BHFCU granted charter expansion into Haakon County

Black Hills Federal Credit Union has been granted an expansion of its community charter to include the counties of Haakon, Butte, Stanley and Hughes.

The credit union now serves nine counties from 10 locations in western South Dakota. The closest office to Haakon County is in Wall. Based in Rapid City, the $885 million credit union serves more than 54,000 members.

"This is a significant expansion for BHFCU," said Roger Heacock, president and chief executive officer. "We're especially excited to reach out to potential members who live in rural areas with limited access to financial services. We are able to offer our products and services through online and mobile channels and at traditional member service centers."

Carol Brown, marketing manager, said, "Prior to BHFCU adopting a community charter in the late 90s, we were able to serve occupational groups, such as Haakon County employees and government employees in the Philip area. Since that time, the only way a resident of Haakon County could join was through an immediate family member or by working or attending school in a county we served, such as Pennington, Custer, Fall River, Meade or Lawrence.

"Now, individuals and businesses in Haakon, Stanley, Hughes and Butte counties are eligible for membership. Additionally, people who work, worship, attend school or volunteer in any of these counties are also eligible. We are excited to expand our membership, and our not-for-profit, member-owned cooperative form of financial services, to rural residents in the mid-western part of our state. We believe in offering a variety of high quality, competitively priced financial products and services. Our goal is to help people successfully manage their personal and business finances," said Brown.

Effective immediately, BHFCU will now serve businesses and individuals in the counties of Haakon, Butte, Hughes and Stanley in addition to Pennington, Custer, Fall River, Lawrence and Meade. Individuals who have immediate family who qualify for membership are also eligible to join.