Login

Bison Courier, November 29, 2012

Embedded Scribd iPaper - Requires Javascript and Flash Player
$1.00
Volume 30 Number 24 November 29, 2012
Includes Tax
The
Official Newspaper for the City of Bison, Perkins County, and the Bison School District A Publication of Ravellette Publications, Inc. P.O. Box 429 • Bison, South Dakota 57620-0429 Phone: (605) 244-7199 • FAX (605) 244-7198
Bison Courier
three years. The 6’, 220 pound senior is the son of Ross and Beverly Kopren of Prairie City. Middle linebacker has been Kopren’s principle position on defense. He spent time at defensive end when he was a freshman and on offense he has played fullback, guard and tight end. Kopren set a school record with 215 total tackles, including 52 solos and 163 assisted. The previous record was 184 by Troy Merkel in 1997. According to MaxPreps, Kopren’s stat led the state of South Dakota and ranked him fifth in the nation. Kopren says he “loves the sport” of football and prefers the defensive side of the ball. When questioned why, it’s because he “likes to hit people!” He worked a comprehensive weight program all summer using a cage-style weight machine at home. One of his favorite things about playing football is the early morning practices during the preseason. A naturally talented athlete, Coach says, “He plays fast, instinctive and physical football. He is disruptive on every play.” Kopren, who wishes that the season wasn’t over, says it has been fun to play for Coach Chapman. “He made me become a better player,” said Kopren. He has also played Bison Cardinal basketball since the fourth grade and is a force to be reckoned with at the forward post. Kopren is undecided about college and whether or not he will play football at the next level. He is “maybe” looking at Black Hills State University in Spearfish or Chadron State College in Chadron, Nebraska. Chapman, at 6’1” and 180 pounds, is a multi-talented athlete who has played three sports throughout high school. The youngest son of Kirby and Sylvia Chapman, he comes from a family of sports enthusiasts. He has played defensive back and linebacker on defense, but has only played quarterback on offense. Preferring offense, he has racked up an impressive set of passing statistics. In four years as a starting quarterback, he completed 242 of 547 pass attempts for 3442 yards, including 43 touchdowns. He also rushed for 1894 yards on 361 carries and scored 27 touchdowns. Chapman passed for 24 TDs, which ties a record set by Jared Beld in 1995. This season he picked off seven interceptions, which was one short of his brother Matthew’s record. Chapman has a hard time decid-
Kopren and Chapman earn gridiron recognition
By Marsha Veal Post-season awards are pouring in for Bison Cardinal football players since the season ended a few weeks ago. Leading the list is Lane Kopren who was named to the South Dakota Coaches’ Association 9B AllState Football Team at linebacker. Joining him on the prestigious squad i s Daniel Chapman, who received Honorable Mention for his work at defensive back. Coach Beau Chapman nominated these two players during a meeting of all 9B coaches held at Vermillion during the 2012 State Championships. Kopren was named on the first ballot and Chapman tied with another player after the initial vote. The runoff vote went in favor of the other player. Coach Chapman and Harding County Head Coach Jay Wammen were the only west river coaches present at the meeting. Kopren began his football career playing JV when he was in 7th and 8th grade. In the fall of 2009, Coach Larry Aaker got the BHS varsity program re-started after a few years of being unable to field a team due to low numbers, and Kopren has been a first string player ever since. In 2010, Coach Chapman took over the program and has been the head coach for the last ing between football and basketball as to which is his favorite sport. “When you get more success, it’s more fun,” he said. When asked what it was like to play for his brother, he replied, “Good. We don’t always see eye to eye but we can talk later and work things out. We work well together.” The oldest of six children, Coach Chapman is 16 years older than his brother. Coaching has sometimes been difficult for him because, he says, “Like any family member, it would be easier to watch your brother than coach him. When you coach, you have to watch the entire team.” Coach also has a lot of pride in the program because he grew up in Bison and played here, too. “It’s about the Cardinals, not the brothers.” Coach feels that his QB is an “excellent athlete. He can throw and run the ball and is a very shifty runner. He is also a good pass defender,” said Coach. The senior is undecided on college, too, and doesn’t know yet if he would rather try to play football or basketball. He scored his 1,000th point in basketball last season, so either sport will probably be a viable option for him. When asked what they considered the highlight of their season, Kopren said simply that he was glad he got to play one more year. For Chapman, making the play-offs was his favorite part of the season. Neither could decide on what they thought was their best game so Coach stepped in an said he felt it was the final home game with Dupree. He said they needed to win that game to keep their play-off hopes alive and everyone stepped up and contributed to the 40-26 victory. As for Coach Chapman, he is undecided if he will continue to coach next year. He said it has always been a year to year decision and he has plenty of time to think about it. Coach led the Cards to a 4-4 regular season record and they lost to the state runner-up, Colome, in the first round of play-offs. Both Kopren and Chapman earned a position on the Academic All-State team, also. To qualify for that honor, an athlete has to play the sport all four years of high school and have a 3.5 grade point average. These talented seniors were joined by teammate Wil Kolb on the Little Moreau All-Conference team. The remaining two senior players, Yancy Buer and Ryan Serr, were named to the LMC Honorable Mention team. Other school records that fell this year included most points kicking in a season. Wil Kolb scored 16, which bested Dakota Hulm’s 1998 record of 15. Chapman and Kolb had the longest scoring pass at 79 yards. The previous record was 69 yards set in 1981 by Mike Smith and Blaine Wilson.
McIntyre is new manager
the past 25 years, the last eight years at Lake Region. He is a licensed electrical contractor and a member of the board of SD Electrical Commission. A Hettinger, ND native, he and his wife Kendra have two children: Kellee, lovell, Wy; Katie, Fort Riley, KS and four grandchildren. Tim worked at Grand Electric for 17 years prior to moving to lake Region in 2004. Tim is the son-in-law of Mary Ellen Fried and the late Ted Fried of Bison. Lake Region Electric’s board of directors announced the appointment of electrical department supervisor tim McIntyre as new general manager/CEO of the co-op. McIntyre received an associate’s degree in electrical technology from North Dakota State School of Science, Wahpeton. He has worked in the electric co-op industry for
Lane Kopren, Daniel chapman and Coach Beau Chapman
Colony regular chickens, smoked chickens and smoked turkeys, call Connie 244-5518.
& Happenings
Highlights
Page 2 • The Bison Courier • Thursday, November 29, 2012 Nutrition Site Menu
Spaghetti w/meat sauce tossed salad w/french dressing mandarin oranges vanilla pudding Roast beef mashed potatoes w/gravy lima beans orange
Colder than average winter likely for northeastern South Dakota
The chance of a colder than average winter for much of northeastern South Dakota increased last week, as the Climate Prediction Center released its update to the winter season outlook. "This is change from the winter outlook that has been forecast up until this point," said Laura Edwards, SDSU Extension Climate Field Specialist. "There have been higher chances of warmer than average temperatures over the winter, but a shift in climate patterns over the Pacific Ocean have changed things for us." Edwards says the rest of the state is projected to have equal chances of above, below or near normal temperatures for December, January and February. She explains that climatologists look to the Pacific Ocean for clues in what lies ahead for the coming season. Now that El Niño is no longer developing in the tropical region of the Pacific Ocean, climate forecasters are focusing their sights on the northern Pacific Ocean. "This is akin to looking upstream, to see what might be influencing atmospheric patterns that could move towards the northern Great Plains," Edwards said. As far as precipitation goes, Edwards says the winter months have equal chances for wetter, drier or near normal amounts of moisture. "This does not necessarily mean we will have an average year for snowfall, but that the probability is equal for all three scenarios. Winter is our driest time of year, so we don't expect a drought buster from December through February," said Edwards. "South Dakota will need an extended period of above average precipitation to recover from the current drought." This is reflected in the U.S. Seasonal Drought Outlook, also released last week. "Previously, some improvement was forecast through January for the northern tier counties from Harding to Roberts," said Dennis Todey, SDSU State Climatologist. "Now, drought is projected to persist across the whole state through at least February." Todey and Edwards agree that there is a fair amount of uncertainty this year in the climate model forecasts for the winter months of December, January and February. "Without El Niño or La Niña impacting us over the winter season, it is more challenging to come up with a strong forecast, and the models are struggling with precipitation in particular," Todey said.
Thursday, November 29
Two men charged with theft of government property
United States Attorney Brendan V. Johnson announced that two men have been indicted by a federal grand jury for theft of government property and theft from an agency receiving federal funds, the South Dakota Army National Guard. Dennis Mallow, age 46, of Black Hawk, and Damon Bohnet, age 30, of Rapid City, both former federal employees of the South Dakota Army National Guard, were indicted on November 19, 2012, on two separate counts. The first count in the indictment alleges theft of government property, and the second count alleges theft from an agency receiving federal funds. Both counts allegedly occurred between October 1, 2009 and September 7, 2012, and involve the theft of property purchased with funds from the Army National Guard Operations and Maintenance appropriation. Mallow and Bohnet appeared before US Magistrate Judge Veronica L. Duffy on November 21, 2012, and pled not guilty to the indictment. Each count is punishable by a maximum penalty of ten years in custody, a $250,000 fine, or both. The charges contained in the indictment are merely accusations, and both men are presumed innocent unless and until they are proven guilty. The case is being prosecuted by Assistant United States Attorney Wayne Venhuizen. The indictments are a result of an investigation initiated and conducted by the South Dakota Army National Guard in cooperation with the Federal Bureau of Investigation. Mallow and Bohnet were released on bond pending trial. A trial date has not yet been set.
Friday, November 30
Monday, December 3
BBQ chicken legs baked potato mixed vegetables apple
Tuesday, December 4
Hungarian goulash cooked cabbage tropical fruit
Wednesday, December 5
French dip sandwich potato salad grape salad vanilla ice cream
Ho! Ho! Ho! safe holidays!
HO! HO! HO! The holiday season is in full swing. Many of us are busy shopping and planning get to-gether with family, friends, and loved ones. As we enjoy this holiday season, the number of families traveling makes our roads and highways busier than usual. Plan ahead to insure you and your loved ones arrive at your holiday festivities safely by following these basic driving tips. •Click it! It only takes about 3 seconds to make sure every seatbelt and everyone in your vehicle is “clicked” in place. It might be the most important 3 seconds of your holiday. •Distracted driving is DUMB driving. With the increased amount of traffic, you need to keep two hands on the wheel and both eyes on the road. Talking on your cell phone (even hands-free sets), texting, eating, even “fiddling” with the radio or other technological devices takes your attention away from your driving. Studies show it only takes 3 seconds of distraction to cause an accident…so ditch the distractions. •Know your weather conditions. Check with your states safe driving tip-line BEFORE leaving home. Make sure you have an emergency survival kit in your car. •Drinking and driving NEVER mix! We all enjoy time with our friends and family and sometimes these gatherings include alcohol. Make a plan before you party! Designate a sober driver and make sure they have the keys. If your guests drink too much, make arrangements for a safe ride home or a place to stay until they sober up!
Periodicals Postage Paid at Bison, SD 57620 POSTAL PERMIT #009-944 Published weekly every Thursday by Ravellette Publ., Inc. at PO Box 429, Bison SD 57620-0429 Telephone: 605-244-7199 • Fax: 605-244-7198 E-mail Addresses: courier@sdplains.com couriernews@sdplains.com SUBSCRIPTION RATES: Bison ............................................................................$36.04 Meadow, Shadehill, Prairie City, Reva & Lodgepole ........$35.36 Lemmon........................................................................$36.04 in state ........................................................$39.00 + sales tax out of state (Includes all Hettinger addresses.) ...$39.00 (no tax)
THE BISON COURIER
Weather Wise
DATE
COPYRIGHT: Ravellette Publications, Inc. All rights reserved. Nothing may be reprinted, photocopied or in any way reproduced from this publication, in whole or in part, without the written consent of the publisher.
