Login

Bison Courier, November 8, 2012

Embedded Scribd iPaper - Requires Javascript and Flash Player
$1.00
Volume 30 Number 21 November 8, 2012
Includes Tax
The
Official Newspaper for the City of Bison, Perkins County, and the Bison School District A Publication of Ravellette Publications, Inc. P.O. Box 429 • Bison, South Dakota 57620-0429 Phone: (605) 244-7199 • FAX (605) 244-7198
Bison Courier
At the USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS), we understand your need to protect natural resources on your farm. The Environmental Quality Incentives Program, or EQIP, is one of many voluntary “working lands” Farm Bill programs that could be your solution to reducing wind or water erosion and improving the health of your resources. Many options for conservation practices are available such as pipelines, tanks, grass seeding, shelterbelt plantings, fabricated windbreaks and many more. EQIP sign-up is continuous but you must sign-up by November 16th, 2012 to be considered for FY13 financial assistance. Contact NRCS at 605-244-5222 or visit our website at: www.sd.nrcs.usda.gov/programs. All Bison town Board members were in attendance when they met for their regular monthly session for a time of four hours Monday evening. KBM Engineer Allan Page was on the speaker phone to discuss the Storm Sewer Project with the Board. The city is waiting to hear from DENR (Department of Environmental and Natural Resources) concerning the approval of this sewer project. the needed information of flow analysis, project impact of user rates and an analysis of the system condition has been sent to DENR. The engineering report and a new updated report is needed before the city can receive money through a small community planning grant. Chairman, Juell Chapman had a question for the board. “Should we axe it or do it?” Specs and engineering fees are very expensive costing $110,000. so far. Board member Mike Lockert believes the city should “see something for the money. It’s too much money for what we’re getting.” Page promised to call DENR to find out the status of this project and then call Chapman. Chapman is concerned that the project is not moving forward as it should. He suggested having a public meeting to discuss the feasibility of he cost of this for the city. As a result the board set a public meeting tentatively for TUESDAY, NOVEMBER 27 at 7 p.m. at the Grand Electric Social Room. Page will be asked to attend this meeting to present the storm sewer plan and answer any questions citizens have. Page will also present a construction budget that explains the expenses. Citizens, please attend this public gathering because it is the citizens who pay the expenses through taxation.
Heupel land EQIP sign-up sells deadline
The Heupel Family Trust land sold at Public Auction on Nov. 5th. The sale was held in the Bentley Building in Bison with a moderate crowd in attendance. There were many observers but the bidding was active among the serious bidders including some bidders on the phone. The eight separate tracks were sold at absolute auction with no reserves. The building site sold for $2,100 per acre, the cropland topped out at $1,050; with an average of $723 per acre on the entire offering, much of which was grassland. Weishaar Auction Service conducted the sale in a clear and efficient manner. Farm Credit Services generously provided coffee and snacks for the various breaks that were taken for bidders to ponder their positions as the tracks were auctioned off.
“Should we axe it or do it?”
Proceed with storm sewer project or not? Town Board has tough decision to make.
Shane Steiner, KLJ Engineer, Steve Kamaron and Andy Vandal from South Dakota DOT ( Department of Transportation) aeronautics office were also present to discuss work to be done at the Bison Municipal Airport in the spring of 2013. Pavement rejuvenation and crack sealing will be done at a cost of $60,000. The city will pay 2% of that cost. Future projects include a wildlife fence and construction of a new hangar. Bids for the Heck property buildings located on Main Street were opened at 7:30 p.m. Lyle Reiff ’s bid of $106.01 was accepted for the 10’ by 12’ lawn shed. Eric Newman’s bid of $205. was accepted for the 12’ by 26’ garage. These buildings must be moved from the property at the bidder’s expense no later than January 1, 2013. Upon failure to comply with this request the buildings will become city property again. Employee Heath McKinstry reported that 80% of the work on the retaining wall at the landfill is now completed and looks very good. The landfill costs have also gone up by 5%. McKinstry was also authorized to purchase a trac phone for employee Larry Hendricks to aid in communication for them. Liquor licenses were also approved as follows: Bison Bar - on and off sale; Legion Hall - on sale. The first reading of a supplemental budget of $20,000 to go from the General fund to the Street fund to cover the cost of city street work and street snow removal was heard. The second reading will be heard next month. Citizens do enjoy the improvements made on the city streets. A sewer main has collapsed by the water tower going east. Chapman advised McKinstry to get the repair work done soon before weather prohibits that. Other sewer mains may also need to be repaired according to McKinstry. The board also approved a motion to buy a mower from Dakota Farm for use at the Municipal Golf Course at the state bid price. There was only one dissenting vote. A quote from Hausauer Seamless Products of Lemmon of $415. was presented by McKinstry to place rain gutters on the pump house building. After a time of “hashing it over” it was the boards consensus to hire Hausauer Seamless Products to do this work for the quoted price. Chapman read a letter from Jan Gossman informing the Board of her retirement as Director of the Bison Public Library as of January 1, 2013. It is a position she has held for the last fourteen years. Thank you, Jan, for your dedicated service to the library. Stacy Kvale will fill this position January 1, 2013. Considerable time was spent in discussing employee handbook revisions that include health insurance premiums, vacation accrual, hourly employees, salaried positions, smoking in designated areas, cell phone use and work hours for temporary employees. A first reading was heard on the suggested changes. There can be no smoking in any of the city’s buildings. Employee evaluations will be discussed at the next regular monthly meeting to be held December 10th. A form will be used for this process. The meeting concluded with an executive session to discuss personnel.
VETERANS
VERY COURAGEOUS PEOPLE ENTANGLED IN HOPE THEY KEPT OUR FREEDOM ENDURED HARD CONDITIONS RISKED THEIR LIVES ALWAYS RESPECT THEM NEVER DISRESPECT THEM SO VERY BRAVE Carson Johnston
Ravellette Publications, Inc. salutes our veterans on Veterans Day, November 11
Nov. 2010
Veterans Day Program on Monday, November 12 at 2:30 p.m. in the Bison School gym. Contact Roxie Seaman at 244-5273 if you would like to participate in the parade. The mammogram bus will be at the Bison Clinic November 14. This is possibly the last time it will come to Bison, call the Bison Clinic for an appointment, 2445206.
Highlights & Happenings
VETERANS DAY pancake and sausage breakfast will be served at the American Legion Post #255, from 5 a.m. until 9 a.m. Saturday November 10, 2012. Adults $5.00, children under 12 $4.00, preschool FREE. Hunter’s Supper soup sandwich and bars at Indian Creek Lutheran church, Friday, november 9 from 5 - 7 p.m. Free Will offering.
“Attention” Fall supper at Immanuel Lutheran Church at Zeona (the church on a hill 14 miles north of Mud Butte) on Saturday, November 10th, starting at 4:30 p.m. Serving beef stew, chicken noodle soup, sandwiches, relish tray and pies! Free will offering appreciated, at 7 p.m. Clint Ridley from St. Onge will show pictures and tell about his Ag trip to China. Everyone welcome and that includes you HUNTERS!
Nutrition Site Menu
Roast turkey mashed potatoes w/gravy green bean almandine/dressing cranberry sauce pumpkin pie Chili marinated veggie salad cooked apples wheat crackers NO MEALS VETERANS DAY
Page 2 • The Bison Courier • Thursday, November 8, 2012
Chef's Planet launches search for America's messiest recipes
Chef ’s Planet is launching a Messy Recipe contest to search for the gooiest, most flavorful, mouthwatering, original recipes. All amateur and professional chefs and bakers are invited to submit their favorite, original recipes that leave the kitchen and oven an utter mess, but family and friends begging for more. Main dish, side dish, appetizer and dessert recipes can be submitted on Chef ’s Planet Facebook page from Oct. 29 - Nov. 30. “As part of our 10th anniversary we are celebrating the fearless bakers, the recipe masterminds and the courageous chefs who are not afraid of a mess,” said Audrey Parker, Chef ’s Planet business manager. “In the words of Julia Child, we should try new recipes, learn from our mistakes, be fearless, and above all have fun. The messier the kitchen, the better.” Chef ’s Planet will select 10 finalists and 10 runner-ups to be featured in a special edition Chef ’s Planet 10th anniversary cookbook. Additionally, the 10 finalists will receive the Baking Basket that includes a Nonstick Ovenliner, Universal Nonstick Bakeliner and Ovenglove and the 10 runner-ups receive a Gadget Basket from Chef ’s Planet, including our Nonstick Ovenliner, 2-Cup Measuring Colander and PrepTaxi® Food Scoop. www.Facebook.com/ChefsVisit Planet to enter or learn more about the contest.
Town and Country Club enjoys meal consisting totally of pumpkin
Town and Country Extension Club met at the home of hostess Vera Kraemer on October 25. The evening began with a tasty meal of foods all containing pumpkin. After the meal Geraldine Peck gave a fun and interesting presentation of pumpkins, beginning with a brief history of the introduction of pumpkins to the early settlers. The main order of business at this meeting was the finalizing of the Christmas Fair which is to be held November 3, from 9:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. Morning sweet rolls and lunch will be served as well as many varieties of pies during the course of the day. Proceeds from the fair are used for two college scholarships that are awarded to area graduating seniors each spring. Our club will once again be putting up a tree at the Courthouse December 1. A workday to make tree ornaments is scheduled for Wednesday, November 7 at 1:00 p.m. Election of officers was held and the new officers are: Carolyn Hendricks, President, Mary Ellen Fried, Vice-President, and Beth Hulm, Secretary/Treasurer. October is membership month. Current members are renewing their membership with CFEL. New members are always welcome. Come join us on November 15 which is the next meeting hosted by Diana Landis.
