Drum, David Ruth, Maddy Vance and Drew Vance for placing 2nd at the KBJM Quiz Bowl at Lemmon on April 19th. Track kids finally got to compete in a meet last week, the first one in about three weeks!! Jr high competed in Lemmon on Friday. The high school competed in Sturgis on Saturday and at Kadoka this past Monday. They also have a meet scheduled for Lemmon this Saturday. The Rapid City Qualifier is next Tuesday, along with the Sioux Relays at Eagle Butte. They are running out of time to qualify for the state meet, so hopefully the weather cooperates from here on out. Teacher Appreciation is next week. Let your teachers or children’s teachers know you appreciate all they do. Congratulations to Harland Groves, Sydnie Schauer, and Natalie Veit for their 1st, 2nd and 3rd places in the Arbor Day essay/poem contest sponsored by the Tri-County Conservation District. Each fifth grader also gets a tree to plant at home. The fifth graders planted an oak tree on the school grounds on Arbor Day. The class received the tree from POET for participating in the South Dakota Road Trip. Congratulations to Hugh Groves for winning the State Civic Oration Contest held in Oakoma last Friday! He’ll be making a CD to submit for the national orations. That’s quite an accomplishment!
Birth Announcement
G.B. (Galal Baloun) and Courtney Jean McFarland Fischbach of rural Newell are the thankful parents of a baby girl named Adeline Jean born April 27, 2013 in Rapid City. She joins her brother, Tucker James, who was two on April 16th. Maternal grandparents are Kenny and Kelli Jean McFarland of rural Newell and great granparents are Russ and the late Norma Jean Carver, Spearfish and Gregor and Ardyth McFarland, rural Piedmont. Paternal grandparents are Noel and Julie Baloun Fischbach, rural Faith. Great grandparents Melvin and LaVonne Baloun, northern Hyde County and Andrew and Yvette Fischbach are deceased. What a blessing God has given!
May 1, 2013 • The Faith Independent •
Page 5
May 1st & May 8th, the landfill will be open from 5 PM to 8 PM and then the rest of the summer the Wednesday hours will be 5 PM to 7 PM
Opal News
By Kay Ingalls
What a busy time of the year for cattlemen and women!  When the calving is done or near done, time to brand and work cattle and prepare heifers for breeding season, bulls to test and buy. Waiting  on the green grass, that is extremely thirsty yet, to grow enough to quit feeding hay and get the stock located for summer. Monday was working cattle day at the JT Vig ranch and at Merle Vig's with dinner at Dwayne and Zona's consisting of Merle and Morgan Vig, Matt Taton and Dr. Stangle being the extra diners. Carmen Heidler went to Rapid City on Tuesday for an appointment and on Thursday she went to Faith for fun. Part of the day was spent getting Dorothy Heidler out of the house, seeing other Heidler girls and visiting with Charmagne Lightfield. Glenn, Margaret and Dan Fogelman went into Faith on Wednesday on business. Dan was one of the many neighbors that took in the sale of Gary and Bambi Palmer on Sunday. Howard and I picked up processed beef from Union Center on Thursday and took into Sturgis to my brother Wayne and Joyce Simons. Then on to Rapid City for appointments, repairs, shopping and to pick up my new refrigerator. Dale Ingalls called at our house that evening for awhile. Dale and Marie Ingalls left early Friday morning to attend a wedding in Sioux Falls. Cheyenne Winkler and children returned a buck sheep they had borrowed from Kelsey Vig. They helped with the branding at JT's and then the four younger children went home with Grandma Z to spend the night. Cherokee and mom Cheyenne was going to Ft. Pierre the next day for Cherokee to participate in the State Archery Shooting. Friday on their way home they stopped and picked up the rest of the kids before going on home near Newell. OJ Heidler helped with branding at JT Vigs on Thursday and for Judd Schomp on Friday. Lynn Martin came to the home of Howard and I to install different garage doors for us. No more green doors after 40 some years. Saturday was branding day here with the Ingalls crew of Rod, Jason, Justin, Robert, JoAnna, Timmy and Howard and helper Shelby Cammack in the corral. Tracy helped me with the cooking, then the job of the refrigerator swap took place in the afternoon. Small job, which is an understatement, started with taking the refrig out of the kitchen. New refrig wouldn't come in the door so off came the house doors. Of course, I wanted that refrig to go to the basement to replace an older growly one that was there. Old one went out fine, upstairs one wouldn't go through the basement divider doors so off they came. Old growly still sits outside on the cement pad reminding me of all the trouble that they went through. Warm carmel rolls softened the pain that afternoon. One consulation is that at my age it won't happen again as I hope this is my last refrigerator replacement. Saturday, the Paul Winkler family hosted a birthday party for son Wyatt's 10th birthday at the Elks Theatre. Zona Vig enjoyed the movie part and then did some shopping. Howard and I went to Sturgis for the Simons Sibling Sunday hosted by Clara Beth Peterson at the Carpenter home.  All seven of us were in attentance with Mitt and Guyla Ness as guests, and of course Larry and Nancy.  A couple of the in-laws didn't make it. Next month will be hosted by Rosalie and Vern as it will be also a celebration for Vern's 86 birthday.  Howard and I visited later
that afternoon with Chuck and Ula Fowlkes before coming on home. Last week in my news I forgot to include that Mike and Lisle Reeve had spent Sunday after church, on the 21st, having din-
ner in Rapid City to celebrate Lisle's birthday. They were joined by Alan, Marjorie and Aaron Hartwell. Both Lisle and Ermal Reeve celebrated birthdays that week.  Happy Belated Birthday, fellows.
