Archive - Article (News)

July 11th, 2012

Arnold Matt

Arnold Matt, age 86, passed away peacefully at his home in New Underwood with family at his side on Wednesday, July 4, 2012. He lived, loved and laughed well.
Arnold Arthur Matt was born September 22, 1925, in a farm house to Joseph and Selma Martinson Matt in the Elk Vale community north of Rapid City. In 1928, he moved with his parents and siblings, Gladys and Julius to his mother’s homestead in the Boneita Springs area close to the Belle Fourche River. His brother, Henry, was born in 1933.

Dennis J. Kennedy

Dennis J. Kennedy, age 66 of Philip, S.D., died June 29, 2012, at the Hospice of the Hills in Rapid City.
Dennis Jay Kennedy was born July 13, 1945, in Philip, S. D., the son of Howard and Dorothy (Aaberg) Kennedy. He grew up in Philip where he attended school through high school. He graduated from South Dakota State University in pharmacy in 1968. Upon graduation, took a job with Walgreen Drug Stores in Phoenix, Ariz.

June 13th

Windstorm brings damage

The storm that came through Haakon County, Saturday evening, June 9, affected everyone in some manner.
According to Susan Sanders, warning coordination meteorologist for the National Weather Service out of Rapid City, a cold front came through from the southwest. “There were a couple of different lines, and they produce stronger winds.”

Alex “Bod” Livermont

Alex “Bod” Livermont, age 66 of Kadoka, S.D., died Tuesday, June 5, 2012, at his home in Kadoka.
Alex "Bod" Livermont was born March 26, 1946, in Pine Ridge, the son of Oliver and Emma M. (Wiedman) Livermont. He was raised on the ranch southeast of Kadoka on the Alec Livermont Ranch. He attended school in Kadoka. After his schooling, Bob worked at various places around Kadoka, including Burns Bros. Truck Stop for several years.

Sylvia (Knutson) Schultz

Sylvia (Knutson) Schultz, age 99, of Brookings, S.D., formerly of Philip and Pierre, died Saturday, June 9, 2012, at the Brookview Manor in Brookings.
Sylvia Gladys Knutson was born December 22, 1912, in rural Haakon County, the daughter of Anton and Olga M. (Tungland) Knutson. She grew up in Haakon County and received her education in that area. She attended Alfalfa Valley Rural School in the seventh and eighth grade, which her father donated the land for the school. She then attended Philip High School where she sang in the Glee Club, and participated in basketball and softball.

Harold Michels

Harold Michels, age 77, of Wall, S.D., died Saturday, June 9, 2012, at the Hans P. Peterson Memorial Hospital in Philip.
Harold L. Michels was born December 19, 1934, in Plentywood, Mont., the son of Vernon and Hazel (Wilson) Michels. He attended the Sheridan County Schools and graduated from Medicine Lake High School in 1955. After graduation, he enrolled in the Park’s Radio and Television School in Denver, Colo. Upon graduation from the technical school, he went to work for the Lake Electric Shop in Medicine Lake, Mont.

May 30th

James Palecek

James Palecek was born September 16, 1925 in Winner, SD to Frank and Agnes (Usak) Palecek and passed away on May 28, 2012 at his home after a brief battle with cancer.

Nadyne I. (Mueller) Schoener

Nadyne I. (Mueller) Schoener of North Kingstown, Kan., died peacefully on Saturday, April 14, 2012, at Philip Hulitar Inpatient Center.
Born in South Dakota, she was the daughter of the late Maxwell and Isabelle (Rousseau) Mueller. She was the wife of the late Donald P. Schoener.
Nadyne was a homemaker who enjoyed spending time with her family and friends. She was a communicant of St. Francis de Sales Church of North Kingstown and was a member of the Sioux Nation.

Lynn Williams

Lynn Williams, age 90 of Wall, South Dakota, died May 28, 2012, at the Rapid City Regional Hospital.

Lynn Williams was born March 24, 1922, north of Wall, South Dakota, the son of Frank and Hazel (Percy) Williams at their country home. He was raised on the family farm 20 miles north of Wall. He attended the Sunnyside School through the 8th grade and graduated from Wall High School in May of 1940. After graduation he moved with his brother, Bud, to Cottonwood, South Dakota, where he helped operate the Dr. Cowan ranch.
Lynn married Evelyn Knapp at Rapid City, South Dakota on May 12, 1945.

Violet Denke

Violet Denke, age 85 of Rapid City, S.D., died Tuesday, May 22, 2012, at the Golden Living Center Bella Vista in Rapid City.
Violet Geigle was born July 9, 1926, at her parents’ home north of Quinn, the daughter of Albert and Johanna (Hein) Geigle. She was baptized and confirmed at St. Paul Lutheran Church north of Quinn.
Violet grew up and received her education in the Quinn area. She and her other sisters spent much time helping on their parents’ farm -ranch.