Christmas tree tags
Thursday, November 8 Thanksgiving Dinner
Friday, November 9
Monday, November 12
Tuesday, November 13
Happy birthday Pork chops w/celery sauce mashed potatoes green bean casserole tropical fruit cake Beef stew crunchy cranberry salad whole wheat biscuit
The Sioux Ranger District in Camp Crook, South Dakota will have Christmas Tree tags, with a limit of three tags per household. Sioux Ranger District Christmas Tree cutting tags will sell for $5.00 each. the tags are non-refundable and non-transferable. The tags may be obtained in person at the Forest Service offices of the Medora Ranger District in dickinson, North Dakota; at the Grand River Ranger District in Lemmon, South Dakota; and the sioux Ranger District in Camp Crook; or by mailing $5.00 to the Sioux Ranger District, PO Box 37, Camp Crook, South Dakota 57724. They will also be available at the Harding County Conservation District in Buffalo, South Dakota; the Carter County Conservation District in Ekalaka, Montana; and the Bowman/Slope Soil Service. The Custer National Forest will not be issuing any free Christmas tree cutting tags to organizations, clubs, schools, churches or individuals.
Letter to the Editor The U.S. Marines’ legendary Black Sheep (VMF 214) squadron ruled the skies over the Solomon Islands during World War II. This highly decorated unit "spearheaded the drive that broke the back of Japanese aerial opposition in the Solomons." The VMF 214, under the leadership of Maj. Greg "Pappy" Boyington, shot down 97 enemy aircraft (confirmed air-to-air kills), recorded over 200 enemy planes destroyed-damaged, strafed 125 Japanese land positions, and destroyed 28 Japanese vessels in 84 days of combat. Lt. Frank Walton, who knew the "inner workings" of the VMF 214 through the records he maintained, summarized the unit’s gallant achievements in the Pacific theater: "Boyington had welded a conglomeration of casuals and replacements into one of the deadliest aerial combat squadrons in history. He was not only a savage past master of individual aerial combat; he was also an inspiring leader." "As a squadron commander Boyington put his men first.... Whenever the squadron received a new Corsair, for example, Boyngton refused to requisition it for himself as a replacement for
Veterans Day - Nov 2012
honors, the Congressional Medal of Honor and the Navy Cross. "Consistently outnumbered throughout successive hazardous flights over heavily defended hostile territory, Major Boyington struck at the enemy with daring and courageous persistence, leading his squadron into combat with devastating results to Japanese shipping, shore installations and aerial forces."
Wednesday, November 14
Saturday • Nov. 10th 7:00 - 9:30 pm
Lemmon Lions Turkey Jamboree
At the FJ Reeder Armory Admission tickets FREE from local businesses. FUN for the whole family.
Duck Pond, Roulette Wheel, Bingo, and more. FREE turkeys & door prizes! Lunch will be available
the well-worn Corsairs they had all been using, but instead let someone else take it. If the officer of the day assigned a new aircraft to Boyington, he would walk over to the board, erase the aircraft number after his name, and give the newer plane to one of his pilots, telling the OD: 'Give me one of those old klunkers.'" The Black Sheep squadron earned a unit's highest honor, the Presidential Unit Citation, for their heroic exploits. Boyington himself shot down 26 enemy aircraft (confirmed). While racing to the aid of a fellow flyer, he was shot down and presumed dead. He survived the watery crash, however, and was captured - spending the balance of the war in the notorious Japanese Omori prison camp. Source: "Black Sheep: The Life of Pappy Boyington" John F. Wukovits. "For extraordinary heroism above and beyond the call of duty as Commanding Officer of Marine Fighting Squadron TWO FOURTEEN in action against enemy Japanese forces in Central Solomons Area from September 12, 1943 to January 3, 1944," Maj. Gregory Boyington was awarded our nation's two highest individual military
Periodicals Postage Paid at Bison, SD 57620 POSTAL PERMIT #009-944 Published weekly every Thursday by Ravellette Publ., Inc. at PO Box 429, Bison SD 57620-0429 Telephone: 605-244-7199 • Fax: 605-244-7198 E-mail Addresses: courier@sdplains.com couriernews@sdplains.com SUBSCRIPTION RATES: Bison ............................................................................$36.04 Meadow, Shadehill, Prairie City, Reva & Lodgepole ........$35.36 Lemmon........................................................................$36.04 in state ........................................................$39.00 + sales tax out of state (Includes all Hettinger addresses.) ...$39.00 (no tax)
THE BISON COURIER
Community Thanksgiving Worship Sunday, November 18th at 7:00 p.m.
Blessed Sacrament Catholic Church
COPYRIGHT: Ravellette Publications, Inc. All rights reserved. Nothing may be reprinted, photocopied or in any way reproduced from this publication, in whole or in part, without the written consent of the publisher.
POSTMASTER: Send address changes to The Bison Courier, PO Box 429, Bison SD 57620-0429 Deadlines: Display and Classified Advertising: Mondays at 12:00 p.m. Legals: Fridays at 12:00 p.m. Publisher: Don Ravellette News/Office Manager: Arlis Seim Ad Sales: Beth Hulm (244-5231),beth@sdplains.com
Freewill Collection for local Ministerial Association Aid Fund
Maj. Boyington once quietly confided to Chaplain M. Paetznick about his regular prayers for his fliers, "I never taxi out to take off on any mission that I don't pray; not for myself but for their return and safety. It may not be an elegant prayer, but it always stated what needed to be said." A hundred sixty-five years earlier during another critical period in our nation's history, another field commander also prayed for the Hand of the Lord to move expeditiously on behalf of his army and the nation. Valley Forge, Pennsylvania, winter 1777-78: "I was riding with Mr. Potts near to the Valley Forge where the army lay during the war of ye Revolution, when Mr. Potts said, 'Do you see that woods & that plain? There laid the army of Washington. It was a most distressing time of ye war, and all were for giving up the Ship but that great and good man. In that woods (pointing to a close in view) I heard a plaintive sound as of a man at prayer. I tied my horse to a sapling & went quietly into the woods. To my astonishment I saw the great George Washington on his knees alone, with his sword on one side and his cocked hat on the other. He was at Prayer to the God of the Armies, beseeching to interpose with his Divine aid, as it was ye Crisis & the cause of the country, of humanity & of the world. Such a prayer I never heard from the lips of man. I left him alone praying. I went home & told my wife. We never thought a man could be a soldier & a Christian, but if there is one in the world, it is Washington. We thought it was the cause of God & America could prevail." Source: Eyewitness testimony of Isaac Potts, a Valley Forge resident who shared the following story with the Rev. Nathaniel Randolph Snowden (1770-1851), who then recorded it in his "Diary and Remembrances." Bernie Hendricks Brookings, SD 605-692-1878
The Bison Courier • Thursday,November 8, 2012 • Page 3
Bison Christmas Fair brings shoppers from near and far
As the doors opened at the fair Building at 9 a.m. on Saturday many shoppers came to attend the 32nd Annual Christmas Fair sponsored by the Perkins County CFEL (Community and family Extension Leaders Council). the income derived from this fair will be used for a $500. scholarship to a Bison High School student and for a $500. scholarship to a Lemmon High School student. Preference is given to students who pursue a career in Ag and Home Economics. Shoppers viewed hand crafted items at 41 different booths as vendors displayed their creative talents. there were crocheted doilies, baked goods, pickles, hair bows, sugar scrubs for the skin, pot holders, wall hangings, scarves, sweatshirts, purses, table centers, placemats, and fleece blankets. For babies and children there were blankets, baby clothes, caps dolls and doll clothes, hooded towels and lollipops. Stunning jewelry was on display including earrings and necklaces all hand crafted in many brilliant colors. Christmas decorations for the home were lit up that gave shoppers many choices. leather covered pots and leather crafted wallets were also on display for purchase as well as crocheted rugs. BooksR-fun from the Bison Public Library displayed many books ready for purchase at reasonable prices. Toe bags for adults, baby bags for Moms and puppets were also seen with many colorful designs that speak to shoppers to say “ buy me.” Lunch was served all day that included roast beef and ham sandwiches, beans tacos, chips and pies of many different varieties. As shoppers left the building many carried their new found treasures to enjoy or to give as gifts this Christmas. The CFEL organization looks forward to the next Christmas Fair in 2013.
To the left rope baskets and vases are very popular. Above Gracee Veal of Meadow with the jewelry she makes in her spare time.
Weather Wise
DATE
Oct. 30 Oct. 31 Nov. 1 Nov. 2 Nov. 3 Nov. 4 Nov. 5
65 41 65 38 51 31 fog 54 25 51 27 55 29 54 33 One year ago Hi 70 Lo 19
HI LO PRECIP
Saturday, November 17 10 a.m. - 4 p.m. Located at the Beeler Building on Main Street
Lemmon Christmas Fair
leagues • open bowling • full bar • game room
LAKEVIEW BOWL
Open for Business
Now booking holiday parties
R est aur ant fea turi ng Pr ime R ib every Fri day n ight
Winter hours Wednesday - Friday 3 - 11 p.m. Saturday & Sunday 2 - 11 p.m.
Over 80 vendors - featuring
crafts, food, home based business & more!
Concessions available
Brought to you by Grand Electric Co-op, Inc.