Legal Advertising
Friday noon before Wed. publication The Faith Independent
Page 6 • May 1, 2013 • The Faith Independent
Central Meade County News
By Sandy Rhoden
Spring-like weather finally introduced itself to Central Meade County last week, which made for some great outdoor activities. The Union Center JH track team attended the meet in Douglas on Friday. Finishing in first place for Union Center was the 4 x 100 meter relay consisting of Katie Shaw, Brittany Grubl, Talina Spring, and Ashlyn Simons. A first place finisher in 7th girls shot put was Katie Shaw, throwing 28 feet, while Talina Spring captured 4th place with a throw of 21' 1". Ashlyn Simons brought home a second place in high jump and a third in the 100m dash, while Danny Reinhold high jumped to earn 3rd place. There were three heats of relay teams. While they didn't place over-all, the boys 7th grade relay team came in second in their heat which consisted of Jade Graham, Jared Simons, Rowdy Thompson, and Danny Reinhold. Over all the team did well at their second meet of the season. The Faith track team attended the Sturgis Classic on Saturday which was another beautiful day. Caden Smiley achieved a personal best in high jump by jumping 5' 11" and had previously qualified for State. Both Union Center JH and Faith School had plans to attend a track meet at Kadoka on Monday, April 29. Sue Labrier headed to Colorado on Sunday to spend time with her daughter, Cammie Freed, and family for a week. There will be a time of prayer and praise at the Community Baptist Church of Union Center. Tammy (Smith) Langner, daughter of Jack and Edna Smith of Union Center recently received word she passed the "bar" exam and is now a full-fledged lawyer. Tammy was born while Jack managed the Farmers Union Oil Co. at Union Center and she attended school here until 4th grade.   She graduate from Milaca High School and received her BS degree in Criminal Justice from St. Cloud University. She graduated from Hamline School of Law in St. Paul, MN May 20, 2012, taking the bar exam on Feb. 27th and 28th. 
Local Girl Scouts receive awards
Girls Scouts ... Penny Welter, Allison Haines and Bonnie Lutz pictured with leader Angela Ostrander, received awards at the Southwest Area Girl Scouts Dakota Horizons Annual Awards Ceremony on Saturday, April 13 at the Arrowhead Country Club in Rapid City. Courtesy photo
Penny Welter, Allison Haines and Bonnie Lutz received awards at the Southwest Area Girl Scouts Dakota Horizons Annual Awards Ceremony on Saturday, April 13 at the Arrowhead Country Club in Rapid City.  Cadette Girl Scout Penny Welter received the Silver Award for her Girl Scout project – Our Highway 212 Park Project.  The award is among the three awards that Girl Scouts can work towards at different levels – Bronze, Silver and Gold.  Penny worked with her local Cadette/Senior Troop and asked the Faith Daisy/Brownie/Junior (sister troop) to join her in the park project.  To apply for the award, Penny needed to have worked over 150 hours and collaborated
with the community.  Modern Woodmen, City of Faith and Horizon II donated funds, space and time to make the project happen. Penny was among seven other girl scouts in the region that won the prestigious award.  Junior Girl Scout Allison Haines was honored for being one of ten girls in the southwest area as a Top Seller for the 2012 Fall Sales. Senior Girl Scout Bonnie Lutz has been in Girl Scouts for the past ten years. She has participated in many community events with her troop: raking leaves for the elderly, making and delivering Holiday gifts, Minneapolis 100th GS Birthday Mall of America trip, planting flowers and trees in the community, cookie booths and much more. Congratulations to these girls and all the Girl Scouts in our community – we know that you are gaining the skills to be great leaders!  April 21-26 was Girl Scout VolAppreciation Week. unteer Thanks to leaders Venessa Pulver and Angela Ostrander for volunteering to make our girls great leaders in our local Girl Scout troops! It’s a great time for girls to become a Girl Scout – if you are a girl between ages 8 -18 and would like to join, we meet at the Faith Library. 
Linda’s Drive In
Hwy 212, Faith, SD
Opening May 4th
Stop by for lunch or have an ice cream treat! M & D Food Shop On The Corner of Hwy. 212 & Main St. Faith, SD PH: 967-2139 FAITH SCHOOL Education is Our #1 Goal 967-2152
Dr. of Chiropractic Alternative Healthcare Clinic
Brandace Dietterle
In the former IMAGINE & MORE Every Monday Prairie Oasis Mall
Faith, SD – PH: 605-415-5935
May 1, 2013 • The Faith Independent •
Page 7
Jr. High place at Lemmon Meet
The Faith Jr. High track team traveled to Lemmon on Friday, April 26th to participate in the Lemmon Jr. High Track Meet. 7th Grade Girls Mikenzy Miller, 3rd-800 Meter Run 2:58.7; Tristen Delbridge, 3rd-High Jump 4’; Brooke Lemmel, 6th-High Jump 3’10”; Kiara Kirkley, 7th-High Jump 3’8”; Mikenzy Miller, 8th-High Jump 3’; Brooke Lemmel, 1st-Pole Vault 6’; Lenae Haines, 2nd-Pole Vault, 5’6”; Jaden Shoemaker, 3rd-Pole
Longhorns compete in Sturgis Classic
The Faith Longhorns track team faced some tough competition on Saturday, April 27th at the Sturgis Classic. Temperatures were almost ideal for a meet. Placing for the boys: High Jump – Caden Smiley 3rd 5’11” 4x100 – 8th 48.50 – Caden Smiley, Chaney Keffeler, Shane Lutz, Will Lutz 4x400 – 7th  3:49.89 – Chaney Keffler, Rio Hulm, Wyatt Lutz, Shane Lutz Placing for the girls: 4x100 – 6th 55.96 – Bally Enright, Teagen Engel, Karli Kilby, Brandi Enright The Longhorns will be traveling to Lemmon this Saturday and to the Rapid City Qualifier next Tuesday.
