Login

Bison Courier, January 2, 2014

Embedded Scribd iPaper - Requires Javascript and Flash Player
$1.00
You and Health Insurance:
making a smart choice
Whether you’re entering the health insurance marketplace for the first time or making decisions during your insurer’s annual open enrollment period; purchasing health insurance can seem like a daunting task. Many consumers are uncomfortable, overwhelmed and intimidated when it comes to making decisions about health insurance coverage. Health insurance is important to maintain your health, but choosing the best plan for you and/or your family can be complicated. You can’t always predict health care needs but by making a sound decision about what health insurance coverage to have is a good start. The Smart Health Insurance Choices is a comprehensive, research-based, unbiased curriculum designed by a team of experts from across the nation, led by the University of Maryland Extension to equip people with the tools they need to make the best decision possible for their families when choosing health insurance. Carrie Johnson, SDSU Extension Specialist in Family Resource Management has received specialized training in the content of health insurance and in guiding consumers in making good health and financial decisions about insurance. She will present a two-hour program that will help you analyze your health care needs, compare insurance plans and apply knowledge learned to make a smart health insurance choice based on what you can afford. You will get a consumer workbook and will learn to use tools
Volume 31 Number 29 January 2, 2014
Includes Tax
The
Official Newspaper for the City of Bison, Perkins County, and the Bison School District A Publication of Ravellette Publications, Inc. P.O. Box 429 • Bison, South Dakota 57620-0429 Phone: (605) 244-7199 • FAX (605) 244-7198
Bison Courier
that will help you feel more confident in making your health insurance choices. Information about accessing the new Marketplace options will be reviewed. The workshops will take place at the following Extension Regional Centers starting at 5:30pm. Workshop cost is $15 per person or $20 per couple. Registration is due by Jan 10th. Seating is limited to 12 participants/couples. Forms are available at http://igrow.org/ healthy-families/family-and-personal-finance/making-a-smarthealth-insurance-decision/. You can also call the Aberdeen Center 605.626.2870 to register. Jan. 13 – Rapid City Jan. 14 – Lemmon Jan. 15 – Pierre Jan. 21 – Winner Jan. 22 – Mitchell Jan. 23 – Sioux Falls Jan. 27 – Aberdeen Jan. 28 - Watertown With health insurance currently in the public spotlight, Smart Choice seeks to capitalize on this teachable moment by helping Americans take control of their personal and family financial health needs. Are you dreading the decisionmaking process? Are you confused by all of the choices? Do you want to know the questions and answers you need to make a smart choice? Then attend one of the workshops available. Certified Navigators will be present at some of the locations to provide additional Affordable Care Act information/personalized Q&A period.
Giving makes her happy
According to the 2012 USDA report, there are 79,500 sheep operations in the U.S., making it the second largest livestock industry in the U.S., explained Jeff Held, SDSU Extension Sheep Specialist. South Dakota's sheep industry accounted for about $30 million in meat and wool sales in 2012. Break it down In South Dakota there are 2,000 sheep operations which produce more than 225,000 lambs and approximately 1.9 million pounds of wool. Each year, about 255,000 of
Sheep Industry is the second largest livestock industry in the U.S.
South Dakota's sheep are shorn. On average each fleece weighs 7.4 pounds resulting in state-wide production of about 1.9 million pounds of wool. This represents about 6.6 percent of total wool production in the U.S. and accounts for about $3.2 million dollars for South Dakota's sheep producers. Support your local sheep industry & Land Grant University As the weather turns cold, we are reminded of the warmth from wool products that sheep producers help provide.
By Gladys Jackson This Grandmother of 19 Grandchildren lives in northwestern South Dakota and enjoys giving and putting a smile on other people’s faces. Esther Haggart of Bison, SD has found what
makes her happy. It all started when Esther was watching a story about someone on the local television station; she said, “I could do that!”, and that’s just what she has been doing. Esther has been crocheting newborn
baby caps and headbands for the babies born at the Spearfish Regional Hospital Newborn Nursery in Spearfish, SD. Her granddaughter, Jacque Hight, is a Registered Nurse at the Hospital and continued on page 4
2 • The Bison Courier • Thursday, January 2, 2014
s Thi
Alcoholics Anonymous is meeting weekly in Bison. The group meets every Thursday at 7:00 p.m. in the basement of the Presbyterian Church. Everyone is welcome.
The Bison Food Pantry will be open one week later than usual in January. the date is January 15th, 2014 from 2:30 -4:30. If you have a food need, please come.
in Bison week
To have your NON-PROFIT meeting listed here, please submit them by calling: 244-7199, or e-mailing to: courier@sdplains.com. We will run your event notice the two issues prior to your event at no charge.
Serving the West River area since 1912
Monday, Albert and Bridget Keller and kids traveled to Bismarck for a baby appointment. The boys got to go see Santa and Lil Albert was just beside himself excited! Tuesday, Albert and Bridget Keller traveled to Hettinger to run some errands. Wednesday, Albert Keller returned back to work. Bridget and the boys and Dawn Harris traveled to Rapid City and spent the night. They attended Luke and Trinity Harris' Christmas concert on Thursday morning. They returned home Thursday evening. Friday, Bridget Keller and the boys traveled to Trail City, SD to spend the weekend with Patricia Keller and make sausage on Saturday with all the Keller clan. They returned home Sunday evening after doing an early Christmas. Tiss Treib made a trip to Lemmon Monday morning. Ben Wiechmann called on Tiss Treib Tuesday and helped unplug her sewer vent. Tiss Treib traveled to Lemmon Saturday afternoon and met Lorna Bender of Bismarck they went out for supper before returning to their homes. Duane Meink and Palo Mauri were Saturday coffee guests of John and Shirley Johnson. Max Smebakken was a Sunday afternoon coffee guest of John and Shirley Johnson. Cheyann Demoney of Phoenix, AZ is visiting Bob and Shilo Johnson for the Christmas Holi-
Rosebud News....By Tiss Treib
day. Steve Sandgren came out one day during the week to get ready for Christmas company. Thelma Sandgren hosted an early Christmas at her home for her family. Georgia started serving breakfast at 10:30 and they finished the day with soup at 3:30. Guests included Mariette, Scott, Dani and Preston Cornella of Rapid City; Georgia Sandgren of Sturgis; Ed Hanson, Jake and Dalton of Sioux Falls; Mark and Linda Sandgren of Golden, CO; Steve and Susie Sandgren, Rachel Sandgren and Kyle Dalzell; Cody and Leslie Kling; James, Marci and Kylee Sandgren. Jim and Patsy Miller, David and Nancy Miller, John, Jamie and JLynn of Rapid City; Donald Miller and Chelsey of Pittsburg, PA all helped Violet Miller celebrate her 90th birthday Wednesday in Hettinger. Jim and Patsy Miller, Matt and Christi Miller and Archie Goodrich attended the Shriner’s Christmas Party in Bison Friday evening. Archie Goodrich of Bismarck arrived Friday to spend time with Jim and Patsy Miller. Matt, Christi and Zabrina Miller spent Saturday and Sunday with Jim and Patsy Miller and Archie Goodrich. Marilyn Schwartzbauer of Bismarck spent Saturday with Dorothy and Lynn Frey. Monte, Dean, Lynn and Dorothy Frey and Marilyn
www.evansonjensenfuneralhome.com
Evanson Jensen Funeral Homes
“Funeral Homes of Caring”
Lemmon • 605-374-3805 Hettinger • 701-567-2522 Elgin • 701-584-2644 Mott • 701-824-2693 Toll Free • 1-800-643-9165
Nutrition Site Menu
Thursday, January 2
Beef Stew whole wheat biscuit crunchy cranberry salad orange
Periodicals Postage Paid at Bison, SD 57620 POSTAL PERMIT #009-944 Published weekly every Thursday by Ravellette Publ., Inc. at PO Box 429, Bison SD 57620-0429 Telephone: 605-244-7199 • Fax: 605-244-7198 E-mail Addresses: courier@sdplains.com couriernews@sdplains.com SUBSCRIPTION RATES: Bison ............................................................................$36.04 Meadow, Shadehill, Prairie City, Reva & Lodgepole ........$35.36 Lemmon........................................................................$36.04 in state ........................................................$39.00 + sales tax out of state (Includes all Hettinger addresses.) ...$39.00 (no tax)
THE BISON COURIER
Mac & cheese stewed tomatoes butterscotch pudding w/topping banana
Friday, January 3
Monday, January 6
Hamburger on w/w bun hash browns baked beans lettuce leaf & tomato pear
Tuesday, January 7
Turkey ala king mashed potatoes peas lime perfection salad orange
Wednesday, January 8
Tuesday, January 7 Soft shell taco corn salad bar fruit & milk
Hot dog wrap baked beans salad bar fruit, milk
Monday, January 6 Sausage links Macaroni & cheese salad bar whole grain roll fruit & milk
POSTMASTER: Send address changes to The Bison Courier, PO Box 429, Bison SD 57620-0429 Deadlines: Display and Classified Advertising: Mondays at 12:00 p.m. Legals: Fridays at 12:00 p.m. Publisher: Don Ravellette Editor/Office Manager: Arlis Seim Asst. Editor/Reporter: Lita Wells Ad Sales: Beth Hulm (605-244-5231), Beth@sdplains.com
Wednesday, January 8
Beef barley soup cold meat sandwich tossed salad w/tomatoes pears
Thursday, January 9
COPYRIGHT: Ravellette Publications, Inc. All rights reserved. Nothing may be reprinted, photocopied or in any way reproduced from this publication, in whole or in part, without the written consent of the publisher.