Hettinger • 701-567-6710
Page 4 • The Bison Courier • Thursday, November 8, 2012
Guest Columnist
“Telling Yelling” is better than
I had everything I needed prior to leaving the driveway: food in my belly, plenty of coffee, long johns, hat and gloves, silk rag for my neck, overshoes, heavy coat, coveralls and most importantly, a high tolerance for patience. Once we got down to the neighbors my next responsibility was to be as low-maintenance as possible especially to my husband. The crew always starts off helping gather. Everybody used ATV’s for convenience purposes since fourwheelers can be loaded in the trailer the night before instead of having to catch, load, and saddle horses in a rush on a cold morning. My low maintenance duty began once my husband got my fourwheeler started. It’s my job to ensure the machine doesn’t die once started, that the gears shift when I want them to, and that I keep up. Any rescuing on my husband’s part due to “the wife’s” lagging behind because of equipment problems can cause impatience with him in our efforts to be efficient and reliable help. I don’t react with sarcasm when
Slices of Life
Food rules
When I walk into the kitchen first thing Monday morning and see the medicine cupboard ajar and an open box of cold tablets on the counter, I know we may be in for a long day and an even longer week. This morning was a three-fer. Son number one complained of a sore throat. Son number two didn’t want breakfast because his stomach didn’t feel right. My husband was the culprit with the cold pills. He was achy and stuffed. That’s no one’s favorite way to start a week. Since I’m too ornery to get sick, I watched from the sidelines, as only a wife and mom can. I thought about what I could do to help, and my mind headed in one direction. I grabbed a large stockpot and set out to prepare my special cure-all remedy: chicken soup. I had to. Rules dictated my actions. At our house we have food rules. Tenets to live by. Precepts that precede our tasting and chewing. Many of them are unspoken – unconscious even – but they guide our culinary habits and experiences nonetheless. Rule 15 states homemade chicken soup is the weapon of choice for colds and the flu. Ice cream, on the other hand, fixes broken hearts (Rule 37). Hot fudge sauce atop ice cream is deployed in the gravest of emergencies (Rule 52). Not all our rules involve illness or heartbreak. Most days we aren’t sick or crying. Thank goodness. Still, even in the status quo, food rules find their place in our everyday lives. Many rules are based on psychological principals aimed at manipulating my offspring into eating items they otherwise would not consume. For instance, never ask your children what they want for dinner (Rule 88). If you do, their answer will include things like cheese balls and cotton candy. They will not suggest green beans, lean protein or any of the healthy choices currently in your refrigerator. Keep it simple. Keep it secret. Serve them up a platter of veggie-filled goodness and call it… chicken (Rule 119). The Food and Drug Administration advises us to include a rainbow of foods in our diet – the more colorful the better. Kids love the idea of eating a rainbow. However, it is imperative parents are clear on the inherent make-up of the color scheme. Skittles and M & M’s do not qualify for rainbow status (Rule 198). Nor can a Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup serve as a legitimate substitute for carrots – even though it comes in an orange wrapper (Rule 223). Be vigilant in your rule abidance. Do not let the children make unauthorized substitutions (Rule 256). Be prepared to hide the chocolate when necessary (Rule 2). Some of my favorite rules pertain to healthy eating and calorie control. They are rooted in common sense. For instance, hidden chocolate contains only hidden calories (Rule 271). Go ahead, indulge – but only when the kids aren’t looking (Rule 292). Here’s another classic I adore: if you eat the ice cream right out of the container, it does not count toward your daily calorie intake because it isn’t considered a snack unless you put it in a bowl (Rule 315). This same rule applies to nibbles eaten while standing – versus sitting. Standing and eating cancel each other out because it takes more energy to stand (Rule 340). This is not based on any scientific evidence from the FDA, but on my own vast knowledge of the caloric universe. I’ve been eating for more years than I’ll ever admit. My experience has taught me this: two bites of cake, eaten while standing, do not count as a snack. Three bites do, however, so you’re smart to stop at two and leave the kitchen for a short while before returning for another bite or two – but never three (Rule 389). Food rules have been around for centuries and they aren’t going anywhere anytime soon. They may ebb and flow and evolve with our culinary habits, but until someone invents a substitution for eating, food will be a constant in our lives. Forever. Today my fodder of choice is chicken soup. The concept is generations in the making – feed a cold, starve a fever and all that jazz. Some experts believe I’m wasting my time. They say chicken soup does nothing to cure the common cold. The idea – they purport – is all in our heads. I think they’ve got it wrong. The love and feel-good medicinal properties that come from homemade soup don’t originate in our heads. They come from the heart – for the person stirring the stockpot as well as the one eating from it (Rule 1). Find Slices of Life on Facebook and hit Like (please). Jill Pertler is an award-winning syndicated columnist, playwright and author of “The Do-It-Yourselfer’s Guide to Self-Syndication” Email her at pertmn@qwest.net; or visit her website at http://marketing-by-design.home.mchsi.com/.
Amy Kirk is a ranch wife from Custer, South Dakota.
While helping our neighbors get their calves loaded on the truck for the trip to the sale barn, I allowed my husband to boss me around without resistance. Last week was our nearest neighbor’s sale day and my husband and I helped gather, sort, and load their calves. As a neighborly wife, I had some vital jobs to do while helping. The first was to make sure nobody was waiting on me. Arriving early is just as important on our neighbor’s sale day as it is on ours so I always make sure I’m in the pickup before my husband is. This is my safeguard against being accused of making us late. It was a nippy 18 degrees out and my husband expected us to be there before daylight. I made sure
A CUT ABOVE!
Quality Meat Processing to Your Specifications
• Deer & Beef Processing • Skinning & Dressing • Boning & Cutting • Sausage, Jerky & Steaks SPECIALIZING IN SAUSAGES
• Country Style • Summer Sausage Smoking
he brusquely tells me to “Hurry up!” while re-gloving my hands or putting my coffee cup in the pickup as everybody takes off. I let him instruct me around the neighbors because I am fully aware that his upstanding reliable rancherreputation is on the line and he does not want us to be a burden or the cause of undue stress on someone else’s sale day. My husband always knows the neighbors’ game plan for bringing everything into the corrals since they all speak the same language, so I focused on bringing up the rear of the herd and let the men do any necessary four-wheeler cowboying. Once the cattle were in the corrals I anticipated my next job instructions but was fortunate enough to take up a position of my own choosing in the corrals. Sale day is a big day for all ranchers. There are many things weighing on a rancher’s mind that people’s efforts to please with confirming questions can add to the owner’s stress. Questions about how the owner wants everything sorted or repeatedly asking what eartag numbers the crew needs to look for are important but can overload the man circuits. I make an effort to refrain from interjecting with my input until everything’s on the truck and culls have been sorted off. I always strive to be silently cooperative and helpful because I’ve learned from past experience that it’s better to be told what to do than to be hollered at to “GET OUT OF THE WAY!”
JERKY
• Strip • Ground • Slim Jims
You’ve tried the rest - now try the BEST!
DEER: Process includes skinning. If already skinned, must be clean. ANTELOPE: Processing & Skinning DEER OR ANTELOPE: Caping ELK, MOOSE OR CARIBOU: Processing Cooling & Handling: We prefer all deer carcasses with hide on.
See us for all your automotive & industrial parts!
Bird cleaning available.
DAKOTA PACKING COMPANY INC.
No One Does Wild Game Processing Better Than
207 Hwy. 12 E • Hettinger, ND • 701-567-2422
Paint & Body Supplies Tools & Equipment Windshields & Car Care Products
110 Airport Road N Hettinger 701-567-4387 800-729-2719
The Bison Courier • Thursday,November 8, 2012 • Page 5
Low stress handling –
Northern Plains Sustainable Ag, South Dakota Grasslands Coalition and USDA North Central SARE are sponsoring a one-day workshop with Dr. Tom Noffsinger, DVM, Benkelman, Neb. This livestock handling presentation will include applications of Low Stress Handling Concepts as a dimension of management that enables handlers to have positive effects on cattle health and performance. The goal will be to encourage cattlemen and women to understand more about cattle in order to apply handling concepts during calving, new cattle acclimation, processing, pen riding and sick cattle management. Dr. Noffsinger, a veterinarian and independent feedlot, facility design and stockmanship consultant, states that, “As an industry we need a spirit of working together, knowing that every step in the production, marketing, transportation and han-
an important dimension of cattle production management
dling episode affects the cattle industry.” This workshop is an open discussion where questions are encouraged during the presentations. $40 per person in advance, $50 at the door, includes lunch. Pre-registration required on or before Nov. 12. Send payment to: NPSAS, PO Box 194, LaMoure, ND 58458. Northern Plains Sustainable Ag is a nonprofit organization that is committed to the promotion of sustainable food systems through education, research and advocacy. Low Stress Cattle Handling Workshop, Thursday, November 15, 2012, 9:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. at the RedRossa Ballroom - 808 West Sioux Ave, Pierre SD. For more information on this event, visit our website at www.npsas.org, call 701-883-4304 or email npsas@drtel.net.
Yard signs
By Charles Ortman Most of the time when we talk about yard signs it is some individual’s way of informing or inviting you to something; yard sales or rummage sales with arrows giving you directions. By the way, I am not sure of the difference between a yard sale and a rummage sale. They both offer some great stuff that like the used cars that are called pre-owned. And is it just me or would you agree that pre-owned underwear just seems wrong. One more thing; I must be a big spender or just don’t get caught up in the spirit of yard/rummage sales because if something is priced at 15 cents, it doesn’t occur to me to haggle over the price. Other yard signs announce the construction company or yard service doing the work at that particular site. It always seemed to me that the company doing the work should pay the owner for advertising on their land. Realtors have their for sale signs all over but never have the information we want and that is how much are they charging for the building or house. I don’t want to buy anything but I would like to know how crazy the owners are, or instead of crazy, maybe optimistic would be a better. Some yard signs are more fun. For example when someone has a birthday, especially turning age 50, when you will see an outhouse moved to the end of the driveway with Guess who is turning 50 written on it. I never understood what the outhouse has to do with the birthday. Maybe someone could explain that to me. The best yard signs are the ones for lemonade stands. Some kid who could be the next Donald Trump has had the ‘get up and go’ to make some money. We all should stop to taste some and pay a little extra. And think of the person who first thought of tying balloons on the yard sign; a marketing genius. Of course, South Dakota wind does make this a short-term effect. This time of the year sees a dramatic increase in yard signs. It is like the signs are breeding on their own as fast as they multiply. Political yard signs; what is their purpose? There aren’t any issues being discussed. Do I care who other yard owners want to win the elections? Is it safe to drive and read the signs or is that close to texting? So what is the purpose? I am probably wrong but I think it is name recognition. Some of the candidates for state level offices may not be familiar to us so the more often we see their names, the better chance we will recognize it on the ballot. For example, I have no idea of how to pronounce Chicoine but after seeing the signs, I do recognize it and I am sure he is a fine fellow. I would vote for him.
