13 Scottie wrestlers to Region 4B Tourney

The Philip Area team not only won the District 7B Wrestling Tournament, but will be sending 13 members on to the Region 4B Wrestling Tournament in Ft. Pierre on Saturday, February 21.

Out of six competing teams, Philip earned 255 points, more than double the second place team of Bennett County (BC) with 112 points. Third was Custer (Cu) with 106, 4th - Red Cloud (RC) with 89, 5th - St. Thomas More (STM) with 65, and 6th - Hill City (HC) with 57 points.

Philip Area members earned first place berths in 12 of the 14 weight classes. The Scotties also took one second place. The top four places are eligible to now go on to regions.

Philip's Bodhi Lytle was presented the Chris Lurz Memorial Award by Dustin Lurz, Chris Lurz' twin brother. This award has been presented every year since 2000 by the Lurz family to the District 7B 152 lbs. weight class winner. That weight class is the one Chris Lurz wrestled as a senior.

Chandlier Sudbeck, 103 lbs., 1st place,


•technical fall over Peter Wilson, STM, 17-0

•pinned Cody Herman, Cu, 1:20

Jess Williams, 112 lbs., 1st place,


•major decision over Soren Wahlstrom, Cu, 12-2

•pinned Seth Ireland, BC, 3:02

Travis Nelson, 119 lbs., 1st place



•pinned Naoki Tasato, RC, 1:29

Tanner Radway, 125 lbs., 1st place,


•pinned Brent O'Dell, HC, :54

•pinned Witt Dobesh, STM, 1:35

Tucker McDaniel, 130 lbs., 2nd place,


•decision over Jesus Meza HC, 7-1

•decisioned by Taylor Scherer, BC, 1-2

Blake Lobdell, 135 lbs., 1st place,


•pinned Tevin Larson, BC, 2:26

•technical fall over Dylan Sevryn, Cu, 18-1

Troy Guptill, 140 lbs., 1st place,


•pinned David Cordes, STM, 1:27

•major decision over Dalton McCollam, BC, 10-3

Andrew Brech, 145 lbs., 1st place,


•pinned Terrance Clifford, RC, 1:43

•pinned Connor Sell, BC, 1:14

Bodhi Lytle, 152 lbs., 1st place,


•pinned Tyrell O'Donnell, RC, :53

•pinned Kyle Harkin, Cu, 1:31

Tate Guptill, 160 lbs., 1st place,


•pinned Elliott Hamilton, RC, 1:16

•pinned Joe Conklin, STM, 1:30

Cecil Heeb, 171 lbs.,


•decisioned in overtime by Tanner Eisland, Cu, 4-6

•decisioned by Julian Hernandez, RC, 2-9

Karch Foley, 189 lbs., 1st place,



•pinned Ryan McLaughlin, RC, 4:45

Clint Nelson, 215 lbs., 1st place,


•pinned Kyle Huntley, HC, 1:26

•pinned Charles Eagle Bull, RC, 3:37

Mick Trask, 285 lbs., 1st place,


•pinned Jacob Franks, RC, 2:54.