Login

Bison Courier, October 24, 2013

Embedded Scribd iPaper - Requires Javascript and Flash Player

Main Street issues continue to plague Town Board
James and Marcie Sandgren
were present at the Town Board
meeting, October 16th, to discuss
the condition of Main Street.
They feel that west main needs to
have some priority, it is almost
impassable and is only one lane
on good days. Driveways on west
main have been almost inaccessi-
ble since the beginning of the
project. M Sandgren asked,
"What is the plan, what do we
have to look forward to?" Chap-
man replied, "We kinda turned it
over to Branden." J Sandgren
said, " If there was an emergency
on west main, an emergency ve-
hicle can not make it down the
street."
Before BL Construction can
complete west main he needs to
cut ditches and put culverts in.
Sandgrens stated that they do
not want a culvert in their drive-
way, they feel that the bridge in
their driveway takes on way more
water than a culvert that would
be put in there. The water that
flows through Sandgrens comes
from the south not the east.
Perkins County Title Company,
a business on the south side of
main street would like to be in-
cluded in the curb and gutter
quote. there is 25 feet of curb and
gutter needed in front of their
business. Chapman will get an
estimate from BL Construction
and it will be discussed at the
next meeting.
Main Street businesses are
what bring people to town, which
in turn fund street projects from
the two percent sales tax that is
set aside for street repairs and
maintenance. The Town as well
as the Main Street businesses
should all take pride in our town.
J Sandgren commented, "BL
Construction has done an excel-
lent job!" The street project com-
pletion date is July 1, 2014.
The question was also asked,
why the town is buying up lots
and taking them off of the tax
roll? The town recently pur-
chased a lot between Main Street
and Carr Street. The plan is to
build a street that doesn't match
up with any other street. It also
goes through a main water way
that drains the north central part
of town. Is this necessary? Chap-
man stated, " maybe we can move
the driveway to the Bentley
Building east to join the new
street." M Sandgren asked, Does
the Town have the finances to do
what needs to be done on the
streets that are currently torn
up?" Butsavage replied, "we have
a plan."
SDSU Extension Representa-
tive Paul Thares of Lemmon pre-
sented a very impressive
explanation of what is available
through SDSU Extension with
there Community Development
Program. Thares stresses the
Youth Entrepreneurship Pro-
gram. This program gets young
people involved and helps them
take ownership in their commu-
nities. This program helps youth
build valuable relationships with
adult leaders in the community
who care about their communi-
ties future. Youth can get in-
volved by job shadowing and
volunteering.
Thares is working at Market-
continued on page 4
the survey and have activities set
up to gather additional commu-
nity input regarding community
strengths and opportunities for
Perkins County. Refreshments
will be served.
Bison Cemetery Assn will meet
Wednesday October 30 at 7:00
p.m. at the Buzz Stop. Any inter-
ested persons are welcome to at-
tend.
REMINDER: October 31st is the
deadline date for the Taxes.
Taxes postmarked by October
31st will be considered on time.
Interest will accrue starting No-
vember 1st.
Highlights & Happenings
Trees & White Goods Pick-up
The Town of Bison will pick up
trees first and then white goods,
starting immediately through
Friday, October 25. White goods
must have Freon removed and be
tagged by Grand Electric.
Benefit supper and auction
for the Tracy Wolff family will be
Saturday, October 26th at 5 p.m.
at the Bentley Building. Auction
items can be left at Dacotah
Bank.
Perkins County Comprehen-
sive Planning Community
Open House: Thursday, October
24th, 7 pm at the Bentley Build-
ing. We will reveal the results of
Bison Courier
Official Newspaper for the City of Bison, Perkins County, and the Bison School District
A Publication of Ravellette Publications, Inc.
P.O. Box 429 • Bison, South Dakota 57620-0429
Phone: (605) 244-7199 • FAX (605) 244-7198
The
$1.00
Volume 31
Number 19
October 24, 2013
Includes Tax
Bison blizzard bonanza
By Anna McNuff
The story of one British Girl’s
12,000 mile, 7 month cycle
through all 50 US states, and her
stay near Bison during the Octo-
ber snowstorm Atlas. Raising
money for Right to Play and talk-
ing about her adventure by bike
along the way. She left Alaska in
the summer of 2013 an will end in
Hawaii.
Well stone me, it’s been an
eventful few weeks. I’ve had
small storms, big storms, off-road
adventures, truck riding, cow
milking and a degree of local
fame. Smothered over the top is
lashings of human kindness, with
a side order of wonderful peeps.
THE BAIN OF MONTANA
I’ll keep this brief, although the
torturous riding was anything
but. Riding on gravel is one thing.
Riding on sand, sludge, rocks and
mud is entirely another. Toss in
the added Brucey bonus of ‘who
knows how long this goes on for’
and ‘here’s a 30mph cross wind
for you’ and I’ll admit things in
Southern Montana got a little …
frustrating. I maintain that ade-
quate route research had been
conducted. I was to follow a net-
work of minor roads and put my
good faith in names like ‘High-
way 446’ and ‘Old US Highway
10’. Aye, foolish me. Apparently
it’s not illegal to call a few loosely
placed stones a ‘highway’ (FYI it
should be. Who do I need to call?).
There was nothing for it but to go
British on the gravel’s ass - keep
calm, and carry on. Although I
did later adapt this to “develop
mild Tourette’s, and carry on”.
THAT BLIZZARD
Gravel gravity aside, Montana
is an incredibly picturesque state,
and I was sad to wave it’s beauti-
ful mountains goodbye. After a
brief and illicit tarmac affair with
North Dakota I made my way
into South Dakota. With the US
Government shutdown having
scuppered plans to get the full
Mount Rushmore experience (Se-
riously Obaams? How could you.
Sort it out already), and warnings
of another storm headed directly
for the Black Hills, I pedalled
East as far and as fast as I could.
Apparently, I am yet to master
the art of out-cycling weather…
THE WONDERFUL
WEICHMANNS
The day I met the Weichmann
family, was actually the worst
day I’d had on the bike so far. And
I don’t say that lightly. As I rolled
into the small town of Bison (pop-
ulation 340), I was in a slump.
Overtired, run down and having
been passed by a total of 4 cars
that day - I was just about on the
verge of cracking out the emer-
gency volleyball and naming it
Wilson.
To my delight, someone, some-
where heard my weary cries. And
as if by magic, Katie appeared.
She drove past, waving so enthu-
siastically from within the car
that I feared her whole right arm
might just detach and fly into the
windscreen. I, being the dignified
lady I am, retorted with a wave of
equal magnitude. She pulled the
car over and we had a mutual ex-
change of who’s, why’s, when’s
and where’s - imagine two overex-
cited puppies meeting in a park
(minus the butt sniffing). Katie
offered up a spare bed at her
home, and sure enough that
evening I was back at Casa We-
ichmann, meeting the family, eat-
ing pizza and drinking hot choccy
(avec marshmallows).
continued on page 5
Looking down Main Street to the west.
THE BISON COURIER
Periodicals Postage Paid at Bison, SD 57620
POSTAL PERMIT #009-944
Published weekly every Thursday by Ravellette Publ., Inc.
at PO Box 429, Bison SD 57620-0429
Telephone: 605-244-7199 • Fax: 605-244-7198
E-mail Addresses: courier@sdplains.com
couriernews@sdplains.com
SUBSCRIPTION RATES:
Bison ............................................................................$36.04
Meadow, Shadehill, Prairie City, Reva & Lodgepole........$35.36
Lemmon........................................................................$36.04
in state ........................................................$39.00 + sales tax
out of state (Includes all Hettinger addresses.) ...$39.00 (no tax)
POSTMASTER: Send address changes to
The Bison Courier, PO Box 429, Bison SD 57620-0429
Deadlines: Display and Classified Advertising: Mon-
days at 12:00 p.m. Legals: Fridays at 12:00 p.m.
Publisher: Don Ravellette
Editor/Office Manager: Arlis Seim
Asst. Editor/Reporter: Lita Wells
Ad Sales: Beth Hulm (605-244-5231), Beth@sdplains.com
COPYRIGHT: Ravellette Publications, Inc. All rights reserved. Nothing may be
reprinted, photocopied or in any way reproduced from this publication, in whole
or in part, without the written consent of the publisher.
Blood Drive, November 18, 2013 at
the Grand Electric Social room 12:45 p.m. -
5:15 p.m. contact Bernice Kari for information
244-5472.
Alcoholics Anonymous is meeting weekly in Bison.
The group meets every Thursday at 7:00 p.m. in the
basement of the Presbyterian Church. Everyone is wel-
come.
To have your NON-PROFIT meeting listed here, please
submit them by calling: 244-7199, or e-mailing to:
courier@sdplains.com. We will run your event notice the
two issues prior to your event at no charge.
T
h
i
s
w
e
e
k
in Bison
2 • The Bison Courier • Thursday, October 24, 2013
Perkins County CFEL small but mighty
By Beth Hulm
While it’s true that Perkins
County now has only one active
Community and Family Exten-
sion Leaders (CFEL) group plus
two members-at-large, it remains
a viable organization. More than
half of the group’s 18 members at-
tended Perkins County Fall
Council on Saturday morning in
Bison.
Plans were finalized for the An-
nual Christmas Fair to be held at
the Bentley Building in Bison on
November 2 from 10 a.m. – 3 p.m.
Booth space is filling up but a few
remain for crafters who would
like to sell their wares. As always,
CFEL will serve a noon meal,
complete with homemade pie!
Shoppers and a lunch crowd are
welcome!
Proceeds from the Christmas
Fair are used to sponsor two $500
college scholarships each spring.
Last year’s winners were Katie
Schopp from Lemmon High
School and Lane Kopren from
Bison High. Both sent notes of
appreciation, which were read
during Saturday’s morning meet-
ing.
Another annual event, coming
soon, is the Parade of Trees at the
Perkins County Courthouse. Any
group or organization who would
like to decorate a Christmas tree
should contact Bernice Kari, 244-
5472. The prize distribution will
be different this year. There will
be two winners – one for lighted
and one for unlighted trees. Each
winning group, as determined by
three independent and anony-
mous judges, will receive $25
cash.
Several members from Perkins
County CFEL attended the re-
cent state convention in Huron.
Teddi Carlson and Donna Erhart,
president and secretary, reported
on the meetings and workshops
that took place there. Member-
ship in the statewide organiza-
tion is also declining. In 2012
there were 612 members; in 2013,
only 560.
At the state meeting, Diana
Landis’ historian’s report for
Perkins County was judged third
best in the state for 2012. Other
Perkins County members re-
ceived purple ribbons for cultural
arts exhibits and others were
awarded reading certificates as
part of the statewide literacy
project. There are a couple of local
women on the state board. Ber-
nice Kari is the state vice presi-
dent in charge of programs and
Aletha Adcock is completing her
term as Area I Director. She will
be replaced on January 1 by an-
other Perkins County member,
Teddi Carlson.
Perkins County, as part of the
larger Area I, will host the 2014
state convention next September,
in Sturgis. That year also marks
the 60th anniversary for Town
and Country CFEL club, Bison,
the only remaining club in
Perkins County.
There was election of officers
last Saturday morning for county
vice president/cultural arts
leader and secretary/treasurer.
Sara Weishaar, Bison, will re-
place Adcock, who chose not to
seek re-election, for the first post
and Donna Erhart, Lemmon, will
continue as secretary/treasurer.
Both will have two-year terms.
The next council meeting will
be held in conjunction with the
Area I meeting on May 1 in
Bison.
Edith Meland had clipped the
following poem from a local paper
and it was read by Beth Hulm at
the meeting last weekend. In
light of the recent early storm
that crippled Perkins County and
resulted in heavy livestock losses,
club members felt it would be ap-
propriate to publish it as follows.
It was written by a northwest
South Dakota rancher.
The Rancher's Prayer
By Bobette Schofield
The rancher looked toward
heaven and said,
"God where have you been?