POSTMASTER: Send address changes to The Bison Courier, PO Box 429, Bison SD 57620-0429 Deadlines: Display and Classified Advertising: Mondays at 12:00 p.m. Legals: Fridays at 12:00 p.m. Publisher: Don Ravellette News/Office Manager: Arlis Seim Ad Sales: Beth Hulm (244-5231),beth@sdplains.com
Nov. 20 59 30 Nov. 21 65 40 Nov. 22 56 20 Nov. 23 32 8 Nov. 24 51 18 Nov. 25 40 23 Nov. 26 37 8 One year ago Hi 60 Lo 0
HI LO PRECIP
Brought to you by Grand Electric Co-op, Inc.
The Bison Courier • Thursday,November 29, 2012 • Page 3
Feeding horses in the winter:
Relationship between temperature, wind chill, moisture, and groceries
Winter is right around the corner and it is time to think about maintaining horses through the winter, says Rebecca Bott, SDSU Extension Equine Specialist. "At the start of the year we discussed body condition scores (BCS) and how the ideal scores for a horse at maintenance is 5 to 6. As the temperature drops, and wind chill and moisture increase, the grocery requirement of a horse to maintain that BCS will increase," Bott said. Bott says that horses are typically hardy animals who can withstand cold temperatures, wind chill, and moisture (snow or rain) individually. However, she adds that if two or more of these factors happen at the same time, it increases the challenge of them maintaining body heat and condition. She encourages horse owners to assess their horses BCS frequently throughout the winter. "It is much easier to maintain BCS, than to catch up if condition has been lost," she said. "This is especially difficult in the winter and for growing, gestating , lactating, and hard working animals that already have higher nutritional requirements than adult horses at maintenance." Feeding in the Winter Horses ferment fibrous feeds in their hindgut, explains Bott. The process of fermentation creates heat. Thus, she says, feeding roughages to horses helps warm them from the inside out. "As temperature drops, horses require more feed to maintain themselves at their current state," she said. "Roughage is the number one go-to feed source for this because it provides gut fill, and more heat than other feeds during the digestive process." She adds that grain can also be used as a supplement to provide extra energy during the winter months. Because horses don't adjust well to sudden changes in the diet, Bott says horse owners shouldn't pile on extra grain in one day just because the temperatures drop. "Look at longer term weather forecasts and make slow changes in diets that seem appropriate for the weather over a period of time," she said. For more information on feeding, please refer to the iGrow Solution: Feeding Horses in the Winter, found at iGrow.org/up/resources/022015-2012.pdf. Water Water is just as critical for horses in the winter as any other time. Water helps keep things moist and moving in the digestive tract. Without water, or with reduced intake, a horse is put at risk for colic. Break the ice off of all water sources twice a day or as needed so horses can drink. Cold water is much less enticing than warm water during the winter. In fact, horses are likely to consume more water if water tanks are heated. Additional Methods for Maintaining Warmth Feeding roughage is one important method for helping horses to stay warm in the winter. Horses can also be stalled in barns (provided there is adequate ventilation). Blanketing horses is another option. Be sure to select a blanket that fits properly, and secure all straps. If horses live outside, select a blanket that is water proof. With blanketing comes management. Check horses regularly to make sure moisture isn't getting under the blanket. Be judicious removing blankets when the day warms so sweat doesn't build up underneath and cause a chill. Run in sheds, and simple wind blocks are also excellent measures for protecting horses from cold.
Hettinger Theater
Accepting orders for Christmas delivery
Barbie Serr 244-7218 or online barbaraserr.scentsy.us barbaraserr.velata.us I appreciate your business!
Skyfall
143 minutes
PG - 13
Nov 30 - Dec 3
featuring digital surround sound
Nightly • 7:30 p.m. Sunday Matinee 2:00 p.m. 3-D Glasses $2.00
29th Annual Western Dakota Crops Day
December 13, 2012 • Hettinger Armory
MST 9:00 am 10:00 10:15 Registration Coffee and doughnuts. Free time to view exhibits and visit with Ag. Industry Program Sponsors. Early-bird Drawing and Opening Announcements Crop Variety Updates and Highlights of Ongoing Crop Production Research - Dr. Pat Carr, Research Agronomist, NDSU Dickinson Research Extension Center; Roger Ashley, NDSU Area Extension Specialist/Cropping Systems, Dickinson; John Rickertsen, Extension Agronomist, SDSU West River Research Center, Rapid City - Future Research Agronomist at the HREC Lunch Provided by Program Sponsors. Free time visit with sponsors. Ag Industry Update Soil Salinity in Southwest North Dakota Dr. Abbey Wick, Extension Soil Health Assistant Professor, NDSU Soils Science Department Herbicide Resistant Weeds - Greg Endres, Area Extension Specialist for Cropping Systems, NDSU Carrington REC Conclusion - Drawing for door prices, coffee, and opportunity to visit with sponsors.
12:00 1:00 1:30 2:15 3:00
North Dakota State University does not discriminate on the basis of age, color, disability, gender identity, marital status, national origin, public assistance status, sex, sexual orientation, status as a U.S. veteran, race or religion. Direct inquiries to the Vice President for Equity, Diversity, and Global Outreach, 205 Old Main, (701) 231-7708.
Hettinger Research Extension Center • North Dakota State University The program is free and open to the public. 2012 Program Sponsors The following companies and associations have contributed their time, effort and financial assistance to this year’s Western Dakota Crops Day. Visit their booth at the show. Hettinger Area Chamber of Commerce, MinnDak Growers Ltd., Seeds 2000 Inc., Stone Mill Inc., Farm Credit Services of Mandan, Southwest Grain, Northern Pulse Growers Assoc., SD Wheat Growers, Alliance Ag Cooperative, United Pulse Trading, North Dakota Soybean Council, Gartner Seed Farm, Dow AgroSciences Howe Seeds Inc., Proseed, North Dakota Barley Council, Pulse USA, Inc.
Page 4 • The Bison Courier • Thursday, November 29, 2012
Monday afternoon Steve Sandgren brought his mother, Thelma home. Tuesday, Thelma Sandgren went back to the hospital again, a good place for a vacation. Jim and Patsy Miller visited with Thelma Sandgren at the Hospital Wednesday. Holly Wyman took Thelma Sandgren to the Charm Salon Saturday morning and did her hair, what would Thelma do without good friends. DeeAndra and Natalie Sandgren picked Thelma Sandgren up Saturday morning, they went out to lunch and they brought her home. DeeAndra did some chores around the place for Thelma. Later DeeAndra and Natalie returned to Lemmon. Sharon Longwood picked Thelma
Rosebud News ............. Tiss Treib
Sandgren up and took her to church at Rosebud. Albert Keller returned home from work Tuesday evening after making a detour to Steele, ND to pick up an island for his wife. Wednesday, Perry, Stacy, Bailey and Gabe Keller, Timber Lake, SD and Chasity Bowling, Aberdeen, SD were overnight guests of the Kellers.
Albert, Bridget and Lil Albert Keller hosted Thanksgiving dinner. In attendance were, Duane and Dawn Harris, Shirley Harris, Willie, Luke and Trinity Harris, Rapid City, SD, Luke, Erin and Cora Stadheim, Reeder, ND, Les and Sharon Longwood and Sharon’s nephew; Perry, Stacy, Bailey and Gabe Keller, Chasity Bowling, Bert and Patricia Keller, Peter and Fauniel Keller, Trail City, SD, Mary Lou Scherer, Timber Lake, SD, and Pierce Keller, Brookings, SD. Stopping in briefly and grabbing a plate to go, were Rick and Charlie from Wisconsin who came to try to do a little pheasant hunting. They were the guys who built Kellers garage. Saturday, Albert, Bridget and Lil Albert Keller traveled to Bert and Patricia Kellers for the day to make homemade sausage. They returned home that evening. Al Treib and Jim Gilland made a trip to Faith Monday. Al Treib picked Stanford Allen up from School Tuesday and took him out to the ranch. Stanford was an overnight guest and spent his 6th birthday with Al and Tiss and Jim Gilland. Al and Tiss Treib made a trip to Lemmon Tuesday afternoon. Wednesday evening, the Treib’s, Stanford Allen and Jim Gilland met Lucas, Donna, Dusti, Dally and Peyton and LaKrista Allen in Lemmon where they held a pizza party at the Powderhorn for Stanford. Al and Tiss Treib made a trip to Dickinson Saturday and Al took Tiss out to lunch before returning home. Lucas and Donna Allen, Dusti, Stanford, Dally and Peyton and LaKrista Allen were Sunday dinner and afternoon guests of Al and Tiss Treib. They celebrated the birthdays of Peyton, LaKrista and Stanford with cake and ice cream. Dusti Allen helped Tiss Treib feed horses Sunday afternoon and played briefly with Lexi Johnson. Bill and Esther Nagel, Isabel Boe-
spflug were Thanksgiving Day guests of Keith and Bev Hoffman. Bill and Esther Nagel, Keith and Bev Hoffman had lunch in Lemmon Sunday. Lynn Frey was a Sunday guest of Duane Meink. Dean, Rolland, Monte and Lynn Frey were Thanksgiving Day evening guests of Dorothy Frey. Jim and Patsy Miller made a trip to Faith Monday. Jim and Patsy Miller made trips to Lemmon and Hettinger Tuesday. Jim and Patsy Miller were Thanksgiving supper guests of Matt and Christi Miller in Hettinger. Jim and Patsy Miller spent Friday in Lemmon. Jim and Patsy Miller attended the Wake Up Santa Parade in Hettinger Friday evening. Matt Miller was a Saturday overnight guest of Jim and Patsy Miller. Matt and Christi Miller and Fred Reede were Sunday supper guests of Jim and Patsy Miller. Shirley Harris was a Friday dinner guest of Roger and Kathy Rook. Devin, Richelle, Sterling, Bleaux and Lexi Harris of Pierre were also guests. John and Shirley Johnson; Bob and Shilo Johnson; Roger Ingebretson; Mike, Sam, Lance and Annie Johnson; Chad and Cindy Ingebretson and Adam and Arlin Ingebretson all of Mayville, ND; were Thanksgiving Day guests of Gary, Jodi and Lexi Johnson. Helen and Duane Meink joined the family members at Benny’s for Thanksgiving Day dinner. JoAnne Seim and Bonnie Haynes left Monday and flew to Draper, Utah. While there, they helped Kelly celebrate her birthday Monday. Wednesday they attended Grandparents day at Owen's school. They were house guests of Danny and Kelly LaDue and boys and celebrate Thanksgiving. Friday they helped decorate for Christmas. Saturday, they returned home.
Perkins County Commissioners invite the public to attend one of the public meetings where discussion will be held concerning establishing a comprehensive plan and possible future zoning. Blaise Emerson from Black Hills Council will be available to answer questions.
This is your chance to voice your opinion, please plan on attending!