Friday Blues makes some changes
We are changing the name to Casual Day Fund to be collected from each business on the last Friday of the month. Businesses whose employees already wear jeans are encouraged to make a general donation. All businesses are welcome to bring their donations to the monthly Community Club meeting on the last Wednesday of every month. The Casual Day Fund in the past has gone towards our local food bank, ambulance, West River Health Services and Perkins County Shooting Sports. The list goes on and on. The Fund is given out to local organizations when needed. The Commercial Club just felt some small changes and clarifications needed to be made. The next meeting will be held November 28th at 7 p.m. at the Bison Bar.
High risk of drought issues continuing into 2013
After spending the summer months reporting on the devastating drought, State Climatologist Dennis Todey was ready to provide some good news to South Dakotans this fall. Unfortunately, the change in seasons, while bringing cooler temperatures, hasn't brought the much needed moisture South Dakota soils need. "As we transitioned from summer to fall, I fully expected there to be at least a couple systems coming through that would drop 1 to 2-inches of widespread rainfall. At this point all the systems have missed most of South Dakota except for one system which hit the northeastern portion of the state in late October," Todey said. The storm systems Todey refers to are large low pressure areas which occur with the change in seasons. Differing from summer's higher intensity, thunderstorms which tend not to produce widespread rainfall, fall's rainstorms are often lighter intensity, but provide moisture to a larger coverage area. Typically these fall rainstorms average about 5 inches of moisture in western South Dakota to about 7 inches of moisture to the eastern portion of the state between September and November. This added moisture before the soil freezes is integral to restoring soil moisture levels heading into spring. "Any moisture events that happen once the ground freezes is of limited benefit for soil moisture," Todey said. Unless there are some dramatic weather changes, Todey says drought issues will continue into 2013. "We are at higher risk for drought issues in 2013 because of the lack of soil moisture. If we get average rainfall in the spring, it will still be difficult to rebuild the soil moisture profile in many places throughout South Dakota," he said. "We will be very dependent upon rainfall throughout the growing season next summer." Laura Edwards agrees with him. The SDSU Extension Climate Field Specialist says the drought appears to be getting worse rather than better, based on the Oct. 18 Climate Prediction Center's long-range outlook. "We have been hoping for improving our situation this fall, but the state is getting drier instead of wetter," Edwards said. "The long-range drought outlook depicts persisting drought into the winter season." She adds that according to the outlooks, there is a higher probability of above average temperatures through January. "This is combined with equal chances of above, below or near normal precipitation for November through January. One exception is the southeastern part of the state, which currently has higher probability of being drier than average through January," Edwards said. Before they can offer an optimistic outlook for 2013 growing season, Todey says a few things need to happen. First there needs to be an extended weather pattern change which would allow moisture to move in from the Gulf of Mexico this fall. Then we need snow cover this winter and some large snow storms in early spring. "Right now we don't have any strong indications one way or another of the amount of spring or summer moisture we'll receive in 2013," he said.
About 50 Bibles are sold every minute. It is the world’s best-selling book. Some 1 billion copies of Bibles have been sold.
Pastors Perspective
First Presbyterian Church Florence Hoff, CRE
Sunday School 9:30 a.m. • Worship Service - 10:30a.m. Wednesday Prayer Mtg. - 6:30 p.m.
Grace Baptist Church • Pastor Phil Hahn Church of Christ
Prairie Fellowship Parish ELCA • Pastor Margie Hershey
Indian Creek - 8:00 a.m. • American - 9:30 a.m. • Rosebud - 11:00 a.m.
18 mi. south of Prairie City - Worship Service - 10:00 a.m.
Mouths can speak words of love and praise. Mouths can do a lot of damage as well. Out of our mouths can come words of hate, anger, cruelty, pain and criticism. Wouldn’t it be great, though, to speak one of the greatest words there is - hope. There’s a tendency to hurt people especially those who are different from us. We need to lift up one another, including those who are broken hearted, depressed, disabled, lonely or elderly. We learn from the radio and TV or read in the newspapers about death, despair, destruction and disease. What about hope? Wouldn’t it be wonderful if we spread hope, not only to families and friends we know, but to those we don’t know. The psalmist encourages us to speak and sing with joy and rejoice in what the Lord has done for us. Take great pleasure in building someone up and speaking encouraging, hopeful words. Rejoice in what the Lord has done! Prayer: Lord, when we speak, may we speak words of hope to others. Amen. Isn’t that what we as people of GOD should do?
“SAY IT WITH HOPE” Psalm 126:2 Our mouths were filled with laughter, our tongues with songs of joy. Then it was said among the nations, “The Lord has done great things for them.”
Christ Lutheran Church WELS •
Pastor Gerhardt Juergens
Sunday Bible Class - 8:00 a.m., Worship Service - 8:30 a.m. Tuesday Bible Class - 7:00 p.m. South Jct. of Highways 73 & 20 Sunday School - 10:00 a.m., Worship Service - 11:00 a.m.
Coal Springs Community Church Pastors Nels & Angie Easterby
Seventh Day Adventist Church • Pastor Donavon Kack
Blessed Sacrament Catholic Church • Fr. Tony Grossenburg
Saturday Mass: Morristown - 4:45 p.m. Lemmon - 7:15 p.m., Sunday Mass: Lemmon - 8:15 a.m., Bison - 11:00 a.m. Sabbath School - 10:30 a.m., Worship Service - 11:00 a.m.
First Presbyterian Church • Pastor Florence Hoff, CRE
Reva • Sunday School 9:45, Worship Service - 11:00 a.m., WMF 2nd Wednesday at 1:00 p.m.
Holland Center Christian Reformed Church Pastor Brad Burkhalter • Lodgepole
Worship Service - 8:00 a.m. Sunday School 9:30 a.m. • Worship Service -10:30 a.m.
Slim Buttes Lutheran • Pastor Henry Mohagen
Prairie City Sunday School - 10:00 a.m., Morning Worship - 11:00 a.m. Vesper Service - 6:00 p.m., Wed. Evenings - 7:30 p.m.
Beckman Wesleyan Church • Pastor Brad Burkhalter
Page 6 • The Bison Courier • Thursday, November 8, 2012
South Dakota Farm Bureau 95th annual meeting
“Sharing Ag's Story "
When members of the state's largest general agricultural organization meet for their annual meeting next month, they will be Sharing Ag's Story. The 95th annual meeting of the South Dakota Farm Bureau Federation (SDFB) will be held at the Spearfish Holiday Inn, November 16-18. Mineral development, federal regulations, animal health, and state agricultural issues highlight the agenda. Informational sessions are open to the public. "The highlight of our convention is the delegate session, where producer members set the policy for our organization for the next year," said SDFB President Scott VanderWal, a family farmer from Volga, SD. "Grassroots policy is the cornerstone of our organization, as we share ag's story with state legislators and our congressional delegation." In addition, there will be elections to the Board of Directors, award presentations, and contests to determine which young farmers and ranchers will represent South Dakota at the American Farm Bureau convention in Nashville in The group will also January. honor Michael Held, former CEO for the SD Farm Bureau, and Mary Duvall, former lobbyist, for their many years of service to the organization. For more information or to register, contact the South Dakota Farm Bureau at 605-353-8050, or http://www.sdfbf.org.
Kindergarten students all dressed up for Halloween. Back row: Kaden Glover, Rylee Veal, Talon Lundberg, Colbin Seidel and Colt Kopren. Front row: Jacelyn Veal, Grace Juergens, Jozi Schuchhard, Jetta Hulm, Jada Peck, Grace Holzer.
Hettinger Christmas Fair
Saturday, November 10th • 10 a.m. - 4 p.m. • Lunch will be served
62 booths • Crafts • Baked Goods • Homebased Business’ Homebased Business’
Grace Adelle It Works Mische Just Jewelry Wildtree Young Living Oils Stanley Goumet Cupboard 31 bags Partylite Mary Kay Stella & Dot Scentsy Pink Papaya Creative Memories Advo Care Velatta Premiere Design Jewels Lia Sophia Pampered Chef Damsel in Defense Tastefully Simple American Girl doll clothes
Baked Goods
Ken Doerr’s Homemade Peanut Brittle • Lefse • Kuchen • Homemade Candy
The Bison Courier • Thursday,November 8, 2012 • Page 7
Blessed Sacrament Youth Group collects canned goods
The Blessed Sacrament Youth Group collected canned goods and even money to be donated to the Bison Food Pantry on Wednesday Oct. 24th. A big THANK YOU to all who supported this wonderful cause! Back row: Josh McKinstry, Logan Hendrickson, Wil Kolb. Front row: Tori Voller, Greg Voller, Kim Kvale, Tessa Kopren, Lenae McKinstry, Joseph Kvale, Layton Hendrickson.