Do you know we had a blizzard,
With rain and snow and wind?
You know I built this herd of mine
With blood and sweat and tears.
You know the work and worry,
As I struggled through the years.
Now as I stand and look around,
I see that it is gone.
I don't know if I have the
strength
To rebuild or go on."
God looked down from heaven,
Saw the pain there in his eyes.
He heard the sadness in his voice.
He knew the sacrifice.
He said, "My son, you're not
alone.
I'm walking there with you.
I'll give you all the strength you
need
For what you have to do.
I'll give you courage to go on,
Through all this loss and pain.
I'll give you hope to start once
more,
And build your herd again.
I know that this is who you are
And not just what you do.
And as you're making your fresh
start,
I'll be right there with you.
Do not think this is a failure,
Or that you've done something
wrong.
You're an example of the spirit
That makes South Dakota
strong.
So stand up straight and tall my
son,
For I have faith in you.
Put yesterday behind you now,
For we've got work to do!"
The Bison Courier • Thursday, October 24, 2013 • 3
Mr. & Mrs. Jonathan Weitschat
Jessica Arndt, of Pierre, South Dakota and Jonathan
Weitschat, Pierre, South Dakota were united in marriage on
June 22, 2013 in Winona, Minnesota.
Their colors were teal blue and chocolate brown.
The maid of honor was Nicole Hentges and bridesmaid was
Joyce Fort, both of Rollingstone Minnesota. Ben Simbeck was
bestman and Brandon Anderson was groomsman. Ushers were
Nick Wegenke and Leon Blumhardt. All of the men hail from
Pierre, South Dakota.
Jessica is the daughter of James and Gayle Arndt of Rolling-
stone, Minnesota. Jonathan is the son of Pastor Arthur and
Doris Weitschat of Hot Springs, South Dakota.
The couple will make their home in Pierre, South Dakota.
Illegally dumped snow causing problems
The South Dakota Department of
Transportation reminds the public
and commercial snow removal oper-
ators that it is illegal to place or
dump excess snow on highway right
of way, which includes driving sur-
faces, shoulders and ditches.
“The recent snowstorms in parts
of western and central South Dakota
have deposited a large amount of
snow already this year and we are
seeing an increase in violators,” said
Todd Seaman, Rapid City region en-
gineer. ”The space within the right
of way needs to be reserved for fu-
ture snow that may fall on the road.
If the department’s plow operators
do not have a place to put that snow,
it severely hampers their ability to
clear roadways.”
Violation of the anti-dumping law
is a Class 1 misdemeanor, with a
penalty of up to one year in jail,
$2,000 in fines, or both. It is the pol-
icy of the SDDOT to remove snow
that has been illegally piled within
the highway right of way that may
be a safety hazard. In addition, vio-
lators will be billed for the costs of
removing illegally dumped snow.
“Piling snow in the state highway
right of way can be very dangerous,”
says Greg Fuller, director of opera-
tions. “Snow piles can restrict sight
distance, as well as present an ex-
treme hazard if a vehicle leaves the
roadway. Snow piles that remain ad-
jacent to the road may cause addi-
tional drifting and visibility
problems posing more safety haz-
ards to travelers, as well as addi-
tional expenses for manpower and
equipment to remove the illegally
dumped snow.”
Property owners and access users
are reminded it is their responsibil-
ity to remove snow from the ends of
driveways and around their own
mailboxes.
Fuller asks landowners and com-
mercial snow-removal operators to
keep excess snow on private prop-
erty or haul it to legal dumping sites.
Geraldine Peck offers program for local club
Master Gardener Geraldine
Peck was a guest speaker when
Town and Country CFEL met at
the Bentley Building for their
September 26 meeting. She
demonstrated how to separate
and transplant iris rhizomes.
She announced the Master
Gardeners Annual Pumpkin Fest
to be held on October 19 during a
triangular volleyball meet in
Bison.
Changing to an entirely differ-
ent topic, Peck also spoke about
Annie’s Project, an educational
program dedicated to strengthen-
ing women’s roles in agriculture.
As an insurance agent, Peck re-
cently offered a program to an
Annie’s Project group of widowed,
divorced and single women in
Faith. She shared her notes with
Town and County club members
about the importance of main-
taining crop and hail insurance
and livestock risk insurance.
Linda Howey hosted that Sep-
tember meeting and made the
arrangements for Peck to speak.
Recent statewide Spirit of
CFEL winner Edith Meland, a
member of Town and Country,
thanked her peers for nominating
her for the honor, which led to her
receiving the award in Huron last
month, during the CFEL state
convention.
Plans were made for the dis-
bursement of EMS magnets,
which was a club project this fall.
Nutrition Site
Menu
Thursday, October 24
Chunky chicken vegetable soup
garlic bread
cheesecake w/fruit &
slivered almonds
Friday, October 25
French dip sandwich
potato salad
grape juice
banana
vanilla ice cream
Monday, October 28
Spaghetti w/meat sauce
peas, tossed salad w/dressing
french bread
peaches
Tuesday, October 29
Turkey & noodles
seasoned spinach
fruity slaw & pears
Wednesday, October 30
Chili, marinated vegetable salad
whole wheat crackers
apple
Anybody in Bison and surround-
ing communities who has not yet
received one should contact Car-
olyn Hendricks, 244-7488.
Upcoming events include Fall
Council on October 19 at Mom’s
Place, the CFEL Christmas Fair
on November 2 at the Bentley
Building and a United Blood
Services blood drive, which has
been rescheduled for November
25.
Town and Country’s reorgani-
zation for 2014 begins in October
with the election of new officers
and members paying their dues
of $20 each. Anybody who would
like to join the club – or simply
visit - should contact Beth Hulm,
secretary, 244-5231
Perkins County State’s Attor-
ney Shane Penfield announced
that a Utah man has been
charged with one count of At-
tempted Murder and one count of
Aggravated Assault. Mr. Selvig
appeared in Perkins County Cir-
cuit Court on October 16, 2013.
Judge Jerome Eckrich set a pre-
liminary hearing for both counts
to be held on October 29, 2013 in
Bison.
Charges were brought in con-
nection with an incident that took
place in rural White Butte. The
maximum penalty upon convic-
tion of the Attempted Murder
charge is twenty-five years in the
state penitentiary, and the maxi-
mum penalty upon conviction of
the Aggravated Assault charge is
fifteen years, in addition to any
fines the court may impose.
“Due to the prompt actions of
Utah man charged with attempted
murder and aggravated assault
the Perkins County Sheriff ’s Of-
fice and the assistance and coop-
eration of the victim, these
charges were made possible,”
stated State’s Attorney Penfield.
The charges are merely an ac-
cusation, and Selvig is presumed
innocent until and unless proven
guilty.
Mr. Selvig was indicted by a
Grand Jury and will be arraigned
on October 29, 2013.
4 • The Bison Courier • Thursday, October 24, 2013
Casey Tibbs Foundation announces
six honorees for tribute dinner
Honorees from across the state
will be recognized at the Annual
Casey Tibbs Foundation Tribute
Dinner to be held on Saturday,
November 2nd at the Casey Tibbs
SD Rodeo Center in Fort Pierre.
This years’ honorees include:
Jessica Painter Holmes of
Buffalo, as “Rodeo Cowgirl Great”
who has won state, regional and
national awards at every level of
rodeo competition in the High
School, college, amateur and pro-
fessional levels;
Casey Gates, of Miller as
“Rodeo Cowboy Great” who won
the NIRA bull riding champi-
onship in 1990 and is the only
South Dakotan to qualify for the
PBR finals finishing in the top 10
twice;
Harold Heinert, of Parmelee,
as “Past Rodeo Great” who com-
peted in the college level finals in
the SDRA, PRCA, GPIRA and
INFR. He excelled in bareback
riding until his life was tragically
cut short by cancer at the young
age of 35;
Harold Delbridge, of Red
Owl, as “Rodeo Promoter” who as
a pastor he has touched countless
lives. An announcer for years at
high school, 4-H and SDRA, he
was the “voice of rodeo.”
Walter and Marian Klein
Ranch, of Hartford, as “Ranch
Cowboy Family” who owned the
original tree claim or “timber cul-
tural certificate” of Marian’s fam-
ily. The fifth generation original
farm and ranch land has been in
the family for nearly 125 years.
Sutton Rodeo’s Chuckula-
tor, of Onida, as “Rodeo Animal
Athlete” who was the first horse
to win both Bareback and Saddle
Bronc Badlands Circuit Finals
awards in the same year (2001).
He was the voted the top bronc in
2012 by the NFR.
Now in its’ 24th year, the Trib-
ute Dinner is an opportunity for
friends and families in the ranch-
ing and rodeo communities to cel-
ebrate and honor the
accomplishments of South
Dakota cowboys, cowgirls , fami-
lies and animals. Their photos
and biographies are added to the
“Wall of Fame” each year, located
in the Rodeo Center.
Dinner tickets can be pur-
chased by phone or by visiting the
Rodeo Center. Advance purchase
required and seating is limited to
250. Contact the Casey Tibbs SD
Rodeo Center at 605-494-1094 for
ticket information or at
www.caseytibbs.com
“Our sales are every day”
CC Flooring
Highway 12 • Hettinger • 701-567-2677
carpet • vinyl • hardwood
• ceramics
Seventh grade students that participated in the summer read-
ing program were Bailee Storm and Jessica Stockert.
Summer reading program
Meadow News
.........By Tiss Treib
Fred and Bev Schopp were
among those who attended the fu-
neral for Charlie Clark Friday in
Lemmon.
Fred and Bev Schopp were
Sunday afternoon visitors of Bob
and Connie Hourigan and visited
with Bobi and Jeremy Wuebben
and family who are here visiting
from Prior Lake, MN.
Carolyn Petik and Esther
Nolan from George, WA visited
with Belle Kvale on Monday af-
ternoon. Esther is spending the
week at Petik's and visiting other
relatives in the area.
Tuesday evening, Jerry Petik
attended a Grazing Association
meeting in Lemmon. Carolyn
Petik and Esther Nolan visited
with Irene Young.
Jerry and Carolyn attended the
funeral of Charlie Clark in Lem-
mon on Friday.
Carolyn Petik and Jeri Lynn
Bakken took Esther Nolan to Bis-
marck on Friday to catch her
flight home to Washington State.
Jerry and Carolyn Petik attended
church services and a pancake
and sausage dinner at Spencer
Memorial Church in Lemmon on
Sunday. Leif Bakken showed the
pictures from his trip to Europe
after the dinner.
ing Hometown America, this pro-
gram is set up to show someone
who is looking to relocate to a
rural community what your town
has to offer. Thares is also doing
some workshops on oil, gas and
uranium, as to how these indus-
tries can affect your area. There
is a workshop coming up in Eagle
Butte, South Dakota.
Thares is promoting the Great
Community Book Read Program,
the program encourages locals to
learn and discuss community
wide issues that impact sustain-
ability of South Dakota small
towns. This program encourages
locals with community sustain-
ability, relocating resources to de-
veloper knowledge and skills to
draw young people to our area.
Thares can be contacted for infor-
mation on the recent livestock
losses and tree damage due to the
October winter storm Atlas.
You can contact Thares at 605-
374-4177 or through the
www.iGrow.org website.
A comingled plume of contami-
nated soil was found when put-
ting in the storm sewer. Mike
Tietz of the Department of Envi-
ronment and Natural Resources
presented the results from that
contaminated soil and a plan that
the Town will take to dispose of
that soil at the Northwest Re-
gional Landfill. DENR has sent
in paperwork for a grant that will
help with the disposal. There is a
90 day waiting period before the
soil can be hauled to the NW Re-
gion Landfill. DENR will be dig-
ging ten monitoring wells on and
near Main Street to check period-
ically for any changes in soil sam-
ples.
The lagoons are at maximum
capacity. The Town crew will be
pumping cell 5 to make room cells
1,2 and 3 to drain. Tree branches
will be picked up through October
25th, if they are at the curb, it is
the homeowners responsibility to
get the branches to the curb.