Obituaries Eugene Krambeer
The Bison Courier • Thursday,November 29, 2012 • Page 5
Falling down ---#115 of Hettinger. The C & N early breakfast crew and all of Gene’s co-workers are considered honorary bearers. Eugene Victor Krambeer was born February 2, 1953 in Hettinger, North Dakota to William George and Evelyn (Toble) Krambeer. He grew up in the Lodgepole area where he attended country school. Gene graduated from Bison High School in 1971. He served in the U.S. Army and then with the North Dakota Army National Guard. On April 28, 1977, Gene and Bev Mattis were united in marriage in Hettinger, ND. Gene liked to try many jobs. His last job was with the Adams County Highway Department where he loved blading the farmer’s roads. He was employed there for 23 years and due to his health, retired in September of 2011. Gene liked to fish, hunt, and shoot his guns. But most of all, he loved being with his family and grandchildren, grilling out and having bonfires in the summer time. Gene has been fighting colon cancer since April of 2005. He passed away on Tuesday, November 20, 2012 at the West River Regional Medical Center in Hettinger. Surviving are his wife, Bev, Hettinger, ND; 2 daughters, Gena (Brady) Jones, Sawyer, ND; Wendy Witt, Hettinger, ND; 1 son, Paul Krambeer, Hazen, ND; 3 grandchildren, Summer Jones, Stephen Jones, and Michelle Witt; 1 sister, Amy (Tom) Miller, Glenwood, New Mexico; 1 brother, Billy Baton Rouge, Krambeer, Louisiana; 1 special aunt, Violet Krambeer, Buffalo, South Dakota; and numerous nieces, nephews, and cousins. Gene was preceded in death by his parents, son-in-law, Mike Witt, sister-in-law, Dovie Krambeer, and brother-in-law, Chuck Mattis. Visitation will be on Saturday one hour prior to services at the Hettinger Lutheran Church. Condolences may be sent to the family at www.funeralhomesofcaring.com.
ily by his side. We will miss your dry humor, you stories, your laugh, your smile and I love you’s. You are gone but will live on in our hearts forever. Grateful for having shared in his life are his wife of 43 years, Linda Borchert, Shadehill, SD; two sons, Quinton and Josh Borchert; one daughter, Jennifer Borchert Marxsen, all of Lemmon, SD; two grandchildren, Cayla and Chase Marxsen; one great-grandson, Connor; his mother-in-law, Christine three Messmer, Lemmon, SD; brothers, Eddie, in California, Harvey, Tolstoy, SD and Max Borchert, Gillette, WY; four sisters, Carolyn (Edgar) Riedlinger, Hebron, ND, Maxcine (Jim) Heim, Elgin, ND, Margie Rhodes, Bismarck, ND and Joann Lacey, Minneapolis, MN; two brothers-in-law, Lyle Messmer, Lemmon, SD and Larry Messmer, Belle Fourche, SD; two sisters-inlaw, Jayne (Rodney) Reith, West Fargo, ND and Lori (John) Herold, Bismarck, ND; and numerous nieces and nephews. He was preceded in death by his maternal and paternal grandparents; his parents, Otto and Barbara Borchert; his son-in-law, BJ Marxsen; one brother, Oscar Borchert; his father-in-law, Joe Messmer; and several aunts and uncles. Visitation will be from 1:00 p.m. to 7:00 p.m. on Tuesday, and on Wednesday, 9:00am to 12 noon at the Evanson-Jensen Funeral Home in Lemmon and one hour prior to services at the church on Wednesday afternoon. Condolences may be sent through our website at www.funeralhomesofcaring.com.
The Memorial Service for Eugene Krambeer, age 59 of Hettinger, were held at 10:30 a.m. Saturday, November 24, 2012 at the Hettinger Lutheran Church with Pastor Kathleen Dettmann, officiating. Burial was in the Hettinger Cemetery with full military honors afforded by the JohnsonMelary American Legion Post
Del Borchert
By Richard P. Holm M.D. When we were little kids, falling down was part of the learning process. We would simply pick ourselves back up, dust ourselves off, try to figure out why we fell so as not to do that again, and then keep on trucking down the road. Falling down as an older adult is another thing. Each year, more than one-third of Americans older than 65 experience a fall every year and nearly two million end up in the emergency room for injuries due to those falls. Falls in the elderly can cause many problems to include fractured hips and arms, and head trauma. These cost our society billions of dollars per year in the US, but more important is the cost to the individual for all the pain and suffering. For example more than 300,000 people with hip fractures need major surgery every year. Falls are caused in the elderly because of slower reflexes, balance problems, reduced muscle strength, poorer vision, and any generalized illness. Also with age comes a higher incidence of neurological conditions such as strokes, Parkinson’s disease, decreased mental alertness, and balance problems, all of which increase
falling. Alcohol excess in the elderly also should to be included here, as it decreases neural function, and can cause people to take risks that can lead to falls. The risk of stumbling and falling increases for people of any age in the presence of loose rugs, cluttered floors, poor lighting, exposed electrical or telephone cords, and stairs with no handrails. Sometimes medicines are to blame for falls. For example medicines for the treatment of high blood pressure, muscle spasm, pain, anxiety, sleeplessness, or for diseased prostate or heart, all may sometimes increase one’s risk for falling. The advantages of such medicines must always be balanced with the risks. There are many reasons for increased falling as an older adult. Better to take appropriate precautions and stay standing, than to find yourself on the ground unable to pick yourself up. The take home message: Falls in the elderly costs individuals and society suffering and money There are many reasons for falls, so efforts to prevent them should be tailored to the individual
Funeral services for Del Borchert, age 68, of Shadehill, will be held at 2:00 p.m. on Wednesday, November 28, 2012 at St. Mary’s Catholic Church in Lemmon. Deacon Bill Dustman will officiate with burial in the Greenhill Cemetery. Serving as casketbearers are Dakota Rosenberg, Rory Stevens, Shawn Buer, Todd Messmer, Myron McPherson, and Raymond McPherson. All family and friends are considered Honorary Bearers. Delbert Dale Borchert “Del” was born on November 5, 1944 in Carson, North Dakota to Otto and Barbara (Bonogofsky) Borchert. He grew up in rural Carson and attended country school finishing the 8th grade. He worked on the family farm and also for numerous neighbors around the Carson area. In the Spring/Summer of 1969, he met Linda Messmer. They were united in marriage on November 8, 1969. They lived outside of Carson while Del worked as a ranch hand for Edward Oswald. In 1969, they moved to Lemmon and Del began working for Wolff ’s Plumbing and
Heating. In 1970, they bought cattle and moved to the family farm by Carson. In July of 1972, they moved back to Lemmon and Del began working for his father-in-law, Joe Messmer at Joe’s Heating and Plumbing until 1982. Del then started his own business. On September 9, 1972, their first son, Quinton was born. Quinton worked for his dad through his teenage years until 1992. On October 24, 1976, a daughter, Jennifer was born, known to her dad as “the turtle”. They moved to their home from White Butte to Shadehill, South Dakota in 1978 and resided there along with Del’s Plumbing and Pump Service until December of 2011 when Del retired. On June 9, 1990, Joshua joined his brother and sister and also worked for Del. Del enjoyed riding and breaking horses, fishing, hunting, telling stories and talking to anyone who would listen. He enjoyed his family and friends the most. Del took great pride in his work, it did not matter what the weather conditions were or the time of night, “no one ever went without”. He had an old school work ethic and will be missed by many. He knew farms and ranches in the area better than most of the people who lived on them. In June of 2002, a grandson, Chase was born and was another joy brought into Del’s life. In December of 2011, Del’s health deteriorated and as much as he hated to leave his customers, he retired and was able to enjoy more time with his family. Del passed from this life on Saturday evening, November 24, 2012 at the age of 68 years, with his fam-
Sunday School 9:30 a.m. • Worship Service - 10:30a.m. Wednesday Prayer Mtg. - 6:30 p.m.
Grace Baptist Church • Pastor Phil Hahn Church of Christ
Prairie Fellowship Parish ELCA • Pastor Margie Hershey
Indian Creek - 8:00 a.m. • American - 9:30 a.m. • Rosebud - 11:00 a.m.
18 mi. south of Prairie City - Worship Service - 10:00 a.m.
Christ Lutheran Church WELS •
Pastor Gerhardt Juergens
Sunday Bible Class - 8:00 a.m., Worship Service - 8:30 a.m. Tuesday Bible Class - 7:00 p.m. South Jct. of Highways 73 & 20 Sunday School - 10:00 a.m., Worship Service - 11:00 a.m.
Coal Springs Community Church Pastors Nels & Angie Easterby
Seventh Day Adventist Church • Pastor Donavon Kack
Blessed Sacrament Catholic Church • Fr. Tony Grossenburg
Saturday Mass: Morristown - 4:45 p.m. Lemmon - 7:15 p.m., Sunday Mass: Lemmon - 8:15 a.m., Bison - 11:00 a.m. Sabbath School - 10:30 a.m., Worship Service - 11:00 a.m.
First Presbyterian Church • Pastor Florence Hoff, CRE
Reva • Sunday School 9:45, Worship Service - 11:00 a.m., WMF 2nd Wednesday at 1:00 p.m.
Holland Center Christian Reformed Church Pastor Brad Burkhalter • Lodgepole
Worship Service - 8:00 a.m. Sunday School 9:30 a.m. • Worship Service -10:30 a.m.
Slim Buttes Lutheran • Pastor Henry Mohagen
Prairie City Sunday School - 10:00 a.m., Morning Worship - 11:00 a.m. Vesper Service - 6:00 p.m., Wed. Evenings - 7:30 p.m.
Beckman Wesleyan Church • Pastor Brad Burkhalter
FCCLA students attend National Cluster Meeting
Make Your Mark” established the theme as youth from around the country gathered at the Family, Career and Community Leaders of America (FCCLA) 2012 National Cluster Meeting, November 16-18, in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma. Along with their adviser, Joyce Matthews, Bison FCCLA members Kassidy Sarsland, Charlotte Johnson, Beth Seidel, Lenae McKinstry, Kayley Johnson, Madison Hulm, Tessa Kopren, Marranda Hulm and Tori Voller participated in this weekend of unique opportunities that informed and encouraged them to explore all the opportunities available through FCCLA. The Saturday morning and afternoon workshops were designed to increase awareness about such areas as career exploration, family relationships, selfesteem, youth violence prevention, and current issues affecting teens. The Opening General Session included an inspiring keynote address from motivational speaker, Harriet Turk and the Closing General Session from Patrick Grady. Speakers made a lasting impression through their use of real life experiences and humor. Oklahoma City was one of three nationally sponsored training conferences this fall. The National Cluster Meetings are designed to allow students and teachers to take advantage of high-quality leadership training opportunities. Meetings were also held in Reno, Nevada and Indianapolis, Indiana. FCCLA: The Ultimate Leadership Experience is unique among youth organizations because its programs are planned and run by members. It is the only career and technical in-school student organization with the family as its central focus. Participation in national programs and chapter activities helps members become strong leaders in their families, careers, and communities.
Page 6 • The Bison Courier • Thursday, November 29, 2012
Charlotte Johnson, Kayley Johnson, Tessa Kopren, Beth Seidel, Lenae McKinstry, Tori Voller, Kassidy Sarsland, Madison Hulm, Marranda Hulm.
Congrats to BHS’s State Qualifiers FFA Leadership CDE’s
December 2nd & 3rd in Pierre
Rick Oldaugh Construction
30 years experience
Back row: Logan Hendrickson, Ag Marketing Plan; Sydney Arneson, Ag Marketing Plan; Wil Kolb, Ag Marketing Plan. Front row: Reece Leonard, Creed Speaking; Megan Serr, Ag Broadcasting and Journalism; Shaley Lensegrav, Job Interview.
Pat Kolb Sandy Leonard JD and Kort Ryen Brad Leonard and Kelli Birkeland Eric and Mindy Arneson and boys Shane, Angie & Justin Kolb
Les & Cindy Lensegrav Ken & Helen Westphal Dana & Bruce Hendrickson Ron & Nancy Seidel Kelly , Barbie & Ryan Serr Supt. Don & Vera Kraemer
pole buildings • garages roofing • siding custom homes excellent craftmanship
307-689-4820 insured • free estimates
No moisture this week, but not much wind either. The thermometer dropped to 3 degrees one night and the high for the week was 64, which is fairly typical for November. Norman Strehlow came to grind hay for us on Monday, so we're ready for winter. Eugene Krambeer, 59, lost his long battle with cancer Tuesday. Gene passed away at the West River Regional Medical Center in Hettinger. His funeral was Saturday at the Hettinger Lutheran Church and he was buried in the Hettinger Cemetery with full military honors afforded by the Johnson-Melary American Legion Post #115 of Hettinger. June Anderson’s funeral was Tuesday morning at the Lutheran church in Ralph with most of her relatives and old neighbors in attendance. The Ralph Lutheran ladies served lunch after the funeral. Our sympathy is extended to these families. Tuesday afternoon, I drove to Isabel to meet with Jim Seward and Will Mortenson from the governor’s office. They wanted to discuss the Criminal Justice Initiative Review with me and Sen. Maher. Jim and Will had already met with several other west river legislators that morning to explain what the Criminal Justice Initiative work group wanted to do to address the high costs of imprisonment in South Dakota. South Dakota’s overall crime rate has declined by 9%, but our imprisonment rate has increased by 18% - higher than any of the other Midwest states. The goal of the work group is to decrease the cost to the taxpayers while keeping the public safe and we will be working on legislation next session to address the issue. Slim Buttes Lutheran held its annual Thanksgiving service and pie social Wednesday evening at the church. Taz came home for Thanksgiving vacation and helped grandpa with chores Wednesday while Casey was in Rapid City getting things set up for the NRCA rodeo finals this weekend. Taz came to church with us and we enjoyed the service, the pie, and the fellowship.