While your family is sitting down to a scrumptious dinner of burgers, spaghetti and caesar salad tonight, millions of people will go without enough food to fill their bellies.
Page 8 • The Bison Courier • Thursday, November 8, 2012
Burkhalter makes Cross Country All-State 2012
This honor is awarded each year to the Top 9 finishes in the B division at the State Cross Country Meet. Duane Jongeling - 12 - Parker, Jase Kraft - 11 - Wessington Springs, Trevor Ward - 12 - Estelline, Matt Zirbel - 12 - Summit, Daniel Burkhalter - 7 - Bison, Jordan Houdek - 12 - HighmoreHarrold, Donnie Decker - 12 James Valley Christian, Austin Huether - 10 - Wall, Seth Engen 12 - Viborg-Hurley.
Bison Public Library hosts guest author
Jennifer Rogers Spinola
On a beautiful, Saturday afternoon in October, Bison Public Library hosted a guest author at the Grand electric Social room. Jennifer Rogers Spinola, a Christian fiction author, traveled from Belle Fourche, to share her published series. She also spoke on her thoughts on writing, her life in foreign countries as a journalist for Christian Mission work, and how God has worked in her family’s lives, through ordinary people. As Jennifer spoke, her animated, soon to be 4 year old son Ethan, was entertaining the nearly 30 audience members on the side. His presence is a miracle in itself, being born with hydrocephalus and the doctors saying he would most likely never walk or talk, if he even lived. Writing to combat homesickness while living in Brazil became what we know as her “Southern Fried Sushi” series. The books are funny, interesting and inspirational, as you follow the character Shiloh, an ordinary woman in her search for something substantial in her life. In February, Jennifer is releasing a different type of book unrelated to the “Sushi” series. This book will be four short novels in one, written over a hundred year period, all revolving around the Yellowstone area. Along with refreshments, there was a door prize which consisted of a signed copy of Jennifer’s first book, and a wall cross designed of glass beads and barbwire made and donated by local student, Shaley Lensegrav. Hedi Kopren of Bison was the lucky winner of these items. The Bison Public Library carries all three of the Sushi books (Southern Fried Sushi, Like Sweet Potato Pie and ‘Til Grits Do We Part) and has arrangements to obtain Yellostone Memories when it is released. If you would like to read more on Jennifer you can find her at HYPERLINK "http://www. jenniferrogersspinola.blogspot.co m/"www.jenniferrogersspinola.blo gspot.com. Be sure to “Like” Bison Public Library on our face book page, to keep up with future and everyday events.
Wednesday, November 14
Tuesday, November 13 Goulash salad bar cinnamon roll orange wheels milk Brauts w/kraut vegetable soup salad bar pears milk
Monday, November 12 Taco’s w/cheese, lettuce. salsa wk corn fruit & milk
Trust ----------By Richard P. Holm MD It wasn’t too long ago I had to tell a sixty-something woman that her breast biopsy showed cancer cells. I explained what the next steps would be and that soon I would arrange for her to see a breast cancer specialist. I remember looking up from the chart into her eyes and seeing a strange glassy stare. She had that stunned “What is happening to me?” look. More than ten million Americans are cancer survivors, but that number doesn’t seem to help much when you are the patient, some doctor is talking, and the word “cancer” comes up. In discussions like this, I’ve learned from experience that after the word “cancer”, all other words and advice are likely lost, and another visit for options in a day or two is needed. Then it is my most important job to make available to her the very best treatment, and to help her believe in it. Yesterday I asked another patient, a 95 year-old friend of mine who is a breast cancer survivor how it all happened with her. She described discovering a marble sized hard lump in her breast twenty years earlier. She was referred to a surgeon who gave her options of treatment. The patient then chose to have a simple mastectomy. She said, “I didn’t get excited, I just trusted the doctor. He told me we don’t play around with this stuff, and I believed him.” This wise woman went on to tell me about her relative who also had a breast lump, was afraid, didn’t get help, and didn’t live a year. “Better to just think of it like getting a new hip. Get it taken care of, and get on with life.” She said. Trust is the key ingredient to this story of cancer. First, the physician must truly deliver the very best treatment options available anywhere… and then the patient must know and believe she is receiving the best treatment. Like my 95 year-old patient said, “I just trusted the doctor.” Take home message: 1. Caring for cancer patients requires a physician to know how to communicate well; 2. When caring for any patient, physicians must promise and deliver the best treatment options available anywhere; 3. Successful treatment depends on the patient trusting that the physician is delivering on that promise.
Thursday, November 15 Turkey /gravy dressing sweet potatoes salad bar baked apples wg bun & milk
Dr. Jason M. Hafner Dr. David J. Prosser
Great Gift IDEAS! Call TODAY!
Shop early for Christmas delivery
Lemmon, SD 57638 • 605-374-5868 • FAX 605-374-3965 statelinedesigns@sdplains.com • www.statelindesigns.com
OPTOMETRIST
Every 1st Wed. of the month Every 3rd Wed. of the month
Buffalo Clinic
Faith Clinic
1-800-648-0760
The Bison Courier • Thursday,November 8, 2012 • Page 9
Cardinals’ volleyball season ends in District 16B semi-final round
Bison was this year’s host for the District 16B Volleyball Tournament held on Tuesday, October 30 and Thursday and Friday, November 1 and 2. The Cardinals went in as the number four seed and beat the number five team, the Newell Irrigators in the first round. On Thursday they took on the Faith Lady Longhorns, the number one seed, and lost in straight sets to end their season. Opening Round: Bison vs. Newell: 25-27, 25-16, 25-8, 25-21 The opening game of the tournament found the Cards across the net from the Irrigators. The Cardinals had some nervous jitters which showed up in the first set and found themselves down 0-9 before Lenae McKinstry recorded a kill and got Bison on the scoreboard. Shelly Peck had a good serve rotation and Sydney Arneson served three aces to get the score closer to even. After three kills by McKinstry the score was tied at 16 all. From there on it was a point by point game and ended with Newell up by two, 25-27. The second game started with the same intensity the first had ended with from the Cards. The Bison squad was up the entire game, as much as 17-8 at one point. Kassidy Sarsland and McKinstry kept scoring kills for the Cards and helped put them up 21-16. Arneson stepped to the line and served out the game for the victorious Cardinals, 25-16. The Cardinals really pulled together in the third game and dominated the Irrigators. Solid serving by the Cards kept them in the lead and the set was over quickly with the score at 25-8. Newell fought back in the fourth game of the match and gained a fairly large lead over the Cardinals. The Cards got it together, though, and closed the gap with solid team play. They ended the match with a game four win, 25-21. In the second opening round game, the Lemmon Cowgirls came out ahead of the Takini Skyhawks. Semi-Final Round: Bison vs. Faith: 12-25, 17-25, 17-25 Thursday night the Cardinals faced off against the number one seed, the Faith Lady Longhorns. The Cardinals found themselves in a deep hole quickly as the Longhorns went up 08 before an Arneson block scored a point for the Cards. The Cardinals struggled to put together a good serve rotation and with their big lead, the Longhorns cruised to a 1225 win. The second set of the match was much more competitive with the Cards staying within three to four points throughout much of the game. McKinstry had a good rotation with two aces to bring the Cards within one at 5-6. Faith pulled away a little after that but the Cards were always within striking distance. The Longhorns were able to maintain their lead, however, and ended the set up by eight, 17-25. The Longhorns scored first in the third set but the Cards kept it close in the early part of the game. The score was tied at four and six, but after that the Longhorns began to build a lead and the Cards didn’t get any closer than five points from the Horns’ score. Charlotte Johnson’s ace got the Cardinals within three at 16-19, but they would only score once more and the set win and match went to the Longhorns, 17-25. In the other semi-final game the Harding County Ranchers were victorious over the Lemmon Cowgirls. On Friday evening, the Ranchers beat the Longhorns for the district championship.
Box top winners ------
Kaden Glover and Grace Holzer were the lucky winners of this month's Box Top Contest. The month of October brought in 3400 Box Tops, Our Family UPC codes, and Campbell's Soup Labels. The students had one chance to win the prize for every 25 items they brought in. The students will compete in a class contest in November, with the winning class participating in an edible art project at the end of the month. You can drop off labels or BoxTops at the grocery store, or bring them to the school. If you have questions contact Heidi Collins at Bison School.
“Our sales are every day” CC Flooring
Highway 12 Hettinger 701-567-2677 carpet • vinyl • hardwood • ceramics
Crystal Lind Lind Insurance 605-865-3301
HELP US HELP
For all your gravel, river rock, scoria & landscaping rock needs!
Rick Oldaugh Construction
30 years experience
Karen Delbridge,
wife of Pastor Harold Delbridge
Karen will be hospitalized for 5 to 6 weeks, recovering from knee infection. They removed her old artificial knee and now are waiting until December before they can replace it with a new one. Let’s HELP them out with expenses.
Account set up at: First Interstate Bank Karen Delbridge Benefit Acct. Box 9 Sturgis, SD 57785
Besler Gravel & Trucking, LLC 244-5600
pole buildings • garages roofing • siding custom homes excellent craftmanship
307-689-4820 insured • free estimates
or drop off any help you have: Cheryl Hammerstrom PrHairie Country Cut & Curl Union Center Mall Union Center, SD
Page 10 • The Bison Courier • Thursday, November 8, 2012
Three Brian Meyer scholarships available for 2013 spring semester
The South Dakota Telecommunications Association (SDTA) is now accepting applications for the Brian Meyer Memorial Scholarship. Three scholarships, in the amounts of $1,500, $1,000 and $500, will be awarded for the 2013 spring semester. The scholarship is available to applicants who have completed at least two semesters of course work at an accredited post-secondary school in South Dakota and reside in an SDTA member company service area. The scholarship can be used at any post-secondary educational institution in South Dakota including public and private universities as well as technical schools. Applicants must complete an application, write a short outline of their career plans following completion of their post-secondary education, and submit a brief essay on the future of small town South Dakota and what can be done to enhance the quality of life in rural areas through the use of technology. Also needed are a copy of the applicant’s most recent transcript and at least two letters of recommendation. The deadline to submit an application for the Brian Meyer Memorial Scholarship is October 19, 2012.