After October 25th it is the home-
owners responsibility to take tree
branches and debris to the dump.
Main Street issues continued from page 1
Branches are piling up in the Lions Park.
The Bison Courier • Thursday, October 24, 2013 • 5
one evening at Glad Valley. But
this was only so that Bo the dog
didn’t pee on it.
WHERE NEXT?
The storm threw me a little off
schedule, so I’m currently ped-
alling like an absolute nut job
across Iowa, Minnesota and
bound for Wisconsin. There, I
have a few exciting meet and
greets lined up, and a tour of the
Trek factory… On my birthday
(18th of October. Cake donations
gratefully received). Winner.
Until next time Five-O gang,
adieu.
To follow her adventure log on
to www.thebigfive-o.com
WE’VE LOST THE BRIT
The following morning I made
the most of the unplanned
stopover with a visit to Bison
High school. Snow wasn’t due
until later in the day, so we
thought there was time for a trip
into town, and the Weichmann
girls kindly offered the use of
their car. After the obligatory
turning on of headlights instead
of windscreen wipers (high beam,
of course), over revving the en-
gine and trying to drive off with
the car in ‘Park’ mode, I eventu-
ally got on my way. I nipped into
the school for an hour and chat-
ted to the 11th Grade kids. There
were the usual, although notably
more mature, barrage of ques-
tions, plus a few specials - like
“Do you know Bear Grylls?”. I ex-
plained, not personally, no.
When I emerged from the
school, the skies were already
putting in a big snow-shift.
Dorena ‘Big sis’ Weichmann
called, concerned about me mak-
ing it home - I assured her, I
would drive slowly. She offered
some last ditch advice; “If you
start to slide, don’t brake, just
slide, okay?” Yikes. I drove back
at 20 mph, much to the despair of
other motorists, thundering along
behind me in their sensible big
tire trucks. All was going well
(ish) and I was almost at the turn
off to the Ranch. Ah yes, the turn
off. As it happens, trying to find a
dirt road off a highway when
everything is white isn’t easy. I
was lacking in Spider sense and I
missed it.
Five minutes later, my Spidey
sense kicked in, and I knew I’d
gone too far. I proceeded to accost
and converse with a plethora of
other road users, including a bus
load of school kids - who seemed
to think it all rather entertaining.
No one could accurately describe
where I needed to be, and of
course, my phone battery had
died. There were all sorts of plans
afoot. I moved from ‘sitting tight’
to following willing helper num-
ber nine to a house half a mile
away. There I met willing helpers
ten, eleven and twelve - who
knew exactly where I’d gone
wrong. Result. They started to
give direction, but I was well and
truly done. There was no way I
was getting back behind the
wheel. I instead abandoned ship
(car) and accepted a ride home
from two 15 year old lads (it’s
legal to drive from 14 in South
Dakota). Possibly one of the more
surreal and unnerving experi-
ences I’ve had, but bless them -
they got me home. By the time I
walked through the door at the
Ranch, it seemed the whole com-
munity knew there was a girl
from London lost in the snow. The
mother of the family had been
called, as had the sister, and the
older brother was out looking for
me. Oooopsy.
RANCH LIFE
For the next 4 days I hung out
with Katie no. 1 (21), Dorena (27),
Grannie (88), Auntie (98), Ethan,
Katie no. 2 and Christopher (18
months). I became a temporary
part of one of the most hard work-
ing, kind hearted families I have
ever met. Dorena and Katie no. 2
would spend all day with Ethan
chasing cows through pastures
(quite the escapologists are cows),
wading in knee deep snow, some-
times in the dark, while Katie no.
1 looked after Auntie and
Grannie. Dorena would then
come home and (following a three
minute sit down) promptly begin
cooking dinner, washing up and
checking on Auntie. Not once in
the 4 days I was there did I see
the girls stop smiling. Never did
I think I’d meet a match in the
eternal optimist league, but these
girls gave me a run for my money.
BACK ON THE ROAD
As it turns out, the storm was
a record breaker. Four feet of
snow fell in just 24 hours and
22,000 people were left without
power (although thankfully, and
bizarrely, not us). Yet the greatest
damage was to livestock. An esti-
mated 20,000 cattle died in the
blizzard, a fair few of which I saw
slumped against fences on my
ride out (sad face). At $1,500 per
cow, you can imagine the impact
for the Ranchers, and see why
fundraising efforts are now un-
derway for the region.
Once the snow stopped, and the
highways cleared, I got on my
way. The relief to be moving
again was coupled with a real
sadness. I was riding away from
girls who’d genuinely be friends
for life. To be given the opportu-
nity to experience a day-to-day so
very different from your own is
rare. And is without a doubt,
something to be cherished. Next
time I get frustrated that my
inbox is crashing, or that Tesco
has shut early and M&S has run
out of Percy Pigs - I’ll get a grip
on what’s really important, and
remember my Bison days with
fondness.
The week that followed turned
into a mobile ‘host a cycle tramp’
convention, as I continued to stay
with friends of the Weichmanns
in towns further along the state.
Each place had the same wonder-
ful small town feel - where resi-
dents leave their cars unlocked
with keys in the ignition, and
their houses open. That said, I
did have to bring my bike inside
A clear route out of town.
Katie no. 1, Anna McNuff, Katie no. 2 and little Mr Christo-
pher
Bison blizzard bonanza continued from page 1
Topsoil, River Rock, Scoria &
Landscaping Rock available!
Call for a quote.
Besler Gravel & Trucking, LLC
244-5600
6 • The Bison Courier • Thursday, October 24, 2013
By Lita Wells
Are you looking for a sport for
your child that teaches team work,
self-discipline, self confidence and
problem solving then 4-H Shooting
Sports is the right sport for your
child. 4-H Shooting Sports is a
separate club and anyone can join.
Even if you are a member of an-
other 4-H club.
Children 8 years of age as of
January 1st, 2014 are encouraged
to sign up. Open enrollment is now
and recommended to sign up be-
fore Oct. 31st. However, if you can-
not reach this deadline you can
still enroll after Oct. 31st. To en-
roll contact Kelli Schumacher or
Rebekah Veal at the Perkins
County Extension Office at 244-
5622.
The Bison 4-H Shooting Sports
Club practices every Sunday at
the Bentley Building from 4 p.m.
to 6 p.m. The program is free to
join but a parent must be present
at every practice and event.
The disciplinary that are offered
are archery, air riffle, air pistol,
and BB gun. Equipment is sup-
plied by the club, so you don’t need
to own any of this equipment.
Children practice weekly to test
their shooting, hunting, and
sportsmanship skills. There is dif-
ferent levels of competition like
county, regional, state and nation-
als. Nationals are held in Grand
Island, NE and scheduled for June
24-29, 2014.
Most sports are directed to one
sex but shooting sports is for boys
and girls. This sport is also an out-
door and indoor sport and runs
through all seasons.
This sport gives children life-
long advantages and many schol-
arships are also offered for
academics in the child’s future.
So call today to sign up and give
your child an experience that will
last a lifetime.
Open enrollment for 4-H Shooting Sports
National Guard unit from Aberdeen, S.D. were staying at the Bentley Building due to the recent power outages. The 4-H Shooting
Group were there practicing when the guardsmen were packing up to leave. The men were very excited to help and offer tips to
the youth that were present. Picture above, back row National Guard- Sgt. Barry Hershman, SSG Ben Laabs, SSG Andrew Kessler,
Sgt. Ben Petrik. Front row, area 4-H shooting sports members- Ashton Gerbracht, Dustin Wells, Nyk Feller.
National Guard Sgt. Ben Petrik assisting Dustin Wells in the
BB gun division.
National Guard Sgt. Barry Hershman assisting Ashton Ger-
bracht in the BB gun division.
Dr. Jason M. Hafner
Dr. David J. Prosser
OPTOMETRIST
Faith Clinic
1st & 3rd Wed. of the month
Buffalo Clinic
2nd & 4th Wed. of the month
1-800-648-0760
Tree & limb
damage
repair
workshops
The recent snowstorm has left
thousands of trees with broken
tops and limbs in communities
across the Black Hills.  Once the
fallen trees are removed, the
question becomes how to repair
the damage on the trees you want
to keep.  The South Dakota Coop-
erative Extension Service and the
South Dakota Department of
Agriculture are sponsoring two
evening workshops, from 6:30 to
8:00 pm on Thursday, Oct 24, at
the  West River Ag Center, 1905
Plaza Boulevard, Rapid City and
Friday, Oct 25 at Hudson Hall,
222 West Hudson Street,
Spearfish, to address this ques-
tion and many others.  Partici-
pants will learn how to determine
if a tree is worth saving, the
pruning techniques and tools to
restore the form and tips on hir-
ing a tree company to work on
large trees.  There is no registra-
tion or fee for attending either
workshop.
Workshops presented by Dr. John
Ball – SDSU Forestry
FOR MORE INFO CALL: SDSU
Rapid City Regional Extension
Center - 394-1722
The Bison Courier • Thursday, October 24, 2013 • 7
Lodgepole Store & Propane
Lodgepole • 605-564-2173
Get ready for the cold weather! Have
your furnace checked & cleaned.
Four Cardinal XC runners qualify for State Meet
On Wednesday, October 16, the
Bison XC team took another step
in the right direction. For the
first time the team qualified four
runners for the State Meet to be
held in Rapid City on October 26.
Daniel Burkhalter (17:39) won
the boys' race for the second
straight year and Josh McKinstry
(19:57) finished 14th. Both Daniel
and Josh ran faster times at the
Region Meet than they did last
year. Our girls made the Region
Meet pretty exciting for coach. In
order to be invited to the State
Meet, a runner has to finish in
the top 20 at the Regional Meet.
Sydney Senn placed 20th (18:17)
in a nail-biter finish and Rebekah
Burkhalter also moved on to
State with an 18th place finish
(17:58). Joey Aukland and
Joseph Kvale saw their season
come to an end, but they also ran
good races. Joey has a lot of po-
tential and I look forward to
working with him again next
year. Joseph Kvale closed out his
cross-country career and I am
grateful for the effort he put for-
ward and believe he has bright
future as he moves on to bigger
challenges. We are looking for-
ward to the State Meet and have
the potential to do well.
Back row: Coach Brad Burkhalter, Joey Aukland, Joseph Kvale, Josh McKinstry. Front row: Rebekah Burkhalter, Sydney Senn,
Daniel Burkhalter.
Benefit Supper and Auction
Saturday, October 26th
at 5 p.m. at the
Bentley Building for the
Tracy Wolff family
Auction items can be left at Dacotah Bank
CÞLw AGLNCY, L1O.
Crop Insurance Specialists Since 1984.
0lve us a calll
We'd be happy to
dlscuss .
All Your crop lnsurance Needs
5a|es U|ose 0ate for 2014 Urops Are:
Paìnfa|| Index on Pasture & Pay|and:
11/15/13
Annua| Iorage (Pay Mì||et, 5udan, etc.):
12/15/13
1hese are the dates to purchase, change or
cancel multi-peril crop insurance.
0fflce (606) 433-6411
or 1oll-Free (888) 433-8760
Pusty 0|ney ¹ Maurìce Pandcock ¹ Peìdì Porch ¹ 1ay|or Mohnen
1anner Pandcock ¹ Urady & ßernìce Urew
Crew Agency is an equal opportunity provider.
8 • The Bison Courier • Thursday, October 24, 2013
Medicare open enrollment period
now open recipients urged to
review options
The open enrollment period for
Medicare Part D and Medicare
Advantage plans is Oct. 15 - Dec.
7, 2013.
“If you or someone you care
about has Medicare, make sure
you mark your calendars, as
Medicare Open Enrollment starts
on Oct. 15 and ends on Dec. 7,”
said Kim Malsam-Rysdon, Secre-
tary for the South Dakota De-
partment of Social Services.