Goulash cinnamon roll salad bar fruit & milk
Schwartzbauer had dinner together Saturday. Tiss Treib visited with Connie Walsh in Hettinger Tuesday afternoon. Tiss Treib was a Christmas Eve guest at the home of Gary, Jodi and Lexi Johnson. Other guests included Roger Ingebretson; Bob and Shilo Johnson; Cheyann Demoney and her friend Jacob of Phoenix, AZ; Mike, Linda, Sam, Lance and Annie Johnson; John and Shirley Johnson. Tiss Treib was a Christmas Day guest of Bob and Shilo Johnson. Other guests were Cheyann Demoney and friend Jacob; Gary, Jodi and Lexi Johnson; John and Shirley Johnson. Larry, Sarah, Spencer and McKenna Dreiske were Christmas Day evening visitors of Tiss Treib. Gary Johnson called on Tiss Treib Friday afternoon. Tiss Treib spent Saturday overnight in Hettinger due to the stormy weather. Jim and Patsy Miller spent Monday in Hettinger. Matt, Christi and Zabrina Miller were Christmas Eve and Christmas Day guests of Jim and Patsy Miller. Jim and Patsy Miller were in Hettinger Friday and Jim stopped to visit his mother, Violet Miller. Christi, Matt and Zabrina Miller and Jim Miller traveled to Rapid City Saturday and had Christmas with Dave and Nancy Miller and family. Thelma Sandgren was a Sunday afternoon cappuccino guest of John and Shirley Johnson. Sunday, Danny and Kelly LaDue and boys of Draper, Utah; Tim and JoAnne Seim; Justin, Jo and Jacob Seim were among the guests of Bonnie Haynes. Monday, supper guests of Tim and JoAnne Seim were Jim Anderson; Chet and Mandy Anderson and family; Kal and Jean Brockel, Kiana and Jim; Boyd and Betty Ellingson; Tyrel Ellingson; Keith and Annie Mutschler; Duane Harris; Bridget Keller and boys. Christmas Day afternoon visitors were Willie, Luke and Trinity Harris who were on their way back to their home in Rapid City. Thursday afternoon, Tim and JoAnne Seim; Danny and Kelly LaDue and boys; Justin, Jo and Jacob Seim spent time with Chet and Mandy Anderson and family. Friday morning, Hope Anderson was a visitor of Tim and JoAnne Seim. Danny and Kelly LaDue and boys traveled to Sturgis Friday morning to spend time with Gary and Marge LaDue. Sunday they returned to their home in Draper. Marilyn Schwartzbauer; Noel and Braylyn Miller of Bismarck arrived at Dorothy Frey Saturday morning. Saturday dinner guests of Dorothy Frey were Rolland Frey, Dean Frey, Lynn Frey, Marilyn Schwartzbauer, Noel and Braylyn Miller. They opened gifts after dinner. Marilyn Schwartzbauer, Noel and Braylyn Miller returned to their home in Bismarck Sunday afternoon. continued on page 5
281 All Conference football
The Bison Courier • Thursday, January 2, 2014 • 3
The 281 Conference recently named selections for the All-281 Conference football team. Local Sunshine Bible Academy athletes chosen included from left to right include: 1st Team- Seniors,Trig Clark and Brian LaDue, Meadow, SD and honorable mention- Dalton Gerbracht, Faith, SD and Seth Buer, Bison, SD. Other teams in the 281 Conference are Wolsey-Wessington, Hitchcock-Tulare, Woonsocket/Wessington Springs/Sanborn Central, and Highmore-Harrold.
The Dewey, Meade, Perkins & Ziebach County FSA offices would like to keep you informed of the following items important to USDA programs. If you have any questions please contact the Dewey County office at 865-3522 ext 2, Meade County at 347-4952 ext 2, Perkins at 244-5222 ext 2 or Ziebach County at 365-5179 ext 2. DATES TO REMEMBER: JANUARY 1 – OFFICE CLOSED JANUARY 15 – Final date for late filling 2014 winter wheat, rye, and perennial forage where the fees will be waived JANUARY 17 – Last day to return COC election ballots after received new ones mailed December 20 JANUARY 20 – OFFICE CLOSED FEBRUARY 17 – OFFICE CLOSED MARCH 15 - Last day to purchase NAP for 2014 Spring Planted and Forage Crops
USDA/Farm Service Agency NEWS
USDA Farm Service Agency Urges Farmers and Ranchers to Vote in County Committee Elections Corrected Ballots Were Mailed to Eligible Producers Friday, Dec. 20 WASHINGTON, Dec. 20, 2013 — USDA Farm Service Agency (FSA) Administrator Juan M. Garcia announced that the FSA County Committee Elections begin today, Dec. 20, with the mailing of ballots to eligible voters. The deadline to return the ballots to local FSA offices is Jan. 17, 2014. Producers have been instructed to destroy the FSA County Committee Election ballots (FSA-669’s) mailed on Nov. 4. The new ballots mailed to producers will have the word “corrected” printed on the outside of the mailing, the ballot itself, and the return envelope. Producers must complete and return the corrected FSA-669 to have their vote counted. Eligible voters who do not receive a ballot in the coming week can ob-
tain one from their local USDA Service Center. The last day for voters to submit corrected ballots in person to local USDA Service Centers is Jan. 17, 2014. Ballots returned by mail must be postmarked no later than Jan. 17. Newly elected committee members and their alternates will take office Feb. 18, 2014. County committee members are an important component of the operations of FSA and provide a link between the agricultural community and USDA. Farmers and ranchers elected to county committees help deliver FSA programs at the local level, applying their knowledge and judgment to make decisions on commodity price support programs; conservation programs; incentive indemnity and disaster programs for some commodities; emergency programs and eligibility. FSA committees operate within official regulations designed to carry out federal laws.
Need gravel around your tank or driveway gravel? Call for a quote.
Besler Gravel & Trucking, LLC 244-5600
4 • The Bison Courier • Thursday, January 2, 2014
The Movie “UNSTOPPABLE” with Kirk Cameron will be shown at Slim Buttes Lutheran Church Reva, South Dakota, January 5, 2014 at 4:00 p.m. It will be shown at Buffalo Coffee House, Civic Center, January 19, 2014 at 6:00 p.m.
Highlights & Happenings
Its Bingo time!! Jan. 12 at 1:30. Community Center. Lunch will be served, $1.00 per card play all afternoon. Lots of prizes.