Grand River Roundup
By Betty Olson
The Bison Courier • Thursday,November 29, 2012 • Page 7
Cardinals shut-out district competition
November was a busy month, as the Cardinal Oral Interp Team headed for Districts in Timber Lake the second week of November. After hours of practice 7 students went to compete in 9 categories, coming home with 8 advancements and nearly bringing home the team Trophy. Early that morning Shaley Lensegrav performed her piece in the Humorous category, about a café in the south, serving excellent cuisine made from fresh road kill. She left the audience chuckling as they related their own mishaps with wayward animals. Also performing that morning was Dodge Weishaar in Serious Plays. Have you ever said something you wish you could take back? Very emotional and real, Dodge delivers a glimpse of a young man’s deep regret, in the hurt he has caused his young love as he tries to rectify the situation. One of the more difficult categories is Non-Original Oratory, which Kiana Brockel undertook. Choices for this subject would include a speech or essay written by another person. In Kiana selection, she discusses why “nerds” and being smart cannot be congruent with being popular. Kiana’s delivery intertwined humor, sarcasm and truth which touched a nerve whether the days of High School was in your past or present. Poetry is often thought of as a difficult subject matter, either you dislike it or you don’t. In selections from Lewis Carol, Joseph Kvale brought the poetry to life introducing us to an old peddler selling his odd items and the fight of a brave knight against a dragon. After a quick lunch, the crew was back to work with Anna Hatle and Shaley Lensegrav performing a Duet piece. These young ladies play off each other very well, as a disgruntled Pizza Hut employee and Genie decide which wishes will make for the best life. Funny and entertaining, Shaley and Anna gave us lots to smile about. Not so humorous however was Sydney with her selection for serious prose. Her character was that of a young girl diagnosed with a brain tumor and her outlook on what matters when you know your end is near. As the afternoon carried on, the final heavy hitter was the Reader’s Theater competition. Six students performed a selection written by the late Marjean Huber, English teacher and Drama Coach of Bison High School, and adapted by the students. You might think that a selection on Ears would not be very appealing, but the students delivered their information in a light-hearted, witty style that had audience members laughing. The facial expressions, the choreography and the deliverance were perfectly timed and executed as Dodge, Anna, Joseph, Kiana, Shaley and Tessa Kopren moved dynamically through their piece. Talk about team work! All contestants did a superb job, only being beat by a few points for the team trophy by Host school, Timber Lake. With the exception of Non-original Oratory, all pieces advanced to the regional Competition in Pierre, which recently took place. Again the Bison Cardinals pulled out a glorious day as several more selections will go onto the South Dakota State Oral Interpretation in Yankton, at the end of November. Congratulations to the Cardinals for an already well played season. To those of you going on to State, Anna Hatle (duet), Shaley Lensegrav (duet, Humorous, and Reader’s Theater) Dodge Weishaar (serious Plays and Reader’s Theater) Joseph Kvale, Tessa Kopren and Kiana Brockel (all Reader’s Theater); break a leg, we’ll be cheering for you.
I hope your Thanksgiving was as enjoyable as ours was. Only half of our kids made it home for dinner, but we had a houseful anyway. Teri and Mike and their boys came from Minnesota, Guy and Megan and boys came from Wyoming, my sister drove up from Bison, and with all of Casey and Missy's family, around twenty people helped us eat the absolutely delicious ham from the hog that Tony Holt gave us. No dead bird for this bunch! Friday evening we joined Teri's family and Guy's family for another Thanksgiving feast at Thad and Angie's west of Bear Butte. After a very enjoyable evening we all loaded up and headed to our various homes. Casey and Missy and their family spent the weekend in Rapid City at the NRCA rodeo finals. Casey is the president of the NRCA and Missy is the secretary, so they had to work. From all reports the finals went well. Hospital report: Janice Peck was moved to a rehab facility in Colorado on Wednesday before Thanksgiving and is recovering nicely from her surgery. Her doctors will set a target discharge date for her on Monday. She enjoys cards and letters and you can send them to her c/o Tim & Shirley Kirby, 6178 Holman Ct, Arvada, CO 80004 Wally Stephens gave us a scare when he suffered a heart attack late Thanksgiving night and was airlifted to Rapid City, where doctors discovered a blockage. Wally's daughter Chereste Messmer told me he underwent surgery Friday morning and came through that so well that he was dismissed from the hospital Saturday morning! And my last good news is that Pete Tenold is doing well and has been released from the hospital following his emergency surgery last week. That makes three miracles this week. Praise God! Oil and gas development has been in the news across the Dakotas lately and Bob Hall sent me this story about one of our local residents involved in the development:
Congratulations to te following State Oral Interp Festival qualifiers & Coach Eliza Bonacci! Good Luck in Yankton November 30 & December 1
11th Annual Christmas Fantasy Night
Tuesday • December 4th, 2012 All top lights will be off and the colors of Christmas Magic will be left on. It’s beautiful! A night you won’t want to miss. 20% off storewide from 6 p.m. - 9 p.m. Refreshments will be served
KB Jewelers 206 S Main • Hettinger, ND 701-567-2358 www.kbjewelersnd.com
Joseph Kvale, Reader’s Theater; Shaley Lensegrav, Humorous, Duet & Reader’s Theather; Tessa Kopren, Reader’s Theater; Kiana Brockel, Reader’s Theater; Anna Hatle, Duet & Reader’s Theater; Dodge Weishaa; Serious Plays & Reader’s Theater
Dan & Stacy Kvale Julie & Arlen Hatle & faimly Della Hatle Gay Hatle Kel, Jean & Jim Brockel Kevin & Sara Weishaar & Wrangler
Ross, Bev & Lane Kopren Cindy & Les Lensegrav Ken & Helen Westphal Bob & Gladys Jackson Larry & Sylvia Weishaar & Eldora Supt. Don & Vera Kraemer
Page 8 • The Bison Courier • Thursday, November 29, 2012
The fourth 25 years for
I was attending BHSU in 1992 for my pre mortuary credits, but since my youth I had always been interested in flying. I had about 38 hours of flying time in by early November, so I rented a Cessna 172 at Spearfish, SD, and set out on the first of three legs of a long cross country solo flight. The flight was uneventful to Miles City, MT. I refueled and visited with the Flight Service Station about weather. They informed me that there was a good chance of fog, low ceilings and poor visibility after the sun set that evening. So I filed a flight plan to Lemmon, SD and hustled back to N1373E to get going. At about Bowman, ND heading east, I began having to fly lower to stay below the decreasing ceiling. US Highway 12 became a nice strip below me to navigate to Lemmon. The clouds kept pushing me closer to the ground and at Hettinger, ND I was probably only 500 feet above the earth. When I flew over Hettinger, at about the Hettinger Cemetery and the Hospital, Highway 12 curves a bit to the northeast. Trying to navigate by keeping that strip below me and off to my left, following that curve at 100 knots, I must have climbed a bit and inadvertently entered “The Soup”. I started a left hand turn to perform a 180 and head back WEST where there was more room between the bottom of the clouds and the earth. My left hand turn 180 became a climbing and diving 360 to a 540 to a 720 or so. In my disorientation, while still in a left hand turn, the engine on the 172 began to “rev up”, yet my hand wasn’t on the throttle. I was trying to establish visual contact with the ground, in order to not hit it , but I was in a turning dive, a.k.a. “Graveyard Spiral”. When I could see the ground through my windshield, it was in the form of rocks and sagebrush! I pulled back on the yoke and thought, “this is it”. I have no way of guessing how close I came to impacting the earth, but somewhere east or northeast of Hettinger, it was TOO Close! My luck hadn’t run out yet and I was still flying. Every instructor I have ever had told me, “no matter what situation or emergency, keep flying the airplane”. So that’s what I did and back up into the soup, I went. After I had re-oriented myself and the aircraft was in a westerly heading, I saw a glow of orange below me to my left, like a strip in the fog. I descended, thinking it was the street lights along Highway 12 through Hettinger, then the Mirror Lake Lodge Motel sign passed by my right wingtip. I was heading west! I knew that the Hettinger Airport was west of town and north of the highway. After a few short seconds and a slight right turn, once west of Hettinger, I saw the end lights of runway 30. In the fog, I lined up on those lights and touched down safely and taxied onto the ramp. Back in those days, each state had its own Flight Service Station. When I called from Hettinger to cancel my flight plan, Grand Forks didn’t have one on me, since my destination was Lemmon, SD. Grand Forks didn’t communicate with Huron, SD Flight Service to cancel my flight. After a quick phone call to my Mother in Lemmon, I told her that I had made it to Hettinger. She informed me that Eldon, my Dad was meeting with a family at the Hettinger Funeral Home and that I could just ride back with him. I caught a ride in from the airport and recall sitting on the bumper of a vehicle and watching the fog roll by in near zero visibility and remember praying and thanking God for getting me through that one. To say the least, it did rattle me after I was safely on the ground. Pilots talk about kissing the ground after certain flights and that was one of them for me! About 30 minutes after I called Mom back in Lemmon, she received a call from Huron Flight Service, since my flight had not been cancelled. Huron could see that the weather was doing up in that part of the country and knew the terrible flight conditions. When asked if she’d heard from me or if she knew where I was, my Mom told the Flight Service person, “Oh, don’t worry. Everything is fine. Greg’s at the Funeral Home”. The phone was silent for a few moments as the Flight Service person didn’t quite know what to say! Realizing what she said, My Mom quickly told the Flight Service, “Greg landed in Hettinger. We own Funeral Homes!” I wasn’t the only person that night breathing a sigh or two of relief! Greg Jensen
Piper Seneca and Greg’s family, Jaeda, Tonya, Laela, Ella and Greg Jensen The above happening gives an introduction to quickness in which the next 25 years passed for Evanson Jensen. Yes, we still have the Horse Drawn Hearse, but have added aircraft to the transportation segment, as well as joining the “computer age”. 1987-2012 went by so quickly, but as they say, once you’re 50, “hang on” for the downhill slide! I’m still looking for the typewriters we used to have around. In 1987 we did manage to have an observation of the 75th Anniversary, with the main concentration of effort involving the Evanson Jensen Furniture operation, with open houses at the Funeral Homes as well. We printed a large circular that was distributed in all the area shoppers and weekly papers. It was set and laid out at the printer’s workroom. Eight full pages were set up and many trips back and forth to the printer. Much time and effort was made to come up with each article, picture and “slick” as we called them of furniture specials, stories of our employees, and statements of purpose. During the 1987-2012 period, we can confirm the need to transition to the computer age.