“Medicare recipients should use
this opportunity to review their
current choices and compare
them to coverage that is available
for next year to make sure they
have a plan that is right for
them.”
Medicare Advantage is a health
plan offered by a private company
that contracts with Medicare to
provide Part A and Part B cover-
age (hospital, skilled nursing,
home health, hospice, doctors’
care and other outpatient serv-
ices).
Medicare Part D offers pre-
scription drug coverage for all
people with Medicare; the drug
coverage includes both brand
name and generic drugs.
Beginning Oct. 15, trained vol-
unteers from the South Dakota
Senior Health Information and
Insurance Education Program
(SHIINE) will offer free assis-
tance to seniors seeking addi-
tional Medicare information.
SHIINE volunteers can help
seniors compare plans, evaluate
their current coverage and fill out
paperwork. Seniors taking ad-
vantage of the free one-on-one
counseling should bring their
Medicare card and a current list
of medications. The volunteers
will use the information to sort
through the Medicare Plan
Finder and compare coverage op-
tions. The Plan Finder can also
be accessed from home at
www.medicare.gov.
For more information on SHI-
INE or to meet with a volunteer
in your community, call 1-800-
536-8197 or contact your Re-
gional Coordinator.
Rain and snow erase
drought in South Dakota
The record blizzard and subse-
quent rain events over the last two
weeks have effectively removed all
drought from South Dakota's
landscape, said Laura Edwards,
SDSU Extension Climate Field
Specialist, referencing the Oct. 18
U.S. Drought Monitor map.
"The map depicts only lingering
abnormally dry conditions in some
areas, a carryover from the dry
summer season," Edwards said.
"This week there was a one-cate-
gory drought improvement across
the state map. The rains we have
seen over the last two weeks have
effectively removed all drought
concerns from the landscape."
Since the beginning of the
month, rainfall totals have ex-
ceeded 2 inches in nearly every
corner of the state. The lowest to-
tals have been reported in the
south central and southeast por-
tions of the state which have re-
ceived between 1.5- to 3-inches
over the last 17 days. Lawrence
County and some isolated loca-
tions in the Black Hills and Meade
County have measured more than
10-inches of liquid over that same
period.
Edwards explained that soil
moisture measurements have re-
sponded and some areas are satu-
rated 40 inches deep or more. She
referenced the state climate of-
fice's mesonet site at Antelope
Range in the northwest as one of
those locations; and the Cotton-
wood Field Station in central
South Dakota is saturated at least
to 20 inches deep.
"This is an extraordinary soil re-
sponse to the snow and rain that
has fallen since October 1," Ed-
wards said.
Sadly, the snow and rain have
come at a high cost, causing exten-
sive livestock losses in the western
counties, said Dennis Todey,
SDSU State Climatologist. He
added that a lesser impact has
been some temporary delay in
corn and soybean harvesting in
the eastern counties. In the row
crop areas, the northeast has gen-
erally been wetter than the south-
east slowing progress more in that
area. On the positive side, winter
wheat fields are benefitting from
the recent rains, a much different
story from October one year ago.
"The outlook for November and
through the next few months is
challenging," Todey said. "The
computer models continue to
struggle with both temperature
and precipitation for the northern
Plains states."
He said there is some indication
of wetter than average conditions
northwest of us, in Montana and
Wyoming during the first part of
the winter. Other than that, Todey
said the official national outlook
indicates that South Dakota has
equal chances of below, above or
near average temperature and
precipitation through November
and the next three months.
"The soil moisture recovery over
the last two to three weeks has re-
ally helped our situation going
into the winter season," Todey
said. "It is likely that most of that
moisture will remain in the soils,
virtually eliminating any potential
drought development through the
winter. This is good news for next
year's spring cropping and grazing
season."
Community gatherings
scheduled for South
Dakota livestock
producers
Ranch families are invited to
attend any of three community
gatherings in Union Center,
Faith and New Underwood for a
free meal and information about
resources available as they look
to rebuild their ranch operations
in the wake of the blizzard.
Resources and information will
be provided by the South Dakota
Animal Industry Board, the
South Dakota Department of
Agriculture, South Dakota State
University Extension, other fed-
eral and state agencies, bank and
loan officers, insurance agents,
agricultural industry organiza-
tions, and mental health profes-
sionals.
Gatherings will be held at the
following dates and times:
•New Underwood Community
Gathering: Thursday, October 24,
6:00 - 9:00 pm at the New Under-
wood Community Center - New
Underwood, SD
•Union Center Community
Gathering: Friday, October 25,
6:00 - 9:00 pm at the Union Cen-
ter Community Center - Union
Center, SD
•Faith Community Gathering:
Saturday, October 26, 6:00 - 9:00
pm at the Faith Legion Hall -
Faith, SD
These gatherings are a joint ef-
fort by SD Cattlemen's Associa-
tion, SD Farm Bureau, SD
Farmers Union, and SD Stock-
growers Association with the sup-
port of other industry groups and
local businesses.
Every day at
Northwest
Supply Co.
Lemmon, S D
Pepsi - Coke
products:
12 pack $4.19
24 pack $6.99
The Bison Courier • Thursday, October 24, 2013 • 9
Aiming for Clean Injuries
I don’t mind tripping over a ball
hitch, scraping my shins, falling
on my rear, or landing square on
my tailbone now and then as long
as my clothes don’t get dirty or
ripped. When I end up on the
ground, the first thing I do is see
what my clothes look like and if
they’re covered in wet corral goo,
slushy mud, or got ripped.
Anytime I slip, trip, or fall
down, my first reaction is to
check my clothing. Injuries are
not as time consuming as having
to pre-treat new stains on my fa-
vorite work jeans, recently
washed chore coat or new gloves.
Even though my coveralls are
covered with a lot of permanent
stains, I still get enthused when
I have fresh clean coveralls to
wear. I like to start out my winter
with freshly washed coveralls
and get irritated the first time
they get dirtied up. Having good
clean, stain-free, intact, and new
clothes is rare for me. Most of my
new jeans and favorite tops des-
ignated for dressy occasions have
a short-lived life and end up work
clothes not just because I’m a
sloppy eater who is always
spilling coffee on my pants, drop-
ping food on my lap, and drib-
bling chocolate cake batter
intended for my mouth down the
front of my shirt, but because I’m
a lazy launderer and don’t get
right on those food, mud, and cow
poopy stains. I’m more apt to add
extra laundry soap and wash
them in hot water on the extra
agitate cycle instead. Since this
rarely works I end up wearing a
lot of stained clothes and jeans
with holes in both knees or
barbed wire snags.
I have a hard time accepting
new stains and tears on my
clothes even if that’s the kind of
clothes I wear most of the time.
My first and foremost concern
anytime my klutziness and inat-
tention are in charge of my body’s
reactions is catching myself be-
fore landing in wet manure or a
mud hole, even if it’s at the ex-
pense of my body. I can tolerate a
smarting forearm or throbbing
shins, but I do not like muddy
wet sleeves or jeans, especially in
cold weather. When I get hurt
what I worry about is whether or
not I’m going to have to wash my
clothes again after one wearing
and if they’ll need to have stain
remover applied to them. With a
banged up kneecap or tingling
elbow I don’t have to do much be-
cause swearing, blaming, face
scrunching, and moving my body
erratically usually covers it, but
if a new calf poops on my good
glove it’s going to affect wiping
my nose when my nostrils get
drippy. I can still keep going if I
get kicked or nearly trampled
on—just slower. Ranch-style
laundry stains however, I have to
make time for.
If I should break my leg and
you happen to witness it, you’ll
just have to avert your eyes be-
cause I’m sure that’ll be the day
I’ll be wearing a rare pair of jeans
that don’t have permanent stains,
rips, or holes, and I will strip
down to my skivvies before I let
anybody cut up a good pair of my
pants off. The other thing is that
the doctor is just going to have to
deal with an unshaven broken leg
because it’s too loathsome of a job
to do daily. Like I said, you’ll have
to avert your eyes. And if it does
happen, I hope it’ll be a “clean”
break.
Amy Kirk is a ranch wife from Custer, SD
Rosebud News...By Tiss Treib
Bob and Shilo Johnson re-
turned home Tuesday for the win-
ter from the Prairie Meadows at
De Moines, Iowa.
John Johnson and Tiss Treib
were among those who attended
the funeral for Charlie Clark in
Lemmon Friday.
Gary and John Johnson helped
Max Smebakken haul sheep to
Faith Sunday afternoon.
Duane Meink, Tabbi and Paulo
Mauri were Sunday afternoon
coffee guests of John and Shirley
Johnson.
Jim and Patsy Miller traveled
to Rhame, ND to the home of Pat
McGee Wednesday.
Jim and Patsy Miller traveled
to Scranton Thursday.
Jim and Patsy Miller traveled
to Hettinger and visited with Vi-
olet Miller Friday.
October 10th Tim and JoAnne
Seim and Delores Seim traveled
to Billings, MT to attend the fu-
neral of her brother, Joe Ander-
son. Delores visited with her
family in Laurel, MT while there.
They returned home Saturday
October 12th. Sabra Hulm, Chet
and Jim Anderson also attended
the funeral.
Saturday evening, Tim and
JoAnne Seim were among the
supper guests of Chet and Mandy
Anderson. Hope was home for
the weekend.
Boyd and Betty Ellingson were
Tuesday afternoon guests of Tim
and JoAnne Seim.
Monday, Kylee and Marci
Sandgren came and had lunch
with Thelma Sandgren.
Thelma Sandgren attended the
family service for Les Braaton in
Hettinger Monday evening.
Thelma was then an overnight
guest of Freida Dewey
Thelma Sandgren attended the
funeral for Les Braaton in Het-
tinger Tuesday.
Friday, Thelma Sandgren went
to Hettinger Friday and took her
sister, Gladys Vliem to the Farm
and Home Show.
Steve Sandgren stopped briefly
at Thelma Sandgren’s Saturday.
Sunday, Brady Ham had a cof-
fee break with Thelma Sandgren
in the afternoon. In the evening,
Thelma attended Bible Study at
the home of Les and Sharon
Longwood.
Tiss Treib spent Monday
through Wednesday in Hettinger.
Ben, Ezra and Miles Wiech-
mann, Ethan Wiechmann and
Max Smebakken helped Tiss
Treib bring home cattle for the
government pasture Wednesday
afternoon.
Tiss Treib returned home
Thursday after her power was re-
stored.
Tiss Treib visited with Ruth
Wiechmann and family Friday af-
ternoon she then traveled to Buf-
falo and returned to the
Wiechmann home later that
evening, for a visit before return-
ing home.
Ben, Ezra and Miles Wiech-
mann and Gary Johnson helped
Tiss Treib work cattle Saturday.
Tiss Treib visited with Butch,
Carol, Mindy and Crystal Mattis
at the Hospital in Hettinger Sun-
day afternoon. She also visited
with Susie Hehn.
Keith and Bev Hoffman trav-
eled to Reeder Saturday to the
home of Bill and Esther Nagel
and visited with Chad and Pam
Nagel and family.
Thursday, Albert and Bridget
Keller and family spent the day
cutting trees down in Lemmon for
friends.
Friday, Bridget Keller traveled
to Bismarck for Guards. Albert
Keller and the kids spent the
weekend in Timber Lake. Albert
and the kids traveled to Bismarck
Sunday to meet up with Bridget.
They went to Korbins 9 month
appointment, attended dental apt
and went to their first new baby
apt.
Happy Birthday to Duane Har-
ris on October 22nd.
Weather
Wise
DATE HI LO PRECIP
Oct. 15 49 29 .34
Oct. 16 56 31
Oct. 17 56 31 .05
Oct. 18 44 29
Oct. 19 58 39
Oct. 20 45 29
Oct. 21 58 28 .10
One year ago
Hi 75 Lo 28
Data colleted by
Grand Electric Co-op, Inc.