For more information on the Brian Meyer Memorial Scholarship, contact any post-secondary institution financial aid office, the South Dakota Telecommunications Association at 605-224-7629 or ginigrannes@sdtaonline.com. The application is also available online at www.sdtaonline.com. SDTA membership is composed of the state’s member-owned cooperatives, privatelyowned, municipal and tribal telecommunications companies which collectively serve almost 80% of the state. Members of the South Dakota Telecommunications Association are: Alliance Communications (Garretson); Beresford Municipal Telephone; Cheyenne River Sioux Tribe Telephone Authority (Eagle Butte); Faith Municipal Telephone; Fort Randall Telephone (Wagner); Golden West Telecommunications Companies (Wall); Interstate Telecommunications (Clear Lake); James Valley Telecommunications (Groton); Kennebec Telephone Company; Long Lines (Jefferson); Midstate Communications (Kimball); RC Communications and Roberts County Telephone Coop (New Effington); Knology Community Telephone Santel Communications (Irene); (Woonsocket); Stockholm-Strandburg Telephone; Swiftel Communications (Brookings TrioTel Communications Municipal); (Salem); Valley Telecommunications (Herreid); Venture Communications (Highmore); West River Cooperative Telephone (Bison); West River Telecom Cooperative (Hazen, ND), Western Telephone (Faulkton).
Al and Tiss Treib spent Monday in Faith. Al and Tiss Treib made a trip to Lemmon Tuesday and went out to lunch. Tiss Treib and Ethan Wiechmann helped Ben and Ruth Wiechmann work calves Friday and were dinner guests. Tiss Treib called briefly on Shirley Johnson Sunday afternoon. Thelma Sandgren was a cake and coffee guest. Jodi and Shirley Johnson traveled to Elgin Sunday where they met and visited with Laurie and Katelyn Eisenbiez and picked up Lexi and brought her home. Duane and Sue Meink called on Helen Meink several times during the week. Jim and Patsy Miller spent Monday in Faith. Jim and Patsy Miller traveled to Scranton Tuesday and on their way home, they visited with Violet Miller
Rosebud News ..................................by Tiss Treib
at the Nursing home. Jim and Patsy Miller made a trip to Lemmon Wednesday and visited with Vivan Lyon at the Five Counties Nursing Home. Jim and Patsy Miller played cards at the Senior Center in Hettinger Friday and then visited with Violet Miller before returning home. Patsy Miller and Sharon Longwood attended the Parish Board meeting in Bison Sunday evening. Jerry Anderson of Sheridan, WY was a Friday overnight guest of Tim and JoAnne Seim. Ella and Greta Anderson were Thursday supper and evening visitors of Tim and JoAnne Seim. Linda Seim took Tiss Treib out to lunch Tuesday in Lemmon. Chet and Mandy Anderson and Eric were Saturday evening coffee guests of Nolan and Linda Seim. Lynn and Dorothy Frey attended the funeral for Paul Arndt in Mobridge Saturday.
FOR SALE: Hereford Bull Calves
Will keep until December 1, 2012.
HOVLAND HEREFORDS
Call Allen Hovland 544-3236 or Miles Hovland 544-3294
Pierce Keller, Brookings, SD headed for home after spending a week working on electrical for Albert and Bridget Keller. Thursday, Bert and Patricia Keller, Trail City, SD, Earl Hirchert, Wilton, ND and Steven Hirchert, Minneapolis, MN came to help with the roof extension. Pat returned home that evening while Bert, Earl and Steven spent the night to help on Friday. Earl brought Lil Albert a pony for a surprise as well. Friday, Bridget and Lil Albert Keller traveled to Bismarck for a baby appointment. They spent the night at Bert and Pat Kellers where Albert met up with them. Saturday, Bridget and Dawn Harris had a booth at the Timber Lake Christmas Fair. Albert, Bridget and Lil Albert spent the night again at Bert and Pat Kellers. They had supper that evening at Grandpa Peter and Grandma Fauniel Kellers. Aunt Marcie Keller treated them all to lasagna there. They returned home on Sunday morning and continued work on their house. Monday Steve Sandgren and W A Lloyd had a coffee break with Thelma Sandgren. Tuesday, Steve Sandgren came out and had breakfast with Thelma Sandgren and did some chores. Wednesday, Steve Sandgren came out and picked up Thelma and they traveled to Bison, paid taxes, had dinner and visited at the title office. Wednesday afternoon, Vince Gunn visited with Thelma Sandgren. Thursday, Thelma Sandgren attended the Hospital Auxiliary dinner at Hettinger Lutheran Church and also visited at the Nursing home with her siblings Gladys Vliem and Buster Van Wyk. Friday was Thelma Sandgren’s usual day in Hettinger and Lucy Milliren joined her for lunch. Thelma stopped to visit with Jim and Angie Spenny on her way home. Saturday, Thelma Sandgren attended the Christmas Fair in Bison and visited with James and Marci. Saturday afternoon, John and Shirley Johnson had cappuccino with Thelma Sandgren after moving cattle around.
The Bison Courier • Thursday,November 8, 2012 • Page 11
Growing Ag CEO's program takes new focus with beginning farmers
Like the Chief Executive Officer of any corporation, an Ag CEO is a manager and visionary for their agricultural enterprise, says Heather Gessner, SDSU Extension Livestock Business Management Field Specialist. Growing Ag CEO's will be held statewide in 2013 with locations in Aberdeen, Watertown, Alcester, Winner, Eagle Butte and Belle Fourche. SDSU Extension's Growing Ag CEO's program focuses on teaching beginning farmers to use a systems approach to farm business planning. The program will be held on four to five consecutive evenings depending on the location and the topics presented during the sessions. Sessions run from 5:30 p.m. to 8 p.m.; allowing those with an additional job to participate during the evening. "Ag CEO's is a program geared toward beginning farmers," said Gessner, a program organizer. "This group of producers is being charged with feeding 50 billion people by the year 2050. With the changes to agriculture during the past 20-40 years, their skill set needs to change in order to accomplish that goal and remain a viable and sustainable operation." To address these changes the general topics for the sessions include: farm vision, resource inventory and management (family, land, crops, and livestock), and financial record creation, budgets development and analysis and production topics (personalized to the group). More date and location information can be found online at www.igrow.org or by calling Heather Gessner 605-782-3290 or Adele Harty 605-394-1722 or by contacting an Extension Regional Center: Aberdeen, 605-626-2870, Lemmon, 605-374-4177, Mitchell, 605-995-7378, Pierre, 605-7738120, Rapid City, 605-394-1722, Sioux Falls, 605-782-3290, Watertown, 605-882-5140 and Winner, 605-842-1267. For location address visit iGrow.org.
Each of the businesses listed below will draw for a turkey to be given away on Monday, November 19th. Businesses will notify the winners. Turkeys may be picked up at the Bison Food Store.
Be sure to sign up for your chance to win at these participations Bison area businesses!
Co-sponsored by these businesses and the Bison Courier
Da co Ba tah nk
Cha E l e pman ’ ctr oni s c
kot & a Fee See d d
H Ins ibner ura nce
RW
S
p
r
M o Pl m’s ac e
Gr Ele and ctr ic
PC
Sto
zz
on
Bis
Bu
Da
CT
C
il ’ & s Pai n Bo dy t
WR
T i PC tle C
o.
Ja Tr ckson enc hin g
Bi Co son uri er
Da k Pla ota i FC ns U
Bis ple on me nt
Bis od on Sto re
Im
Fo
Bi s Gr on ain
Br i Re xey pa ir
Ph
Bis
on
Cli
nic
Ba
Hettinger Theater
Page 12 • The Bison Courier • Thursday, November 8, 2012
Legal
Meadow News
By Tiss Treib
Carolyn Petik and Irene Young traveled to Bismarck Tuesday. Carolyn Petik visited with Ernestine Miller Thursday. Bill Hirchert of Piedmont was a Friday supper guest of Jerry and Carolyn Petik. Carolyn Petik attended a Mom’s and Kids get together at Hope Church Saturday. Ron Fried and his daughter Katie Gilbert and her two children, Cooper and Ensley of Kodiak, Alaska visited with Mary Ellen Fried last week. Duane and Dawn Fried, Leif and Larissa Anderson and children, Mike and Tara Fried and Camdyn, Jenny Fried of Spearfish, Lucas Fried of Rapid City, Chris and Mary Fried and family of Mobridge, Greg and Peggy Fried visited various times at Mary Ellen’s home with her houseguests.
BISON SCHOOL DISTRICT 52-1 BOARD OF EDUCATION
Regular Meeting November 12, 2012 7:00 pm
Pitch Perfect
112 minutes
featuring digital surround sound
PG-13
Nov 9 - 12
Nightly • 7:30 p.m. Sunday Matinee 2:00 p.m. 3-D Glasses $2.00
AGENDA: 1.Pledge of Allegiance 2. Call to Order 3. Consent Agenda a. Approve Agenda b. Minutes c. Financial Reports 4. Approval of claims 5. Delegations 6. Report from Building Committee – 7. Letter of Resignation – 8. Approve Contract – Grade Basketball Coaches 9. Loan from Impact Aid Fund to Special Education Fund – 10. Superintendent Evaluation packets to Board members – Evaluation in December 11. Executive session—if needed 12. Northwest Area Schools Education Cooperative Report – 13. Superintendent Report – 14. Adjournment -[Published November 8, 2012 at a total approximate cost of $12.64.]
at any of these Lemmon businesses. Winners will be notified on Nov. 19th. Turkeys can be picked up at Lemmon IGA.