Sponsored by Slim Buttes Lutheran Church for information 866-4685
agreed that this was a great idea. According to the OB Director there, the hospital delivers over 500 babies a year. Esther modestly says they don’t take very long to make and I use all my left-over yarn. But Jacque says, “Just being able to send these little newborns home with a cute cap or headband on makes the young mothers very happy.” Esther has been doing this for over a year now, she makes Christmas caps, Easter caps, pastel caps, Valentine caps, baseball style caps and every headband she makes for the girls are adorned with a beautiful flower or ribbon. She even makes green and pink camouflage caps and headbands! She either mails the caps and headbands down or finds someone who is going to Spearfish to send them with. Esther enjoys spreading this cheer and she gives these gifts freely as gifts of love for the newborns. She does not charge any monetary value for the caps. She does it because she loves doing it and she loves giving, it makes her happy. Many of Esther’s family and extended family and friends have also been the beneficiaries of Esther’s handi-work in the form of baby and home Afghans as well as prayer shawls for those needing strength. She says she has made and given away over 300 Afghans.
Giving
continued from page 1
Deer hunters who have unfilled antlerless deer tags for the East and West River deer seasons will have nine additional days available to harvest antlerless deer beginning December 28 and ending on January 5. South Dakota Game Fish and Parks Terrestrial Chief Tom Kirschenmann said the change was in effect last season as well. “Our offices have taken many calls asking about unfilled ‘any
Reminder for late season deer hunters
deer’ tags. Prior to last year, ‘any deer’ tags converted to ‘antlerless’ tags for these last nine days of the season,” Kirschenmann said. “That is no longer the case. Only unfilled ‘antlerless’ tags are valid during this time frame.” The changes were made in 2012 as part of deer herd management objectives to direct additional antlerless harvest in the areas of the state that need it most while curtailing the doe har-
vest where deer populations are at or below population objectives. These changes will also apply to the archery and muzzleloader seasons as well. Only unfilled ‘any antlerless deer’ tags are valid from January 1-15. For specific information on the respective deer seasons, visit http://gfp.sd.gov/hunting/biggame/deer/default.aspx.
Vonnie Foster visited with her mother, Bernie Rose Friday afternoon. Fred and Bev Schopp attended ball games Tuesday and Friday. Tuesday there was a girls basketball games in Dupree and Friday in Lemmon. Thursday, Fred and Bev Schopp attended the Grant County Jr Hi girls Basketball game. Sunday after church, Fred and Bev Schopp had lunch with Laurie, Dan and Danci Hoff. Carolyn Petik had lunch with
continued from page 2 Bridget Keller and the boys and Duane Harris were Monday supper and Christmas guests of Tim and JoAnne Seim. Tuesday, Bridget Keller and the boys went to Les and Sharon Longwoods for supper and Christmas. They attended church services that evening then traveled to Williston to Albert Kellers rig afterwards. Wednesday to Saturday Bridget Keller and the boys stayed with Albert. They returned home Saturday evening. Sunday, Dawn Harris was an afternoon visitor. Bridget and the boys took down inside Christmas decor, which takes all day with the two boys now :) Monday, Vince Gunn brought Thelma Sandgren’s mail in to her and had coffee. Mark Sandgren took Linda Sandgren to Lemmon Monday to spend time with her mother, Lennice Parker. Mark returned to the Sandgren ranch to do odd jobs for his mother, Thelma. Tuesday afternoon Thelma, Mark and Linda Sandgren headed to Bison where they met up with James, Marci and Kylee Sandgren; Georgia Sandgren and Ed Hanson and his boys at the Presbyterian Church. Later they all returned to the Sandgren ranch for supper and to celebrate Christmas Eve. Wednesday morning, Mark, Linda and Thelma Sandgren headed for Holland Center Church for the Christmas program. It was a full house, as all the families were home – great to see them all. Mark, Linda and Thelma Sandgren traveled to Lemmon Christmas Day to have dinner with Lennice Parker. It was so good. Later, Mark and Thelma went to visit with Steve and Susie Sandgren and family. Thursday, Mark Sandgren came out to the ranch and fixed some things for Thelma. Later, he met Linda and they visited at the home of Ron Dragoo. Steve Sandgren came out to the ranch Thursday for lunch and to move some snow. Friday, believe it or not, Thelma did not go to town. Mark and Linda Sandgren came out to Thelma’s for lunch and brought Thelma a few groceries. They then traveled to Bison briefly and then headed on to Spearfish to spend to have Christmas with Jim and Linda Parker. Saturday, Mark and Linda Sandgren visited in Rapid City and Sunday headed to their home in Golden, CO.
ROSEBUD NEWS
Irene Young Monday. Carolyn Petik attended Hope Women's Bible Study at the home of Sylvia Johnson Tuesday afternoon. Wednesday Carolyn Petik accompanied the Spencer Memorial Youth Group while they sang Christmas Carols for the residents at the Nursing Home. Carolyn Petik was a Friday visitor at the home of Dottie Barnes. Jerry Petik attended a District 6 Farmers Union Meeting at Smokey's in Meadow Friday evening. Jerry Petik visited with Ernestine Miller Saturday. Kurt & Leah Petik and family of Fond du Lac, WI arrived on Sunday to spend the Christmas Holiday with family and friends in the area. They, along with Jerry and Carolyn Petik
Meadow News ...By Tiss Treib
attended the baptism of Lila Barnes at Hope Church and were among many dinner guests at the home of Mike and Dottie Barnes. Jane Christman and Walter Kingsbery of Boulder, CO spent the week with Art and Marilyn Christman. Judy and Chuck Lewis of Sturgis and Sarah Lewis of Brookings spent the weekend with Art and Marilyn Christman. Fred and Bev Schopp attended the Children’s Christmas Eve Service at St. Lukes Church . Fred and Bev Schopp were Christmas Eve guests of Laurie, Dan and Danci Hoff. Later in the evening they visited with Ray and Julie Schopp and family. Fred and Bev Schopp were among
The Bison Courier • Thursday, January 2, 2014 • 5
guests at Mike and Dottie Barnes'. Wednesday afternoon, Carolyn and Jerry visited with Ernestine Miller. Friday, Jerry and Carolyn went to Pierre. They enjoyed viewing the Christmas trees at the Capitol while they were there. Mary Ellen Fried; Dan and Teresa Sherrill and family were Christmas Eve guests of Greg and Peggy Fried. Mary Ellen Fried; Dan and Teresa Sherrill and family; Chris Fried and family were Christmas Day guests of Greg and Peggy Fried. Della Hatle was a Saturday afternoon visitor of Mary Ellen Fried. Bernie Rose was among those who were Christmas Day guests of Vonnie Foster.