10 • The Bison Courier • Thursday, October 24, 2013
Obituary
Mildred “Millie” Richter
Funeral services for Mildred
“Millie” Lorraine (Hieb) Richter,
76 of Timber Lake will be at 10
a.m. MT Thursday, October 24,
2013 at the United Parish
Church in Timber Lake. Burial
will be at the Timber Lake Ceme-
tery under the direction of
Kesling Funeral Home of Mo-
bridge. Visitation will start at 6
p.m. at the church with a prayer
service at 7 p.m. Wednesday. Mil-
lie passed away October 20, 2013
at home after a long battle of
heart complications.
Millie was born September 5,
1937 at home to David and Ida
(Dikoff) Hieb weighing only three
pounds. They kept her in a shoe
box as a cradle next to a oven to
keep her warm as a incubator
and shortly after that she was ac-
quired a rheumatic fever which
led to her heart complications
throughout her life. Millie at-
tended country grade school in
Corson County completing eighth
grade. She then started her first
employment with the Alf and
Nora Stoick Café and this is
where she met Fred Richter, her
husband of 60 years. On Septem-
ber 27, 1953 they married at the
Timber Lake St. Paul Lutheran
Church. To this union was born
Susan (Jack) Voller, Penny (Mike)
Lemburg, Lyle Richter, and
Cherie (Tim) Leibel where they
were raised 16 miles north of
Timber Lake, South Dakota.
They lived here until October 30,
1991 which at that time they
moved to Timber Lake.
Millie was involved in Ladies
Aide, Jet Set, Jolly 8 Extension
Club, worked on the election
board in Corson County, janitor
at the Timber Lake School and
Moreau-Grand, Timber Lake Nu-
trition Site, and Kelly’s Grocery.
While working at Kelly’s Grocery
she did lots of baking, and selling
kuchens at craft fairs. She was a
lifetime member of the St. Paul
Evangelical Church.
Millie was always known as
keeping busy. She loved to cook,
bake, and do embroidering on her
spare time. She was always found
in her yard either taking care of
her flowers or keeping up her gar-
den. When she had time, Millie
was found walking around town
or in the community center. Mil-
lie loved visiting with her friends
and family along with all her
grandchildren and attending all
their activities. She was always
there supporting them in every-
thing they were involved in. Mil-
lie had a daily phone
conversations with a long time
friend Winnie that she adored
very dearly.
She is survived by her husband
Fred Richter; daughters Susan
(Jack) Voller of Mobridge, South
Dakota, Penny (Mike) Lemburg
of Bison, South Dakota, Cherie
(Tim) Leibel of Glencross, South
Dakota; son Lyle Richter of Tim-
ber Lake, South Dakota; grand-
children Josh (Karan) Lemburg,
Hadley (Nicole) Lemburg, Tigh,
Tanner, and Hayley Leibel, Ja-
clyn and Marilyn Richter; great-
grandchildren Kendal, Landon,
Jaycie, and Brynn Lemburg, and
Carter Lemburg. Also surviving
sister Irene Stoick; two brothers
Norman (Betty) Hieb, and Larry
(Darlene) Hieb; three sister-in-
laws May Torevell, Mary (Gor-
don) Chalmers, and Joann
(Ralph) Richter.
Preceding Millie in death are
her parents, David and Ida Hieb,
sister Leona Cromwell, and
brother-in-laws Ralph Richter,
Wilfred “Goo” Stoick, Ralph For-
est, Glen Torevell, and Lawrence
Cromwell, and a niece, Carol
Richter.
Forages at risk for Prussic Acid Poisoning
With parts of South Dakota expe-
riencing the first cold weather of
fall, producers should be aware
that forage sorghum, sorghum-
sudan hybrids and sudangrass all
have the potential to produce prus-
sic acid poisoning in livestock when
stressed by factors such as frost,
said Alvaro Garcia, SDSU Exten-
sion Dairy Specialist.
"If the frost is light and only kills
the upper few leaves, the plant may
attempt to regrow by putting out a
new shoot from the base of the
plant," Garcia said.
He explained that these new
shoots are very palatable and will
be grazed selectively. However,
these fields should not be grazed
until a hard frost kills the new
shoots or prussic acid poisoning
would likely occur.
Garcia said prussic acid is the
same as hydrocyanic acid (HCN)
and plants of the sorghum species
contain a non-toxic compound
called dhurrin that is converted to
toxic prussic acid by a process
called cyanogenesis.
"The toxifying action of prussic
acid is almost immediate and death
can occur within 15 to 20 minutes.
In general, cattle and sheep are
more susceptible to prussic acid
poisoning than horses and pigs,"
Garcia said.
He explained that large amounts
of prussic acid may be released via
cyanogenesis in a short period of
time when sorghum plant tissue is
injured by wilting, freezing, cut-
ting, or trampling.
"In general, forage sorghums
tend to be highest in prussic acid
potential, followed by sorghum-
sudan hybrids, then sudangrass,
which is usually safe," Garcia said.
Leaves contain twice as much
prussic acid as stalks. New, young
shoots also are very high in prussic
acid potential, Garcia explained.
"As plants mature or age, the
amount of dhurrin decreases. Field
curing liberates 50 to 70 percent of
the prussic acid. Conditioning helps
increase liberation of prussic acid
because it causes enzymatic break-
down of dhurrin, and prussic acid
evaporates during drying," he said.
Because freezing disrupts plant
cell walls, it leads to a quick release
of hydrocyanic acid. Wilting the for-
age for five to six days before feed-
ing helps reduce its concentration,
and makes it a safer feed for cattle.
Feeding green chop to cattle is usu-
ally safer than grazing as there is
less leaf selection by the animals.
If sorghum and/or sudangrass
are going to be ensiled, Garcia said,
it is important to wilt it to decrease
hydrocyanic acid concentration,
and to allow it to ferment undis-
turbed for three weeks or more be-
fore feeding it.
"To achieve a desirable fermenta-
tion, make sure there's adequate
compaction and overall manage-
ment of the ensiling process. Su-
dangrass preserved as hay is
usually considered safe as the hy-
drocyanic acid drops by as much as
75 percent during the drying
process," Garcia said.
For more information about
managing prussic acid in livestock
forages, contact Garcia at
alvaro.garcia@sdstate.edu or 605-
688-6488 or Tracey Renelt, SDSU
Extension Dairy Field Specialist at
605-882-5140 or tracey.renelt@sd-
state.edu.
Grace Baptist Church • Pastor Phil Hahn
Sunday School 9:30 a.m. • Worship Service - 10:30a.m.
Wednesday Prayer Mtg. - 7:30 p.m.
Church of Christ
18 mi. south of Prairie City - Worship Service - 10:00 a.m.
Prairie Fellowship Parish ELCA • Pastor Dana Lockhart
Sat. evening services • GR Luth. - 4:00 p.m. •American - 6:30 p.m.
Sunday morning services •Rosebud - 8:00 a.m. • Indian Creek - 10:30 a.m.
Christ Lutheran Church WELS
Pastor Gerhardt Juergens
Sunday Bible Class - 8:00 a.m., Worship Service - 8:30 a.m.
Coal Springs Community Church
Pastors Nels & Angie Easterby
South Jct. of Highways 73 & 20
Sunday School - 10:00 a.m., Worship Service - 11:00 a.m.
Seventh Day Adventist Church • Pastor David Moench
Sabbath School - 2:00 p.m., Worship Service - 3:00 p.m.
Blessed Sacrament Catholic Church • Fr. Tony Grossenburg
Saturday Mass: - Morristown - 4:45 p.m., Lemmon 7:15 p.m.
Sunday Mass: Lemmon - 8:15 a.m., Bison - 11:00 a.m.
Holland Center Christian Reformed Church
Pastor Brad Burkhalter • Lodgepole
Worship Service - 8:00 a.m.
First Presbyterian Church • Pastor Florence Hoff, CRE
Worship Service - 10:30 a.m. Sunday School - 9:30 for all ages
Slim Buttes Lutheran • Pastor Henry Mohagen
Reva • Sunday School 9:45 a.m. for all ages
•Worship Service - 11:00 a.m., WMF 2nd Wednesday at 1:00 p.m.
Beckman Wesleyan Church • Pastor Brad Burkhalter
Prairie City
Sunday School - 10:00 a.m., Morning Worship - 11:00 a.m.
Vesper Service - 6:00 p.m., Wed. Evenings - 7:30 p.m.
Church Services
Directory
Whew! I almost forgot. Even though I had been reminded of my
responsibility by more than one source, I still almost forgot to
write my Pastor's Perspective for the paper this week. That is
just one small example of human frailty. Even at our best, we
sometimes turn out to be very weak...and in my case forgetful.
God is not like man. He is never late and He never forgets to
follow through on His responsibilities. God can be fully trusted
and you can depend on Him. I say that I can be trusted and
that people can depend on me, and most of the time that is
true, but there are times my best intentions are not followed
through on. God on the other hand can be fully trusted.
Put your trust in Him!
Pastors Perspective
Pastor Brad Burkhalter
The Bison Courier • Thursday, October 24, 2013 • 11
Emmy “Tessie” Randall
Emmy “Tessie” Randall, age 75,
passed away on Thursday, Octo-
ber 17, 2013 in Fredericksburg,
Virginia. After a courageous bat-
tle with cancer, she entered God’s
Kingdom surrounded by her chil-
dren and family.
Tessie was born on March 5,
1938 to Felix and Salvacion
Leones Perez in Negros Occiden-
tal, Philippines. She was previ-
ously married to Norman
Woodbury, Jr. in April 1966, and
bore two sons from this union.
She married Michael Randall in
November 1977 and resided with
him and her boys on the Randall
Family Ranch near Prairie City,
South Dakota until she relocated
to Rapid City, South Dakota with
her son Christopher Glenn.
In September 2012, she moved
to Fredericksburg, Virginia to live
with her son Deano and his lov-
ing, supportive wife Lydia, and
her grandchildren, Eric and
Justin. Her enjoyment and peace
was strengthened by Lydia, who
served as her primary caregiver
and personal confidant who spent
many outings with her which
brought Tessie infinite joy and
happiness in her last days.
Tessie was a homemaker for
most of her married life, but
worked briefly throughout the
years as a waitress, production
plant worker and in general
maintenance. She enjoyed enter-
taining friends and family, and
ensured that all her guests left
her home completely full, as feed-
ing her houseguests with a vari-
ety of Filipino cuisine was her
trademark. One of her proudest
achievements was establishing
her restaurant, “Tessie’s Place” in
Prairie City in the 1980’s, which
received recognition far and wide
as countless satisfied and re-
peated customers spread word of
her delicious cooking.
She loved to cook, crochet and
spend time in her garden, where
she excelled in growing nearly
any plant she could find. After
moving to Virginia, she cherished
spending time with her children
and grandchildren. Tessie contin-
ued to nurture her talents by
sharing her cooking, infectious
smiles and laughter, and growing
beautiful flowers to give to all her
friends. Her time in Virginia was
filled with constant love, abun-
dant laughter, and joy with her
family and newly found friends.
Tessie leaves to cherish her
memory her family in the Philip-
pines, including sisters Aida,
Priscilla, and Lydia; brothers
Norberto, Eduardo and Rodelyn;
her children Grace (Noel) Men-
doza, Dean (Lydia) Woodbury,
Glenn Woodbury and their step-
brother Gerry (Megan) Wood-
bury; grandchildren Eric
Woodbury, Justin Woodbury,
Justin Mendoza and Lara Men-
doza; great-granddaughter
Camille White; numerous
nephews and nieces including
Paul (Johanna) Randall, David
Randall, Marcia (Jerry) Yeik,
Philip (Betty) Randall and
Stephen (Mary) Randall, and a
host of other relatives and close
friends.
Tessie was preceded in death
by her father Felix Perez, her
mother Salvacion Perez, and her
brother Oscar.
A memorial service will be held
at 10:00 a.m. on Saturday, Octo-
ber 26, 2013 at Covenant Funeral
Home in Fredericksburg, VA.