The Bison Courier • Thursday,November 29, 2012 • Page 9
Evanson Jensen
“X’s” picture was on Mrs. “Y’s” folder and vice versa. Back to the printer they went. It was the first, last and only time we handed out the Memorial Folders as the family and attendees left the church. We moved into the computer and printing age not long after. But I need to go back to 1987 when we established the Faith Area Memorial Chapel, in my hometown. The community was very receptive and wanted to become a full service community. We were the closest funeral home at 70 miles north. Lavonne Butler, ranchwife, newspaper editor and former Mayor, was our first Assistant in Faith. Then in 1991 the Belle Fourche community expressed an interest in us and we established the Funeral Home of the Northern Hills with former employee Ross Milliken. Wouldn’t you know it, when working on the building in Belle Fourche, our friend and neighbor to the west, Lyle Walby of Hettinger called and wanted to retire. So 1991 became the year of consolidation and expansion for Evanson Jensen, and the many 18 hour days that I referred to above. But the quality of service ingrained by the Evanson’s was not to be left behind. With the help of family and locally raised and trained funeral professionals, the years uneventfully sped by. It was pouring down rain at the graveside service. And not many times did we hear a complaint in West River Country. The tent had served its purpose but all were going to get wet on the way to their vehicles in this rural setting. Ray had finished his sealing of the vault and duties following the graveside service, but couldn’t find the Pastor who had ridden with him in the funeral coach. He made a few glances here and there and presumed the Pastor had caught a ride with others and jumped into the driver’s seat. Looking in the back he found the Pastor prone on the floor with his stole around his neck and pinched in the door! You probably don’t know that the three rear doors of a funeral coach do not have inside handles….nor did the preacher. Ray ran around to the back door with the stole hanging out, opened it and released the pastor. He said, “I just ran to the closest door, jumped in, pulled the door shut and found out I’d “roped” myself with my stole.” They both had a good chuckle on the way back to the church for coffee! So, in our work, the smallest detail can make such a difference, like keeping our eye on the preacher! And we see that as well in the preparation of obituary information, printing of memorial folders with pictures, and other personalization that we provide, many by computer and the elaborate programs available for such tasks. With the new technology and the preparation skills of staff, we continue to achieve our goals of providing funeral service with caring. We registered the trademark “Funeral Homes of Caring®” and with continued membership in the International Order of the Golden Rule, have tried to live up to the expectations of the trademark since. Remember when I mentioned the old handwritten, and the typed pages in the “record books” previously? Today, most of the legal filings and recordings, notifications, funeral announcements and the recordings in those books are accomplished through the internet and computer. At present, there are over 220 e-mail addresses that get immediate notification of pending funerals on our Website www.funeralhomesofcaring.com. I wonder if we really accomplish more in less time with these electronics, while yet under normal circumstances a funeral service is still held in 4 days from the date of death. I am not that old, but will admit getting of the age that I appreciate the younger generation taking over these tasks. I had full control of a telephone, typewriter, fax machine, and could take a picture to the printer. I also remember back to the time when a couple phone calls to secure casketbearers on a rural party line would be adequate notification for an upcoming service. continued on next page
This was distributed in all the printed media in our trade area and was the basis for numerous radio ads. Yes, Evanson Jensen Furniture was a large part of the total operation until we sold the building and closed the doors on Dec. 31, 1998…..86 1/2 years after R.S. started the dual operation. I might as well say it like it was. It was not an easy decision to make, good help was becoming more difficult if not impossible to find and Jack Rafferty had retired because of health reasons. Jack
was our longest tenured employee and the finest flooring technician one could find, always taking care of our customer’s needs. He also excelled when helping at the funeral home. Ray Huber, had finished his training in funeral service and had transitioned his interests to that area, even though Jack had trained him well in the furniture and flooring department. Ross Milliken, funeral director, had moved on, Jeff Haase went to work for the local manufacturer, and other much shorter term em-
ployees came and went. At 56, my 18 hour days were becoming a little We had two funerals going on at the same time, and I had taken both sets of memorial folders with pictures to the local printer. At the time, we were able to get the printing done by the time of the funeral or the morning thereof. So the memorial folders arrived back at the funeral home as we were ready to load the casket, equipment, flowers and stands…..but the pictures were reversed! Mrs.
Jeff Haase, Jack Rafferty, Ray Huber, Alice Ashmore, Dave Jensen, Fred Bubbers, Troy Hight, Greg Jensen, Curt Jerde, Eyvonne Langehough, Eldon, Mary Jean, Ollie, Evie, Vi Kostelecky at the grand opening of Evanson Jensen Furniture location on 1st Ave. W. We operated there from 1993 until Dec. of 1998.
Page 10 • The Bison Courier • Thursday, November 29, 2012
So, I blame the speed with which the past 25 years have passed, on the new technology introduced in every business and profession. Computers, copiers, scanners, high speed printers, cell phones, the internet and airplanes and the fact that once you are past 50 and on the downhill slide, you’d “best hang on”, has come true. Mary Jean and I “retired” in Dec. 2007 and we’re still trying to hang on. We enjoy trying to be at all of 10 grandchildren’s birthdays and special occasions with all the family. And we must admit we enjoy being called to help at the funeral homes during the spring, summer and early fall. Once retired, one needs to do as much of the work one loves (being of help to grieving families) and as little of the work you had to do that was uncomfortable as possible (getting up all hours of the night). as possible. It has been quite a trip for a ranch kid from Faith, SD, but because of a great partner/tutor, fantastic employees and a wife and family of supporters, it is now our 100th Anniversary of Evanson Jensen. But, now it is time to move onto the next generation serving our families. Son, Greg is now the owner of Evanson Jensen, the pilot who wrote the opening article. He now has over 4500 hours in the air and is a Commercial Multi Engine/Instrument Rated Pilot. The fall following his safe landing in Hettinger, his mother and I even rode with him in a similar rented plane to a football game in Pine Ridge….and many times since, in the aircraft of the firm. He was licensed in funeral service in 1995. He managed a funeral home in Minnesota for a year after graduation from the Univ. of Minn. and joined Evanson Jensen in 1996. A Cessna 206 was purchased that year with the inspection and approval of longtime pilots, mechanics and friends, Raymond Kolb and Mike Ginther. This craft enhanced the removals and deliveries for the firm greatly, as well as Greg’s love of flying. Flying the Cessna for three years for the business, he built hours and continued his training to get his Instrument Rating followed by a Commercial Multi Engine Rating in order to pursue a flying career. He left to fly for Alpine Aviation in Montana in the fall of 1999 and became a Captain for them in the spring of 2000. He had finished a route back into Billings, MT in the early morning hours of Tuesday, Sept. 11, 2001, just hours before the terrorist attack on the “twin towers”. Much more collapsed on that day. All Aircraft were grounded until days later. An interesting note in Greg’s log book is the next flight he was assigned the Friday following. He and good friend, fellow pilot, Kelly Lynch took an Alpine Beechcraft 99 Airliner from Billings, MT to Columbus, Ohio on a “spur of the moment charter” for Alpine. They flew medical supplies and donated blood from Ohio to Salt Lake City the next day. Kelly, a fellow Captain, died a few years later in an accident while flying for Alpine Air in Billings. In 2003, Greg returned to Evanson Jensen Funeral Homes and began his family, marrying Tonya Evenson, from Hettinger in 2004. Their first daughter, Ella Dayne was born that year. Laela Marie followed in 2006 and Jaeda Kathryn in 2009. Home. Eldon, Greg, Ray or Derek would drop off the trust paperwork, and I would handle the rest. The subject of me trying an "internship" to see if I was interested in the work came up. I said "NO", many times but, finally after realizing it would be easier to try it than to keep saying "NO". I completed the paperwork, and within a week received my internship license. I still remember my first "call", it was with Greg. I observed, asked questions and from there on knew what I wanted to do. My first internship ended in 2003 and I moved to Bismarck, ND. However, my desire to get back into funeral work never left and 4 1/2 years later the opportunity arose. I decided that becoming a funeral director was what I wanted to do and in 2007, with the help and support of my family, Eldon and Mary Jean and Greg Jensen, I moved back to Lemmon, SD with my wife, Stacey and two daughters, Sierra and Emma. I began working for the funeral home in December of 2007 and completed my internship. I graduated from Mortuary School (AAMI) in New York in April of 2012 and passed my National Board examination in May and am completing my studies of the South Dakota State Board of Funeral Service Exam for licensure.” Matt is a member of Calvary Lutheran Church, the Lemmon Masonic Lodge #151 A.F. & A.M. and the NAJA Shrine. Lonnie Stippich, Hettinger, has assisted the directors of Evanson Jensen on a part time basis for the past three years. He is retired from the ND State Highway Department and enjoys his involvement with our firms. Jennifer Johnson, Mott, joined Evanson Jensen as a Funeral Assistant in August of this year. Her several years of experience with families as the Secretary for St. Vincent Catholic Church gives her, with this career change, insight in And I would be remiss in my writing if I did not mention Darlene and Walter Kallis who worked as our assistants for many years. Living in Mott, since retiring from dairy farming, they became valuable members of the community and of the Evanson Jensen team. Walter passed away this past summer and Darlene is still available to assist, if she isn’t busy with other interests. Also, Vernon “Evie” Evanson passed away in April of 2012, just two months before the actual anniversary of the firm’s founding. Our longtime partner had 26 years and 3 months of retirement, most of which was enjoyable. We wish he could have been with us for the 100th Birthday of the firm that his father started. His wife, Ollie still resides at Five Counties Nursing Home in Lemmon. So now we close four chapters of the history of Evanson Jensen. We hope you have enjoyed the readings of our business/profession and the people involved. More could have been revealed that was never previously written or even talked about, like son David’s driving the funeral coach at age two, backing into a tree; or the lady that elevated and shimmied at the firing of the Honor Guard’s rifles during a Military Interment; or on a more serious note, the personal observation to adjustments made by families during what we call the “3 day miracle”. No one or no profession is entrusted with the care of a family’s most prized possession or feelings, and now we have been honored with that trust for 100 years. Thank you!
Dr. Jason M. Hafner Dr. David J. Prosser
OPTOMETRIST
1st & 3rd Wed. of the month 2nd & 4th Wed. of the month
Buffalo Clinic
Faith Clinic
1-800-648-0760
Palace Theater
Ray began working for EvansonJensen Furniture in March of 1981, with a clear statement that he wasn’t interested in working at the funeral home. How that all changed. He began his internship under Evie Evanson in 1985 and attended college. During the summers he continued his internship at the funeral home and worked at the furniture store. He attended Dallas Institute of Funeral Service in 1987, graduating in the spring of 1988. He became a Licensed Funeral Director in July of 1988, and is now our longest term employee. His technical skills are exemplary and recognized by thankful families. He married Marshel (Johnson) Day and has continued to live in Lemmon since.
Nov.30 - Dec. 2
PG-13 143 minutes
Skyfall
surround sound Lemmon 374-5107 8:00 p.m. nightly
Matt Barnes first experience with Evanson-Jensen Funeral Home and the "funeral" industry came in 2002. As he stated, “I worked for a local Bank, and would establish Prepaid Funeral Trust Accounts for the Funeral
serving the families of various churches and communities in the area. Karen Price, ranch wife from Maurine (and my niece, Greg’s cousin) helps us with services and visitations in the Faith area.