the many guests of Bob and Connie Hourigan Christmas Day. Fred and Bev Schopp traveled to Hettinger Saturday evening to watch the Girls Basketball game against Hettinger. Monday guests at Jerry and Carolyn Petik's to celebrate an early Christmas were: Irene Young, Jeri Lynn, DeJon, Leif and Mirandi Bakken, Kurt, Leah, Grant, Kiya and Irelyn Petik. Leif and Mirandi Bakken and Kurt and family were also Monday overnight guests. Tuesday afternoon the Petiks and Bakkens attended Christmas Eve Candlelight service at Hope Church. Jerry and Carolyn Petik were among Christmas Eve supper guests at Irene Young's in Lemmon and on Wednesday, were Christmas dinner
SD FFA recognizes top leaders at State Leadership Career Development Events
more Treasurer: Ben Peterson, Highmore Reporter: Jane Hervi, Willow Lake Sentinel: Grant Sweeter, LennoxSundstrom Student Advisor: Tristan Ashdown, Highmore In Prepared Public Speaking, each contestant presents a 6-8 minute agriculture-oriented speech and answers five minutes of related questions. The event and travel scholarship are sponsored by Hefty Seed Company. The national level sponsor is Monsanto. The results were: 1. GOLD Kierra Leddy, Milbank 2. GOLD Haley Boyer, AlcesterHudson 3. SILVER Abby Hora, ViborgHurley 4. SILVER Cooper Eliason, Howard 5. SILVER Kaley Nolz, Mitchell 6. BRONZE Makayla Mathison, Wilmot 7. BRONZE Logan Hoffman, Bridgewater-Emery 8. BRONZE Sarah McClure, Hoven In Extemporaneous Public Speaking, an unrehearsed 4-6 minute speech is written and presented onsite. Each contestant is allowed only 30 minutes to prepare. Our state level and travel scholarship sponsor is the South Dakota Farm Bureau. The national level sponsor is the American Farm Bureau Federation. Results were as follows: 1. GOLD Shelby Riggs, Mitchell 2. GOLD Emily Pilatzki, Milbank 3. SILVER Jacob Erickson, Milbank 4. SILVER Nick Young, Clark 5. SILVER Nicole Hamilton, Hitchcock-Tulare 6. BRONZE Andrew Streff, McCook Central 7. BRONZE Chase Wallace, Harrisburg 8. BRONZE Jaclynn Knutson, Viborg-Hurley Job Interview challenges FFA members to complete a job application, write a letter of application, participate in an actual interview and compose a follow-up letter. Our sponsor is the South Dakota Department of Agriculture and the national sponsor is CSX Transportation. The winning person travel scholarship is sponsored by Kindra Gordon and Three Corners Agency, Inc. – Melissa Stearns, Agent. The results were: 1. GOLD Peyton DeJong, Philip 2. GOLD Rachel Schartz, West Central 3. SILVER Kaden Eisenbraun, Wall 4. SILVER Tara Heuer, Hoven 5. SILVER Jordanne Howe, Redfield 6. BRONZE Sara Waldner, West Central 7. BRONZE Bailey Zueber, Hoven 8. BRONZE Lisa Smith, Kimball Ag Sales team members work together to develop a strategy for selling pre-determined products to specific customer scenarios. Participants also practice their individual sales skills by selling an agricultural product to a customer. This event is sponsored by the South Dakota Department of Agriculture. The winning travel scholarship is sponsored by Eastern Farmers Cooperative. The national level sponsor is Monsanto. The results were: Individuals: 1. GOLD Tate Ketelhut, Miller 2. GOLD Alex Trautman, Rapid City 3. SILVER Bailey Zerfoss, Wolsey-Wessington 4. SILVER Jim Ellsworth, Chamberlain 5. SILVER Brandon Houska, Chamberlain 6. BRONZE Hunter Johnson, Rapid City 7. BRONZE Adam Eichacker, McCook 8. BRONZE Sidney Carey, Wolsey-Wessington and Chelsey Langbehn, Wolsey-Wessington (tie) Teams: 1. GOLD Philip 2. SILVER Mitchell 3. SILVER Garretson 4. BRONZE Sioux Valley 5. BRONZE Watertown The Junior Conduct of Meetings event is designed for high school freshmen to present a mock FFA meeting. This event is sponsored by Gary Bachman, Prairie Appraisal Service of Bowdle. The team results were: 1. GOLD McCook Central 2. SILVER Highmore 3. SILVER Lennox-Sundstrom 4. BRONZE Harrisburg 5. BRONZE Garretson Creed Speaking participants recite the FFA Creed and answer questions posed by the judges. This event and travel scholarship is sponsored by Craig and Bonnie Dybedahl and Mike Ringgenberg. The national level sponsor is CHS Foundation. The results were: 1. GOLD Mary Dybedahl, Tri-
6 • The Bison Courier • Thursday, January 2, 2014
The South Dakota FFA Association hosted 512 FFA members from across South Dakota at the 2013 State FFA Leadership Career Development Events on Dec. 8-9 in Pierre, S.D. These FFA members advanced to the state level competition by placing first or second at their district competitions. At the State Leadership Career Development Events, members and chapters were recognized for their success in 11 leadership areas. Winning teams and individuals advance to compete in their Career Development Event areas at the National FFA Convention in Louisville, Kentucky next fall. Paul Dybedahl, 2011-2012 State FFA President, addressed FFA members at the awards luncheon Monday afternoon. Parliamentary Procedure teams, consisting of seven members per team, demonstrate an FFA business meeting. Our state
Sydney Arneson with her FFA advisor, Christi Ryen, after placing 4th in Ag Broadcasting and Journalism at State Leadership CDEs.
sponsor is South Dakota Farmers Union, and the national level sponsor is TransCanada. The state level team travel scholarship is sponsored by Monte and Ruth Mason and Brett and Tracy Kaltvedt. The team results are as follows: 1. GOLD Highmore 2. SILVER Lennox-Sundstrom 3. SILVER DeSmet 4. BRONZE Willow Lake 5. BRONZE Clark The All-State Parliamentary Procedure Team is comprised of the top individual officer from each position. These competitors are the best-of-the-best in their respective position. This area is sponsored by Skinner Financial Services. Those selected are: President: McKenzee Zilverberg, Highmore Vice President: Andrea Schubloom, De Smet Secretary: Hayden Houdek, High-
Jenna Kari, Tessa Kopren, Sydney Arneson, and Christi Ryen awaiting results at Leadership CDEs in Pierre.
Valley 2. GOLD Paytin Sullivan, West Central 3. SILVER Joslyn Hurlbert, Clark 4. SILVER Caden Leddy, Milbank 5. SILVER Ellie Moon, Wall 6. BRONZE Martina Albrecht, DeSmet 7. BRONZE Kelley Schopp, Lemmon 8. BRONZE Brigita Rasmussen, Alcester-Hudson In Marketing Plan, teams of students determine a local community need and create a complete strategy for marketing a new agricultural product or company to fill that need. The sponsor is Legend Seeds, Inc., and the state winning team travel scholarship is sponsored by Hurley and Associates. The national level sponsors are Bunge North America and Kerry Ingredients and Flavours. The results are: 1. GOLD Lennox-Sundstrom 2. SILVER Mitchell 3. SILVER Garretson 4. BRONZE West Central 5. BRONZE McCook Central In Ag Issues, a team of 3-7 students discuss the pros and cons of a major agricultural issue facing their area. The event is sponsored by South Dakota Farm Bureau Young Farmers and Ranchers, and the state winning team travel scholarship is sponsored by Dakota Risk Management. This event is sponsored nationally by Elanco. The results were: 1. GOLD Lennox-Sundstrom 2. SILVER Newell 3. SILVER Milbank 4. BRONZE Deubrook 5. BRONZE Viborg-Hurley and Howard (tie) In Ag Broadcasting/Journalism, students have 30 minutes to prepare a five-minute agricultural radio newscast and then "air" it. This event is sponsored by Ludens Implement. Results were: 1. GOLD Cassie Binger, Hitchcock-Tulare 2. GOLD John Begeman, Selby 3. SILVER Jenna Skinner, Mitchell 4. SILVER Sydney Arneson, Bison 5. SILVER Alissa Krause, Deuel 6. BRONZE Joshua Liester, Garretson 7. BRONZE Derrick Elsinger, Brookings 8. BRONZE Tia Powlowski, Miller In Ag Communications, teams of students play the role of communications consultants to develop and present a media plan for an assigned scenario. This event is sponsored by the South Dakota Broadcasters Association. The winning travel scholarship is sponsored by Dakota Farm talk. The national level sponsor is Osborn Barr. Results were: 1. GOLD West Central 2. SILVER Hoven 3. SILVER McCook Central 4. BRONZE Viborg-Hurley 5. BRONZE Miller
The Bison Courier • Thursday, January 2, 2014 • 7
Amy Kirk is a ranch wife from Custer, SD
when my husband’s gone. If neighboring ranches call me regarding our cows out or our cows mixed up with theirs and action is required on my behalf, I don’t count such phone calls as me having to depend on my neighbors. I know it has to do with my pride, but I’ve always had this thing about proving that I’m just as capable of handling a situation by myself as my husband is. This year’s haying season went well for me I thought. The whole summer I managed to operate our equipment and not be the cause of any major equipment problems. This was an accomplishment considering how many rocks and gopher mounds I encountered while cutting hay in our fields this summer. Call me a ruthless, uncaring mother if you want, but when my teenage son was linked to the windrower breaking down this summer, I was glad it wasn’t me. It does make a huge difference that he is a few notches more mechanically minded than I am in helping resolve the problem and that he is a male who speaks the same language as his father, the head mechanic. Looking back over 2013 I can honestly say I don’t have any bad memories of places where I got the feed pickup, farm equipment, or my car stuck in snow or mud this year as I have in some years past. I have become better about checking out driving conditions first, avoiding hasty decisions, not assuming vehicles and machinery have invincible capabilities, and not underestimating weather and roads, paved and unpaved. Like any year, I’ve had my share of dilemmas and went through a few hair-raising moments, but overall I don’t consider any of the problems I encountered in 2013 too terrible because I haven’t been the main character in any of my husband’s retelling of new favorite and comical ranch stories.