Vault 5’; Jaden Shoemaker, 5thLong Jump 10’ 7.75” 8th Grade Girls Brooklyn Schauer, 5th-400 Meter Dash 1:14.64; 4x100 Meter Relay - Mackenzie Miller, Keyaira Kirkley, Jaden Shoemaker, Tristen Delbridge, 5th 1:04.11; 4x200 Meter Relay Brooke Lemmel, Brooklyn Schauer, Tristen Delbridge, Jaden Shoemaker, 4th 2:12.88; 4x400 Meter Relay - Brooklyn Schauer, Brooke
Lemmel,  Mackenzie Miller,  Tristen Delbridge, 4th 5:17.73; Brooklyn Schauer, 2nd-High Jump 3’10” 7th Grade Boys Mark Smith, 4th-200 Meter Dash 29.29; Brock Vance, 3rd-200 Meter Hurdles 35.46; Brock Vance, 1st-Pole Vault 7’; Duce Escott, 2nd-Pole Vault 5’6”; James Ulrich, 4th-Pole Vault 5’6”; Sam Gropper, 8th-Shot Put 22’11.25”; Brock Vance, 5th-Discus Throw 88’4”
8th Grade Boys Cole Trainor, 3rd-100 Meter Dash 13.85; 4x100 Meter Relay Cole Trainor, Mark Smith, Will Lutz, Bailly Dueter, 1st 55.02; 4x200 Meter Relay - Will Lutz, Duce Escott, James Ulrich, Bailly Dueter1st 1:53.41; Cole Trainor, 2nd-Pole Vault 9’; Will Lutz, 3rdPole Vault, 6’6”; Bailly Dueter, 4th-Pole Vault, 5’6” The jr. high have a meet this Friday at Mobridge, and Eagle Butte next Tuesday.
Senior Focus
Best of Luck 2012 - 2013 SENIORS
Skyler Welter
Skyler Welter is the 18 year old son of Dennis and Noma Welter. Maternal grandparents are Mary Ann Palmer and the late Glen Palmer. Skyler’s work experience includes working on the ranch. Some of Skyler’s activities include: Working with his hands on something that needs to be fixed. Most Memorable Moment: All the jokes told at football practice. His favorites are: Colors: Green, black; Song: “Way Out Here”; Josh Thompson; Group or Singer: Jason Aldean; Movie: “That’s My Boy”, favorite TV series “Moonshiners”; Car: ‘67 GTO; Extra-Curricular Activities: Football, track; Hobbies: Hunting, fishing, welding, mechanicing; Subject: Science; Teacher: Mr. Weisler, Mr. Ludeman and Mr. Linderman. Best thing about Faith High School: It was fresh air in between classes but now it probably would have to be the nice air and heating system His accomplishments include: Haven’t failed a class and is graduating. Future plans include: Skyler plans on going to a vo-tech school for diesel tech and probably coming back to the family ranch later.
4-H Club News
212 Guys & Gals The meeting was called to order by President Brooklyn Hanson on April 25, 2013 in Mrs. Hanson’s fourth grade room. Sierra Price led the 4-H Pledge and Shianne Price led the Pledge of Allegiance. Members present were Jami Derflinger, Matthew Gray, Harland Groves, Hugh Groves, Kailyn Groves, Kaycee Groves, Brooklyn Hanson, Sidney Hanson, Sierra Price, Shianne Price, Jess Harper and Drew Harper. Twelve of the 16 members were present. The minutes were read by Acting Secretary Kailyn Groves. Sidney Hanson moved to accept the minutes and Shianne Price seconded it. Motion carried. The treasurer’s report was given. Jami Derflinger moved to accept the treasurer’s report and Sierra seconded it. Motion carried. Correspondence was read from Dorothy Heidler who thanked us for the Bountiful Basket that she received from 212 Guys and Gals. Many commented that the many Bountiful Baskets that we gave to people for Community Service were very well received. Discussion was held about repainting the road signs. That project is still in the planning stages. The group participated in the Horse Training Program that is required for 4-H members entered in the Horse Project. Safe Rope Handling, Checking Tack for Repair, and Cuts and Abrasions were completed by the members present. All members were encouraged to enter the Horse Show this year because it is possible that it will be held in Faith. Sidney Hanson moved and Shianne Price seconded it that we clean up and mow the Ben Ash Monument Cemetery. Motion carried. Our next meeting will be when we help clean up the Faith Rodeo Grounds. Shianne Price moved to adjourn and Jami Derflinger seconded it. Motion carried. The following demonstrations were given: Sierra Price, Tips on Pole Bending; Kaycee Groves, How to Make Molasses Cookies; Hugh Groves, Civic Oration speech on Someone Who Has Overcome; Harland Groves, How to Make Lemon Bread. Snacks were shared. Acting Secretary, Kailyn Groves
Skyler Welter
Cody Bernstein
Cody Bernstein is the 18 year old son of Tim and Jackie Bernstein. Maternal grandparents are Iris Day and the late Bud Day. Paternal grandparents are Pat Bernstein and the late Duane Bernstein. Cody’s work experience includes working at Schauer Angus and helping his dad. Some of Cody’s activities include: Hunting, fishing, roping and working. Most Memorable Moment: All the bus trips over the years and State Basketball freshman year. His favorites are: Color: Green; Song: “Barefoot Blue Jean Night”; Group or Singer: Florida Georgia Line; Movies: “21 Jump Street” or “Division III Football’s Finest”; Car: 1969 Chevy Camaro; Extra-Curricular Activities: Football, basketball and rodeo; Hobbies: Hunting, fishing and hanging out with friends; Subject: Government; Teacher: Mrs. Fischbach. Best thing about Faith High School: You know everyone and everyone is always there to help with anything. The teachers actually care about every student. His accomplishments include: Making it to 20X Rodeo junior and senior years All Conference in football, State Rodeo last 3 years and National Honor Society. Future plans include: Cody plans on attending Mitchell Tech and going into Agricultural Technology.