The Bison Courier • Thursday,November 29, 2012 • Page 11
TREE FACTS – Christmas Tree planning, selection and care
should decide exactly where you will place the tree. Be sure to choose a spot away from heat sources, such as TVs, fireplaces, radiators, air ducts and also make sure it is away from doors. Measure the height and width of the space you have available in the room where the tree will be placed. Take a tape measure with you to measure your chosen tree and bring a cord to tie your tree to the car. Remember to choose a tree that is suitable for where it is to be displayed. If the tree is to be put in front of a large window, then all four sides should look as good. If the tree is put against a wall, then a tree should have three good sides. A tree with two good sides can be put in a corner. Christmas trees sold on retail lots may have been cut weeks earlier and from hundreds of miles away. It is usually best to buy early before the best trees have been taken. Choose a tree with a healthy green appearance with few browning needles. The needles should be flexible and not fall off if you run a branch through your hand. Lift the tree a few inches off the ground and drop it on the butt end. Very few green needles should drop off the tree. Make sure the handle or base of the tree is straight and 6-8 inches long so it will fit easily into the stand. There are numerous evergreen species grown for Christmas trees. Christmas tree species can conveniently be divided into two groups pines, such as Scotch and White Pine, and the single-needle conifers such as spruces and firs. Pines have their needles attached to branches in groups of two or more and single-needle conifers have needles individually attached to the branches. The most popular species sold for Christmas trees in South Dakota are Scotch Pine, Colorado Blue Spruce, Douglas Fir, Fraser Fir and Black Hills Spruce. If you choose to cut your own Christmas tree you can buy a Christmas tree permit for cutting in a national forest or go to a Christmas tree farm. Once you are in the field make sure that to select the tree that fits your needs and has a straight trunk. Make sure to cut it so that there is a sufficiently long handle to accommodate your tree stand. When you get it home, make a fresh one inch cut on the butt end and place the tree in a sturdy stand that holds at least one gallon of water, or a rule of thumb is one quart of water for every inch of diameter of the trunk. Many homeowners have beautiful evergreen trees in their yards. It is interesting to note that some people that live around big cities make efforts to uglify" such trees to protect against theft or vandalism by spraying or brushing them with a mixture of water, tree protectant and red food color. It was developed by Cornell University and is called Pink Ugly Mix. The substance does not damage trees and gradually dissolves away with exposure to the elements. A well-cared-for Christmas tree will normally remain fresh for the entire holiday season or about four weeks. After that, Christmas trees can be disposed of by curbside pickup, dropped off at recycling centers, chipped for mulch or compost and even sunk in dams to provide cover for fish. My sources for this news release were the University of Illinois, Cornell University, Ohio State University and South Dakota State University Extension Services. If you would like more information about “Christmas Tree Planning, Selection and Care,” contact Bob Drown at the Conservation Office at 605244-5222, Extension 4 or by e-mail at robert.drown@sd.nacdnet.net.
Monday, December 3 Chicken noodle casserole salad bar fruit w/g bun Tuesday, December 4 Pizza salad bar green beans fruit & milk Meatloaf potato salad salad bar fruit & milk
By Robert W. Drown, Natural Resource Specialist There are more than 21,000 Christmas tree growers in the United States, with around a half billion Christmas Trees. Christmas trees have been sold commercially in the US since the 19th century. The majority of them are grown in Oregon, North Carolina, Michigan, Pennsylvania, Wisconsin, Washington, New York, and Virginia. However, some Christmas trees are grown in all of the other states. Before buying a Christmas tree you
Wednesday, December 5
Thursday, December 6 Burrito’s w/cheese lettuce, salsa salad bar milk frosted cake
Holiday Fundraiser and tribute program
Five Counties Nursing Home Annual
The holiday season is a time for cherished memories. For many, it’s also a special time to remember loved ones who have passed away.
In Honor of_______________________ In Memory of_____________________ By _____________________________ $5.00 donation for each Love Light
Please return to Five Counties Business Office, P.O. Box 479, Lemmon, SD 57638
Christmas tree farm located in Washington State.
To the Editor and Staff of the Bison Courier. Evanson Jensen Funeral Home sincerely thanks you for publishing our 100 year history... and your readers for all their kind notes, letters and comments on the stories we shared. We are honored to have received the trust of you and the families served over the past century. Sincerely Greg Jensen, Eldon Jensen and family, staff and assistants.
Individuals can honor special people or the memory of loved ones by purchasing a Love Light in this annual holiday light display. All proceeds will assist in purchasing new patio furniture. Love Lights will be displayed in the hallways of the nursing home through January 15, 2013. Remembrances will be printed in our news letter and in the local newspapers.
As we count our blessings during the holidays, we’re most thankful for you.
Page 12 • The Bison Courier • Thursday, November 29, 2012
4-H implements DNA sampling for ALL market animals to exhibit at South Dakota State Fair
Beginning with the 2012 - 2013 4-H program year, South Dakota 4H is implementing a DNA sample process for all Market Animals intended for 4-H Division competitions at the South Dakota State Fair, says Rod Geppert, SDSU Extension 4-H Livestock Show Management Coordinator. "This is a critical requirement that will be implemented during the upcoming 4-HGreen Tag and Weigh-In events in your area," Geppert said. Geppert explains that this new requirement has been added to ensure the integrity of the SD 4-H Livestock Program. "We realize that this is an additional cost for 4-H families and may cause some financial burden; however, several surrounding states have gone to this process and we must make this change to ensure the integrity of the SD 4-H Livestock Program," he said. Market Animals without a DNA sample on file will be rejected from entering 4-H Division competitions at the South State Fair, regardless of the youth's ribbon placing at a County Fair or 4-H Achievement Days. So how will this new rule work? Geppert explains that during a County 4-H Weigh-In, 4-H members must Green Tag and have a DNA hair sample taken of all market animals they could possibly exhibit at the State Fair. Only animals that were DNA sampled by the ownership deadlines will be allowed to enter the 4-H Division livestock competitions at the State Fair; with the exception of some swine operations with 4-H market hogs, which will only be weighed, tagged and DNA sampled on an exhibitors' farm if the animals reside on a premise with a high level of bio-security or health status. Otherwise, all other market swine will be processed at the official county weigh-in. The 2013 4-H DNA sample fee is $6 per head and covers the expense of materials and handling. 4-H families must pay the per head fee to the County Extension Office at the time the market animal is weighed, green tagged and the DNA sampled. "It is very important that 4-H'ers and their families decide at their county's weigh in, which market animals have the potential for 4-H Division Livestock competitions at the South Dakota State Fair," Geppert said. To implement the DNA sampling process of market animals, South Dakota 4-H has partnered with AK-SAR-BEN to process the DNA samples and paperwork. 4-H members should be aware that this DNA process also gives privilege to nominate the animals for the AK-SAR-BEN Livestock Show with the same DNA sample. Members should plan to participate in DNA sample training with AKSAR-BEN and SDSU Extension staff or take the training online via iGrow before arriving to your County's weigh-in event. During the State Fair, all grand and reserve champions, plus division champions and reserves will have a DNA sample taken which South Dakota 4-H will submit to AK-SAR-BEN after the State Fair for DNA testing/matching. In addition, South Dakota 4-H will take random DNA samples during the weigh-in/check-in for 4-H Division Market Animal competitions at the State Fair. 4-H Livestock Ownership Verification Affidavits South Dakota 4-H is in the process of adding the 2013 Livestock Ownership Verification Affidavits to 4HOnline. Hard copies of completed affidavits, registration papers, etc., will still be required; however, those documents can be scanned and uploaded to 4HOnline and linked to the 4-H youth member. We plan to leverage 4HOnline to access documentation electronically during the 4-H Division check in processes at the State Fair. For more information, contact Rod Geppert at 605-773-8120 or rodney.geppert@sdstate.edu.
$1.00
Volume 30 Number 22 November 15, 2012
The
Includes Tax
t Bison School Distric s County, and the of Bison, Perkin ations, Inc. aper for the City of Ravellette Public Official Newsp 0429 A Publication South Dakota 5762098 P.O. Box 429 • Bison, FAX (605) 244-71 (605) 244-7199 • Phone:
Bison Courier
create flag for Vet erans Day
The Perfect Gift!
Here’s a gi that says “Merry Christmas” every week of the year! Order a gi subscription to one of our newspapers and just before Christmas, we’ll send the recipient a card announcing your gi and start the subscription with the holiday issue of December 19. Buy or renew as many subscriptions as you like. It’s the “Perfect Gi .”
Bison students
to consider, many contingencies accessibility, p cluding handica ity and much By Beth Hulm night’s school Following Monday plumbing, electric charge as board members An engineer could board meeting, a final de- more. of the project total are no closer to making of a new much as 10% ction run, it would be cision on the constru house a shop but, in the long worth it, he said. building that would Jackson’s ms. Local conKari had heededhed an engiand other classroo , invited by Jackson s and approac warning tractor Bob Marcie Browna ballpark figure neer who offered Committeewoman 0. The board her presentation approaching $500,00$300,000 for lee Kari, sat in on night’s school has budgeted only during Monday for engiction and $25,000 board meeting. comments to constru Kari prefaced her given her “a neering. renovating had Jackson said that say that Jackson information,” in- the existing building would probalot of really good way to bid out the bly be possible within those budget cluding the best constraints. project. r Angie hoped to have New board membe The board had drawn up for them Thompson volunteered to research plans and specs with the bidmoney for school and then to proceed ves. Jackson available grant be Until finances can ding process themsel do construction. project will stay on be a mistake to d, the thinks it would an engi- arrange much better to hire handle the backburner. that; g staff for all of let them Finding coachin neering firm and all teams has he said. school’s basketb all of the details, wrong, it’s the for Supt. Krae“If something goes said, “not been a challenge Senn has conSee more Vethe t in K-12. mer this fall. Steve 7th and 8th their problem,” ng every studen the wide project includi sented to coach yours.” that was a school be from local two high school A huge paper flagge on pages 8 and 9. If bids could all grade girls and said it wouldChapman and erans Day covera contractors, Jackson leave the de- seniors, Daniel team-coach the nt to Yancy Buer, will n’t be so importa onal but he feels 5th and 6th grade boys. tails to a professi e session won’t all be from Following an executiv forty-five sure that the bids . In fact, he pre- (that went one hour and familiar sources the to offer the project that action was taken minutes) dicts that girls’ basketball g – which could school is proposin to a half mil- varsity boys’ and Alley and contracts to Corbin ively. If he end up costing close have “bids comSarah Holzer, respect coach the lion dollars – will rk.” also ing out of the woodwo Kvale re- agrees, Alley would High team. chairman Dan Board any objections. would boys’ Jr. s, board memBuer didn’t voice that the project In other busines sense to drive ally wishes es. He’s now 4-5 have a set January 7 at be 9 to 10 employe up for winter “It doesn’t make down,” he said. go to a local contractor. “I bers tentatively it By Beth Hulm a half million of their annual strateshort as he gears workers can over it and pack actually be- hard time sending out of town,” 6:00 p.m. for in a row, “All we’re Coleman Avenue projects. Until more told to place tax dollars For the second month received gic planning retreat. County and there our local was sioners focusing on (long longs to Perkins be hired, Buer County Commis doing there is cally throughout has existed a long-standing argu- he said. said. Tracounty employadvised that patrols strategi planning,” Kvale rs resignations from Jackson further down, in- term) ly, the board would bring , Tracy Buer lost which entity is responwhere local operato over be written the county ees. In October e to assist ment for ditional and upkeep. A everything highway crew to a regular board much it will cost sible for its care could be hired part-tim two men from his their ideas back 5 removal. Gerbracht n exists in Lem- cluding how Contracts are imcontinued on page with necessary snow Foster had similar situatio and Assessor Rownea Last week, once the old change orders. will be r. mon. Railway Avenue, Commissioner Rusty lost a staff membe resignations d to portant, he said, and there d a couple of men Highway 12, has belonge more already contacte there were two assist. more the 1940s. employees – one county who would he told Perkins County since in the from county n maintains it. out there,” y crew and an ofThe City of Lemmo chairman of “There are guys from the highwa split her time Happenings zer, Mike Schweit Buer. Highlights & fice secretary who Attorney’s ofCommission, chairman of the Juell Chapman, the Perkins Countythose roads to between the State’s chickstopped by to deed extension office. chickens, smoked Bison Town Board, a check for would like to fice and the 4-H is holding Colony smoked turkeys, call Conbe done with the want to know the cities and personally present Commissioners ens and Bison Public Library employees. work that the HD raffle. Tickets 8 conversations. $67,264.31 for why they are losing e session a formal re- a Kindle Fire 3 for $10. The draw- nie 244-551 recently on some Bison recently made county crew did $5 each or Following an executiv at Skjoldal, Noand to sing his quest to the county board to help are hour during last December 13th, Bison streets that used up an Benefit for Gary Smoky’s in He would ing will ne held ac, official work crew. at n Ave. The town coffee. praises of the Wednesday’s meeting vember 17th the fix Colema Access the Christmas hes, an exit the board for allowing did apply for a Community taken to develop . Roast beef sandwic thanked tion was again Meadow chips at 6 p.m., auction “The guys and, if awarded, for departing Scouts are once Grant next spring assistance and said, interview process salads and to help with The Girl department Thanksgiving by Badger Horse their they’d like the county g funds. In holding a superb job!” employees. Countyed to come up at 7 p.m., music asked if there items can be the cost of a Chapman also the remaining matchin 8:30. Auction al- Turkey Raffle. For heads were instruct ce with snow recan enter to at City Council has to ask those who off at Smoky’s. item or $1 you could be assistan n Avenue this Lemmon, the with questions food and dropped $200,000 grant to- food from Colema their county jobs. ready secured a frozen turkey. All moval a leave is Bison’s main ng Railway Street. win when Buer proto the local food winter. That street town and is a wards upgradi Later in the day, larger proj- money goes letters from the g to be held Nois part of a much thoroughfare into duced resignation pantry. Drawin route. The That a joint effort of lost, Commissionect that could be designated truck 10 vember 19th. men he recently that route when again for a few continued on page county crew uses ers closed the door to plow county read and discuss they leave town more minutes to roads. them. work crew would Ideally, Buer’s
g block for Price is a stumblin School new shop at Bison in-
hope that exit Commissioners answers s will give them interview
$5.00 OFF EACH SUBSCRIPTION OF (2) OR MORE NEW SUBS OR RENEWALS PURCHASED! The Bison Courier ($34 + tax local) ($39 out of area) (605) 244-7199 • PO Box 429, Bison, SD 57620
ALL IN-STATE SUBSCRIPTIONS ARE SUBJECT TO SALES TAX.