Dakota Farm Equipment Lemmon IGA
Smith’s Drug
State Farm Insurance
Every week we will have different items on the Fill It Fresh program. Take a brown paper bag and fill it with as many items as you 411 Main Ave., Lemmon, SD want from the items marked fill it fresh, and your cost will be only $15.00.
You’ve heard of Bountiful Baskets??? Well, Lemmon IGA has started a new
”FILL IT FRESH” Program
Bank of the West
Dakota Auto Parts
DEADLINE DATES!
Alaska Cafe
Lemmon Pit Stop Shane Penfield Attorney at Law
•FORAGE AND PRF IN ALL COUNTIES •WHEAT In Winter Wheat Counties
November 14th, 2012: all wheat production, winter wheat acreage reporting, to get in or out of PRF, and PRF Acreage due.
We now do electronic signatures so you must come in and sign when making any changes and reporting acreage and/or production.
Incorrect information regarding a spouse or Tax ID # will void your policy but not your premium.
Summerville Store
Farmers Union Insurance Agency 404 Main Avenue • Lemmon, SD 57638 605-374-3462 or 1-888-868-3282
The Bison Courier • Thursday,November 8, 2012 • Page 13
Epizootic Hemorrhagic Disease found in South Dakota cattle
Cases of Epizootic Hemorrhagic Disease (EHD) are being reported in South Dakota cattle herds as well as in white-tailed deer. Russ Daly answers frequently asked questions on the disease and its origins; Daly is the SDSU Extension Veterinarian and Associate Professor in the Department of Veterinary and Biomedical Sciences, South Dakota State University. Q. What is EHD? A. EHD is a viral disease that has long been recognized as perhaps the most important infectious disease of whitetailed deer. In some years, including 2012, significant death losses in deer due to EHD are reported. Mule deer, antelope, and other deer species can also become affected, but usually not to as severe an extent as are white-tailed deer. Cattle can become affected uncommonly, but clinical illness is very rare in other species. Q. What are the signs of EHD in deer? A. Usually the disease in deer develops so quickly that death losses are the only signs noted. If observed, affected deer may show signs of excessive salivation and nasal discharge, sometimes bloody in nature. Weakness and difficult breathing also are common. Hemorrhages throughout the entire body are often noted in the carcasses of deer that have died from EHD. Mortality rates are high. Q. Does EHD do the same thing to cattle? A. No. The clinical disease in cattle is generally much milder and death losses are very infrequent. In the current outbreak, the most common sign noted in cattle is that of excessive drooling. Other signs noted include stiffness or lameness, a crusty peeling muzzle, crusty skin on the teats, fever and a reluctance to eat. Q. What are veterinarians seeing in these animals? A. The most common problem associated with EHD in cattle in this South Dakota outbreak has been that of sores in the mouth. These sores can be found under the upper lips, on the roof of the mouth, or along the gums in the lower jaw as well. Cows may show redness, blistering and leatheriness in their teats. In some cases, sores have been noted in the feet where the skin meets the hoof (coronary band). Q. Is there any treatment for affected cattle? A. Not against the EHD virus itself. However, veterinarians working with affected herds have prescribed anti-inflammatory medications and antibiotics in hopes of preventing problems with secondary bacterial infections that may crop up where the lesions occur. Providing a palatable, accessible source of feed and for these animals is important because of the pain that goes along with the sores in the mouth. Q. Is there any vaccine for EHD in cattle? A. No. Q. What is the outcome for affected cattle? A. Reports from veterinarians are generally encouraging. Most of the affected cattle have recovered, with some taking longer to recover than others. There are very few reports of cows that are permanently affected. Deaths in cattle due to EHD have been confirmed by the SDSU Animal Disease Research and Diagnostic Laboratory (ADRDL), but these death losses are considered very uncommon overall. Q. Does EHD have a breed or age preference in cattle? A. One breed of cattle does not seem to be affected more than others. The majority of the cases have been in beef herds, but at least one Holstein herd has been affected. Cows are most commonly affected, but there has been at least one report of an affected bull. Affected cows tend to be somewhat older than the herd average. Only a few calves have been reported by producers or veterinarians as suspect EHD cases; these calves have evidence of exposure to EHD, but the virus has not been demonstrated in the body. Q. How do cattle get this disease? A. EHD is a virus exclusively spread by biting flies of the Culicoides family, more commonly known as biting midges, sand gnats, sand flies, or nosee-ums. The virus is not directly contagious; it needs to be spread through the bite of one of these flies. Once the fly bites an infected animal, the virus can reproduce inside the insect. The insect then is able to transmit even more virus particles than it picked up in the first place. As cooler weather prevails, the activity and the survival of the vector will diminish. The number of new cases submitted to the ADRDL has declined; whether this is due to decreased transmission or to a better awareness of disease features in the field is unclear. Q. How is EHD diagnosed in an animal? A. A definite diagnosis consists of demonstrating the EHD virus in the blood of an animal with clinical signs. Indirectly, antibodies against EHD can be detected in the blood. This indicates that the animal has been exposed to the virus at some time, but doesn't necessarily confirm that EHD is the cause of the current illness in the animal. We know from past investigations that some normal cattle have evidence of EHD antibodies, meaning they were exposed to the virus, but have never shown any signs of illness. Q. How many herds are affected by this outbreak? A. As of October 2, veterinarians have submitted samples from 51 different cattle herds with EHD signs. Of these 51, 32 of these herds have evidence of EHD virus infection, 12 have had negative results, with tests pending on the rest. The number of submissions to the ADRDL likely vastly underestimates the total number of herds affected. We have heard from many veterinarians in the outbreak area that there are many more herds experiencing clinical illness than were submitted to the laboratory. An effort is underway to interview veterinarians and producers to get an idea of how many herds might have been affected. Q. Where are the affected herds? A. According to ADRDL submissions only, herds have been identified as far west as Gregory County, as far east as Turner County, and as far north as Sanborn County. It is very possible that herds outside that area have been affected. Q. What should a cattle producer do if he or she suspects EHD in some of his cattle? A. Contact their veterinarian. They may wish to collect samples for diagnosis and can advise about treatment and management of affected animals. In general, providing supportive care to the affected animals along with fly control, seems to be prudent. Q. Why is this showing up this year? A. The area of the state in which the most cases are identified is also the area of the state experiencing very dry conditions. The insect vector likes to breed in moist dirt, such as that found in drying creek beds, or along the shores of receded rivers and creeks. Some scientists have speculated that the level of immunity in the cattle population may currently be on a down cycle, allowing more animals to show clinical signs, although this has not been definitively proven. Q. What is going to happen next year? Will we see more, or less of this syndrome? Will we see effects next calving season in the affected cows? A. It is unclear at this point, and much depends on conditions for the vector next year. One could suppose that a high percentage of cattle will have been exposed to EHD this year whether they have shown signs of illness or not. Whether this results in an increased resistance to signs of EHD in future years remains to be seen. In a 2007 Ohio outbreak, there were no instances in which EHD was confirmed to have contributed to reproductive losses in the following calving season. Q. Does EHD affect people or meat or milk from the affected animals? A. No. EHD does not affect people. Meat and milk from animals that are recovering or have recovered is safe to consume.
Palace Theater
Taken 2
Nov.9 - 11
92 minutes PG-13
surround sound Lemmon 374-5107 8:00 p.m. nightly
Turkey Give-away!
Register now at one of these Hettinger businesses for a chance to win a F R E E turkey in time for Thanksgiving.
Winners will be notified on November 19th. Turkeys can be picked up at Jack & Jill. Co-sponsored by the following Hettinger businesses and the Bison Courier.