Cody Bernstein
Ropes and Goats to begin June 4
The third season of Ropes and Goats will begin on June 4, 2013 at the Faith fairgrounds. Young and old are welcome to enter the breakaway roping and/or goat tying; basically the 4-H age groups are used. Boys and girls ten and under are encouraged to enter the Goat Ribbon Snatching. Each age group gets three head and money is paid on the fastest time on three head. New this year is that a Ropes and Goats t-shirt will be awarded tp the high money winner each evening (thanks in part to Keffeler Kreations). The goats are darling and well broke to tie. Starting time is 5:30 p.m. with the Bible verse of the day. The Bible verses to memorize this year are short and easy so everyone is encouraged to put their name in the hat for a chance to win a $5 bill. All the details can be found on Ropes and Goats on Facebook or contact Karen Miller.
FIRST NATIONAL BANK
PHILIP, SD 605-859-2525 • FAITH, SD • 605-967-2191
Member FDIC
New Hours: Monday: 9:00 AM–5:00 PM Tues.–Fri.: 9:00 AM–3:30 PM
Page 8 • May 1, 2013 • The Faith Independent
Sequester scare tactics
By Rep. Kristi Noem
Every day, I feel blessed to serve the people of South Dakota in the U.S. House of Representatives. In the time I have been in office, I have had the honor of meeting hundreds of members of our nation’s armed forces. South Dakota is home to a strong and reliable National Guard, as well as one of our nation’s finest military bases – Ellsworth Air Force Base. I believe we have a responsibility and a duty to ensure that our men and women are fully prepared and equipped for their military missions, which is why I’m concerned with the Obama administration’s recent decision to ground the B-1 bombers at Ellsworth until October 1st. The B-1 has been the workhorse of operations in Afghanistan for the past decade. These bombers, and pilots who fly them, are versatile and provide the range necessary for our military’s missions. In fact, during 2011, B1s from Ellsworth were flying half way around the world in less than two days to carry out missions in Libya. The thought of reducing the flying hours and not providing our pilots the cockpit time they need concerns me – and I’m afraid we could lose that level of readiness that enabled Ellsworth to deploy and strike in such a short amount of time. Earlier this week, I was able to question the Air Force directly about this decision. While I understand the situation they are facing because of recent “sequestration” budget cuts, I am concerned that we are depriving our airmen of the training they need in order to respond quickly. It’s important, even in light of budget cuts, that we maintain a level of readiness that our military missions require.   Once again, the Administration has chosen to put politics before people. Canceling White House tours for the American public is one thing, but potentially jeopardizing our military’s
readiness is a whole new ball game. We’ve taken action in the House. I have voted for and supported multiple efforts to replace the sequester with targeted and responsible spending reductions – without raising taxes. Defense spending is only 20 percent of our nation’s spending, yet 50 percent of the spending cuts in the sequester went towards defense. This just doesn’t add up. For example, I support policies that encourage Washington to lead by example. It was recently announced that the House of Representatives is on track to save taxpayers nearly $400 million because of cuts we have implemented to trim House operating budgets. In my office, we’ve cut our budget by nearly 20 percent since 2011. Difficult decisions needed to be made because of these smaller budgets, but the House of Representatives is still operating and serving people, while saving taxpayers nearly half a billion dollars. The men and women of our nation’s armed forces deserve better
– and so does South Dakota. I remain committed to supporting policies that put our nation back on the right track. I hope that you’ll reach out to my office to let me know your thoughts. Contact information for my offices is listed
below: Sioux Falls 605-275-2868 Watertown 605-878-2868 Aberdeen 605-262-2862 Rapid City 605-791-4673 Washington, DC 202-225-2801 Toll Free 1-855-225-2801
Grand River Roundup
By Betty Olson
We certainly had a variety of weather this week. I drove to Pierre last Monday for an Executive Board meeting and the snow covered roads made for some interesting driving. I only had one trip home from Pierre all winter that was worse than on Monday, and according to the calendar, this is supposed to be spring! Spring finally arrived on Tuesday and all the snow was gone for my drive home that evening. Wednesday was typical spring weather – a snow squall followed just minutes later by the sun shining through the clouds and the two scenarios repeated most of the day. The only thing consistent was the wind. After two days of spring, summer and 70 degree temperatures arrived on Thursday with the mercury climbing to 80 degrees by Saturday. Warmer weather sure makes lambing and calving easier. Reub has the farming machinery fired up and is planning to plant some oats and barley for feed. I wasn’t going to plant a garden this year, but the beautiful weather caused me to get bitten by the garden bug again and now I’ve got a bad case of gardening fever. Casey put the tiller on the tractor for me and Reub tilled up my big garden so it’s ready to plant. The rhubarb, horseradish, and winter onions are poking through the ground and my mountain rockets, hollyhocks, tulips, and irises are coming up. The trees are starting to leaf out and it looks like my apricot trees, chokecherry bushes, currant bushes, and plum trees all survived the winter. Hopefully we get some moisture so all this stuff can grow! The Harding County FFA awards night was Thursday evening and I went in to watch and eat some of great desserts they served