Dec. 23 7 -17 Dec. 24 33 -6 Dec. 25 33 20 Dec. 26 37 21 Dec. 27 43 29 Dec. 28 42 18 Dec. 29 12 -2 One year ago Hi 52 Lo 16
DATE
HI
Weather Wise
LO PRECIP
Todd Tenold Memorial Dart Tournament
Registration 10 - 11 a.m. • $10.00 registration fee per person Start throwing at 11 a.m.
January 18, 2014 • Reva Hall
Food & Beverages available Benefits go to Scholarship Funds
Data colleted by Grand Electric Co-op, Inc.
Contact Laura Tenold 605-641-3133 or Gennie Lee 605-866-4653
At the close of the year I like to look back and reflect on how things went for me. I take a moment to remind myself that I did survive any setbacks, problems, or accidents that I experienced and acknowledge that they are now in the past and to look ahead with a positive, fresh start attitude. For starters, it was a good driving year for me. I do recall a couple of close calls, but not once during the whole summer did I back the bale bed pickup into any stock tanks or hit them with the water hauling trailer. That’s always a plus because it’s not very easy to hide those mistakes from the hubs (husband). I am always grateful any year that my car stays intact the whole 365 days, which is a feat because I’m somewhat of an accident-prone backerupper and I drive daily on deer-populated highways to and from home. Regarding my transportation choices, I also viewed 2013 as successful because over the spring and summer my jeep didn’t leave me stranded at any locations that required running or walking home or getting towed home, which in some years past have been bad in that regard. I consider any year a stellar one if I didn’t have to call on our neighbors to help me handle a cow-related dilemma on a day
Reviewing 2013 on the Ranch
701-567-2568 1/2 mile east of Hettinger PAYING TOP DOLLAR for all types of metal including •cars •appliances •auto batteries •tin •wire •cable
R & N Hide & Fur
Closed Saturdays!
8 • The Bison Courier • Thursday, January 2, 2014
Church Services Directory
Sunday School 9:30 a.m. • Worship Service - 10:30a.m. Wednesday Prayer Mtg. - 7:30 p.m.
Grace Baptist Church • Pastor Phil Hahn Church of Christ
Sat. evening services • GR Luth. - 5:00 p.m. •American - 6:30 p.m. Sunday morning services •Rosebud - 8:00 a.m. • Indian Creek - 10:30 a.m.
Prairie Fellowship Parish ELCA • Pastor Dana Lockhart
18 mi. south of Prairie City - Worship Service - 10:00 a.m.
Christ Lutheran Church WELS
Pastor Gerhardt Juergens
Pastor Gerhardt H. Juergens, Christ Lutheran Church, Bison, SD
“When (the magi) had gone, an angel of the Lord appeared to Joseph in a dream. "Get up," he said, "take the child and his mother and escape to Egypt. Stay there until I tell you, for Herod is going to search for the child to kill him." After Herod died, an angel of the Lord appeared in a dream to Joseph in Egypt and said, "Get up, take the child and his mother and go to the land of Israel, for those who were trying to take the child's life are dead.” (Matt 2:13,19,20) Merry Christmas! With the echoes of the angels singing Glory to God in the highest still ringing in our ears from Christmas, the church celebrates our Savior’s birth for 12 days, until Jan 6th. (Epiphany – when God reveals his Son as the only Savior to the world.) Yet, as we close the book on one year, and open the book to another year, it is good to review the past and to look ahead into the future. When you look back over 2013, can you see the LORD’s hand guiding and protecting you? Perhaps you could not see it at the time. Our times are in God’s hands. (Ps 31:15) In this New Year, we wonder, “Will the LORD my God take care of me in 2014?” The magi just presented to Baby Jesus their three gifts: gold, incense, and myrrh. God warn the wise men in a dream to go home by another route, not to tell King Herod where Jesus was. Soon after the magi left, Joseph woke up and told his wife, “Pack our bags Mary, we are going to Egypt. Herod is searching to kill baby Jesus.” Mary couldn’t understand how a baby would be a threat to King Herod. But our God was taking care of his Son. God also provided for their trip to Egypt for this poor family with the magi’s gifts of gold, incense, and myrrh. There were also many Jews living in Egypt at the time, and Mary and Joseph felt safe and secure. Jesus is King even at his birth. Yet, he was no threat to Herod. Jesus didn’t come to establish an earthly kingdom with borders, but a spiritual Kingdom, based on his gospel of truth. Christ told Pilate he was a king. He said, “In fact, the reason I was born and came into the world is to testify to the truth. Everyone on the side of truth listens to me." (John 18:37) Jesus rules his spiritual Kingdom, ruling our hearts by his gospel of grace and truth. But when leaders attack our almighty God, he laughs. Psalm Two says, “The kings of the earth rise up and the rulers band together against the LORD and against his Anointed One, (Christ) …but the One enthroned in heaven laughs… He rebukes them in his anger and terrifies them in his wrath, saying, "I have installed my King on Zion, my holy mountain.” (Ps 2:2f) Earthly kings have no power over King Jesus. Herod’s evil could not rob the world of the peace God intended through his Son Jesus. By his Word Christ desires to reign in our hearts. So, what will be 2014 be like for us? We don’t know. But God does. But he did give us hints. Jesus warns us that these end times will get progressively worse for Christians. The love of most will grow cold. There will be wars and rumors of wars, earthquakes and famines. (Read Matt 24) When Jesus returns, will he find saving faith? But our risen Savior has promised you that he will never leave you nor forsake his believing Christians. His death and resurrection has washed away all of your sin. And God, who knew how to keep his precious Son safe from danger, knows how to keep you, his sons and daughters through faith in Jesus, safe from danger, too. He knows how to deliver us from evil. The proof is in the Baby Jesus returning back from Egypt with Mary and Joseph. Yes, God will keep us safe as we journey through this life, until we reach our final destination—eternal life with Jesus in heaven. By trusting that Jesus lived and died for you, heaven is our home. Perhaps in 2014, Jesus will take us home to heaven in death. Yet, not even death can separate us from the love of God in Christ. Our ruling and risen Lord Jesus says, “Do not be afraid. I am the First and the Last. I am the Living One; I was dead, and behold I am alive for ever and ever! And I hold the keys of death and Hades.” (Rev 1:17f) Jesus told Martha what the key is to conquer death, “I Am the resurrection and the life. He who believes in me will live, even though he dies, and whoever lives and believes in me will never die.” (Jn 11:25) So, whatever 2014 has in store for you, God’s grace will be with you every day. Whoever “stands firm to the end will be saved.” (Mt 24:13) Stand on Christ. Stand firm on his love. When you sin, repent, confess your sins to God and trust your Savior’s full and free forgiveness. Trust God protects his believing children. He gives us the strength to endure whatever hardships he may allow us. May we spend this new year singing praises to our Triune God: Our Creator Father, our risen and living Savior, the Son, and the Holy Spirit, who sanctifies us through the Word of God. We pray: O LORD our God, thank you for your wisdom and guidance in my life, thank you for sending me your Son, for keeping him safe, and for accepting his full payment for my sins. Guard and guide me through this life with your Word, until I rest at your side in the glorious of heaven. Amen. Christ Reigns the New Year with Grace
Pastor’s Perspective
Sunday Bible Class - 8:00 a.m., Worship Service - 8:30 a.m.