ste We a ot nk ak Ba D rn
Jack & Ji Hetting ll er
ce Ag Allian
Alco Main St Hettinger
ll
NAPA
Gri
ire odf
Wo
Graphic Designs & Printing
h da He
La
k
iew ev
w Bo
l
Mo
der nE sio xpres ns -
Drug White
ls
RZ
Mo
tor s
Page 14 • The Bison Courier • Thursday, November 8, 2012
There was a lot of fog this week, most of it unrelated to the elections. I wrote the foggy days on the calendar, but can’t remember if it’s supposed to be 60 days or 90 days from the day of the fog until it rains? Speaking of rain - our gauge registered only eight hundredths for the whole week, but the fire danger is greatly decreased. Monday was shipping day here. Doug and Clint Doll, Jeremey Stadheim, and Taz came to the Smith place to help Reub and Casey sort and load calves for the trip to the Faith. I took lunch to the crew and Peder Tenold and Casey trucked calves to the sale barn while Reub and I followed in the car. After watching the calves sell, Reub caught a ride back home with Tony Holt, who also sold calves that day and I drove on to Pierre for the last meeting of our legislative Oil and Gas Development committee on Tuesday. Fourteen committee members were able to attend. We amended and approved eight of the seventeen bill drafts that LRC had written up for the committee to present to the legislature next session. We lost more old friends and neighbors this past week. Leland Ehleringer, 69, of Hettinger passed away October 24th. Leland worked at the West River Regional Medical Center in the Environmental Service Maintenance Department for almost 26 years before he retired in 2006. He was a dear friend and will really be missed. Lorretta Hafner’s brother, Percy Bekken, 51, died October 25th at the Rapid City Regional Hospital. His funeral was Thursday in Newell with burial at the Immanuel Lutheran Church Cemetery at Zeona. Sharon Knapp’s mother, Clara Mae Bagley, age 89, formerly Camp Crook and Spearfish, died October 26th at the Belle Fourche Health Care Center. Her funeral service was Tuesday at the Funeral Home of the Northern Hills in Belle Fourche with burial at the Black Hills National Cemetery near Sturgis. Marlee Cordell’s father, Richard Owen, 82 of Ridgway, Montana passed away at home on the ranch November 1st. His funeral will be 11:00 a.m., Wednesday at the Stevenson Funeral Home in Ekalaka with burial will be in the Beaver Lodge Cemetery in Ekalaka. Our sympathy goes out to these families. Greg Urlacher came to preg test our cows Friday. Bill Holt, Jeremy Stadheim, and Doug and Clint Doll helped Reub and Casey gather and
Grand River Roundup......................................................................................By Betty Olson
work at the Smith place. I took coffee and lunch over to them in the morning and the crew came to the ranch for dinner. Everything went well and there weren’t many dry cows. Life is good! The Harding County volleyball team won the District tournament Friday night and will play Timber Lake at Regionals in Lemmon this Tuesday. Congratulations girls! Galen and Donna Niederwerder came to visit Saturday. Donna is my cousin and Galen is our insurance agent and it was time to update the policy on the ranch. We had a good visit over lunch and then we went into Buffalo to watch the football game. Harding County High beat Castlewood 40 to 28 to secure another trip to the dome. HCHS will play Colome for the state championship in Vermillion on Thursday. Pretty exciting! I drove to Spearfish after the football game for the ‘Friendraiser’ at the High Plains Western Heritage Center. This was my first event as a new director on the Heritage Center board and it was an enjoyable evening. After the lavish and delicious supper, we were entertained at the campfire by Slim McNaught and Bob Lantis, with Robert ‘Jinglebob’ Dennis as Master of Ceremonies. One of the other guys claimed Jinglebob got the job because he was the only one of the three that could spell MC! That reminds me - the next meeting of the Great Western Cattle Trails Association will also be at the Heritage Center in Spearfish on Wednesday, November 14 at 7:00 pm. Everyone is welcome, so come learn about the fascinating history of the cattle drives that played such a big part in the settlement of the west. You’re invited to the Open House for Bill and Verona Vroman’s 65th wedding anniversary at the Rec Center in Buffalo at 2:00 on Saturday, November 10th. Congratulations - not many couples get a chance to celebrate 65 years of marriage! There will also be hunter feeds at the Reva Hall in Reva and at Immanuel Lutheran Church in Zeona that evening. Everyone should be well-fed Saturday. I ran out of room last week to tell you about the present Larry Blankenbaker brought me from China. Sheri came to the Senior Citizens while I was explaining the ballot measures last week to give me the canvas purse with President Obama’s picture on it with the caption ‘Oba Mao’ underneath. President Obama is dressed to look like Mao, the former dictator of China. I don’t know what the Chinese characters underneath the Dear
Leader’s picture say, but I’d sure like to find out. If you read Mandarin, come see me? The time changed Saturday night and here’s an amusing timechange story for you: (5 September 1999, Jerusalem) The switch away from daylight savings time caused consternation among terrorist groups this year. At precisely 5:30 Israel time on Sunday, two coordinated car bombs exploded in different cities, killing three terrorists who were transporting the bombs. It was initially believed that the devices had been detonated prematurely by klutzy amateurs. A closer look revealed the truth behind the untimely explosions. Three days before, Israel had made a premature switch from daylight savings time to standard time in order to accommodate a week of involving pre-sunrise Slihot, prayers. Palestinians refused to "live on Zionist time." Two weeks of scheduling havoc ensued. The bombs had been prepared in a Palestine-controlled area, and set on Daylight Savings time. The confused drivers had already switched to standard time. As a result, the cars were still en-route when the explosives detonated, delivering to the terrorists their well-deserved demise.
DISPLAY ADS: $4.50 per column inch. CLASSIFIED ADS: $5.90 for 30 words; 10¢ for each word thereafter. $2.00 billing charge applies. THANK YOU'S: $5.90 minimum or $3.10 per column inch. $2.00 billing charge applies. HIGHLIGHTS & HAPPENINGS: $5.90 minimum or $3.10 per column inch. $2.00 billing charge applies. HAPPY ADS: With or Without Picture: $15.00 minimum or B $4.50 per column inch.BIRTH ANNOUNCEMENT: $36.00 for 2x7 announcement. Ad Deadline is Monday at NOON! Legal Deadline is Friday at NOON! 244-7199 or courier@sdplains.com
For Sale For sale fresh farm eggs 244-5948 or cell 307-622-2705. B21-1tc For sale: 2000 Chevy Silverado 1/2 ton, V8, 4 wheel drive, 5 speed trans,. quad cab regular box asking $5000. call 605-484-7519. B20-3tc FOR SALE: Hereford bull calves. Will keep until December 1, 2012. Hovland Herefords, Allen Hovland, 605-544-3236, or Miles Hovland, 5443294. B20-2tc Need Help? Experienced in all aspects of livestock handling and fencing. Now booking day jobs for the winter season. Call Christian at 605-8664530. B21-2tc For Rent For rent: Homestead Heights located in Bison, S.D., has a one and two bedroom apartment available. Homestead Heights is a low-income elderly and disabled Section 8 HUD (Housing and Urban Development) housing facility. We are smoke free. Energy Assistance is available for those who qualify. Utilities are included in the rent. Homestead Heights is an equal housing opportunity. For more information, please call (605) 244-5473. B14-tfn Help Wanted Perkins County has job openings for Mechanic and Equipment Operators. Must have or obtain a valid South Dakota Class A Commercial Drivers
Advertising Rates:
License within 30 days of employment. Benefits include: Health & Dental insurance, retirement, sick leave, vacation and paid holidays. For application and details, contact the Highway Office in Bison,SD or call 605-244-5629.
The Bison Courier • Thursday,November 8, 2012 • Page 15
SALES AGRONOMIST/PRECISION AG position at Howard Farmers Coop, Howard SD. Sales experience, knowledge of Ag chemicals and precision Ag/VRT is preferred. Call Colby 605-772-5543.
Position open until filled. Perkins County Highway Dept. Box 158 Bison, SD 57620 B21-3tc Thank You I would like to thank my family and friends who made my 90th birthday party so special. Also, for all the wonderful cards that I have received through the mail it has meant so much to me. I'm very blessed to have so many wonderful friends and such a loving family. God Bless you all. Helen Marty
ADOPTION ADOPT - WE WILL PROVIDE a happy, loving home, beautiful life for your precious newborn baby. Expenses paid. Married couple Walt/Gina. Call for info: 1-800315-6957.
FOR SALE AKC black and yellow lab puppies, male and female, ready to go Nov. 14, good hunting parents, dew claws removed, $250.00. Ringneck Roost, Gregory. Ph: (605) 8359629.
Crocheted dish cloths, pot scrubbers, fleece scarves, fleece caps, crocheted caps and some Louis Lamour books are available at the Bison Courier. Also Taking orders for embroidered dish towels for information see Arlis at the Bison Courier or call 244-7199. B4-tfn Work Wanted
The Millennial generation already makes up 1/5 of the electorate. By 2015, they will account for 1/3.
AUCTION LARGE NATIVE AMERICAN collection of prints, pictures, plates and decorative items for sale at indoors Two-Ring Auction, Carpenter Auction Center, Lake Benton, MN, Saturday, Nov. 10, 9:30 a.m. Pickups, boat, firearms, antiques, furniture, household, miscellaneous. www.carpenterauction.com EMPLOYMENT KTC CONSTRUCTION SEEKS EMPLOYEES, both part-time and full-time. Excellent pay/benefits! Underground plumbing, digging, trenching, operating equipment. Willing to train. Submit resumes to rodb@kennebectelephone.com. Questions, call 605-869-2220.
NOW IS THE chance to buy a well established & successful business in the State Capitol of S.D. The Longbranch is for SALE (serious inquires only). Call Russell Spaid 605-280-1067. LOG HOMES DAKOTA LOG HOME Builders representing Golden Eagle Log Homes, building in eastern, central, northwestern South & North Dakota. Scott Connell, 605-5302672, Craig Connell, 605-2646 5 0 , 5 www.goldeneagleloghomes.com. NOTICES ADVERTISE IN NEWSPAPERS statewide for only $150.00. Put the South Dakota Statewide Classifieds Network to work for you today! (25 words for $150. Each additional word $5.) Call this newspaper or 800-6583697 for details.
OTR & DRIVER OPPORTUNITY
DRIVERS: $1,000 SIGN-ON BONUS. New Pay Program! *Earn up to 50 cpm *Home Weekly *2500+ miles, 95% notarp. Must be Canadian eligible (888) 691-5705.
$1500.00 SIGN-ON BONUS! EXP. OTR Drivers, TBI, 33¢/34¢, $375 mo., health ins., credit, 03¢ safety bonus, Call Joe for details, 800.456.1024, joe@tbitruck.com.
One & Two Bedroom Apartments The Village Manor, Hettinger, North Dakota Small Pets Allowed All utilities included No Age Limitations Rental assistance available
FOR RENT
To view an apartment call 701-567-4118 For further information call 701-290-0206 TTY 1-800-366-6888
Research shows that young voters with college experience are much more likely to vote than their non-college counterparts. Although ? of young Americans ages 18-29 have never enrolled in college, 79% of the young voters on Super Tuesday attended college.
Page 16 • The Bison Courier • Thursday, November 8, 2012

Published under a Creative Commons License By attribution, non-commercial
AttachmentSize
Courier_11-8-12.pdf4.41 MB