Receive $5.00 off each subscription of (2) or more renewals or new subscriptions! Offer ends December 14, 2012. Clip & mail with your payment to the newspaper of your choice (above).
MAIL TO: Bison Courier, PO Box 429, Bison, SD 57620
SECOND SUBSCRIPTION:
FIRST SUBSCRIPTION: Name ______________________________ Address ____________________________ City________________________________ State: __________Zip ________________
Name ______________________________ Address ____________________________ City________________________________ State: __________Zip ________________
CALL (605) 244-7199 WITH CREDIT CARD PAYMENT INFORMATION OR FOR ANY QUESTIONS YOU MAY HAVE!
DATE: November 12, 2012 TIME HELD: 7:00 p.m. KIND OF MEETING: Regular WHERE HELD: Boardroom MEMBERS PRESENT: Arneson, Beckman, Kari, Kvale, Thompson MEMBERS ABSENT: None OFFICERS AND OTHERS PRESENT: Supt. Kraemer, Asst. Bus. Mgr. Johnson, Bev Kopren, Beth Hulm CHAIRMAN KVALE CALLED THE MEETING TO ORDER WITH A CALL FOR THE SALUTE TO THE FLAG.
BISON SCHOOL DISTRICT #52-1 BOARD OF EDUCATION MEETING
Legal Notice
below. Motion carried.
The Bison Courier • Thursday,November 29, 2012 • Page 13
WATER/SEWER/GARBAGE, 541.32; UNIVERSAL ATHLETIC SERVICES, SUPPLIES, 1,651.80; WADDELL, JOYCE, MEALS, 50.00; WEEKLY READER , WEEKLY READERS, 124.04; WEST RIVER COOP TEL, MONTHLY UTILITIES, 323.45; WORKERS COMP FUND, INSURANCE, 455.00. TOTAL GENERAL FUND $35,020.34 in the amount of $464.75 Motion carried. 45. Motion by Kari, second by Thompson to approve the contract of Daniel Chapman for 5th & 6th Grade Boys Co-Coach for the 2012-2013 season in the amount of $464.75 Motion carried.
APPROVAL OF CLAIMS 41. Motion by Beckman second by Arneson to approve the claims listed
CONSENT AGENDA 40. Motion by Beckman second by Thompson to approve the consent agenda with the following additions: 11a Contract, 12a Date for Board Retreat, 12b Bentley Lease and to approve the financial reports and the minutes of the October 8, 2012 meeting. Motion carried.
Cash on Hand 10-1-12 Invested in Securities Receipts: Local Sources Interest313.94142.513.95 Taxes Miscellaneous Co-Curricular Intermediate Sources County Apportionment
GENERAL FUND 18020.04 849181.72
APPROVED FINANCIAL REPORT
CAP OUTLAY 2374.36 488809.73 4972.97 SPED ED 1458.19 20150.62 3481.62
LAW OFFICE, LEGAL SERVICES, 1,040.00; HARVE’S SPORT SHOP, A & B BUSINESS S U P P L I E S , SUPPLIES, 305.50; HENDRICKSON, 339.51; ASBSD, REGISTRATION, DANA, SPORTS DUTIES, 50.00; 110.00; ADVANCE PAYMENTS, HOUSE OF GLASS, REPAIRS, MONTHLY REIMBURSEMENT, 103.26; JACKSON, BOB, LABOR/ 1,880.63; ARTHUR, ANDREW, SPORTS DUTIES, 600.00; JOHNSON, SPORTS DUTIES, 100.00; BESLER, COLETTE, HOSPITALITY ROOM, BROCK, SPORTS DUTIES, 35.00; 75.00; K-Log Inc., DESKS, 1,692.00; KBESLER, SCOTT, SPORTS DUTIES, M CONSTRUCTION, LABOR, 244.80; 35.00; BISON COURIER, PUBLISH- KAHLER, DARLA, SUPPLIES, 66.26; ING COSTS, 262.54; BISON FOOD KAHLER, ERIC, SPORTS DUTIES, STORE, SUPPLIES, 55.73; BISON 25.00; KOPREN, HEIDI, SUPPLIES, GRAIN CO., GASOLINE, 373.02; 17.55; KOPREN, TARINA, TRAVEL/ BISON IMPLEMENT, SUPPLIES, SUPPLIES, 148.78; KRAEMER, DON6.00; BRAINPOP, SUPPLIES, 205.00; ALD, POSTAGE, 8.10; LOPER, NINA, CAHILL BAUER & ASSOC, AUDIT SUPPLIES, 10.35; MENTORING SERVICES, 7,481.25; CARDMEMBER MINDS, SUPPLIES, 395.18; NASH, SERVICES, SUPPLIES, 160.00; COLLE, SPORTS DUTIES, 187.50; CARMICHAEL, SHAWNDA, SPORTS NASH, PENNY, SPORTS DUTIES, DUTIES, 12.50; CHAPMAN, 137.50; NORTHWEST SUPPLY, SUPDOREEN, SPORTS DUTIES, 25.00; PLIES, 8.52; P FLEET, FUEL, 259.31; CHAPMAN, KALIN, SPORTS DU- PEARSON EDUCATION, SUBSCRIPTIES/GAS, 72.44; CHAPMAN, KIRBY, TION, 430.00; PENOR’S TEXACO, SPORTS DUTIES, 115.00; CHAP- SUPPLIES, 21.95; PRELLE, DARIN, MAN, SYLVIA, SPORTS DUTIES, SPORTS DUTIES, 100.00; REALLY 125.00; CHAPMANS ELECTRONICS, GOOD STUFF, SUPPLIES, 173.21; PORT-A-POTTIES, 300.00; COLLINS, SANDER, ERIC, SPORTS DUTIES, HEIDI, SUPPLY REIMBURSEMENT, 60.00; SANDGREN, JAMES, SPORTS 21.73; CROSSROADS MOTEL, DUTIES, 25.00; SCHOOL SPEROOMS, 224.97; DAKOTA FEED, CIALTY, SUPPLIES, 58.06; SDHSAA, GAS, 224.97; DEMCO, SUPPLIES, FEE, 50.00; SEIDEL, KORTNEY, 90.75; FERO, JERRY, SPORTS DU- SPORTS DUTIES, 100.00; SMITH, TIES, 115.00; FISHER, TREVOR, GENE, MONTHLY BUS CONTRACT, SPORTS DUTIES, 50.00; FRIED, 9,530.07; SOUTHWEST BUSINESS GREG, SPORTS DUTIES, 50.00; MACHINES, SUPPLIES/MAINTEGRAND ELECTRIC, ELECTRIC- NANCE, 663.40; SUPER 8 MOTEL, ITY/SUPPLIES, 2,572.00; HARMON ROOMS, 100.00; TOWN OF BISON,
MIDWEST TECH PRODUCTS, SHOP EQUIPMENT, 2,885.00. TOTAL CAPITAL OUTLAY FUND $2,885.00 ADVANCE PAYMENTS, BOWLING PRACTICE, 8.00; BISON GRAIN, GAS, 23.22; HANDS ON HEALTH PT, SPEC ED SERVICES, 2,327.78; LEARNING SOLUTIONS OF THE BH, PROGRAM LICENSE, 1,225.00; REALLY GOOD STUFF, SUPPLIES, 70.41 TOTAL SPECIAL ED FUND $3,654.41 BISON FOOD STORE, SUPPLIES, 184.92; CASS CLAY CREAMERY, SUPPLIES, 824.37; CHILD & ADULT NUTRITION SERVICE, SUPPLIES, 95.00; SYSCO FOOD SERVICES OF ND, SUPPLIES, 3,967.59. TOTAL SCHOOL LUNCH FUND $5,071.88 Total Payroll for October- $89,910.84
EXECUTIVE SESSION 46. Motion by Arneson, second by Thompson to enter executive session to discuss personnel pursuant to SDCL 125-2 (1). Motion carried. Chairman Kvale declared the meeting in executive session at 7:50 p.m. At 9:35 p.m. Chairman Kvale declared the meeting back in regular session. CONTRACT 47. Motion by Arneson to accept the contract of Wade Kopren as Head Boys Basketball Coach for the 2012-2013 season. Motion dies due to lack of a second.
48. Motion by Thompson, second by Beckman to offer contracts to Corben Alley for Head Boys Basketball and for 7th & 8th Grade Basketball for the 2012-2013 season. Motion carried. 49. Motion by Thompson, second by Arneson to offer a contract for Head Girls Basketball to Sarah Holzer. Motion carried. NWAS REPORT Dan Beckman offered a brief report of the monthly meeting he attended. SET DATE FOR BOARD RETREAT The board will hold their annual board retreat January 7, 2013 at 6 p.m. in the board room. BENTLEY LEASE 50. Motion by Beckman, second by Thompson to approve the Bentley Building Lease in the amount of $2,500. Motion carried.
PENSION 48041.79 742.75
T&A
28098.64 47776.34
Elem-$20,934.30; Junior High$4,183.13; High School-$18,652.94; Title-$6,072.48; Library-$3,733.89; Network-$499.29; Supt-$5,556.25; Secretaries-$4,178.64; Fiscal-$2,509.50; Custodial-$3,865.40; Co-curricular$6,812.62; Spec Ed-$9,728.98; School Lunch-$3,183.42 DELEGATIONS None
10275.69 441.00 2974.97 1094.24 31194.00
Total Receipts Total Disbursements Cash on Hand 10-31-12 Invested in Securities IMPACT AID FUND
State Sources State Aid
47378.46 123184.74 79400.44 711995.04
TRUST & AGENCY Receipts Sophomores/Concessions 3426.40 General Fund/Sept Reimb 2991.13 FCCLA/Cluster Mtg 2250.00 FCCLA/Fundraisers 1476.20 Student Council/ Fundraising 403.12 Seniors/Fundraiser 1122.01 FFA/Dues 420.00 Spec Clearings/ Deposits&Districts 1218.00 Dacotah Bank/Int 1.44 Disbursements Petty Cash/Postage 53.88 Petty Cash/Starting Cash 200.00 Zeta Drolc/Official Fee 108.00 Krista Warbis/Official Fee 139.82 Charles Verhulst/Official Fee70.00 Keith Hanson Jr/Official Fee70.00 Brock Besler/Official Fee 70.00 Jim Wilkinson/Official Fee 70.00 Scott Besler/Official Fee 92.94 Lockbox OperationsD/Dues 216.00 Joyce Matthews/Supplies 153.21 Connie Aaker/Supplies 14.56 Pepsi/Supplies 355.20 Hettinger Candy/Supplies 176.18
$81,436.36
5115.58 3944.49 930.13 491425.21
3485.57 15393.62 11064.57 -1363.81
742.75 48784.54
13308.30 7395.07 34011.87 48041.79
DISCUSSION ON SHOP BUILDING Marcie Kari presented the board with information about the new shop building. Bob Jackson was also present to offer advice on proceeding with the project.
