Archive - 2007

September 6th

Grossenburg Implement donates initial $5,000 to Haakon/Jackson County 4-H endowment fund

Grossenburg’s continuing donation ... Philip Store Manager Joe Woitte (left) presents a check of $5,000 from Grossenburg Implement to 4-H representative Nancy Haigh. Looking on is Bob Sutton, President of the South Dakota Community Foundation, which will monitor the growing funds and disperse an annual five percent to the Haakon/Jackson 4-H group.

Grossenburg Implement in Philip has established a permanent endowment fund to provide financial support to 4-H activities in Haakon and Jackson counties.

An initial $5,000 has been put into the Grossenburg Implement 4-H Support Fund through the South Dakota Community Foundation. The fund will generate earnings that can be spent to support a wide range of 4-H activities in these two counties each year. The principle in the fund will never be spent, but the earnings will be available for perpetuity.

The main store in Winner has been maintaining a similar fund there for years.

Philip teen sentenced for vehicular homicide in Dalles Brucklacher death

Zane Fees, 18, willingly turned himself in on charges related to the accident, according to Alvin Pahlke, the Jackson County State's Attorney. After the initial charges, Fees was released on a personal recognizance bond. Fees was scheduled to make his next court appearance June 7th at the Jackson County Courthouse in Kadoka. The sentencing was postponed until August 31 in Pierre.

The South Dakota Sixth Judicial Circuit Court has handed down an Order Suspending Imposition of Sentence, which is a withholding of the finding of guilt until a later date.

Mike and Marcia West honored hometown heroes

For countless hours of service ... Mike and Marcia West accept the certificate and $100 check-for-charity from Don Haynes during a gathering in their honor.

The Wests were recognized through Modern Woodmen's Hometown Heroes Program for helping with the organization of the Philip Centennial, particularity the All-School Reunion. In honor of the Wests' efforts, members of the Philip branch of Modern Woodmen presented them with a certificate and awarded a $100 grant to the Philip Elementary Playground project, the charitable organization of the Wests' choice.

"We had a good time doing all this," said M. West. "We also had a lot of help.

Insufficient budget for 2007 plagues Haakon County auditor's office

The Haakon County Auditor's office will have to be supplemented by several thousand dollars due to budgeting errors from last year and the change from a part-time to a full-time deputy auditor.

Auditor Patricia Freeman outlined the errors for the Haakon County Commissioners at their monthly board meeting, Tuesday, September 4, 2007. Freeman noted that the budget was underestimated in co-share for health insurance, South Dakota Retirement System, supplies and telephone use.

August 17th

SDRA Rodeo - Isabel

Isabel's SDRA rodeo was held August 4 and 5.

Bareback Riding (8 entries)

1. Ty Breur, Mandan, ND - 83; 2. Tyler English, Spearfish - 75; 3. Travis Bechen, Rapid City - 74; 4. Dustin Luper, Black Hawk - 66

Saddle Bronc (20)

1. Chuck Schmidt, Keldron - 79; 2. Ty Thompson, Wanblee - 78; 2. OJ Heidler, Opal - 78; 4. Lane Stirling, Highmore - 75; 5. Ty Manke, Hermosa - 73; 6. Eric Addison, Belvidere - 71

Bull Riding (26)

1. Dewey O'Dea, Sturgis - 81; 2. Derek Long, Timber Lake - 78; 2. Rorey Maier, Timber Lake - 78; 4.

SDRA Rodeo - Highmore

The Highmore SDRA rodeo was held August 3 and 4.

Bareback Riding (4 entries)

1. Dustin Luper, Black Hawk - 79; 2. Travis Bechen, Rapid City - 74

Saddle Bronc (8)

1. OJ Heidler, Opal 71

Bull Riding (14)

1. Travis Koester, Redfield - 82; 2. Keith Anderson, Belle Fourche - 79; 3. Lane Lindsay, Hot Springs - 74; 4. Dewey O'Dea, Sturgis - 65; 4. TR Stirling, Highmore - 65

Ladies Breakaway (49)

1. Jolene Nordick, Colman - 2.5; 2. Rehme Sutton, Burke - 2.9; 3. Kelcy Dykstra, Sisseton - 3.5; 4. Tiryn Sippel, Pierpont - 3.7; 5.

Speedway drag racing results of local drivers

Midland race drivers Paula Duncan and Ken Standiford took high places at the Oahe Speedway August 4 and 5. Duncan took second on Saturday and Standiford won on Sunday.

In the No Box Shootout, Duncan's '96 Mercury Cougar made it to the finals against Shannon Depoy. This was a rematch from two weeks ago with Depoy again beating Duncan as Duncan red lighted, getting a little anxious at the tree. Duncan took home second place for her efforts. Her average reaction time was .114 of a second.

Skye Brucklacher at FCCLA National Leadership

Brucklacher and SD FCCLA Career Peer Education member Grace Schnabel.

More than 5,000 national members, advisers, alumni and guests of Family, Career and Community Leaders of America (FCCLA) gathered in Anaheim, CA, July 8 through 12 for the 2007 National Leadership meeting.

"Leadership Revolution," was this year's student-devised subject for the five-day annual national convention.

Rodeo Bible Camp 2007 average winners

The annual Cowboys for Christ Rodeo Bible Camp in Kadoka was held Monday through Thurday, August 6 through 9, this year. There were 99 campers.

Calf Roping

1. Colby Porch, Wanblee - 21.15; 2. Troy Wilcox, Red Owl - 24.44; 3. Dalton Kelly, Quinn - 28.09; 4. Tye Hale, White Owl - 29.17


1. Amy Deichert, Spearfish - 33.309; 2. Marla Kelly, Quinn - 33.780; 3. Kami Elshere, Faith - 34.075; 4. Alyssa Krogman, White River - 34.083

Goat Tying

1. Gabriel Gregg, Highmore - 17.70; 2. Jacey Jandreau, Kimball - 18.01; 3.

Lake Waggoner Golf Course League results

The team of Don and Dak Carley won the 12-week golf league season to take home the the first place trophies. The Lake Waggoner Golf Course league competition season started May 14th and ran until August 6th. Twenty-four teams competed. The results are below.

1. Dak Carley / Don Carley - total points


2. Steve Jeffords / Don Oyan - 191

3. Ray Smith / Darrel Terkildsen - 187.50

4. Brad Haynes / Beau Ravellette - 185.00

5. Corky Thorson / Gary Wahl - 181.50

6. Dean Fitzgerald / Jimmy Fugate -