Seventh Day Adventist Church • Pastor David Moench
Blessed Sacrament Catholic Church • Fr. Tony Grossenburg
Saturday Mass: - Morristown - 4:45 p.m., Lemmon 7:15 p.m. Sunday Mass: Lemmon - 8:15 a.m., Bison - 11:00 a.m. Sabbath School - 2:00 p.m., Worship Service - 3:00 p.m.
South Jct. of Highways 73 & 20 Sunday School - 10:00 a.m., Worship Service - 11:00 a.m.
Coal Springs Community Church
First Presbyterian Church • Pastor Florence Hoff, CRE
Worship Service - 10:30 a.m. Sunday School - 9:30 for all ages Reva • Sunday School 9:45 a.m. for all ages •Worship Service - 11:00 a.m., WMF 2nd Wednesday at 1:00 p.m. Prairie City Sunday School - 10:00 a.m., Morning Worship - 11:00 a.m. Vesper Service - 6:00 p.m., Wed. Evenings - 7:30 p.m.
Holland Center Christian Reformed Church Pastor Brad Burkhalter • Lodgepole
Worship Service - 8:00 a.m.
Slim Buttes Lutheran • Pastor Henry Mohagen
Beckman Wesleyan Church • Pastor Brad Burkhalter
The Bison Courier • Thursday, January 2, 2014 • 9
Monday, Dec. 9, 2013 6:00 p.m. City Hall
Bison Town Board
CALL TO ORDER/ROLL CALL: Chairman Juell Chapman called the regular monthly meeting of the Town Board of Bison to order at 6:00 p.m. on Monday, Dec. 9, 2013. Trustees David Kopren and Luke Clements were present. Matt Butsavage and Mike Lockert were absent. Others present: Virginia Green, Kelly Serr, employees Heath McKinstry and Beth Hulm, and Arlis Seim, press. THE PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE WAS RECITED BY ALL.
by Kopren to auto supplement the storm sewer budget to include draw down of loan funds from First National Bank, Sioux Falls, for engineering fees in the amount of $5,396. Carried.
ALL ACTION IN THE FOLLOWING MINUTES CARRIED BY UNANIMOUS VOTE UNLESS OTHERWISE STATED.
HEALTH INSURANCE PACKAGE – Virginia Green, Hibner Ins., Bison, offered health insurance packages for trustees to consider for their employees. The deadline for Jan. 1 enrollment is Dec. 23, 2013. APPROVE MINUTES - 136-2013 Chapman moved, seconded by Kopren to approve the November 11 and 22 minutes, as presented. Carried.
STATUS REPORT: Trustees reviewed McKinstry’s written status report with him. The complete report is on file at City Hall. They also discussed anticipated reimbursements from Federal Emergency Management Agency for tree/debris removal following Winter Storm Atlas in early October; and the estimated cost (quoted by BL Contracting, Bison) to haul contaminated soil, found while constructing the storm sewer on Main Street, to the Northwest South Dakota Regional Landfill. The latter will mostly be funded through a grant from Department of Environment and Natural Resources. Hulm will research if the required $500 dumping fee at NWSDRLA can also be covered under that grant.
Previously, the town was not eligible because of flood plains that exist in some areas. Because the new storm sewer will alleviate some of those problem areas, or maybe because rules have changed, Serr may now include the town in his plan, which must be in place before FEMA would assist in any flooding disasters. There is no cost to the town because Black Hills Council will write the plan and Perkins County is a dues-paying member of that entity. 138-2013 - Kopren moved, seconded by Clements to authorize Chairman Chapman to sign a letter of commitment allowing the Town of Bison to be a participating jurisdiction in Perkins County Multi-jurisdictional Hazard Mitigation Planning. Carried.
Rural Water will hold their budget meeting during their regular Dec. 12 meeting. Rates, including debt repayment, will be discussed and will affect Town of Bison consumers. There was discussion about the validity of charging for white good disposal at the town’s rubble site and about Brosz Engineering surveying the corners of all city blocks.
FINANCIAL REPORT – The financial report was postponed until the year-end meeting, as were necessary contingency transfers and setting aside of funds for construction of a new City Hall. 137-2013- Clements moved, seconded
UNFINISHED BUSINESS Lagoon/Sanitary Sewer project: Sludge removal from the town’s lagoons will be included in a state grant/loan request. An archeological survey may be necessary before the application can be written by Bill Lass, Black Hills Council of Local Governments, Rapid City. It was the general consensus of trustees to postpone the application from Jan. 1 to Apr. 1 to allow time for further research.
DOT Light/pole inspection: South Dakota Department of Transportation recently conducted a statewide inspection of lighting and traffic signal poles along all State and Federal Highways. SD 20, through Bison, was amongst those inspected. Trustees reviewed a list of items found during that inspection that need to be addressed by June 1, 2014. The town has an agreement with SDDOT, dated October 2002, committing to the maintenance of lighting and poles along the highway. Year-end meeting date: 139-2013 – Motion by Kopren, seconded by Chapman to hold a special meeting on Wednesday, Dec. 18 to close-out the year. Carried. CORRESPONDENCE: Trustees received several Christmas cards. OPEN FORUM: Perkins County
NEW BUSINESS Perkins County Pre-mitigation: County emergency manager Kelly Serr asked that trustees consider becoming part of the Perkins County PMD plan.
CLAIMS: The following claims were presented and approved for payment. November payroll by department: Fin. Admin - $660.69; Streets - $949.02; Airport, $68; Parks, $300.; Library, $841.43, Bar - $5363.43; Water $844.63; Sewer – $1,031.13; Solid Waste - $2,802.53. Total FICA, $2,972.97; Health Ins, $500; SDRS, $699.36; Supp. Retirement, $85; Bison Bar, reimburse, $1,97.48; Bison Courier, publishing, $172.06; Bison Food, supp., $9.02; Bison Grain Co., supp., $2,193.09; Bison Imp, repairs/maint, $341.31; BL Contracting, prof. fees, $285.60; Business Forms, supp;, $395.27; Coca Cola, supp., $155.80; Current Connection, supp., $171.34; Dakota Feed, supp., $584.39; DPFCU, supp/postage/repairs/maint, $505.94; Dept. of Rev., sales tax, $1,629.30; Hettinger Candy, supp., $712.13; Hy-Viz, supp., $306.25; Jerome Bev., beer, $2,070.85; Johnson Bros., off sale/misc/beer, $1,479.66; Juell Chapman, reimburse equip, $351.42; KBM, Eng., prof. fees, $11,862.13; Nelson, K., reimburse supp., $18.89; NW Bev., beer, $1,417.05; NWSDRLA, prof. fees, $2,664.50; Pepsi, supp., $736.15; PCRWS, water, $2,876.40; Republic, on/off sale/misc, $2,553.79; S&S, supp., $1,878.95; SD Dept of Health, prof.
142-2013 - Motion by Chapman, seconded by Clements to hire Rob Wedekind as a full-time permanent maintenance worker at $11 per hour, effective Jan. 1, 2014, pending a successful pre-employment physical and subject to a six-month probationary period. Carried. ADJOURNMENT: Chapman journed the meeting at 8:55 p.m. ad-
141-2013 – Motion by Kopren, seconded by Chapman to go back into executive session at 8:20 p.m. to discuss personnel. Chapman declared the meeting back in open session at 8:51.
EXECUTIVE SESSION FOR PERSONNEL PURSUANT TO SDCL 125-1(1): 140-2013 – Kopren moved, seconded by Clements to go into executive session at 8:05 to discuss personnel. Carried. Chapman declared the meeting back in open session at 8:18 p.m.
fees, $101; Servall, prof. fees, $127.13; Stateline Designs, supp., $1,241.47; WRCTC, util., $287.81.