[Published November 29, 2012 at a total approximate cost of $96.12.]
Coca Cola/Supplies 158.40 Bison Food Store/Supplies 56.79 Zeta Drolc/Official Fee 108.00 Krista Warbis/Official Fee 139.82 Country Meats/Supplies 356.00 Mom’s Café/Supplies 12.00 23.96 Connie Aaker/Supplies 121.20 Coca-Cola/Supplies 8.00 Lemmon Rec/Bowling 267.00 Country Meats/Supplies 30.00 Flower Box/Supplies 294.63 PFleet/Gas 18.00 Postmaster/Postage 70.00 Greg Fried/Official Fee Chad Baumgarten/Official Fee70.00
DeJon Bakken/Official Fee 70.00 Brady Ham/Official Fee 70.00 Dale Bender/Official Fee 109.96 Delta Dental/Add’l Premium53.58 SDAHPERD/Registration 190.00 SD FFA/Due 485.00 Hettinger Candy/Supplies 799.08 Pepsi Cola/Supplies 132.00 Josten’s/Ring Deposits 270.00 Petty Cash/Starting Cash 400.00 Petty Cash/Starting Cash 700.00 Prairie Lounge/Supplies 78.26 Coca-Cola/Supplies 513.60
44. Motion by Kari, second by Beckman to approve the contract of Yancy Buer for 5th & 6th Grade Boys Basketball Co-Coach for the 2012-2013 season
CONTRACT APPROVAL- GRADE BASKETBALL COACHES 43. Motion by Thompson second by Arneson to approve the contract of Steve Senn for 7th & 8th Grade Girls Basketball Coach for the 2012-2013 season in the amount of $929.10 Motion carried.
LETTER OF RESIGNATION 42. Motion by Arneson, second by Thompson to accept the resignation of Kristen Seidel as Head Girls Basketball coach for the 2012-2013 season. Motion carried.
AUDIT REPORT Assistant Business Manager Johnson reported that the audit report has arrived and invited board members to review it before approval at the December meeting. SUPERINTENDENTS REPORT ED Dept Remedial Classes ACT Test Preparation School Website Emergency Response Training
51. Motion by Thompson second by Arneson to adjourn the meeting at 10:00 p.m. Motion carried. Dan Kvale, Chairman Colette Johnson, Asst. Business Manager
[Published November 29, 2012 at a total approximate cost of $84.60.]
Page 14 • The Bison Courier • Thursday, November 29, 2012
BISON SCHOOL DISTRICT #52-1 BOARD OF EDUCATION MEETING
Legal Notice
52. Motion by Thompson, second by Arneson to approve the agenda. Motion carried. EXECUTIVE SESSION 53. Motion by Beckman, second by Arneson to discuss personnel pursuant to SDCL 1-25-2(1) Motion carried. Chairman Kvale declared the meeting in executive session at 7:03 pm. At 10:20 pm Chairman Kvale declared the meeting back in regular session. ADJOURNMENT 54. Motion by Thompson, second by Arneson to adjourn the meeting. Motion carried. Chairman Kvale adjourned the meeting at 10:21 p.m. Daniel Kvale, Chairman Colette Johnson Asst. Bus. Mgr.
DATE: November 15, 2012 TIME HELD: 7:00 p.m. KIND OF MEETING: Special WHERE HELD: Boardroom MEMBERS PRESENT: Arneson, Beckman, Kari, Kvale, Thompson MEMBERS ABSENT: None OFFICERS AND OTHERS PRESENT: Supt. Kraemer, Donna Keller, Jackie Watson-Veal CHAIRMAN KVALE CALLED THE MEETING TO ORDER WITH A CALL FOR THE SALUTE TO THE FLAG. APPROVAL OF AGENDA
[Published November 29, 2012 at a total approximate cost of $15.27]
Monday and Tuesday Fred and Bev Schopp attended Jr High Basketball games in Lemmon. Thanksgiving day guests of Fred and Bev Schopp were Ray and Julie Schopp, Andrew, Katie, Kelly, Krista and Justin; Laurie, Dan and Danci Hoff; Bob and Connie Hourigan; Lance Hourigan and Jaylea Lemke; Weston and Katelin Ginther; Jessie Ginther; Mike Ginther and Siblut Coulliette; and Dennis Martin. Saturday, Fred and Bev Schopp were among the many friends and relatives who gathered at the Dakota Lodge in Lemmon for a birthday party for Ron and Bob Holdahl. Sunday, after church, Fred and Bev Schopp were dinner guests of Bob and Connie Hourigan to visit with Dusty and Jenny Hourigan, Jayce and Caden before they left for their home in Clear Lake, SD. Sunday evening, Fred and Bev Hourigan were guests of Ray and Julie Schopp to help Katie celebrate her 18th birthday. Jerry and Carolyn Petik traveled Fon du Lac, WI to spend Thanksgiving with Kurt and Leah Petik and family. Guests of Art and Marilyn Christman during the Thanksgiving week included, Gary, Cymbre, Kyle and Katie Christman; Amelia, Amanda, Julie and Ron Scott; Katie Fisk; Sarah, Amy, Ben, Chuck and Judy Lewis and a friend, Josh; Edith and Leon Brodie joined them all for the Thanksgiving Meal.
Meadow News
By Tiss Treib
Page 15 • The Bison Courier • Thursday, November 29, 2012
DISPLAY ADS: $4.50 per column inch. CLASSIFIED ADS: $5.90 for 30 words; 10¢ for each word thereafter. $2.00 billing charge applies. THANK YOU'S: $5.90 minimum or $3.10 per column inch. $2.00 billing charge applies. HIGHLIGHTS & HAPPENINGS: $5.90 minimum or $3.10 per column inch. $2.00 billing charge applies. HAPPY ADS: With or Without Picture: $15.00 minimum or B $4.50 per column inch.BIRTH ANNOUNCEMENT: $36.00 for 2x7 announcement. Ad Deadline is Monday at NOON! Legal Deadline is Friday at NOON! 244-7199 or courier@sdplains.com
Advertising Rates:
SPEECH LANGUAGE PATHOLOGIST ASSISTANT: immediate opening in NW SD, great benefits and educational cost reimbursement: contact Cris Owens, Northwest Area Schools (605)466-2206 Christine.Owens@k12.sd.us.
tral, northwestern South & North Dakota. Scott Connell, 605-5302672, Craig Connell, 605-2645650, www.goldeneagleloghomes. com.
Five Counties Nursing Home
For Sale FOR SALE: 2008 Chrysler Town and Country Touring van. Stowaway seats, auto sliding doors. Less than 24, 000 actual miles. 244-5231 B22-tfn Crocheted dish cloths, pot scrubbers, fleece scarves, fleece caps, crocheted caps are available at the Bison Courier. For information see Arlis at the Bison Courier or call 244-7199. B4-tfn
ANNOUNCEMENTS Center for Cultural Interchange seeks volunteer Local Coordinators for exchange students in South Dakota. Some compensation. Contact Mary Armstrong for info: 1-888-440-8750 MArmstrong@cci-exchange.ORG www.cci-exchange.ORG.
DRIVERS: OWNER OPERATORS NEEDED Refrigerated Division, join our experienced team of seasoned professionals. Terminals in KS, SD, TN, NM. 2 years OTR experience. Call 800-796-8200 x103. SKILLED MEAT CUTTER POSITION available at West Side Meats, Mobridge, SD. Competitive wages, good benefits, affordable housing available. For application or more information call 605-8452271 or email grandriverbison@ yahoo.com.
NOTICES ADVERTISE IN NEWSPAPERS statewide for only $150.00. Put the South Dakota Statewide Classifieds Network to work for you today! (25 words for $150. Each additional word $5.) Call this newspaper or 800-6583697 for details.
OTR & DRIVER OPPORTUNITY
PETS CHESAPEAKE PUPPIES: In Time For Christmas!!! Champion Bloodlines! Excellent Hunters! Great Personalities! 605-730-2088.
EOE/M/FV/D Drug Free Workplace Employer
Must have good work ethic. FREE C.N.A. certification Complete wage and complete benefits package for FT. For more information call Human Resources at 605-374-3871 or get application at Five Counties, Box 479, Lemmon, SD 57638. fch1@sdplain.com
Seeking persons for •CNA - FT/PT •RN and LPN FT/PT
Need extra cash? Job security as a trained health care worker.
BIDS ACCEPTING BIDS THROUGHOUT DECEMBER: 1992 Ford E350, 7.3 diesel ambulance (unequipped), 110,287 approximate miles. For additional information or photos, email jocoamb@goldenwest.net or leave message at 605669-3125. Mail bids to: Jones County Ambulance, P.O. Box 305, Murdo, S.D. 57559. BUSINESS OPPORTUNITY NOW IS THE chance to buy a well established & successful business in the State Capitol of S.D. The Longbranch is for SALE (serious inquires only). Call Russell Spaid 605-280-1067. EMPLOYMENT CENTRAL PARK MANAGER Huron SD Park & Rec. Dept. See duties and applications available at www.huronsd.com. Click on “City Government,” then “City Employment.”
FOR SALE MUST SELL: 2012 Chevrolet Suburban LT 4x4, 29,000 miles, $38,000; 2010 GMC Yukon XL 4x4, 66,000 miles, $30,500; 2000 Chevrolet Suburban 4x4, $4,500. 605-871-9996. LOG HOMES DAKOTA LOG HOME Builders representing Golden Eagle Log Homes, building in eastern, cen-
$1500.00 SIGN-ON BONUS! EXP. OTR Drivers, TBI, 33¢/34¢, $375 mo., health ins., credit, 03¢ safety bonus, Call Joe for details, 800.456.1024, joe@tbitruck.com. DRIVERS: $1,000 SIGN-ON BONUS. New Pay Program! *Earn up to 50 cpm *Home Weekly*2500+ miles, 95% no-tarp. Must be Canadian eligible (888) 691-5705.
For Rent For rent: Homestead Heights located in Bison, S.D., has a one and two bedroom apartment available. Homestead Heights is a low-income elderly and disabled Section 8 HUD (Housing and Urban Development) housing facility. We are smoke free. Energy Assistance is available for those who qualify. Utilities are included in the rent. Homestead Heights is an equal housing opportunity. For more information, please call (605) 2445473. B14-tfn
Ad Deadline is Monday at NOON! Legal Deadline is Friday at NOON!
244-7199 or courier@sdplains.com
LIVE, INC., an accredited agency supporting people with disabilities, has FT evening and supervisory positions available. Call (605) 374-3742 or e-mail resume’ to julielive@sdplains.com.
One & Two Bedroom Apartments The Village Manor, Hettinger, North Dakota Small Pets Allowed All utilities included No Age Limitations Rental assistance available
FOR RENT
Every day at
Northwest Supply Co.
Lemmon, S D
To view an apartment call 701-567-4118 For further information call 701-290-0206 TTY 1-800-366-6888
Pepsi - Coke products:
12 pack $4.19 24 pack $6.99
Page 16 • The Bison Courier • Thursday, November 29, 2012
Ad Deadline is Monday at NOON! Legal Deadline is Friday at NOON!
244-7199 or courier@sdplains.com
Veal Haygrinding
Larry Veal & Shannon Veal 605-244-7773 605-788-2286
Thinking About Building?
NEW HOME • POST FRAME AG BUILDING NEW SHOP • GARAGE • MATERIAL PACKAGE HOME ADDITION • CUSTOM BUILDING At Northwest Supply Company, we can do your job from start to finish or recommend contractors that do quality workmanship. Give us a call to discuss your ideas.

Published under a Creative Commons License By attribution, non-commercial
AttachmentSize
Courier 11-29-12.pdf3.69 MB