Pastor Gil Diokno will officiate
the service followed by a Celebra-
tion of Life reception at the Wood-
bury residence in Fredericksburg.
Tessie will forever be remem-
bered as a special lady who had
laughter in her heart and a gen-
erous and giving nature. The
family gratefully acknowledges
all whom have shared in Tessie’s
journey and our bereavement. We
are blessed with the fortune of
family and friends; your kind-
ness, generosity, love and unwa-
vering support have been very
uplifting and we know that Tessie
continues to be regarded as a
loved one to many here and
abroad.
Flowers can be received until
5:00 p.m. on Friday, October 25,
2013 at Covenant Funeral Serv-
ice, 4801 Jefferson Davis High-
way, Fredericksburg, VA 22408.
Please sign the online guestbook
at http://www.covenantfuner-
alservice.com/obituaries/emmy-
tessie-randall/.
Obituary
Monday, October 28
Hot dog wraps
baked beans
salad bar
fruit & milk
Tuesday, October 29
sausage gravy & biscuits
California blend veggies
salad bar
fruit & milk
Wednesday, October 30
Sloppy joes
french fries
salad bar
fruit & milk
Thursday, October 31
Nachos & cheese
beans & wieners
salad bar
fruit & milk
12 • The Bison Courier • Thursday, October 24, 2013
Perkins County
Commission
Regular Meeting
Date: October 10, 2013
Present: Commissioners Schweitzer,
Henderson, Besler, Foster, Finance Of-
ficer Chapman
Others Present: Shane Penfield, Tracy
Buer, Kelly Serr, Rownea Gerbracht,
Julie Bachand, Kelli Schumacher,
Julia Brixey, Beth Hulm, press
Absent: Commissioner Ottman
Call to Order
Chairman Schweitzer called the meet-
ing to order at 10:00 a.m. The Pledge
of Allegiance was recited.
Approval of Agenda
Besler moved, Foster seconded to ap-
prove the agenda following the addi-
tion of a report from Grand Electric,
motion carried.
Approval of Minutes
Henderson moved, Besler seconded to
approve the minutes of the September
3, 2013 Commission Meeting, motion
carried.
Monthly Reports
•Finance Officers Account with the
Deputy Finance Officer - To the Hon-
orable Board of County Commissioners
Perkins County: I hereby submit the
following report of my examination of
the cash and cash items in the hands
of the Deputy Finance Officer of this
County as of September 30, 2013,
Sylvia Chapman, Finance Officer,
Perkins County. Total amount of de-
posits in banks $45,283.18, total
amount of actual cash $150.69; In-
sured Money Market $1,615,439.35;
Dakota Plains Federal Credit Union
membership fee $10.04; Certificates of
Deposit $500,001.00; South Dakota
FIT $101,495.23; Total $2,262,379.49.
The total represents state, county,
schools, cities and township funds,
which will be transferred to each en-
tity of government after being appor-
tioned.
•Sheriff ’s fees in the amount of
$672.42 were reviewed.
•Register of Deed’s fees in the
amount of $3,660.12 were reviewed.
•Sheriff ’s car logs were reviewed.
•Motor Vehicle fees for the month of
September were reviewed.
•Longevity increase of 10₵ per hour
will be realized for the following: J
Green Oct 1 and K Serr Nov 1.
General Surplus Analysis Report
General Fund Surplus Analysis Report
dated March 31, 2013 shows an unas-
signed cash balance of $279,179.63.
Township Bond Approval
Foster moved, Henderson seconded to
approve the Beck/Highland Township
Clerk’s Bond, motion carried.
4-H Advisor Office to Bentley Building
Kelly Schumacher and Julia Brixey
were present to request that the 4-H
Advisor’s office be moved back to the
Bentley Building. The Fairboard will
be contacted concerning this issue.
Credit Card Policy
Foster moved, Besler seconded to ap-
prove the credit card policy as pre-
sented, motion carried.
GIS
DOE Rownea Gerbracht would like a
motion to advertise for bids for GIS
Services. Besler moved, Henderson
seconded to advertise for bids until
January 1, 2014 for GIS Services, mo-
tion carried.
New Employee
DOE Rownea Gerbracht introduced
Julie Bachand as her new Deputy II.
Henderson moved, Besler seconded to
approve Julie Bachand’s Deputy II
wage at $12.34/hr., motion carried.
Highway Superintendent Buer
•Superintendent Buer gave his
monthly Project and Maintenance Re-
port.
•A report was given on the snow re-
moval during the snowstorm. Besler
reported that Grand Electric Manager
Jerry Reisenauer had expressed his
appreciation of Tracy Buer and the
Perkins County Highway Department
crew.
•Foster moved, Besler seconded to
authorize Superintendent Buer to ad-
vertise for a Mechanic/Operator, mo-
tion carried.
•Discussion was held on the need to
get the bridge over Antelope Creek on
C-09A completed. Superintendent
Buer will check into it.
•Reviewed the quotes on crack seal-
ing the Bixby Road and also renting
equipment to complete the project.
Surplus Tax Deed Property
Discussion was held on the Lemmon
Original Block 6, Lot 3, City of Lem-
mon which was recently acquired
through tax deed. Henderson moved,
Foster seconded to abate the taxes on
Lemmon Original Blk 6, Lot 3 for taxes
payable 2009 through 2013 in the
amount of $630.02, motion carried.
Foster moved, Besler seconded to de-
clare Lemmon Original Block 6 Lot 3
surplus and to advertise for sale with
a minimum bid of $800 to be opened at
the December 10, 2013 board meeting,
motion carried.
Cancellation of uncollectible liens
Henderson moved, Foster seconded to
cancel the following uncollectible liens:
Court Appointed Attorney Fees -
$1818.04, Indigent Medical - $1525.00,
motion carried.
Surplus Property
•Besler moved, Schweitzer seconded
to approve the list of surplus property
to be destroyed and surplus property
to be sold (list may be found in the fi-
nance office), motion carried.
•Besler moved, Henderson seconded
to accept sealed bids on the surplus
property listed for sale, to be opened at
the December meeting, motion carried.
Tessier’s Contracts
Foster moved, Henderson seconded to
authorize Chairman Schweitzer to
sign the agreement with Tessiers for
Yearly Maintenance and Repair to the
boiler panels, motion carried.
Disaster Declaration
Foster moved, Besler seconded to in-
troduce Resolution 2013-13 “Resolu-
tion for Declaration of
Emergency/Disaster”; roll call vote:
Henderson, aye; Besler, aye; Foster,
aye; Schweitzer, aye; motion carried.
Resolution 2013-13
RESOLUTION FOR
DECLARATION OF
EMERGENCY/
DISASTER
WHEREAS, Perkins County,
South Dakota, has suffered
damage, brought on by a se-
vere winter storm that
brought us rain and snow, on
the date beginning October
4, 2013, and
WHEREAS, Perkins County
has committed available re-
sources and taken all possi-
ble actions within the
jurisdictional boundaries to
combat and to alleviate the
emergency/disaster and local
resources are not adequate
to cope with the situation,
and
WHEREAS, Perkins County
continues to deal with snow
removal, debris removal, and
the threat of flooding, and
WHEREAS, Perkins County
recognizes that rural electric
cooperatives have taken all
possible actions within the
jurisdictional boundaries to
combat and to alleviate the
emergency/disaster, after
sustaining much damage
causing widespread electri-
cal outages, and that their
recovery efforts continue,
and
WHEREAS, Perkins County
recognizes that some of our
citizens of the agriculture
community have sustained
horrific livestock losses,
adding the economic impact
of the storm, and
NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT
RESOLVED that Perkins
County Board of County
Commissioners for, and on
behalf of the citizens of
Perkins County, request the
Governor of the State of
South Dakota to petition the
President of the United
States to declare Perkins
County, South Dakota an
emergency/disaster area.
Grand Electric Report
Grand Electric reported that the num-
ber of poles lost in Perkins County is
approximately 3100 and damages will
reach 10-12 million dollars.
Kelly Serr
•Sheriff Serr requested a motion to
declare some firearms surplus. Foster
moved, Besler seconded, to declare the
following Glock Model 22 40 caliber
firearms surplus: Serial #DVE311,
#DVF553, #DVF552, #DVF549 &
#EEW907 and allow them to be traded
in for new Glock 40 caliber firearms,
motion carried.
•Sheriff Serr requested permission
to purchase a new Sheriff ’s vehicle,
which is in the current budget. Hen-
derson moved, Foster seconded to pur-
chase the following vehicle for the
Sheriff ’s Office using state vehicle con-
tract #16543: One 2014 Dodge RAM
1500 Special Services Vehicle from Bil-
lion Auto of Sioux Falls, South Dakotas
in the amount of $25,115.00, motion
carried.
•Foster moved, Besler seconded to
auto-supplement the Sheriff ’s budget
in the amount of $3,782.20 to 101-211-
425, motion carried.
Claims
September Payroll: Wages, 87344.83;
FICA, 5,654.78; SDRS, retirement,
4855.23; Dental, 1080.40. Life, 153.36;
Health, 19,202.22; A & B Business,
supplies, 569.48; A & M Transporta-
tion, coroner travel, 436.00; A+ Repair,
repairs, 83.65; Best Western Ramkota,
travel, 693.00; Best Western of Huron,
travel, 294.00; Bison Courier, publish-
ing, 1,122.37; Bison Food, supplies,
35.18; Bison Implement, repairs,
3,303.36; Tracy Buer, travel, 217.98;
Butler Machine, repairs, 119.76;
CAVA, collections, 200.00; Chapman’s
Electronics, supplies, 52.11; Country
Media, publishing, 169.25; Crane,
Roseland & Hardy, Court Appt Atty,
759.00; CCB, lien collection, 126.20;
Current Connection, supplies & main-
tenance, 2,269.70; Dakota Auto, sup-
plies, 4.69; Dakota Business, supplies,
27.00; Dakota Feed, supplies, 9.70;
Dakota Fluid, repairs, 49.81; Data-
maxx, repairs, 1,116.00; Five Counties
Hospital, testing, 200.00; G & O Paper,
supplies, 178.10; Grand Electric, utili-
ties, 1,919.58; Heartland, supplies,
1,216.78; Gary Hendricks, chemical,
195.93; Holiday Inn, travel, 521.94;
Rena Hymans, Court Appt Atty,
168.00; Clyde Jesfjeld, chemical,
149.25; K&R Auto Body, repairs,
4,282.20; K-M Construction, repairs,
535.50; Kevin Klemann, Prof services,
330.00; Lar-Jos, supplies, 396.24;
Lodgepole Propane, utilities, 1,625.39;
McLeods, supplies, 363.24; Meade
County Jail, jail fees, 495.00; Mid-
states, Inc., maps, 1,550.00; Motive
Parts, supplies, 101.16; NAPA, sup-
plies, 365.34; NW Farm & Home, sup-
plies, 13.16; John Peck, prof services,
125.00; Shane Penfield, rent, 400.00;
Pennington Co Sheriff, transportation,
156.60; Penor’s Texaco, repairs, 26.89;
Perkins County Ambulance, mileage,
588.36; Pharmchem, supplies, 84.00;
Prairie Community Health , testing,
40.00; SBM, maintenance, 58.29; Kelli
Schumacher, travel, 361.86; SD Dept.
of Health, testing, 122.00; SD Dept. of
Revenue, registration, 440.00; SD
DOT, bridge repairs, 14,174.49; Ser-
vall, supplies, 31.30; Sheehan Mack,
repairs, 799.02; Shopko Pharmacy, jail
medical, 76.98; State Animal Damage
Control, predatory animal fees,
6,044.39; Steinley Real Estate Ap-
praisal, USPAP course, 310.00; Stock’s
Electric, repairs, 378.27; Three Rivers,
rent, 900.00; Town of Bison, Utilities,
190.95; Truenorth, supplies,
$14,578.48; VanGuard Appraisals,
maintenance, 756.00; Verizon, utilities,
240.08; VISA, supplies & travel,
299.65; West Group, law books, 625.89;
Willard’s Oil, supplies, 30,963.44; WR
Telephone, utilities, 1,095.23; Yankton
County, MH Board, 106.25.