us. I visited with Lori Jenkins at the awards night and she told me that her father, Leonard Nygaard, is back in the hospital in Rapid City with blood clots in his legs. Jess Marty is no longer in Rapid City; he has been transferred to the hospital in Sturgis. The doctors are still doing tests to find out what might be causing all his problems after his four-wheeler wreck. Little Joey Wickstorm had successful heart surgery this week, Gert Kooiman is out of the hospital and home at the Heier’s again, and Ryan Honeyman was taken to the burn unit at a hospital in Minneapolis after an anhydrous accident. Please keep all these folks in your prayers. Lori Jenkins also told me they hear a lot of coyotes up in her neighborhood and one of the neighbors has seen a wolf. Casey went out early Saturday morning and killed two coyotes, both dry females. Casey’s total of dead predators for this month is seven coyotes and a fox. Speaking of predators, our sole surviving chicken has disappeared. She vanished in the middle of this week. We now have two chicken coops sitting completely empty. Dang coons anyway! Raccoons are now on my official hit list. The bridal shower for Ida Schmidt in Bison Saturday morning was well attended and she got some really nice stuff. Pastor Henry Mohagen will marry Ida and Eric Sander at Ida’s home town in Colby, Kansas on May 25th. Pastor Henry married Margaretta (Smith) Ladson and Keith Hanson Saturday afternoon at Slim Buttes Lutheran Church. Congratulations and best wishes to both couples! Reub and I went to Dickinson Sunday to meet our newest granddaughter, Ellarie Mae Olson and I gotta tell you, she is a keeper! I told Ellarie’s 3-yearold sister Acalia that her new little sister looks like she did at that age and Acalia told me that that’s because Ellarie was in Mommy’s tummy all day. Smart kid! Scout Casteel, infant daughter of Keri (Johnson) and Ryan Casteel, was baptized at Slim Buttes Lutheran Sunday morning. The church was packed. All four of Laura and Bill Johnson’s kids and all their grandkids were there, along with a whole lot of Johnson and Casteel relatives and friends. Congratulations to this wonderful family! On that happy note, I’ll leave you with these “puns for educated minds”: 1. The roundest knight at King Arthur's round table was Sir Cumference. He acquired his size Continued on Page 9
May 1, 2013 • The Faith Independent •
Page 9
Grand River Roundup
from eating too much pi. 2. I thought I saw an eye doctor on an Alaskan island, but it turned out to be an optical Aleutian. 3. She was only a whiskey maker, but he loved her still. 4. A rubber band pistol was confiscated from algebra class, because it was a weapon of math disruption. 5. No matter how much you push the envelope, it'll still be stationery. 6. A dog gave birth to puppies near the road and was cited for littering. 7. A grenade thrown into a kitchen in France would result in Linoleum Blownapart. 8. Two silk worms had a race. They ended up in a tie. 9. A hole has been found in the nudist camp wall. The police are looking into it. 10. Atheism is a non-prophet
Continued from Page 8
organization. 11. Two hats were hanging on a hat rack in the hallway. One hat said to the other: 'You stay here; I'll go on a head.' 12. I wondered why the baseball kept getting bigger. Then it hit me. 13. A sign on the lawn at a drug rehab center said: 'Keep off the Grass.' 14. The short fortune-teller who escaped from prison was a small medium at large. 15. The man who survived mustard gas and pepper spray is now a seasoned veteran. 16. A backward poet writes inverse. 17. In a democracy it's your vote that counts. In feudalism it's your count that votes. 18. When cannibals ate a missionary, they got a taste of religion. I can hear the groans now....
USDA/Farm Service Agency News
The Dewey, Meade & Ziebach County FSA offices would like to keep you informed of the following items important to USDA programs. If you have any questions please contact the Dewey County office at 865-3522 ext 2, Meade County at 347-4952 ext 2, or Ziebach County at 365-5179 ext 2. IMPORTANT DATES TO REMEMBER: MAY 20 – CRP Sign-up begins JUNE 3 – Last day to sign up for ACRE JUNE 14 – CRP Sign-up ends AUGUST 2 – Last day to sign up for DCP 2013 Prevented Planting and Failed Acres Planting season is well under way and we would like to remind producers that if they are prevented from planting a crop by the final plant date, you must report it to the FSA Office within 15 days after the final planting date and also complete a CCC-576, Notice of Loss. Final plant dates for Wheat, Barley & Oats; for grain was May 15, Corn Grain May 25, Corn Silage May 31, 2013 Failed acres must be reported to the FSA Office before disposition of the crop, unless the crop is insured, then it must be reported by July 15, 2013 and a copy of the crop insurance loss provided to the office. ACRE Signup ends June 3 FSA offices would like to reminded producers that the 2013 deadline to enroll in ACRE program for 2013 crops will end on June 3, 2013.
We encourage all producers interested in ACRE to visit the service center where their farm is administered and sign up before the busy planting season gets underway. Enrollments cannot be accepted after the deadline, so enrolling early may help producers avoid missing the deadline during one of the most demanding times of the year. The program is unchanged from 2012 except that all eligible participants may enroll for the 2013 crop either in ACRE or DCP. We also want to remind producers enrolled in the 2012 ACRE must provide production evidence for crops in the 2012 ACRE program this deadline is July 15, 2013, but we encourage you to bring it in before so we don’t forget. If production is not provided your contract will not be in compliance and payments will need to be refunded. Before everyone gets super busy, now would be a great time to get the production together.
