Cross country awards night

Scottie cross country team, post-season ... Standing, from left: manager Sam Stangle, Zane Pekron, William Coyle, Kelvin Ferguson, Tyler Dekker and Jennifer Stangle. Sitting: Emily Schofield, Holly Iwan and Allison Pekron. Not pictured: Kaeley Fenhaus.

by Ralph Kroetch

After one of the most successful cros country seasons in Philip High School history, the Scootte team gathered to honor their own with a pizza and pop supper. Many of these athletes give up pop as part of a healthy diet during the season.

Certificates for their ninth place team finish at state went to Kelvin Ferguson, Tyler Dekker, Zane Pekron and William Coyle. Certificates were awarded to all state medalists: Holly Iwan - ninth place, Coyle - 19th place, and Pekron - 24th place.

Senior Emily Schofield was presented with the Lifetime Achievement award. She is a five-year veteran runner, with over 1,200 miles, five regional and two state appearances.

All cross country participants who complete a season received an "I survived" certificate. Other awards for outstanding commitment are voted upon by the team members. Rookie of the Year - Kaeley Fenhaus. Most Improved, girl - Allison Pekron. Most Improved, boy - Dekker. Athlete of the Year, girl - Iwan. Athlete of the Year, boy - tie between Pekron and Coyle. Will to Win, girl - Iwan, Will to Win, boy - Pekron. Scottie Award, athlete who best represents the ideal image of a Scottie - Schofield and Ferguson.