Executive Session
Foster moved, Henderson seconded to
enter into executive session to discuss
personnel at 1:02 p.m., motion carried.
Chairman Schweitzer declared the
meeting out of executive session at
1:53 p.m.
Adjournment
Foster moved, Besler seconded to ad-
journ the meeting at 2:00 p.m. The
next regular meeting of the Perkins
County Commission will be held on
November 12, 2013 at 10:00 a.m. in the
Perkins County Courthouse.
ATTEST:
APPROVED:
Sylvia Chapman, Finance Officer
Mike Schweitzer, Chairman
[Published October 24, 2013 at a total
approximate cost of $134.84.]
The Bison Courier • Thursday, October 24, 2013 • 13
It sure didn’t take long to go from
summer to winter, did it? Fall lasted
for just over a week before winter
set in with a vengeance. I took the
air conditioner out Tuesday and
fired up the woodstove on Friday
when the snow storm moved in.
After hearing the nasty weather re-
port on Wednesday, I hurried to har-
vest everything above ground from
my garden. I got some more toma-
toes, several green and yellow pep-
pers, cantaloupe and watermelons,
and a bountiful crop of winter
squash. It didn’t look like there
would be many squash, but under
all the heavy vines and dill weed
there was enough squash to fill the
storage room at the other house! If
you need some winter squash, give
me a call.
Mac and Terisa Thompson’s baby
boy was born Tuesday and little
Brady had to have heart surgery
right away. Sunday morning Terisa
posted on Facebook that the doctors
had removed all his tubes and
stopped his morphine. Brady is
opening his eyes and following the
sound of his mother’s voice. Accord-
ing to Terisa, the doctors say that
this is an incredible progression so
soon after such a huge surgery!
Thank God and thanks to everyone
praying for this darling little boy.
Game Fish and Parks held their
commission meeting in Spearfish
Thursday. I and several other legis-
lators were there to listen to the
GF&P agency review and the dis-
cussion on reducing the mountain
lion harvest numbers next year. I
left before the meeting was over be-
cause of the weather report and
drove in heavy rain all the way
home. The rain continued all night
long, dumping over an inch and a
half here.
Heavy, wet snow was coming
down hard by sunup on Friday and
the wind was blowing hard. The was
no school in Buffalo Friday, so Missy
and the kids made it home before
the roads became impassible. By the
middle of the morning the power
lines were coated with snow and ice
with poles starting to snap off. The
electricity was cut off right at noon,
just before my cornbread was done
in the electric oven. Grandma
warned me not to trust these new-
fangled gadgets, but I usually forget
about her warnings until it’s too
late!
Casey was supposed to go to Dick-
inson Friday evening for a banquet
for him and his college wrestling
team that were being inducted into
the Dickinson College Hall of Fame
on Saturday. He started out early
Friday afternoon but didn’t go far
before he turned around and came
home because the road conditions
were rapidly deteriorating. He
counted six REA poles down be-
tween here and the highway. The
rest of the afternoon both the snow
and the poles kept falling. I could
barely get through the heavy snow
on my daily trip to the barn to feed
the chickens and was soaked to the
skin and darn near frozen when I fi-
nally staggered back to the house.
When the sun came up Saturday
morning, huge snow drifts covered
everything, the yard looked like a
war zone with all the busted
branches and downed trees, and the
electric lines to the house were
hanging in the creek! The guys
spent all day plowing roads and try-
ing to find all the livestock. They
found most of the cows in good
shape at Glendo and moved them
back across the river. Casey had to
rescue two cows before they
drowned, but they didn’t find any-
thing dead and we think the sheep
all survived.
Not everyone was as lucky as we
were. The cost of one of the worst
blizzards in South Dakota’s history
will reach into the multi-millions.
Governor Daugaard declared a state
of emergency in western South
Dakota and put National Guard
troops on the ground to assist with
the worst winter storm on record in
the Black Hills. Hundreds of cattle,
sheep, and horses were killed in the
blizzard and at least two people
have lost their lives. 25,000 people
lost power in the storm that dumped
up to four feet of snow in western
South Dakota and northeastern
Wyoming.
Grand Electric crews are access-
ing the extensive damage in this
area. Crews are flying the area to
survey the damage. The eastern
half of Grand’s territory suffered the
worst devastation from east of
Ralph down through Reva and
south to Castlerock. They brought
in crews from several other South
Dakota Cooperatives and Bolt Con-
struction and Govert Powerline
Services are assisting with restora-
tion efforts. It will be several days
before those of us in the Ralph/Reva
area get back online with the hun-
dreds of poles that are down.
Sandy Dan and Lorri got hit
pretty hard down at Newell too.
They were working at the sale barn
Friday and couldn’t make it home
that night so they spent the night
with Lorri’s sister Lynn McClure.
The power was off there too. They
made it home Saturday only to find
a huge cottonwood tree had fell
down across their driveway, taking
out both of the corner posts on their
gate and blocking access to the
house. A friend of Sandy’s came by
with some heavy equipment, moved
the tree and dug out Sandy’s pickup
for him. It’s great to have such good
neighbors! All their livestock sur-
vived, but they don’t have electricity
yet either.
Tiss Treib sent me this poem sev-
eral years ago, but it sure fits now:
It’s winter in the Dakotas,
And the gentle breezes blow,
Seventy miles an hour
At twenty-nine below.
Grand River Roundup ....................... By Betty Olson
Oh, how I love the Dakotas,
When the snow's up to your butt,
You take a breath of winter air
And your nose gets frozen shut.
Yes, the weather here is wonderful
So I guess I'll hang around.
I could never leave the Dakotas
'Cause I'm frozen to the ground!!
October 17 This has been quite a
week! This whole area is still trying
to recover from the aftermath of
what is called the ‘Atlas’ blizzard
that hit on Friday, October 4th.
Grand Electric didn’t get our
power back on until Thursday. I
can’t tell you how excited we were to
see their heavy equipment roll in
here Wednesday morning. Most of
the poles between the ranch and the
highway were busted off and the
high lines were down and frozen in
the creek in front of our house. The
crews from Grand and several pri-
vate contractors, plus two National
Guardsmen driving a truck to pull
out any of the linemen’s trucks get-
ting stuck, were hard at work all
day Wednesday and most of Thurs-
day getting our electricity restored.
Wednesday when Scott Koan
came to see what needed to be done
to get us back in service he gave me
a copy of an email that Jerry Reise-
nauer sent out to the Grand employ-
ees. Jerry’s email said that they had
completed an aerial survey of 96%
of Grand’s system and the results
were not good. They found that
there were 4,209 poles lost in the
storm. Here is the breakdown of
poles lost on each substation: Bison-
1241; Buffalo-102; Ellingson-549;
Lemmon-1119; Maurine-970;
Stoneville-231; and Ladner-0.
Grand had 1014 members without
power and they are projecting the
cost to rebuild the system will ex-
ceed $15 million!
A thunderstorm rolled through
here Friday morning, leaving us
without power for another three
hours, but thankfully the lights
came back on and we can put the
generators, kerosene lamps, and
flashlights away for now. Most of
our neighbors to the south are still
without power, but hopefully they
will be getting their electricity back
on soon!
South Dakota Dept of Ag has set
up a blizzard helpline for producers
living in Harding, Perkins, Ziebach,
Shannon, Jackson, Jones, Bennett
and Mellette counties that were im-
pacted by this early blizzard. The
helpline can answer questions re-
garding animal removal from agri-
cultural properties, documentation
of livestock losses, livestock identi-
fication and provide contact infor-
mation for other assistance
programs. Producers experiencing
emotional distress can also call for
support or to find counseling re-
sources. Agencies needing volun-
teers and individuals interested in
volunteering to help should dial 211
or call 877-708-4357.
We went to Hettinger Monday to
get supplies and got a chance to visit
with some of the neighbors. Race-
horse Johnny Johnson was in Run-
nings and when I asked how he
weathered the blizzard he had a
cute story to tell. He said his hired
man was slogging through the snow
the day of the blizzard and Johnny
asked him how deep he thought the
snow was? The hired man, one of
Johnny’s jockeys, replied, “Well, I’m
a jockey and I’m pretty short. I leave
three tracks in the snow instead of
two. What does that tell you? You
figure it out.”
We’ve lost several friends and
neighbors.
Joe Verhulst, 87, of Reva, died
Saturday, October 5th, at Haven
Health in Safford, Arizona. Private
family services will be conducted at
a later date.
Ellen (Coffield) Besler, 83, passed
away Tuesday, October 8th, at the
David M. Dorsett Center in
Spearfish. Her funeral services were
Saturday in Spearfish with burial
with her husband Elmer at Black
Hills National Cemetery.
Marilyn (Latham) Olson, 82, of
Bowman died Saturday morning,
October 12th, in Spearfish after a
short battle with cancer. Marilyn’s
funeral will be Monday afternoon in
Bowman with burial to follow in the
Bowman Cemetery.
Charlie Clark, 76, died Saturday,
October 12th while working on his
ranch at Keldron. His funeral will
be Friday at St. Mary's Catholic
Church in Lemmon with Pastor
John Irwin from the Reformed Pres-
byterian Church officiating.
Following the funeral service,
Charlie's ashes will be scattered on
his beloved ranch along the Grand
River.
Mac and Terisa (Mollman)
Thompson’s baby boy Brady had
heart surgery immediately after his
birth in Michigan a couple weeks
ago. Brady is recovering quite well
so far and he and his parents have
a new address. You can reach them
at: 1600 Washington Heights, Room
27, Ann Arbor, MI 48109.
Ranchers in western South
Dakota have been dealing with dev-
astating losses of cattle, sheep, and
horses after the October 4th bliz-
zard. These are my people and my
14 • The Bison Courier • Thursday, October 24, 2013
heart bleeds for them, but they
are made of stern stuff. These
ranchers will mourn the loss of
their livestock, try to figure out
how to pay their bills by tighten-
ing their belts, and they will come
through this, bruised and bat-
tered, but stronger. I’d like to
leave them with this:
You might be a rancher if. . . .
Your family instantly becomes
silent when the weather comes on
the news.
You have animals living in
buildings more expensive than
your house.
Over 80% of your clothing came
from ranch supply stores.
You refer to ranches by who
owned them 50 or more years
ago.
You give directions to your
ranch by using area landmarks,
not road
names or numbers
You have buried a horse or a
dog and cried like a baby.
You have used a tractor with a
loader as scaffolding for painting
or roof repairs.
You've used the same knife to
make bull calves into steers and
peel apples.
You wave at every vehicle
whether you know them or not.
Your dog rides in the truck
more than your wife.
You've never thrown away a 5
gallon bucket.
You have used baling wire to
attach a license plate.
You have used a chainsaw to
remodel your house.
You can remember the acreage,
water rights, state & federal
leases, and number of cattle ran
on land you leased 10 years ago,
but cannot recall your wife's
birthday.
God be with you my friends.
It’s really hard to believe that
just a few months ago we were in
the middle of a drought. Every-
one was wondering how many
cows they would have to sell and
how much hay they were going to
have to buy to keep the rest of
their livestock fed. And then it
rained. And rained. And it’s still
raining. We got just over two
inches again this week and the
ground is saturated.
Farmers are getting stuck try-
ing to get their corn and sunflow-
ers harvested. Cattle trucks can’t
get in to haul livestock that sur-
vived the blizzard to the sale
barns and the ranchers trying to
count and clean up the livestock
killed in the blizzard are having
a terrible time getting around.
Last spring who would have
guessed that folks would be get-
ting perilously close to complain-
ing about too much moisture!