Page 10 • May 1, 2013 • The Faith Independent
Faith Livestock Commission Co. (605) 967-2200
A beautiful day for a sale here on Monday, April 29, with a nice run of both cattle and sheep. Market was steady to higher on grass cattle and replacement heifers with the cow and bull market lower.. Thank you for your business. Sunrise Angus 30 ......................Angus heifers BV 15 ......................Angus heifers BV 44 ......................Angus heifers BV Ken Carlson 77 .............1st x & Hereford steers 35 .............1st x & Hereford steers Marty Ranch 54 ...............1st x baldy heifers BV 45 ..................Hereford heifers BV 33................baldy & Hereford hfrs Dwight Kolb 10............................Angus heifers Bob Orwick 9 ........................blk & bldy heifers Myron Weiss 2 ................................Angus cows 1 ..................................Angus cow
REPRESENTATIVE SALES
774 .......$1160.00 $150/cwt 789 .......$1125.00 $142.50/cwt 780 .......$1050.00 $134.50/cwt 833 ............$130.60 691 .............$134.50 615 .............$145.25 546 .............$142.75 469 .............$150.25 587 .............$141.75 582 .............$141.00 1228 .............$81.00 1300 .............$77.50
consignment of 10 ..........................blk & red cows 6 ............................blk & red cows Ryan Cammack 1 ..................................Angus cow Gary Cammack 1 ..................................Angus cow Larry Grueb 1 ..................................Angus cow Paul Delbridge 5 ...........................blk & bldy cows Ed Miller 2 .....................................red cows 1 .......................................red cow Ingalls & Sons 4 ................................Angus cows 2 ................................Angus cows Reder Ranch 3 ..................................baldy cows Schmaltz Bros 1 ..............................Charolais bull Gary Price 1........................................blk cow Travis Engright 2 ......................................blk cows Jeff Stradinger 98...................wf ewe lambs (exp)
1608 .............$75.00 1426 .............$75.75 1620 .............$73.25 1700 .............$72.00 1555 .............$73.50 1202 .............$81.75 1348 .............$73.75 1610 .............$75.00 1598 .............$74.75 1430 .............$74.00 1458 .............$75.25 2305 ...........$104.00 1530 .............$78.50 1318 .............$78.50 123 ...............$97.50
NEXT SALE: MONDAY, MAY 6TH
Special Cow/Calf Pair, Relacement Heifer and Grass Cattle Sale
Sale Time: 10 AM
Expecting 1000-1500 cattle and 200-300 pairs
Wilken Angus BULL SALE 1 PM
70 yearling Angus bulls 55 2-yr-old Angus bulls & 50 Angus heifers BV
Consignments: Pairs Davis Ranch – 45 Angus heifers (Fancy) 1000# w/Angus calves at side (March) Storm Inc – 20 Angus heifers (Fancy) 1000# w/Angus calves at side (March) Consignments: Replacement heifers Gene Escott Est – 20 Angus heifers HR BV 700# – Wilken – 50 Angus heifers BV 700# Besler – 120 blk & Red Angus heifers HR BV 650-700# Hofland – 50 Red Angus heifers HR BV 700# – Storm Inc – 20 Angus heifers HR BV 750# Laurenz – 50 1st x & Angus heifers HR BV 700# – K Escott – 35 1st x baldy heifers HR BV 675# McTighe – 60 1st & Hereford heifers HR BV 600# Stadheim – 30 1st x baldy heifers HR BV 650# Consignments: Grass & Feeder Cattle Smith – 330 blk & bldy heifers (green) 650-700# Maher – 50 blk & bldy heifers (green) HR 550-600# Flintrock – 150 blk & bldy steers (green) 750# More cow/calf pair, replacement heifers & grass cattle expected by sale time.
Upcoming Sales:
Monday, May 13: Special cow/calf pair & replacement heifer sale
Cheyenne Charolais Bull Sale-1:00 pm offering 30 yearling bulls
Monday, May 20: Special cow/calf pair & feeder cattle sale
GM Angus Bull Sale at 1:00 pm offering 20 yearling bulls
We appreciate your business. Give us a call at 605-967-2200 or www.faithlivestock.com if you have livestock to sell. We would be glad to visit with you. Gary Vance – (605) 967-2162 OR Scott Vance – (605) 739-5501 OR CELL: 484-7127 OR Max Loughlin – (605) 244-5990 OR 1-605-645-2583 (cell) OR Glen King 1-605-390-3264 (cell)
LEGALS Legal Newspaper for the City of Faith • Faith School District 46-2 • Meade County • NWAS Proceedings of the Common Council City of Fath, SD
The Common Council for the City of Faith, South Dakota met in special session on April 23, 2013 at 6:30 P.M. in the Community Room of the Community Center. Mayor Haines called the meeting to order, Brown called roll call, and Mayor Haines led the Pledge of Allegiance. Council members present: Riley, Inghram, Spencer and Hellekson. Council members absent: Lightfield. Others in attendance were: Loretta Passolt, Sandy Rasmussen and Debbie Brown. Canvass Election Results: Council reviewed the April 16, 2013 election results: 197 Voters Councilmember – Mayor – Two Year Term: Peggy Riley – 79 Votes Glen Haines – 118 Votes Councilmember – Ward Three – Two Year Term: Jenni Fisher – 27 Votes Barbara Berndt – 38 Votes Gerald Trainor – 13 Votes Councilmember – Ward One – Two Year Term: Amy Huber – 20 Votes Jerry Spencer – 45 Votes Inghram made a motion, seconded by Hellekson to approve the canvassing of the election ballots. Motion carried. The election clerks were Virginia Gerbracht, Sonya Gebhart, and Kathy Schuchhardt. Cement Work: A dip by the sale barn, sidewalk by the bar, curb cut by Fisher’s, something maybe by the school and dip by the fairgrounds needs repaired. Council agreed to have the cement work quoted and bring to the May 7th meeting. Advertise for Help: Hellekson made a motion, seconded by Spencer to advertise for a fill in bartender. Motion carried. Discussion was held in regards to the possibility of bidding out mowing. Riley made a motion, seconded by Spencer to bid out the mowing at the Cemetery, Park and Tennis Court, Public Safety Building, Community Center and cleaning bathrooms at the Park and open bids May 14th. All yes votes. Motion carried. Building Permit: Brent Simons submitted a building permit for Lot 2 & 3, Block 3 to put a mobile home on the lot. Inghram made a motion, seconded by Hellekson to approve the building permit. Motion carried. Executive Session: Hellekson made a motion, seconded