NEXT MEETING: The year-end meeting will be at 6:00 p.m. on Wednesday, Dec. 18 and the next regular meeting will be at 6:00 p.m. on January 6, 2014. ATTEST: APPROVED: Elizabeth Hulm, Finance Officer Juell Chapman, Chairman
[Published January 2, 2014 at a total approximate cost of $71.81.]
Year-end Closeout Wednesday, Dec. 18, 2013 6:00 p.m. City Hall
Bison Town Board
CALL TO ORDER/ROLL CALL: Chairman Juell Chapman called the final, closeout meeting of the Town Board of Bison to order at 6:00 p.m. on Wednesday, Dec. 18, 2013. Trustees David Kopren, Luke Clements and Matt Butsavage were present; Mike Lockert was absent. Others present: Beth Hulm, finance officer and Arlis Seim, press. THE PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE WAS RECITED BY ALL.
COMMUNITY FOREST GRANT: Trustees reviewed grant information regarding the purchase of 22 trees to replace those in public places damaged by Winter Storm Atlas in early October. The grant is for $5,000 and is 50/50 match with the town’s share being in cash or in-kind. Trustees talked with NRCS Specialist Bob Drown, who wrote the grant application, by speakerphone. Further action was postponed until Jan. 6 meeting.
payments.
WATER Availability charge $10.00
Usage rate $5.80/1,000 gallons (Starting in January 2014, employees will work towards moving the meter read date and the billing date closer together to correct billings being an entire month behind usage.) Depreciation Reserve Fund $5.00/mo. PCRWS Debt Repayment $8.00/mo. Bulk water rate $10/1,000 gallons
LANDFILL PERMITS (plus sales tax) $350.00 TEMPORARY MOBILE HOMES IN TRAILER COURTS (plus sales tax) $11.00 ea.trailer/mo.
ALL RECONNECT FEES $ 20.00/$20.00
ready budgeted in Appropriation Ordinance 2012-2. Carried.
APPROVE FINANCIAL REPORT – 143-2013- Chapman moved, seconded by Butsavage to approve the November financial statement as presented. Carried. 144-2013 – Butsavage moved, seconded by Clements to approve the following General Fund contingency transfers, up to $8,112.63 (contingent on the arrival of anticipated airport grant funds by year-end): Workman’s Compensation, $76.50; Airport, $7,878.51 (or less, as needed); Golf Course, $62.62; Advertising/Promotion, $95. Carried. 145-2013 – Butsavage moved, seconded by Chapman to move $10,000 in General Fund surplus to the City Hall building fund, pursuant to motion 071-2012 (Aug. 8, 2012). Carried. Hulm will research if that fund may also be used for rent
ALL ACTION IN THE FOLLOWING MINUTES CARRIED BY UNANIMOUS VOTE UNLESS OTHERWISE STATED.
UTILITY RESOLUTION: 146-2013 – Kopren moved the following resolution, seconded by Clements. Roll Call vote: Kopren, aye; Butsavage, aye; Clements, aye; Chapman, aye. Motion carried 4 – 0. TOWN OF BISON Resolution No. 2013-1
Whereas pursuant to Ordinance 85-1, as revised, the Town Board of the Town of Bison is authorized to establish utility rates (water, sewer, garbage) and all associated charges and penalties by Resolution; and Whereas the Town of Bison sets rates for new customer hook-ups; THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Town Board of Bison in Bison, South Dakota that the following rates become effective with the December 2013 billing (November usage):
RESOLUTION TO SET UTILITY RATES
SEWER $12.00/mo. Depreciation Reserve Fund $10.00/mo.
NEW UTILITY CUSTOMERS Water / Sewer Tap A t board discretion Connection Fee $ 75.00 Meter Deposit $ 135.00 Meter (to be purchased from City by mobile home owners only) actual cost
GARBAGE (plus sales tax) Residential user $20.00/ mo. Sr. Citizens (over 65) $17.00/.mo. Light Commercial $35.00/mo. Heavy Commercial $45.00/mo. PENALTY for payments received after 15th of month $ 5.00 ESTIMATION CHARGE when consumer fails to read meter $ 2.00
The Town of Bison owns all meters installed in homes and businesses, except those in mobile homes. Dated this 18th Day of December, 2013
EXECUTIVE SESSION FOR PERSONNEL PURSUANT TO SDCL 125-1(1): 148-2013 – Kopren moved, seconded by Clements to go into executive session at 7:37 to discuss personnel. Carried. Chapman declared the meeting back in open session at 8:20 p.m. ADJOURNMENT: Chapman journed the meeting at 8:24 p.m. ad-
CLAIMS: The following claims were presented and approved for payment. Trustee quarterly payroll, $1,550; SD Lottery, $640.75; Grand Elec., util, $2,525.35; SD DENR, fees, $50; Dakota Farm Equip., $247.79.
CORRESPONDENCE/OPEN FORUM: Additional Christmas cards were received. Chapman shared a quote from Brosz Engineering, Sturgis, for surveying the corners of every city block.
RESCIND AUTO SUPPLEMENT: 147-2013 - Clements moved, seconded by Kopren to rescind motion 137-2013 because anticipated revenue was al-
MOVING DATE: City Hall will move to the Bentley Building soon, pending contract details.
Juell Chapman, Board Chairman Elizabeth Hulm, Finance Officer
TOWN OF BISON ATTEST:
[Published January 2, 2014 at a total approximate cost of $104.95.]
ATTEST: APPROVED: Elizabeth Hulm, Finance Officer Juell Chapman, Chairman
NEXT MEETING: The next regular meeting will be at 6:00 p.m. on January 6, 2014.