The blizzard and its aftermath
kept everyone around here so oc-
cupied that not many folks even
noticed that the government was
shut down for seventeen days. We
were so concentrated on finding
lost livestock and operating with-
out electricity that hardly anyone
was paying attention when Con-
gress passed yet another contin-
uing resolution and reopened the
government on the 17th. Obama
and Congress never solved any-
thing, just kicked the can down
the road to the next fight in Jan-
uary. The first day government
reopened 328 billion dollars was
added to the national debt, bring-
ing the total to over $17 TRIL-
LION that our kids and
grandkids are never going to be
able to repay. What a fiasco!
A couple of our neighbors were
able to ship calves this week.
Casey went up to help Rone Jen-
son ship Wednesday and he had a
little adventure. Casey was lean-
ing over to reach for something
just as a cow kicked a panel and
knocked it over, smashing it into
his shoulder and cutting a sizable
chunk out of his upper lip. He
caught the piece of lip in his
hand, but decided it would be too
hard to reattach so he threw it
away. Casey didn’t have either
the time or the inclination to go
to the clinic, so he got his vet stuff
out and sewed it up himself! It
looked kind of gory for a few days,
but it seems to be healing pretty
well now.
Casey was in Rapid City at the
SDRA Rodeo Finals this week-
end, so Reub went over to the
Jacob’s place to help Bill Holt
ship his calves on Sunday.
Thankfully everything went well,
no bones were broken, and no
blood was shed!
We said goodbye to our old
friend Charlie Clark Friday at his
funeral in Lemmon. Everyone
who knew Charlie loved him and
the church was packed. A lot of
the ranchers had some pretty de-
pressing blizzard stories to tell
over lunch after the funeral.
Marilyn Olson’s funeral was
this Monday in Bowman. Seems
like the only time the relatives
get together is at family funerals,
but it was nice to see Marilyn and
John R’s kids, grandkids, all the
other Olson and Latham rela-
tives, and lots of neighbors.
Our sympathy goes out to the
families of Charlie and Marilyn.
Missy and I were in Bison Sat-
urday watching the volleyball
games between Harding County,
McIntosh, and Bison. As soon as
Bryce was done playing she and
Missy headed to Spearfish to
meet up with Casey and Trig to
watch Taz in the Chadron vs.
BHSU football game. Casey had
to go straight from the game to
Rapid City for the SDRA Finals,
so they had a busy weekend!
Dr. Buzzy Smith sent me these
“ponderisms” a few years ago that
I’d like to share with you:
All of us could take a lesson
from the weather. It pays no at-
tention to criticism.
In the 60's, people took acid to
make the world weird. Now the
world is weird and people take
Prozac to make it normal.
There are two kinds of pedes-
trians: the quick and the dead.
How is it one careless match
can start a forest fire, but it takes
a whole box to start a campfire?
If Jimmy cracks corn and no
one cares, why is there a song
about him?
Have you noticed since every-
one has a camcorder these days
no one talks about seeing UFOs
like they used to?
Whenever I feel blue, I start
breathing again.
I used to eat a lot of natural
foods until I learned that most
people die of natural causes.
Healthy is merely the slowest
possible rate at which one can
die.
If quizzes are quizzical, what
are tests?
If corn oil is made from corn,
and vegetable oil is made from
vegetables, then what is baby oil
made from?
Do illiterate people get the full
effect of Alphabet Soup?
Does pushing the elevator but-
ton more than once make it ar-
rive faster?
Why doesn't glue stick to the
inside of the bottle?
FOR SALE
For Sale: Several nice refrigera-
tors with warranties. Del’s, Exit
63, Box Elder, SD, 390-9810.
PR8-2tc
HELP WANTED
Immediate opening for a
home health nurse. LPN or RN
1 to 2 days per week. For more in-
formation and an application call
Preferred Home Health, Inc. 605-
375-3738 or 1-800-989-3738. EOE
B18-tfn
Perkins County has job open-
ings for Mechanic/Operator and
Operator must have or obtain a
valid South Dakota Class A Com-
Advertising Rates:
DISPLAY ADS: $4.70 per column inch.
CLASSIFIED ADS: $5.90 for 30 words; 10¢ for each word
thereafter. $2.00 billing charge applies.
THANK YOU'S: $5.90 for 30 words; 10¢ for each word
thereafter. $2.00 billing charge applies.
HIGHLIGHTS & HAPPENINGS: $5.90 minimum or $3.10
per column inch. $2.00 billing charge applies.
HAPPY ADS: With or Without Picture: $15.00 minimum or
$4.50 per column inch.
BIRTH ANNOUNCEMENT: $41.00 for a 2x7 ad.
Legal Deadline is Friday at NOON! Ad Deadline is Monday
at NOON! 244-7199 or courier@sdplains.com
mercial Drivers License within 30
days of employment. Benefits in-
clude: Health & Dental insur-
ance, retirement, sick leave,
vacation and paid holidays.
For application and details, con-
tact the Highway Office in Bison,
SD or call 605-244-5629.
Position open until filled.
Perkins County Highway Dept.
Box 158, Bison, SD 57620
B18-2tc
Christmas is coming! Cro-
cheted dishrags, pot scrubbers,
embroidered towels, crocheted
caps, scarves, soup mixes. See
Arlis at the Bison Courier.
B18-tfn
AUCTION
LAND AUCTION: 474+/- Acres,
Lake Oahe-Peoria Flats, Crop-
land, Recreational, Development,
Prime Hunting, 8 miles north of
Pierre, SD, just above the Oahe
Dam, November 12, 2013. Call
Dakota Properties, Todd Schuet-
zle, Auctioneer, 605-280-3115,
t o d d @ p l a c e t o h u n t . c o m,
www.DakotaProperties.com.
4th ANNUAL LEBANON Con-
signment Auction. Saturday, Oct.
26, 10 am, Lebanon, SD. Consign-
ments welcome until sale day.
Contact Gary McCloud 605-769-
1181, 605-948-2333, Sam Mc-
Cloud 605-769-0088, Lewis Reuer
605-281-1067. Complete listing at
www.mrauctionsllc.com
800+ ACRES CROPLAND with
200+ Acres Pasture, productivity
79, Reeder Loams, Class II & III,
Mobridge SD, Absolute Auction,
Nov. 4, www.PiroutekAuction.com
or 605-544-3316
BUSINESS OPPORTUNITY
CALL AVON TO EARN extra
money for Christmas. **40% dis-
count/commission - $10 to start**
Call 605-334-0525
EMPLOYMENT
IMMEDIATE OPENING. Duties
include but not limited to, bulk
delivery of fuel. CDL, Hazmat re-
quired. Will train. Farmers Oil
Company, Orient SD. Informa-
tion, Don, 392-2424.
EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR Belle
Fourche Development Corp. Job
requirements include a degree or
work experience in economic de-
velopment or related fields. Ap-
plication and instructions at
www.bellefourche.org (click on BF
Development Corporation tab).
Contact Krysti at 605-892-3006 or
Krysti@bellefourche.org if you
have any questions.
FULL TIME JACKSON
COUNTY HIGHWAY Depart-
ment Worker. Truck driver, heavy
equipment operator, light equip-
ment operator. Experience pre-
ferred, but will train. CDL
required, or to be obtained in six
months. Pre-employment drug
and alcohol screening required.
Benefits package.
Applications / resumes accepted.
Information (605) 837-2410 or
(605) 837 – 2422 Fax (605) 837-
2447
LOOKING FOR A MANAGER for
our P/O Printing & Graphics divi-
sion in Watertown. The position
involves sales, bidding of print
jobs, marketing and customer
service. Successful candidate
should have customer service ex-
perience, strong math and com-
puter skills, and the ability to
lead a team. A full-time position
with benefits. Send letter of inter-
est and resume to:
chris.carter@thepublicopinion.co
m Position closes October 31,
2013.
CUSTER REGIONAL HOSPI-
TAL, Custer Clinic, Hot Springs
Regional Medical Clinic and
Custer Regional Senior Care have
full-time, part-time and PRN (as-
needed) RN, LPN, Licensed Med-
ical Assistant and Nurse Aide
positions available. We offer com-
petitive pay and excellent bene-
fits. New Graduates welcome!
Please contact Human Resources
at (605) 673-9418 for more infor-
mation or log onto www.regional-
health.com to apply.
THE WATERTOWN PUBLIC
OPINION has an immediate
opening for a Full-time Reporter
to join its news team. The success-
ful candidate will have the ability
to cover a wide variety of news
events in print and video and still
feel comfortable putting together
a compelling feature story. Expe-
rience is preferred but will con-
sider a recent journalism
graduate. Photography and video
skills are a plus. The Watertown
Public opinion is a six-day a week
newspaper in northeastern South
Dakota. This job offers competi-
tive wage based on experience,
and benefits package with health
benefits, 401(k) and life insur-
ance. Send letter, resume, layout
and writing and/or video samples
to: Watertown Public Opinion,
Attn: Human Resources, PO Box
10, Watertown, SD 57201, or e-
mail: chris.carter@thepublicopin-
ion.com
PATROL OFFICER – Hourly pay
range: $20.14-$24.50/hr. Visit:
www.cityofbrookings.org Return
application w/resume to PO Box
270, Brookings, SD 57006-0270.
dlangland@cityofbrookings.org
FOR SALE
FAMOUS CENTRAL SD BAK-
ERY available for purchase in
Gettysburg. Established turnkey
mix bakery with both wholesale
and retail sales. Contact Kathleen
at ltgandt@yahoo.com or 240-461-
4779.
LONGBRANCH IN PIERRE, SD.
We have lowered the price & will
consider contract for deed. Call
Russell Spaid 605-280-1067.
HOLIDAY CRAFT SHOW
HOLDIAY CRAFT & BOUTIQUE
Show, November 29 & 30, Belle
Fourche Community Center. Ven-
dor space available. For more in-
formation contact 605-892-2336
o r
www.blackhillsparrotwelfare.org
LOG HOMES
DAKOTA LOG HOME Builders
representing Golden Eagle Log
Homes, building in eastern, cen-
tral, northwestern South & North
Dakota. Scott Connell, 605-530-
2672, Craig Connell, 605-264-
5 6 5 0 ,
www.goldeneagleloghomes.com
OTR/DRIVERS
DRIVERS WANTED: CDL,
owner operators, freight from
Midwest up to 48 states, home
regularly, newer equipment,
Health, 401K, call Randy, A&A
Express, 800-658-3549
MISCELLANEOUS
DISH TV RETAILER- Starting at
$19.99/month (for 12 mos.) &
High Speed Internet starting at
$14.95/month (where available.)
SAVE! Ask About SAME DAY In-
stallation! CALL Now! 1-800-308-
1892
WANT TO BUY
ANTLERS WANTED up to 7.00
lb. Deer , Elk/moose 7.50 lb.
Bleached 3.00 lb. cracked 1.00 lb.
Also need Porcupines, Rat-
tlesnakes, Elk Ivories ,Mt. Lion
skins. More info; 605-673-4345 /
clawantlerhide@hotmail.com
NOTICES
ADVERTISE IN NEWSPAPERS
statewide for only $150.00. Put
the South Dakota Statewide Clas-
sifieds Network to work for you
today! (25 words for $150. Each
additional word $5.) Call this
newspaper or 800-658-3697 for
details.
•FORAGE AND PRF IN ALL COUNTIES
•WHEAT In Winter Wheat Counties
November 14th, 2012: all wheat production, winter wheat
acreage reporting, to get in or out of PRF, and PRF Acreage due.
We now do electronic signatures so you must come in and sign when
making any changes and reporting acreage and/or production.
Incorrect information regarding a spouse or Tax ID # will void your policy but not
your premium.
DEADLINE DATES!
Farmers Union Insurance Agency
404 Main Avenue • Lemmon, SD 57638 • 605-374-3462 or
1-888-868-3282
The Bison Courier • Thursday, October 24, 2013 • 15
16 • The Bison Courier • Thursday, October 24, 2013

Published under a Creative Commons License By attribution, non-commercial
AttachmentSize
Courier_10-24-13.pdf6.42 MB