by Spencer to retire into executive session at 6:45 PM for personnel – interviews. Motion carried. Mayor Haines declared the Council out of executive session at 7:20 PM. Hire Faith Information Center Receptionist: Hellekson made a motion, seconded by Spencer to hire Corinna Thompson on Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday’s at $8.25 an hour and Madison Vance on Thursday and Friday’s and fill in where needed at $7.25 an hour. All yes votes. Motion carried. Executive Session: Riley made a motion, seconded by Spencer to retire into executive session at 7:28 PM to discuss personnel. Motion carried. Mayor Haines declared the Council out of executive session at 8:52 PM. Hire Pool Help: Spencer made a motion, seconded by Inghram to hire Sandy Rasmussen at $10 for a maximum of 20 hours a week and the rest of the committee’s recommendations as follows: Lifeguards: Tori Afdahl – $8.50 Alana Gray – $8.50 Karli Kilby – $8.00 Teagan Engel – $7.75 (Upon Lifeguard Certification) Rio Hulm – $7.75 (Upon Lifeguard Certification) Ticket Takers: Madison Vance – $7.25 BreeAnn Manca – $7.25 Brittney Ostrander – $7.25 (Fill in) Three yes votes. Riley – no. Motion failed. Spencer made a motion, seconded by Inghram to table until the next meeting when we have the new Council sworn in. Motion carried. Spencer made a motion, seconded by Inghram to adjourn. Motion carried. _______________________________ Glen Haines, Mayor ______________________________ Debbie Brown, Finance Officer Published May 1, 2013 for a total approximate cost of $42.23
May 1, 2013 • The Faith Independent • Page
11
the Finance Office of the Community Center, Faith, South Dakota. Bids will be received by the Mayor and Common Council until 7:00 PM, M.D.T., on the 14th day of May, 2012 at which time bids will be publicly opened and read in the regular meeting room of the Common Council in the Community Center at Faith, South Dakota. Each sealed bid must be clearly marked “CITY PARK & TENNIS COURT MOWING”, “CITY PARK CLEANING”, “MOWING AND TRIMMING AROUND PUBLIC SAFETY BUILDING AND FAITH COMMUNITY CENTER” or “CEMETERY MOWING”. The MAYOR and Common Council reserve the right to reject any and all bids received and to accept the bid that is to the best advantage of the City of Faith, South Dakota. By order of the Common Council of the City of Faith, South Dakota. CITY OF FAITH, SOUTH DAKOTA Debbie Brown, Finance Officer Published May 1, & 8, 2013 for a total approximate cost of $27.28
and to express ideas and opinions regarding the program. The Public Hearing will be Thursday, April 25, 2013, 8:15-9:15 AM in the Title 1 Room of the Faith School and 2:303:30 PM in the Title 1 Room of the faith School. Kelly Daughters, Faith School K-12 Principal Faith School District 46-2 Published April 17 & 24, 2013 for the approximate cost of $15.58
Legal Advertising
Friday noon before Wed. publication The Faith Independent
NOTICE OF BIDS
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that the Common Council for the City of Faith South Dakota will receive sealed bids for “the cleaning, mowing and trimming of the City Park and Tennis Court”, “cleaning the bathrooms, covered building, and picnic tables at the City Park”, “mow and trim around Faith Community Center and Public Safety Building” and “the cleaning, mowing and trimming of the Faith Cemetery” as per specifications on file in
Notice of Public Meeting Faith School District 46-2
This is official notice that a public hearing is called by the Faith School District 46-2 as mandated by Title 1. The purpose of the hearing is to allow all patrons of the school district to be informed about th Title 1 program, to become acquainted with the rules and regulations,
BUSINESS & PROFESSIONAL DIRECTORY
Dr. Jason M. Hafner Dr. David J. Prosser OPTOM ETRISTS
Faith Clinic 1ST–3RD WEDNESDAYS OF THE MONTH PH: 967-2644 1-800-648-0760
910 Harmon St
J-1 Cakes
Available for all occasions
Dusty’s Tire Service PH: 605-490-8007 – Faith, SD
“Have truck will travel”
For all your on-farm tractor, truck & machinery tire repairs call Dusty. Leave a message if no answer
Birthdays Graduations Anniversary - Weddings Call Diane Fees
Call anytime 7 days a week!!
I have tubes & most common tires on hand & can order in any tire of your choice.
605-748-2210 or 2244
Ravellette Publ. Inc. We offer a complete commercial printing service ... • Business Cards • Letterheads • Envelopes • Brochures • Office Forms • And More! The Faith Independent PH: (605) 967-2161 OR FAX: 967-2160 e-mail: faithind@faithsd.com
RyAN SEAGER
Cell: (605) 441-7465 Fax: (605) 859-2766 ryanseager@hotmail.com
PHILIP MOTOR, INC.
Bus. (605) 859-2585 or 1-800-859-5557 101 W. Oak St., PO Box 816 Philip, SD 57567-0816 Chrysler • Dodge Ram • Ford-Lincoln
Holloway Storage LLC
Faith, SD Unit sizes: 5x10, 8x20, 10x10, 10x15 & 10x20 Steel storage facility Call 967-2030 or Cell 605-200-1451
H&H Repair–Jade Hlavka
3 mi. W & 3 mi. N of Howes, SD
Equip. Repair/Maintenance Hydraulics - A/C - Tires Car & Light Truck Tires Shop: 605-985-5007 Cell: 605-441-1168 Certified Diesel Tech hhrepair@gwtc.net
Faith Community Health Service
HOURS Mon.–Fri.: 8 a.m.–12; 1 -5 p.m. 605/967-2644 After Hours Verna Schad: 964-6114 or 605-365-6593 (cell)
For all your Real Estate Needs call Kevin Jensen 381-4272
Black Hills land, homes and businesses. With values and honesty born and bred in Faith, trust Kevin Jensen to help you solve your real estate questions.
Badlands Enterprises
Samuel C. O’Rourke, Sr.
PO Box 1618, Eagle Butte, SD
Dr. Brandace Dietterle DC Chiropractor EVERY MONDAY Located in Imagine and More Prairie Oasis Mall, Faith, SD PH: 415-5935
605-685-8703 samo@goldenwest.net
Kevin Jensen your friend in real estate Exit Realty, Rapid City
• Septic Tank Pumping • Portable Restrooms • General Contracting
WEST RIVER CABLE TELEVISION Serving the town of Faith, SD 1-888-411-5651 Bison, SD
Ravellette Publ. Inc.
We offer a complete commercial printing service ... • Business Cards • Letterheads • Envelopes • Brochures • Office Forms • And More! The Faith Independent PH: (605) 967-2161 OR FAX: 967-2160
Faith Veterinary Service (605) 967-2212
Monday–Friday: 8 a.m. – 5:30 p.m. Saturday: 8 am-Noon CLOSED: SUNDAYS For the best in critter care!