10 • The Bison Courier • Thursday, January 2, 2014
We are still celebrating Christmas with friends and family, some who couldn't be here on Christmas Day and some who couldn't be here on the other days we gathered to celebrate the birth of our Savior. Too often commercialism obscures the true meaning of this sacred holiday. In the true spirit of Christmas, I will share this story with you: Christmas Eve 1921 Pa never had much compassion for the lazy or those who squandered their means and then never had enough for the necessities. But for those who were genuinely in need, his heart was as big as all outdoors. It was from him that I learned the greatest joy in life comes from giving, not from receiving. It was Christmas Eve 1921. I was fifteen years old and feeling like the world had caved in on me because there just hadn't been enough money to buy me the rifle that I'd wanted for Christmas. We did the chores early that night for some reason. I just figured Pa wanted a little extra time so we could read in the Bible. After supper was over I took my boots off and stretched out in front of the fireplace and waited for Pa to get down the old Bible. I was still feeling sorry for myself and, to be honest, I wasn't in much of a mood to read Scriptures. But Pa didn't get the Bible; instead he bundled up again and went outside. I couldn't figure it out because we had already done all the chores. I didn't worry about it long though; I was too busy wallowing in self-pity. Soon Pa came back in. It was a cold clear night out and there was ice in his beard. "Come on, Matt," he said. "Bundle up good, it's cold out tonight." I was really upset then. Not only wasn't I getting the rifle for Christmas, now Pa was dragging me out in the cold, and for no earthly reason that I could see. We'd already done all the chores, and I couldn't think of anything else that needed doing, especially not on a night like this But I knew Pa was not very patient at one dragging one's feet when he'd told them to do something, so I got up and put my boots back on and got my cap, coat, and mittens. Ma gave me a mysterious smile as I opened the door to leave the house. Something was up, but I didn't know what. Outside, I became even more dismayed. There in front of the house was the work team, already hitched to the big sled. Whatever it was we were going to do wasn't going to be a short, quick, little job. I could tell. We
Grand River Roundup ............................................... By Betty Olson
never hitched up this sled unless we were going to haul a big load. Pa was already up on the seat, reins in hand. I reluctantly climbed up beside him. The cold was already biting at me. I wasn't happy. When I was on, Pa pulled the sled around the house and stopped in front of the woodshed. He got off and I followed. "I think we'll put on the high sideboards," he said. "Here, help me." The high sideboards! It had been a bigger job than I wanted to do with just the low sideboards on, but whatever it was we were going to do would be a lot bigger with the high sideboards on. After we had exchanged the sideboards, Pa went into the woodshed and came out with an armload of wood - the wood I'd spent all summer hauling down from the mountain, and then all Fall sawing into blocks and splitting. What was he doing? Finally I said something. "Pa," I asked, "what are you doing?" “You been by the Widow Jensen's lately?" he asked. The Widow Jensen lived about two miles down the road. Her husband had died a year or so before and left her with three children, the oldest being eight. Sure, I'd been by, but so what? "Yeah," I said, "Why?" "I rode by just today," Pa said. "Little Jakey was out digging around in the woodpile trying to find a few chips. They're out of wood, Matt." That was all he said and then he turned and went back into the woodshed for another armload of wood. I followed him. We loaded the sled so high that I began to wonder if the horses would be able to pull it. Finally, Pa called a halt to our loading, then we went to the smoke house and Pa took down a big ham and a side of bacon. He handed them to me and told me to put them in the sled and wait. When he returned he was carrying a sack of flour over his right shoulder and a smaller sack of something in his left hand. "What's in the little sack?" I asked. "Shoes. They're out of shoes. Little Jakey just had gunnysacks wrapped around his feet when he was out in the woodpile this morning. I got the children a little candy too. It just wouldn't be Christmas without a little candy." We rode the two miles to Widow Jensen's pretty much in silence. I tried to think through what Pa was doing. We didn't have much by worldly standards. Of course, we did have a big woodpile, though most of what
was left now was still in the form of logs that I would have to saw into blocks and split before we could use it. We also had meat and flour, so we could spare that, but I knew we didn't have any money, so why was Pa buying them shoes and candy? Really, why was he doing any of this? Widow Jensen had closer neighbors than us; it shouldn't have been our concern. We came in from the blind side of the Jensen house and unloaded the wood as quietly as possible, and then we took the meat and flour and shoes to the door. We knocked. The door opened a crack and a timid voice said, "Who is it?" "Lucas Miles, Ma'am, and my son, Matt. Could we come in for a bit?" Widow Jensen opened the door and let us in. She had a blanket wrapped around her shoulders. The children were wrapped in another and were sitting in front of the fireplace by a very small fire that hardly gave off any heat at all. Widow Jensen fumbled with a match and finally lit the lamp. "We brought you a few things, Ma'am," Pa said and set down the sack of flour. I put the meat on the table. Then Pa handed her the sack that had the shoes in it. continued next week
Gun Show GUN SHOW: Dakota Territory Gun Collector’s Association Annual Winter BISMARCK Gun Show. Saturday, January 18, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Sunday, January 19, 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. BISMARCK CIVIC CENTER. Use South Entrance A. Roger Krumm 701-3367533 or 701-851-0129. B28-4tp
DISPLAY ADS: $4.70 per column inch. CLASSIFIED ADS: $5.90 for 30 words; 10¢ for each word thereafter. $2.00 billing charge applies. THANK YOU'S: $5.90 for 30 words; 10¢ for each word thereafter. $2.00 billing charge applies. HIGHLIGHTS & HAPPENINGS: $5.90 minimum or $3.10 per column inch. $2.00 billing charge applies. HAPPY ADS: With or Without Picture: $15.00 minimum or $4.50 per column inch. BIRTH ANNOUNCEMENT: $41.00 for a 2x7 ad. Legal Deadline is Friday at NOON! Ad Deadline is Monday at NOON! 244-7199 or courier@sdplains.com
Advertising Rates:
The Bison Courier • Thursday, January 2, 2014 • 11
FOR SALE FARM EQUIPMENT FOR SALE: 1997 JD 8300 tractor, 6,000 hrs. AND 1995 JD 7200 16-row, 30inch spacing planter w/starter fertilizer tanks. Call 605-2804641, Presho, SD. EMPLOYMENT IMMEDIATE OPENING. Duties include but not limited to, bulk delivery of fuel. CDL, Hazmat required. Will train. Farmers Oil Company, Orient SD. Information, Don, 392-2424. LONGBRANCH IN PIERRE, SD. We have lowered the price & will consider contract for deed. Call Russell Spaid 605-280-1067. plication. EOE. NOTICES ADVERTISE IN NEWSPAPERS statewide for only $150.00. Put the South Dakota Statewide Classifieds Network to work for you today! (25 words for $150. Each additional word $5.) Call this newspaper or 800-6583697 for details. 2672, Craig Connell, 605-2645650, www.goldeneagleloghomes.com.
Piggy Drawings
Matthew Wanner, Bismarck, ND $25.00 Ardel Reder, Prairie City, SD $25.00 December 27
6 positions - Temporary/seasonal work on a honeybee farm performing manual and machine tasks associated with beekeeping, from 1/20/2014 to 11/20/2014 at Woodworth Honey & Bee Co., Dunn, McKenzie & Mercer Co., ND & Stanislaus and Merced Co., CA. Three months of previous experience required in the job described. In lieu of work experience, employer will also accept documentation evidencing completion of a beekeeping course issued by an accredited college or university. Saturday work required. Must be able to lift/carry 60 lbs. Workers must have no fear of bees and be non-allergic to bee stings, pollen, honey or other products of the hive. Employerpaid post-hire random, upon suspicion, and post-accident drug and alcohol testing required. Clean driving record required. Must have or be able to obtain driver’s license within 30 days following hire. No minimum education or High School diploma/equivalent is necessary for the position. $11.50 /hr (ND), $13.00/hr (CA), or current applicable AEWR. Workers are guaranteed ¾ of work hours of total period. Work tools, supplies, equipment supplied by employer without charge to worker. Housing with kitchen facilities provided at no cost to only those workers who are not reasonably able to return same day to their place of residence at time of recruitment. Transportation and subsistence expenses to work site will be paid to nonresident workers not later than upon completion of 50% of the job contract. Interviews required. Apply for this job at nearest State Workforce Agency in state in which this ad appears, or SDWorks, 415 14th Ave. East, Mobridge, SD 57601-1306. Provide copy of this ad. ND Job Order #340019. B29-1tc
Wanted
Dr. Jason M. Hafner Dr. David J. Prosser
1st & 3rd Wed. of the month 2nd & 4th Wed. of the month
OPTOMETRIST 1-800-648-0760
Buffalo Clinic Faith Clinic
SUPERINTENDENT OF SCHOOLS to start by 7/1/14. Contact Custer School District, 527 Montgomery Street, Custer, SD, 57730, Phone: (605)673-3154, or see www.csd.k12.sd.us for ap-
IMMEDIATE OPENINGS: LPN’s & CNA’s, top weekly pay, direct deposit, & flexible schedules. Take control of your schedule with Tri-State Nursing. Apply online today. www.tristatenursing.com 800727-1912.
Custer Regional Hospital has full-time RN opportunities available working in the beautiful southern Black Hills of SD. We are located just a short distance from Mount Rushmore, Wind Cave National Park, Custer State Park, Jewel Cave National Park and many other outdoor attractions. We offer competitive salary and excellent benefits. Please call 605-673-9418 for more information or log on to www.regionalhealth.com to apply. EOE
LOG HOMES DAKOTA LOG HOME Builders representing Golden Eagle Log Homes, building in eastern, central, northwestern South & North Dakota. Scott Connell, 605-530-
OTR DRIVERS DRIVERS WANTED: CDL, owner operators, freight from Midwest up to 48 states, home regularly, newer equipment, Health, 401K, call Randy, A&A Express, 800-658-3549.
“Our sales are every day”
Highway 12 • Hettinger • 701-567-2677 carpet • vinyl • hardwood • ceramics
CC Flooring
12 • The Bison Courier • Thursday, January 2, 2014

Published under a Creative Commons License By attribution, non-commercial
AttachmentSize
Bison_1-2-14.pdf4.8 MB