Bogue & Bogue Law offices
Eric Bogue Cheryl Laurenz Bogue 416 S Main St., Faith, SD 967-2529 or 365-5171
e-mail: faithind@faithsd.com
CLASSIFIEDS • CALL 967-2161 • Email: faithind@faithsd.com
∞ CLASSIFIED ADS ∞
CLASSIFIED RATE: $5.00 minimum for first 20 words; 10¢ each word after. CARDS OF THANKS: Poems, Tributes, Etc. … $5.00 minimum for first 20 words; 10¢ each word after. Each name and initial must be counted as one word. NOTE: $2.00 added charge for bookkeeping and billing on all charges. Classified Display Rate.....................................................$4.70 per column inch PUBLISHER’S NOTICE: All real estate advertised in this newspaper is subject to the Federal Fair Housing Act of 1968, which makes it illegal to advertise “any preference, or discrimination on race, color, religion, sex, or national origin, or an intention to make any such preference, limitation, or discrimination.” This newspaper will not knowingly accept any advertising for real estate which is a violation of the law. Our readers are informed that all dwellings advertised in this newspaper are available on an equal opportunity basis.
The Faith Independent • May 1, 2013 •
Page 12
MILLER DALE will be bring chickens May 17th. Call alice Maier to place an order 739-5231. F34-2tp APARTMENTS AVAILABLE: Countryside Apartments in Faith. 1 bedroom, carpeted throughout. Laundry facilities available. Handicap accessible. Rent based on income. For information contact: MetroPlains management, LLC 1-800-2442826 or 1-605-347-3077 Equal F5-tfc Opportunity Housing PASTURE WATER LINES with trencher and backhoe, Livestock Water Systems. 10 1/2 miles south of Maurine, 605-7482473 Merle Vig. F2-tfc We would like to thank everyone who donated, sponsored and came out and supported Zach for the benefit and while he was in the hospital. Especially the Church of Christ Youth Group for putting the benefit on. You all did an amazing job. Thank you all again The Martin family
NOTICES
EMPLOYMENT DEPUTY STATES ATTORNEY for HUGHES COUNTY, full time. Contact your local Dept of Labor or Carla Lantz, 605-773-7461, Hughes County Courthouse. Closes May 13. EOE. NORTHWEST AREA SCHOOLS EDUCATION COOPERATIVE 20132014: Early childhood special education teacher: Starting salary $35,000 with great benefits: Contact Director Cris Owens 605-4662206, Christine.Owens@k12.sd.us. CUSTER REGIONAL HOSPITAL has an exciting full time Occupational Therapist opportunity, working with a supportive team of professional therapists in the beautiful southern Black Hills of SD. We are located just a short distance from Mount Rushmore, Wind Cave National Park, Custer State Park, Jewel Cave National Park and many other outdoor attractions. Competitive salary and benefits available including sign on bonus. Please contact Jim Simons, Rehab Services Director, at 605-673-2229 ext. 301or jsimons@regionalhealth.com for more information or go to www.regionalhealth.com to apply. EOE. FOR SALE NORTH CENTRAL COMMUNITY HAS 24 residential lots for sale. Thirty miles to Aberdeen and one hour to Missouri River. Excellent schools, clinics, retail stores & job opportunities. Call Beth @ Vaughn Beck Realty ñ 605-380-3855. LOG HOMES DAKOTA LOG HOME Builders representing Golden Eagle Log Homes, building in eastern, central, northwestern South & North Dakota. Scott Connell, 605-530-2672, Craig Connell, 605-264-5650, www.goldeneagleloghomes.com. NOTICES SEARCH STATE-WIDE APARTMENT Listings, sorted by rent, location and other options. www.sdhousingsearch.com South Dakota Housing Development Authority. ADVERTISE IN NEWSPAPERS statewide for only $150.00. Put the South Dakota Statewide Classifieds Network to work for you today! (25 words for $150. Each additional word $5.) Call this newspaper or 800-658-3697 for details. WANTED WANTED: HUNTING LAND for Pheasant, quality Mule Deer 170î class+, Whitetail Deer 150î class+ and Merrium Turkey. Call 605448-8064.
AUCTIONS LARGE ESTATE AUCTION, Saturday, May 11, 10 am, Hoven, SD. Syd Baus Estate. Collectible cars and tractors. M&R Auctions, Gary: 605-769-1181, 605-948-2333, Lewis: 605-281-1067, www.mandrauctions.com.
Get your branding supplies early!
Branding Specials May 1st–June 15th
18 packs of (Bud, Bud Light, Miller Light & coors Light) $18.00 Busch Light 30 packs $21.00 Keystone 30 packs $20.00 $2.00 off all half gallons (excluding wine)
CARD OF THANKS
Legal Advertising
Friday noon before Wed. publication The Faith Independent
Lone Tree Bar
Main st., faith, sD
Monday:
Breakfast: Burritos Lunch: Hot Hamburger – $4.29 Sandwich: BBQ Chicken
Tuesday:
Breakfast: Breakfast Sandwiches Lunch: Tacos – $4.29 Sandwich: Rueben
Wednesday:
Breakfast: Biscuits & Gravy Lunch: Asian – $4.29 Sandwich: Hamburger
Thursday:
Breakfast: Breakfast Sandwiches Lunch: Cassserole – $4.29 Sandwich: Philly Steak & Cheese
Friday:
Breakfast: Burritos Lunch: 2 Piece Chicken Dinner – $4.29 Sandwich: Hamburger
…T he Bett er Choice P rairie Oasis Mall 605-967-2622 Faith, SD
email us at faithind@faithsd.com

Published under a Creative Commons License By attribution, non-commercial
AttachmentSize
Faith5-1-13 _Layout 1.pdf3.41 MB